Marquette, MI 
Powder Mill DGC Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #10 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Flatlanders and Hillbillies

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a beautiful section of a large multi-use park. area seems to be relatively DG exclusive. You do have to cross an access road to access #12 and #13 along the Dead River where I'm thinking you'll run into non-DGers.

Teepads-- Dual tees with framed trail pack. Red tees offer unique views of the hole in most cases. #14 is probably the most dramatic use of dual tees. Pads are a bit rutted out and are in need of a refill or cementing.

Teesignage-- beautiful tee signs showing both tees and main pin and alternate pin placements, giving distances to both.

Pin placements-- alternate pins, although not permanent do offer some completely different holes. I'm not sure when these are in play but the course would play completely different with them in the ground.

Topography-- amazing use of elevation. Use of rock stacks and other natural elevation is very well done. Per the designer, the course land was very limited so they have done a great job with what they have.

Variety-- huge variety here. Anything you could want is here, short, long, left, right, up down. Never once were you struggling for awesomeness.

Routing and nav--next tee signs are wicked helpful here. There are some very long walks between holes and the arrows help!
Cons:
#13/14 long tees-- add massive distance with blind lines. Especially #13 plays through an area where fishermen could be and you wouldn't see them until you hit them. #14 long is impossible with strong roll aways on either side. Loss of plastic is a real challenge.

Amenities-- Benches and garbage cans could be useful. Pack in pack out is a good theory but doesn't really work in all practical purposes. Most people will just chuck their beer bottles where they can.
Other Thoughts:
Great great course for the available land. Very strong course in Marquette.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Finally

5+    8/6/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: MQTdiscgolfer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally a full 18-hole course through the woods in Marquette! They've obviously put a lot of work and though into designing a truly outstanding course. Good shot selection. Every hole has a map, which is nice. Scenic view. The elevated tee pads on some of the holes are nice, but I really wish there was concrete as within a few weeks the gravel had significant divots.
Cons: Again, concrete pads would be preferable. I wish there were a few holes to really open up and crank on. Even for my small(ish) arm, a lot of the holes are pretty short. Some of the tees can be a bit hard to find on your first time.
Other Thoughts: I hope they are able to put in the other holes they were talking about on the other side of the river.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An awesome addition to Marquette outdoor sports

5+    6/25/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shot shaping along with variety. With two sets of skill based tee design (red for recreational players, and blue for advanced players), the play off the tees is varied extremely well with short/long, left/straight/right, and uphill/downhill holes. These tees do not leave multiple routes for you most of the time, rather force you to become a better player and throw better requiring almost specific disc flights. Perfect flights yield deuce opportunities in almost all cases, and often ace runs. Poor throws are punished but not too bad. Adequate throws can save par.
Risk versus reward. With lots of wooded shot shaped "airways" playing it safe and controlled can yield a decent round. However, all airways are completely fair for skill and overall distances and a hot round can be easily had. BUT, the hot round will not just come off the tee, it will require well placed upshots due to obstacles and risky greens, and putts must also be spot on due to some risky greens. Also, many holes offer sneak peaks at the pin through narrow gaps, while the main fairway bends in an opposite direction. Risk the 5' gap acerun and you may be rewarded for your skill.
Variety again. Mostly wooded course, which I prefer, but a few holes open up and let you air it out a bit, or leave you with options. Many corridor airways, but power line right-of-ways and some holes bordering fields and sandy river bottom offer a change of "space". Distance varies from the picturesque ace run hole 3 at 180', to the tunnel along the river at 525' and a need to drive 375' through a corridor to hit the landing zone at the dogleg left. Great mix of distances and excellent fair length to width ratios.
Memorable holes. The ace run #3 is a beauty. Hole 2 alternate pin location down in a grassy cove along the river and a 500' S-curve with road and river OB. Hole 7 up the rock ledge and three separate landing terraces. Hole 8 down the tunnel and off the rock outcropping. The untamed beast of a hole #10. The fear inducing narrow ridge of hole 14. And the ace run 18 to end it all. There are more, and I have more favorites, but these seem most commonly adored.
Personal touches. From our sponsors and talented and dedicated volunteers throughout the community we have elevated tees, rock gardens, custom woodwork benches, tables, and signs. Many players and sponsors work tirelessly and selflessly to beautify and make this course unique.
Land use variety. The design did the absolute best with the given limitations to showcase so many of the unique and different features of the land. In a relatively small area, you will see a lot of terrain used in many good ways.
No poison ivy, oak, nettles, etc. But ticks, blackflies, and mosquitoes are probably ever present, however completely bearable.
Cons: Crowding and cramping. Due to land use restrictions and the natural and man made features, the design was somewhat restrictive and a few tighter hole interactions are a result. Good throws are no issue, but bad throws can overlap. Potential areas are Hole 4 pin/Hole 5, Hole 9 mid fairway/Hole 10 long tee, Hole 11 pin if you go long/Hole 12 long tee fairway if your drive isnt straight, Hole 16 if you go long into Hole 9. We had to fit the design in between soccer fields, a river, and a county highway. All while avoiding a gravel road that bisects the course and a well used recreation trail (North Country Trail) that winds throughout some of the better parts of the course.
Backstops. This is more a function of the land, or rock rather than soil, and some pins had to be placed too close to an upslope in my opinion. This creates a backstop in which to rifle drives and upshots at the pin with little risk of overthrowing. The greens of hole 3, 7, and 10 have backstops. Although countering this are many risky dropoff greens as well like
Crowds. The course starts and ends, with the parking lot right by a busy BMX track and soccer fields. The adjacent sports complex is used a LOT. There is a lot of traffic up and down the road that bisects the property and the amount of extranneous noise really eliminates your chances at a peaceful and secluded round. The amount of players is really very high because this is the only 18-hole and only well designed course in the 20 mile area. (UPDGA is working on 5 more!)
No water forced to throw over. No huge downhill bombers.
Other Thoughts: In summary, this course design really does a good job using the created airways to force players use or develop the skills necessary to be well rounded. Risking the great drive may be punished, but is easily rewarded. Playing safe, controlled, and accurate will yield a decent round, but thos skill players who take their chances and are confident putters will be able to rise to the challenge and concquer it.
Be mindful of the public in general when crossing the roads, throwing near other fishing, biking, walking, soccer areas.
Come to Marquette and enjoy this skill based design and post your thoughts and accomplishments on the facebook page.
This course was developed by a small hardcore group of enthuisiasts. Despite low numbers and relatively poor volunteer turnouts, the finished product truly reflects the level of dedication, and personal commitment. Sponsors and those dedicated volunteers have really helped make this course shine and it will continue to for years as UPDGA develops more and more courses in the area and makes a bid to host Worlds!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's UP there

