Cibolo, TX 
Schlather Park Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the park. Good distance and some great hole locations
Cons: Tee signs don't show pin placements.
Other Thoughts: The mosquitoes were extremely bad due to the marsh and there were 5-6 holes without baskets. Hope they were not taken.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Beginnger's Course

5+    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: tcblank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best beginners courses out there. Lonest hole is just shy of 400'. Most of the holes are wide open, so a bad drive doesn't punish the player as much. Course is laid out well. New tees and concrete tee boxes installed already.
Cons: It is a beginners course and while it might be a little fun for more experienced players, this really doesn't present much of a challenge to a good player. There is also a lack of variety for all the holes. Most holes are a straight shot from the tee box to the basket 340' out with a tree or two covering the basket to make the shot a little harder.
Other Thoughts: Due to the nature of the land around the course, it will probably only ever be a beginners course. Which is not bad as those are certainly needed. For those just starting the game around San Antonio this is the best place to learn and play. Even for the experienced player it's a great place to introduce new people to the sport.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a GREAT place for beginners. No holes are super long and there are only a few obstacles at each hole if any at all; this course is the easiest of the now four courses in this area of East San Antonio which is a pro for new players.

A few of the holes were pretty fun. Hole #7 was a ~200' throw over a small pond; it added a little bit of variety to a course that lacks it.

The course is relatively new and I think it is either not known about or not a popular destination since it was empty the two hours I was out there. The baskets are all brand new and very nice and the concrete tees are a great size. I love to see courses that put in concrete right away rather than begging the Parks Board for concrete tees.

Besides Hole 1-2 navigation is very easy. All of the next tee signs are a short walk from the previous basket. Hole 8 is a long walk but you can see the tee sign from the previous basket.
Cons: As I walked around the course I could not help but to notice the surrounding area I was in. The course is in a low lying, swampy area. The majority of the course sits on this swamp and I can imagine even a little bit of rain can devastate and flood the course and make it unusable for a while.

If you throw your disc into any of the long grass off of the fairways then expect to look for a while. The grass is very long, watch for wild animals.

My biggest con is the uninspiring course design. Most of the holes are short, and with the lack of obstacles you can have an average drive, a decent upshot and you can get threes easier then any course I have been at. HOWEVER, most holes would be very hard to get a two on. Most of the baskets are sitting right in the middle of a group of trees. It is one thing to have obstacles in the fairway but to have random trees next to the basket can punish a great shot. A few of the holes just are not good golf holes.

The park itself is in an inconvenient location. it is in the back of a very large neighborhood, and there is only one road that runs to it; quite frankly the course is not worth driving too far for.
Other Thoughts: This course will do a good job with introducing new players to the sport since this course is multiple times easier than McClain, UC, and Live Oak. It is always nice to see new baskets in the ground but if you want a real challenge any of the other three courses will suffice for a good player but this course could be a good change of scenery.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First Time Played

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Booray73
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The openness of the course lets you "get away" with some errant throws
- A good chance a few birdies, which is always fun
Cons: -A few holes have fairways that are very close to each other
-A long walk to play # 8. You have the walk the length of the hole then play it back.
-The course is so new the distances are not on the signs yet
Other Thoughts: This is a nice new course to the area. It is very different then most area courses because it is more open. There is a walking trail through the middle so you do have to wait from time to time. The first few hole have some heavy brush to the sides...play the fairway.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice addition to the area

1    6/7/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: whatXhappened243
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was well kept when i played and generally easy to follow. None of the holes are too far to be totally out reach for a look at a birdie. Park maintenance was there when I played and I got the impression they would be out there often (hopefully).
Cons: Some walks between holes are a little long and a course map would have been helpful for the first time out. The shrubs in the marshes are super thick so you almost have to be on top of your disc to see it in some spots
Other Thoughts: This is nice change of pace from the other courses around town. This course has more open ceilings compared to the others 18-hole spots in the area (McClain, Live Oak, UC). For me it feels a lot like Nani Falcone, except with more trees and 9 more holes to make a complete course.

SIde note: Watch your driving into and through Cibolo. $peeding tickets there can be pricey!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.