Disc Golf Store
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 
PGA National Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 387ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice place to play.

1    10/21/2014   10/22/2014
Review By: bigboned
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a nice park. Clean. Very lightly wooded leaves plenty of lines to choose from on most holes. Nothing too long, so nice for newbs. Water is present but doesn't really come into play unless you get wild. Cement tee pads and good signage.
Cons: A shorter course, so big arms may be frustrated. It's fairly wide open, so you can pretty much pick your line/shot. 9 baskets/18 tees, the course doubles back over itself which could cause congestion issues.
Other Thoughts: Would love to see a few more trash cans and/or washrooms.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Totally reasonable course

1    12/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes (9 baskets) in a local park, free to play, some nice use of trees, nice baskets, nice use of water hazards.
Cons: Holes are mostly short and flat, would be tough to play with lots of people on the course as many holes cross each other and 18 holes use 9 baskets. Pretty busy park with baseball, grilling, etc. Water hazards ;)
Other Thoughts: I don't understand why it's marked 9 holes, or why it's rated so low. It's a totally decent course in a public park, be grateful for it!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short neighborhood course
-Clean and well maintained
Cons: -No Tee Pads
-No Benches
-Extremely cramped with constant switchbacks
-Course does not loop back to parking lot at turn
Other Thoughts: This course has 9 targets stuffed into the edges of a small neighborhood park. Two sets of tee markers make it an 18 hole experience. It is a bit impressive that the creator(s) of this course were able to fit this layout into such a small area, however little was included for player enjoyment/comfort and there is nothing particularly challenging or inspiring about any of the hole layouts.

Course is short and easy to follow. We had the fortune of hitting the course right after league finished, so we did not have to contend with cross traffic.

This is a nice neighborhood course to hit if you are in the area and no one else is on it. However, I would not suggest going out of your way to visit this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice

5+    12/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course in North PBC, great wildlife (birds). Enough trees and water to keep you thoughtful. Lots of recent improvements, including tee signs, concrete pads, course map, and mando signs.
Cons: Can be a lot of cross traffic and park wanderers.
Murky water makes retrieving errant discs challenging. A few tee boxes have challenging footing. Low areas flood.
Other Thoughts: This is an active course with players there nearly every day. Water on nearly every hole is challenging and frustrating. May not be your favorite course buts its worth a play if you are traveling through. #1 is on the sidewalk on the far west side of the park.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite course!

5+    8/29/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I struggle to find anything good to say about this course, other than it is nice to have it as an option for the sake of variety.
Cons: -This course has 18 holes, but only 9 baskets, which makes for easy crowding. I tried playing a tournament there once and got hit with a disc.

-I dislike dirt tee pads, especially when they get worn down. Someone should move them over (move a marker from one side to the other side) every once in a while.

-There are two holes that pass through a very narrow passage behind two baseball/softball diamonds, and the gates are often locked, making it difficult to retrieve your disc.

-This course is surrounded by water on three sides. On two sides, the water is deep with lily pads. Alligators have been seen in the water, so I don't recommend going in after your disc.
Other Thoughts: Many disc golf courses are designed as an after-thought, but this one seems like it has the lowest priority of all of this park's features. Softball players park their expensive German cars right next to one of the baskets (instead of in a paved parking space), begging for an accident.

I should be careful to give some credit to the guys who designed and built this course. They didn't have a lot to work with, and they did the best they can to wedge a course into this little park.

If you're sick of playing at FAU and Okeeheelee park, this course makes for a nice change of pace, but if you're like me, you'll get sick of it pretty fast.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

1    7/14/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets with ease of flow.
-Great course to work on your long mid-range shots or fairway driver practice.
-The 9 actually play like 18 when you turn around to play them back
-Well manicured park with 7 shots with potential water danger.
-Close to town and major roads.
-Great layout for a quick round on a lunch break.
Cons: -Playing the 9 backwards would probably cause problems should someone be playing the front side.
-Busy park
-Natural tee pads.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Squeezed In