5+    5/3/2014   6/16/2013
Review By: leadpaint
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red vs Blue tees: The different tees are not just different lengths.They truly offer skill level based tees. Red and Blue tees play ,for the most part, as two different courses.

Variation: nothing on this course is repetitive.

Tee shots: you are forced to play this course. the holes do not play as a drive and dump left format. hole 10 is a great example, from the blue tee you are forced to throw somewhat away from the basket and come back right but if you do not come back left at the end you are not to the basket. for RHBH it takes a great anhyer S to get there.

there is varying elevation and most fairways allow room to shape you throws. some are tight and require a long controlled line drive.

for the most part there are not random trees to knock a good drive down.

The blues are actually difficult!

Temp signage is really good. good temp directional signs course flows nicely for the majority of it.
Cons: gravel tees get divots but the type of gravel is easily and quickly smoothed out for the next throw with your foot. Rubber pads are being looked into.



Secondary pin locations are not installed

Temp signs do not say what pin position is being used.

I would complain about the rough on hole 14 but it is cleaned up and has changed my confidence in going for the basket off the pad.

they need rubber pads!


.

tee signs show direction but not features of holes.

TEE SIGN FOOTAGES ARE WHACK: 14 short claims 170 when it is a jump putt. some of the other holes are off too but not by nearly as much. They haven't finalised the measurements but need to do so.


Other Thoughts: Blue tee have been taking two am2 players 1hr and 40 mins to play together. this is without other groups on course.

worst hole in my opinion is 13blue: its bland looking and if possible needs a clearer route though it is not necessary other than for aesthetics

Best hole: I love the look of 3blue but My favorite hole right now is 14Blue. its long and one hell of a tight fairway if you wish to stay up level with basket. but there is an infinite amount of air space to work with and shape some great runs on the basket but with it being a blind uphill shot only a spotter would visually know how great your shot was.


THey really need to get the other sleeves in the ground some of the holes look like they will be even better with alt pin placements

Hole 3 is beautiful short but a nice ace run with the back of pad overlooking river and the fairway being a sweet tunnel.

Prior to throwing the course, I thought some of the holes didn't have lanes and well i was wrong. there isn't a hole that doesn't have a great and proper lane. now with that said not every basket is obtainable with one throw either. par is made with well placed and purposeful shots. under par is just being a great player.

I Would travel hours out of my way to play Powder Mill. I would travel across state lines to play an event at a course this nice.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beauty

5+    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: sebtacular
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing this course a handful of times it will become a definite favorite. Powder Mill offers a wide variety of options:

Hole Distance - One aspect I am always very critical of is variety of hole distance and also total distance. Of course this is a function of land availability. Powder Mill offers a great variety of distances with a couple nice Ace Run holes, as well as a few 400'+ holes for big arms.

