Greendale, WI 
Root River Parkway DGC Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #1 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Beauty and The Beast

5+    10/12/2014   10/13/2014
Review By: wisconnyjohnny
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: "The Root" as I affectionately call it has come a long way since its ground breaking in the spring of 2013.
Great concrete tee pads, awesome Baskets.
#1 Is The Beauty, several large trees to avoid while hitting a hole shot in the woods, to a Basket placement that utilizes a raised base of a willow tree.
Rad Placement very creative, course takes on some more woods after this an opens up at #6 again. On #9 you are tempted to hyzer another hole shot into the woods. 10 has a woods placement and then you are at "The Beast" which requires just a 220 ft hyzer into woods and a lil annhyzer of 200 ft down a very very narrow fairway, #11 comes in at 423 ft, awesome tough hole that will challenge anyone. #13 is the signature hole up a large mound, beware the rolling disc as you can get stuck with a double bogey or worse here.

course is clean and well maintained, light disc traffic unless you are hitting it at peak times. The Root is known for its ever present deer meandering the grounds and eating deer things like grass and popcorn.
this course utilizes the woods 50% of the time as nine of the holes are in woods.great course thats only getting better with two other new placements coming real soon utilizing the root river, with dare I say an Island green?

Play it now while its still a sleepy course
Cons: some people are too lazy to pack it in and pack it out so it could use an extra trash can or two.

The signage isnt the best, and no map up. It can be very wet after large amounts of rain but not too muddy
Other Thoughts: Great challenging course, thats both fun for the rec discer and pro types alike, natural beauty

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So very bland...

1    9/14/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course that plays up and down the side of the Root River Parkway.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Grippy and in good repair, put could be a touch wider.

Nice Chainstar baskets, in good repair and caught well. No problems here. Most holes had 2 pin positions.

A few decent wooded holes at the beginning, and a few holes with good distance to let you open up a bit.
Cons: After the first few holes, this course becomes pretty darn bland. Everything is pretty much wide open, with very little in the way of obstacles. There are some roots, but the actual river doesn't come into play.

Most holes run right next to a somewhat busy road...which probably isn't ideal, especially for those without a lot of control. I get that they used the land available...but maybe it's not the best spot for a course.

Very little elevation....everything is pretty much flat.
Other Thoughts: This course is about as dull as it gets. The changes in distance, and the few wooded holes at the beginning, are the only saving grace. It IS an 18 hole course, so there are worse things in the world, I suppose.

I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course again, especially with courses like Dretzka and Brown Deer in town. Baggable, but really not much replay factor here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lots of walking

2-4    9/19/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: rocthecourse
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes of disc golf in a nice city park. There are a couple fun shots in the woods, though they are short. Grass was pretty short and the rough wasn't too bad on most of the holes. Cement tee pads. Benches on most of the holes. Good course to bring new players to.
Cons: Course has boring wide open shot after boring wide open shot. Lots of long walks between holes, some might be necessary because of the land but others are because of poor design, like the walk from 15 to 16. Lots of interaction with the roads that run though the park.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much having read other reviews. What I didn't realize was how little fun the course would be. At points it feels like you are spending more time walking to the next tee then disc golfing. The land here isn't that bad but the course design just isn't that good.

I don't plan to play this course again.

Also, the distances listed on the hole info page on here aren't accurate.


Chances of losing a disc are pretty low, there are a few holes with thick rough and some bushes that could hide your disc. 15 is probably the only place you get near water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Abysmal

1    9/7/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: CHAIN-UP
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: holes 2,3, and 4 in the woods. Enjoy them because the rest of the course is wide open, down one side of the road and back the other.
Cons: -Limited hole variation.
-No trash cans (on the DG course. maybe in the park but I didn't see any)
-no elevation change
-the worst layout ever... you go down one side of the road and come back on the other.
-too short for a decent thrower.
-75% of the time you are next to the road.
-the river NEVER comes into play
-bugs
-every hole on the back 9 is identical
Other Thoughts: This course is a joke. Worst layout I have ever played, no hole or shot variation.
I could have just as much fun throwing in my backyard as I did at this course. No way this course deserves a 2.8 rating (9/9/14)
There is a river along one side of the road but it never comes into play.
If you are looking for a real course in the Milwaukee area go to Browndeer or Dretzka, this coarse certainly doesn't qualify.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Promising Future