5+    9/1/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: YawningDrone
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are not very many courses in this area at all, so the fact that this one merely exists is a plus. The course is in a beautiful, well manicured park. There are several opportunities for fun shots. Holes 2 and 3 play under low ceilings with a ball park on the left and a dark, reptile infested canal on the right. Both will test your control. Hole 4 again has a canal on the right ( a much large canal, yes..you may lose some plastic on this course, beware of gators) and a mando left about 40 feet in front of the tee area, forcing the RHBH player to throw an anhyzer over an often occupied softball field,or attempt a FH shot. You will need to be accurate on this course as there are a good amount of
trees and water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: This course has no tee pads. Each tee area is marked by two round stones painted white. These are often moved or set aside (presumably by the grounds crew.) I have tracked them down to replace them more than
once. This course is busy, busy, busy on the weekends. You will be throwing over or near people on several holes if you play during that time. When there are kids sporting events (as there often are) the overflow parking comes onto the fairways of 5, 6 and one of the holes coming back. You will not be able to play any of these holes if that's the case. The back 9 are simply the first 9 played backwards with alternate tee positions. If you are not familiar with the course, you will have trouble navigating this yourself. There are no signs at all. There is the possibility of running into other groups coming back, on the same hole, depending how busy it is. A few of the holes are down right gimmicky. 17 requires that you land your first shot in between the fences of two ball fields (about a 25 foot gap) and throw over the second field toward the basket which is squeezed
in between the murky canal and the fence of the ball field (about a 20 ft. gap.)
Other Thoughts: This is not a big arm course. It may have been before it was pulled and reinstalled, but not now. There was obviously not much room to work with, so the designer did a good job with what was available.
A more pleasant playing experience is at FAU, about 10 minutes north.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I had fun

2-4    6/25/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: KDencker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is located in a beautiful small park. The course is open, and there were people working on the fields to maintain it.

The baskets looked new (didn't see the rust).
Cons: It is located in the middle of the park. If I went on a weekend I don't think I could play. One hole, there was a grill on the direct path from the tee to the basket.

Also, I don't know where they learned to count. I never once saw a marker for 2. But I did find one that went from 1 to 12 to 13 to 4 to 8 and so on. But the baskets were in order. I really tried to find the matching number.
Other Thoughts: This is my first review, and 3rd course I have played on. I found it really enjoyable, and I will probably go back when I am back on vacation.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice suprise of a course!

5+    5/9/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: TiVo713
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course. Its laid out really nicely with plenty of obstacles and water hazards to keep you on the level. Forces me to throw a variety of shots and the course really does play differently backwards.
Cons: Technically its only 9 holes, and there might be an issue with running into people wanting to play the same hole but in different directions. Fortunately thats never happened as this course is somewhat of a hidden gem.
Other Thoughts: If you have a big arm, you're in for some fun. Oh and I've never found the marker for hole 10, so we just play from the tree across the pond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

5+    6/20/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a big gunners paradise. Every hole is crank it as far as you can and maybe you'll park it for a deuce. They planted many trees around the ball park which enhanced the three holes that run back there. There are a couple of tight shots along the back of the ball fields with water on the edge and the fence on the other, but this is a pro because most of the course is wide open.
Cons: Multiuse park that will sometimes have people in your way, very rarely in the three years I lived down the street did I have to worry about anyone. If you're accurate you won't worry a bit because the course follows the edges of the park.
Other Thoughts: I think this park has a pretty decent layout and it's pretty fun playing 9 in one direction and than turning around and shooting the same baskets from a different perspective. This sounds ridiculous because most of us play course where other people play. In the 100 times I've played this place, honestly only one time have I come across a group playing the opposite direction. Disc golfers are generally not to uptight to wait a sec for players to get by. Certainly isn't the first or last course to have hole switching back across eachother. Not a problem here because I guess people think it's too hot to play disc in palm beach, maybe it's the wind. That's the other thing! It's always windy in Florida disc golf.

Park near the tennis courts and play either direction from them, either tee up to the west of the court shooting north or cross the road and shoot south along the pond to the basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.