Pittsboro, NC 
Rock Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: logjammin Hole #17 (Taken 5/2014)
5 / 546ft.   5 / 741ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Red Tee

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Phenomenal Course

1    11/21/2015   11/21/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rock Ridge is one of the best courses I've played--and certainly one of the best that North Carolina has to offer. There are other good reviews here, including several recent 4.0's listing fairway vegetation as a con knocking the rating down from 4.5. Well, when I played, there wasn't fairway vegetation to speak of, taking away the most common con I see in recent reviews. Therefore, I give Rock Ridge a 4.5. It's a fantastic course, amazingly well conceived and executed design, and I highly recommend it.


1. This is the first Houck course I've played. After playing RR, I can't wait to play more (if only there were more in NC)! The risk/reward elements and multiple ways to play holes are awesome. Most holes have two, sometimes three lines you can take off the tee. Also, all of the par 4's and 5's have landing zones to hit off the tee (and upshots for the 5's). Often times, there are multiple lines to the basket on your second shot too (from the landing zones). This course constantly makes you think.

2. Durable rubber tee pads.

3. Great navigation and tee signs at both the red and blue tees. Accurate yardage and illustrations on the tee signs to show you the various lines to get to the landing zones and the baskets.

4. Very challenging, but fair fairways widths, lengths, and pars.

5. Two sets of tees, the Reds being more beginner- to intermediate-friendly. Both sets of tees offer very different shots. The Reds aren't simply shorter versions of the Blues. On some holes, the Blue tees offered three potential lines to get to the landings zones or basket, whereas the Reds offered two. This goes hand in hand with pro #1: this is just s phenomenal design and well-conceived and executed.

6. If you want complete seclusion and a peaceful wooded setting, there aren't many courses that can top RR. I played on a beautiful fall Saturday and didn't see another golfer the whole time I was there.

This course is what disc golf is all about. Not many cons to speak of all, but I'll list a couple of nit-picks...
Cons: 1. RR seemed a little LHBH/RHFH heavy to me. I would've liked to throw more RHBH tee shots with distance drivers. Despite being a course with decent length and lots of par 4's and 5's (par 65), I mostly threw mids off the tees to hit the landing areas (and to go to the basket on the short par 3's). Only threw 2-3 LHBH drives with my preferred distance driver, a speed 9. (As you can see, this is a pretty big reach of a con! But if I have to think of something, this comes to mind).

2. Drainage wasn't great when when I played. There were a few soggy fairways and some standing water on a couple holes.

3. #17 is the "signature hole," and I agree that it's one of the best, if not the best hole on the course. But I wouldn't say there's a top, standout hole here that I will remember and compare to other top notch holes, like the creek peninsula hole at Apex or the water carries at Buckhorn.
Other Thoughts: Rock Ridge is a must-play in the Triangle. Make plans to bag it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area

5+    7/25/2015   7/25/2015
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in secluded small town park. 2 sets of tee and signs for each hole. Signs are well done and professinal. Tee pads are rubber mats with holes over crushed gravel. They work very well.

Entire course plays around small park. Landscape is old growth forest with a few small roling hills. A couple small, usually dry creek beds are thrown in also. This is strickly a line shaping and disc control course. All the power in the world won't help you if you can't have the disc go where you need it to.

Fairways are well defined and varied. One of the beauties of this course is that you need to use a lot of different disc and shots to play well. The course blends short putter tee shots, with twisiting fairways and multiple routes. The variety as well as the Blue and Red pads keep things from getting stale.

Baskets are all practically brand new and have no problems. There are some well placed basket postions on hill sides or in the middle of some tree groups that make approaches a little more challenging. Jeff Baldwin has also added some nice rock work to a few to add to the appearance and playability of the holes.

This course forces you to hit lines and shape shots. Every hole has one or more different clean and fair approaches to the basket. Nothing is super easy, but it is all fair. This is wooded NC golf, but with slightly longer and more forgiving fairways than many places. There are really no 'unfairway' or luck based holes.