5+    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Mackt78
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course with varied shot types and hole layouts.
Usually not crowded.
A lot of brush has been cleared away allowing easier navigating and locating of discs that missed their mark.
Cons: Only 2 pin positions per hole and they don't get changed very often.
Some holes on the back 9 get a little repetitive.
Need more garbage cans. (This shouldn't be a problem but some people are litter bugs.)
Cars/bikers/joggers can get distracting while teeing off on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way since its inaugural year in 2013. I have high hopes it will continue to evolve and become one of the better courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better after re-design

5+    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 139  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice addition to Milwaukee disc golf. Concrete tees, nice baskets, benches, decent shot variety. Short wooded holes and longer open holes give plenty of birdie opportunities with more distance than it's neighbor Valley View. The road has been mostly taken out of play with the new course layout, and I personally think the new layout is a great improvement (my only real complaint with the old layout was the road being in play on multiple long holes).
Cons: The course gets muddy after a rain,
some people litter here (despite garbage cans)
some people don't yield to bicycles/joggers
Other Thoughts: Since the last review for this course was before the re-design, I think that the old 2.58 rating did not reflect the course as it is today. My rating would have been a solid 3, so a 3.5 is not much of a stretch.
Looks like there's room for alternate pin placements and alternate tees after the re-design, hope the course will continue to evolve for the better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disjointed course along the road.

1    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first 5 holes play shorter and more wooded than the rest of the course. These add a bit more of a shot shaping aspect compared to the rest of the course. All five of these had black rubber mats for tee pads. The chainstar baskets were all in great shape and caught well. With how disjointed this course is it could be confusing the first time but it's always busy so there's almost always someone to ask or follow. That or follow the trampled down grass that leads to the next hole. They had a few garbages and benches throughout the course. There is a decent mix in different distances here too. Hole 18 actually ends near hole 1.
Cons: The number one problem in my opinion here is how close it plays along the road for probably half the holes. I accidently landed on the road twice and had my disc ran over 3 times. This is really not a safe design whatsoever. They had signs up saying the course is already in danger of being pulled. That's not a good sign with how new the course is. All the holes along the road seem pretty much the same. The last 2 holes may be harder to find for new players. Either the group of 2 in front of us and the group of 3 behind us didn't know about them or they just skipped them. It was dry when we went in late august but having grown up along the root river I imagine it'd be very swampy for most of the spring and into early summer. Also I could see the mosquitoes getting nasty at times too.
Other Thoughts: It's another course but it seems like they just kinda slapped some baskets down. Milwaukee needs some more quality courses and while this is a start it needs lots of work if it has any chance of remaining there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Friendly Course

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It seems to be a well kept, family-friendly park.

It has some variety, from wooded to open holes but not really enough to keep you interested.

Some people were saying that this course is too wet but as far as I can tell it is better than Abendschein in that regard.
Cons: Short holes are too short and not very technical.

Long holes vary from being about the right length with a few trees to just being open and long with nothing really special about the hole to spice it up (as another reviewer said, cutting a hole into the woods for a basket would add something to the otherwise boring long holes).
Other Thoughts: Another decent course in the Milwaukee area. There is definite room for improvement but it is a good start.

I will definitely be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Milwaukee coures with a road through the middle.

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 101  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ummm...its another course. Has a couple longer holes and a couple in the woods.
Cons: Where should I start. Um like I said another course in Milwaukee along the road. Very lack luster course. Hey a couple trees lets put a tee over on this side of it and basket over on this side. I'm sure this place will improve and so will my disc rating but hey guys cut a basket spot into the woods. No real par 4s or 5s.
Other Thoughts: I was happy to hear of a new course in Mil town but very sad at what I found. Estabrook feel with the road and Dineen feel openness. You think you would want to improve on those places not combine the bad features of both. On the positive great place for chuckers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent course...to wet.

2-4    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first few holes are short chip & putt shots in the woods. But most of the following holes are open with only a few trees hindering your shots. It has a couple longer holes around the 500 ft range which is nice. On a couple holes there is elevation change but it is mostly flat. There is a water in the woods on two holds so if you don't stay on the fairway you could end up in the drink.
Cons: The tee pads were muddy on almost every hole. Under a two baskets were large amounts of water which there was no way of retrieving your disc from the basket without getting your feet soaked. Also it can be a little difficult to find some of the tee pads if your unfamiliar with the course. I didn't like how you have to cross the road quite a few times to get to some tee pads. And I wish it wasn't so wide open that on many holes it really didn't matter which route I took (Backhand, Forehand, Overhand, Hyzer, Anhyzer Ect.) I could still get under the basket will relative ease.
Other Thoughts: Way to wet

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.