Greendale, WI 
Root River Parkway DGC Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #12 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 334ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Promising Future

5+    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Mackt78
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Fun course with varied shot types and hole layouts.
Usually not crowded.
A lot of brush has been cleared away allowing easier navigating and locating of discs that missed their mark.
Cons: Only 2 pin positions per hole and they don't get changed very often.
Some holes on the back 9 get a little repetitive.
Need more garbage cans. (This shouldn't be a problem but some people are litter bugs.)
Cars/bikers/joggers can get distracting while teeing off on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way since its inaugural year in 2013. I have high hopes it will continue to evolve and become one of the better courses in the area.

Better after re-design

5+    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 139  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice addition to Milwaukee disc golf. Concrete tees, nice baskets, benches, decent shot variety. Short wooded holes and longer open holes give plenty of birdie opportunities with more distance than it's neighbor Valley View. The road has been mostly taken out of play with the new course layout, and I personally think the new layout is a great improvement (my only real complaint with the old layout was the road being in play on multiple long holes).
Cons: The course gets muddy after a rain,
some people litter here (despite garbage cans)
some people don't yield to bicycles/joggers
Other Thoughts: Since the last review for this course was before the re-design, I think that the old 2.58 rating did not reflect the course as it is today. My rating would have been a solid 3, so a 3.5 is not much of a stretch.
Looks like there's room for alternate pin placements and alternate tees after the re-design, hope the course will continue to evolve for the better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disjointed course along the road.

1    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first 5 holes play shorter and more wooded than the rest of the course. These add a bit more of a shot shaping aspect compared to the rest of the course. All five of these had black rubber mats for tee pads. The chainstar baskets were all in great shape and caught well. With how disjointed this course is it could be confusing the first time but it's always busy so there's almost always someone to ask or follow. That or follow the trampled down grass that leads to the next hole. They had a few garbages and benches throughout the course. There is a decent mix in different distances here too. Hole 18 actually ends near hole 1.
Cons: The number one problem in my opinion here is how close it plays along the road for probably half the holes. I accidently landed on the road twice and had my disc ran over 3 times. This is really not a safe design whatsoever. They had signs up saying the course is already in danger of being pulled. That's not a good sign with how new the course is. All the holes along the road seem pretty much the same. The last 2 holes may be harder to find for new players. Either the group of 2 in front of us and the group of 3 behind us didn't know about them or they just skipped them. It was dry when we went in late august but having grown up along the root river I imagine it'd be very swampy for most of the spring and into early summer. Also I could see the mosquitoes getting nasty at times too.
Other Thoughts: It's another course but it seems like they just kinda slapped some baskets down. Milwaukee needs some more quality courses and while this is a start it needs lots of work if it has any chance of remaining there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Friendly Course

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It seems to be a well kept, family-friendly park.

It has some variety, from wooded to open holes but not really enough to keep you interested.

Some people were saying that this course is too wet but as far as I can tell it is better than Abendschein in that regard.
Cons: Short holes are too short and not very technical.

Long holes vary from being about the right length with a few trees to just being open and long with nothing really special about the hole to spice it up (as another reviewer said, cutting a hole into the woods for a basket would add something to the otherwise boring long holes).
Other Thoughts: Another decent course in the Milwaukee area. There is definite room for improvement but it is a good start.

I will definitely be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Milwaukee coures with a road through the middle.

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 101  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ummm...its another course. Has a couple longer holes and a couple in the woods.
Cons: Where should I start. Um like I said another course in Milwaukee along the road. Very lack luster course. Hey a couple trees lets put a tee over on this side of it and basket over on this side. I'm sure this place will improve and so will my disc rating but hey guys cut a basket spot into the woods. No real par 4s or 5s.
Other Thoughts: I was happy to hear of a new course in Mil town but very sad at what I found. Estabrook feel with the road and Dineen feel openness. You think you would want to improve on those places not combine the bad features of both. On the positive great place for chuckers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent course...to wet.

2-4    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes are short chip & putt shots in the woods. But most of the following holes are open with only a few trees hindering your shots. It has a couple longer holes around the 500 ft range which is nice. On a couple holes there is elevation change but it is mostly flat. There is a water in the woods on two holds so if you don't stay on the fairway you could end up in the drink.
Cons: The tee pads were muddy on almost every hole. Under a two baskets were large amounts of water which there was no way of retrieving your disc from the basket without getting your feet soaked. Also it can be a little difficult to find some of the tee pads if your unfamiliar with the course. I didn't like how you have to cross the road quite a few times to get to some tee pads. And I wish it wasn't so wide open that on many holes it really didn't matter which route I took (Backhand, Forehand, Overhand, Hyzer, Anhyzer Ect.) I could still get under the basket will relative ease.
Other Thoughts: Way to wet

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Won't be back soon

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has enough variety to it to keep you interested enough to finish the round. The first couple of holes are nice, short, and wooded to get you warmed up, and then you go out into the open to rip a few long tosses. Most of the open holes have only a tree or two to navigate around making this a nice course for beginners that just wanna throw hard but might not have their accuracy down. One memorable hole…I think hole 15, was nestled right up against the river; however you cannot tell until you are right up by the pin making for a great surprise for those who think that they have only thrown their disc into the woods. Surprise! There is a river there!
Cons: The dirt tee pads are very slippery when wet, and the course is right next to a river that frequently floods when it rains, so the ground might be wet quite often. The day that I played, holes 17 and 18 could not even be reached because there was about a 6" of water that you would have to walk through to get to them. The wooded holes have VERY thick underbrush right now making discs really hard to find if you get off the fairway. Once you are out of the woods the holes don't improve much...mostly wide open bombers with a tree or two in your way. The layout is confusing as well, there is lots of road crossing back and forth and lots of distance traveled between some holes. I felt that the river could have been utilized more by the designer; however maybe they stayed away due to the flooding.
Other Thoughts: I will probably return once or twice a year; however not until the course gets more established. At its current state I would not recommend anyone travel very far to see this new course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short then Long

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really great driving holes for 350-450' holes. Great use of the limited elevation in the middle of the course. Threw all types of shots: Short, long, Hyzer, Anhyzer, Tight, Open.. Great risk reward with a few of the two shot Par 4's. Most greens seemed to be in very good locations and had rough on one side so drives/approaches had to be accurate. With better mowing, some of these holes will be great roller holes. Hole 18 was very good requiring a solid drive to stay out of the rough on the right and stand of trees on left.
Cons: First four holes were very similar, but I think they left room for longer tees on some and moving the greens longer or side to side. Rough is very rough right now on those holes, but with the amount of traffic I saw on the fourth day it was in the ground, that rough will be trampled down quickly.
Other Thoughts: Course design seemed to allow for much longer championship tees and for much harder greens tucked in the rough as it thins out in the future. It will be very interesting to see if this transforms over the next few years.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.