Really hard to lose a disc here. A lot of the undergrowth has been cleared or is thin enough a short search yields most discs. Just keep your eyes open in the Fall as the mature woods drop a lot of leaves.

This course challenges without giving us mere mortals a beating. I usually describe it as a kinder, gentler Nevin.

Another huge upside is that this course is normally empty. I probably have the entire course to myself at least half the time I play it. Even on a weekend. And at its busiest it is seldom crowed. If you want the private course feel with the labor this is it.
Cons: No huge elevation or truly spectacular shots. Not that hole you empty a bag on.

No open holes or places where you can throw a long distance driver with abandon.

IMO there are a few holes where a pad or line just doesn't work or make sense. Specifically the long pad on 5,6 and 14. There are lines and paths that nobody throws for this reason.
Other Thoughts: Ok, here's the detail and full disclosure. I helped do a lot of the work on this course, and play it more than any other. So not only do I have an inherent bias, I probably notice things others won't or have an opinion based on what I thought a hole was going to be or should be.

Overall this is a really solid course with not many negatives. Any complaints come from features the course just doesn't have available to it. As far as what was designed I think it has just about maxed out what there was to work with given the park's limitations and town's expectatins.

Hole Summaries for Blue Tees for mortal players:

1. Tough first hole. You need a decent 300' or so straight RHBH of the tee and then a nice accurate RHFH or anny to the basket, It can be a tough hole to start a round.

2. RHBH anny or FH off tee. Second shot is mostly straight with a few late trees. Basket on slight rise. Fun hole.

3. RHBH mid or fairway on slight hyzer. One of a few chances for us people to get an Ace or deuce. Watch the high limbs on the left side.

4. Straight to slight right turning RHBH shot. Fairly tight but fair. Lots of trees and some small OB to screw up what should be another deuce. Sloppy's only Ace came from a dirty tree bounce on this hole. There is a fun ricochet shot that can be made for an Ace. I try it on purpose. Have hit metal numerous times.

5. Multi path par 4. 3 lanes to basket. Almost everybody goes up the middle. The left and right are tough. The right will get you closer IF you have the arm and can hit the spot. But the approach is tighter. The left has the best approach lane, but is tough. The middle is the safest path to a 3.

6. Shorter 3 path hole. Left path is just a funky angle. No one usually throws it, FH guys play the middle path and BH guys usually throw a big sweeping hyzer. Hard to hit the correct hyzer angle and get an Ace or deuce. FH has the advantage here.

7. One of the tougher holes. I can play putter only coward golf and get my 5. Or you can really go for it and get a 3 or 4 if you have game. But a shanked tee shot or 2nd shot can turn this hole ugly. I've seen 8's. It plays straight off the pad to a junction of two different routes, the right hand route looks easier and more forgiving but there are some tight woods and a hillside by the basket. The left lane is a quicker route to the basket IF you can hit the tight late turn at the end.

8. Straight up the hill. Another Ace and Deuece chance. But it is more uphill than it looks. I have seen lots of short shots.

9. Tight tricky RHBH. Hyzer with low ceiling. A skip shot usually plays well. The FH line has late trouble and a weird angle. My FH can't make it work. Good ones can.

10. Really pretty hole. Straight with a little right then left wiggle. Us mortals try to throw straight about 300' and leave it in the fairway. If you have the arm a longer shot with some turn then fade is perfect. The approach has three lanes depending on where you land. The left path is tight but fair. The middle is even tighter, and the right path is usually a sweeping hyzer that isn't too bad. Some great oaks and fun shots to be had.

11. RHBH with some hyzer or possibly somehthing OS off the tee. There are two paths to the basket but the shorter one isn't obvious off the tee. It takes a few times to get a good feel for the tee shot. Small creek before the basket is usually dry.