Hole/Fairway Structure - LOTS of challenging shots from the Long Tees, but also from some of the short tees. Trees are by far the biggest obstacles. The course does seem to favor RHBH throwers, but some Dog-Leg rights are offered for left handers/anhyzers/forehand throwers. Most fairways are wide enough to where I would NOT classify them as tight corridors, but beware of overhanging trees and the fescue that runs along the fairways.

Basket placement - It is quite evident that basket placement was well though out. None of the baskets seem to have awkward placement, and some are even neatly placed atop a pile of rocks. Yes, sure, some baskets may be placed behind some small trees, or tucked away in a corner, but this makes for a little more challenging putt or Ace opportunity. Personally, I think this is a perk as it offers more of a challenge even though some may interpret this as a frustrating aspect. Keep in mind, the Short Tee placements are geared moreso for beginners, and your "look" on the basket is much easier and a bit less of a challenge - so every player should be happy.

Long/Shorts - The course not only offers long and short tees for every hole, but additional baskets are offered on several holes -- not all; which makes for more than 18 combinations.

Environment - The land use is wonderful. The local community was able to donate a nice plot of land, so the course has not been cut short by any means. The course is located on the edge of town but is easily accessible via a quick walk or bikeride. Powder mill is mostly heavily wooded, but does cross a dirt road into a more open area for a few holes that play along the Dead River.
The course is somewhat flat, but offers some decent elevation changes on a few (5-8) holes making for a nice little day hike. It should be mentioned that there are a great numbers of trees as well as heavy foliage, so newer players beware of frustrating shots and lost discs.. Be patient, use look outs, try the short tees with easier approaches. The hole listing here mentions 4 water hazard holes -- albeit this is technically true, the holes and fairways are placed along a river (beautiful scenery) and less of a water hazard. A blatant 80 foot throw to the right instead of the left may leave your disc in the water, but the river is shallow and has clear (but tannin brown) water which is also very warm in the summer.

Play time - 1.5 - 2 hours for Long tees. If you're on fire and hustle, a 45-60 min game should be possible.
Cons: I would like to mention that the following are subject to change as the course has not had its grand opening --

Tee markings course travel - Again, the course has not had an official grand opening, so this section should be revised shortly. Until then, tees are properly marked with large wooden posts and house-number style tags. Hole structure printouts for each hole are only on laminated paper but will soon change. There is only one map available at the beginning of the course, so take a picture of it with your camera or phone your first time out on the course. Travel between holes can be slightly confusing even with small red signs nailed to trees directing you to the next tee. I think there could be better placement of the red signs, or more of them.

Tees - I would like to commend all the volunteers who helped with setting tees -- It is very obvious how much work was put into digging holes for tee placement. Each tee is filled with a nifty grey-gravel type of material and I assume a lot of work was put into filling each tee box, as well as LEVELING. However, after only a week of play, the gravel has become a bit uneven with several softball size divots and I'm afraid this will only progress. I have been informed that there may be plans to put in rubber Fly Pads, which would be helpful to the leveled gravel. I would recommend concrete tees for all courses, but I understand this is also no light task, and some courses may want to change basket locations through the years.

Foliage etc - I am a bit concerned about the amount of heavy foliage that will continue to grow. Now, this is by all means no one's fault, but it will require frequent trimming and volunteers to keep the course looking sharp. My only true complaint are the brush piles. The brush piles have indeed been placed off course, but are still within 20 feet of the fairways and are a bit of an eye sore.

Waste - This section is more so a reminder than a review. Every course I've ever played at has this issue. I don't mean to generalize or pick on students, but on average college town courses are terrible with being laden with litter. Pick up your garbage. Better yet, if you don't toss your garbage, you won't have to pick it up. Have complaints of garbage on the course? Pick it up. Make it look beautiful. Don't think it's your job to pick up litter? Be the bigger person and help out for the greater good.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot to offer and I recceomend the trip to anywone, whether you're in town from California, considering a 100 mile drive to visit, or just in town and debating on what you should do for the day.

Get out and play. Post some records!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip.

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: rockems
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of left/right and elevation changes, very scenic course, and challanging.
Cons: A couple of holes do not contain shooting lanes causing you to pick a path and hope you make it through. A hole or two have dense rough, make sure you keep an eye on your disc. The course overall has a good layout but you can get confunsed on where the next tee is. Signs point you in the right direction and logs line many walk ways but the confusion should dissipate when walked on more.
Other Thoughts: The course is defiinitely worth the trip if you are from out of town. The hole break down shows water in play on multiple holes, but don't run to the store to get a floatable disc. Unless you throw an stray disc the water is no real threat. The volunters did an amazing job putting it all together. I thank you all for your hard work and coutless hours putting it together.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.