12. Another very fun hole. Straight tunnel off the tee that has an early and a late right turn in the fairway. Lots of trouble and woods if you shank the drive. Second shots usually has options. Small creek, some late trees and. Basket on a slight rise. This is the one hole that can get swampy in wet weather.

13. Dare I say filler hole?? Thumber, FH or RHBH. Anny off pad. Nothing much to say or do here. Just throw it.

14. Another very good hole. Three lanes off the pad. A tough left lane with a funky angle, a fair center lane that plays dead straight and a right lane with a tree pretty much in the middle of your throw. All play uphill. Most people play the center path as it is the cleanest and safest. The other two have problems and could be made better with some tree work or possibly a pad shift. They are playable but not ideal right now. Just tough shots. The rest of the fairway offers several long paths with nice mature trees and light undergrowth to a basket nestled in a space between some nice trees. Very pretty hole.

15. Straight shot and possible Ace run. Nothing tricky but don't go to the right. The pine forest is certain death!

16. Usually a thumber or RHFH shot using the left path. The right hand path just doesn't work. Another case of a hole that needs a tweak.

17. Another long challenging hole. My rule is usually first do no harm since I am not going to get a 3 or throw 500' anyway. Off the tee it plays DH straight ahead or you can turn right and head to the short tee's path. The straight path is straight and wooded for about 500-600' until turning right on the approach to the basket. The right path plays about the same distance, but offers some different routes and shots. Another hole where 8's have been spotted on score cards. And I think I might have heard rumor of a 12!

18. Tough uphill finish. FH shot to the left and BH to the right. Hit a landing zone and then pick a tight tunnel on either side to the basket. After 17 holes this hole can be no fun.

Pittsboro has a few good places to eat and drink. Carolina Brewery is at the 64 and 15/501 interchange and the City Tap downtown has good brews, sandwiches and hot dogs. There are also 3 different pizza/Italian places in town. Enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Houck and Co. exploit the great NC woods

1    5/20/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rock Ridge is a gem of a course, with North Carolina's prototypical tight lanes and woodsy setting. Of the John Houck courses I've played, this one is by far the most heavily wooded and it plays through that kind of setting throughout the entire 18 holes. You will most likely experience a peaceful, secluded round here with the park only having a playground and walking path in addition to the course.

You get to pick your poison here with the ever present risk/reward decision making. The course is very generous in allowing you to pick the lane of your choice and constantly gave multiple options off the tee. Holes 7, 11, and 15 are great examples of this. 15 offers two lanes: a longer but more open hyzer route on the right and a tighter but straighter route over a creek on the left. The clearly defined options here truly make this a thinking man's course.

The attention to detail is amazing, with every tree serving a purpose. There are no arbitrary lines here, which is incredible given the setting. Even 8's 188' slightly uphill shot is perfectly set up - while only having 4-5 trees in the fairway, each one is very strategically place which calls for a specific shot. This kind of detail is consistent throughout the entire round.

Within its heavily wooded setting, you a get a great deal of different shots and looks. There's a tremendous variety in pars (7 par 4's and 2 par 5's) that offer very fun multi-stage holes that require you to hit specific landing zones, as well as in hole length (138-741').

Like a lot of Houck's recent courses, variety is emphasized on having two tees per hole, rather than having two pin positions. There is awesome variety between the two tees - better than most courses - giving a great difference in hole length and shot variety. This is definitely a high-level course allowing little room for error where bad shots are easily punished. However, the white tees let up a little bit on the challenge and offer a few shorter holes to give relief to a lower skill level (like me).

Elevation comes into play often, including the fun downhill shots on 10 and 17. Not quite downhill bombs, but a nice break that give you a little more breathing room to open up from the tee. Though not listed on the site, streams came into play on a few holes (4 and 11).

Navigation was great for the most part, except that I got confused going from 12-13 and 17-18. Other than these two spots, there are plenty of signs pointing you to the next tee and navigation is intuitive.

The rubber tee pads were long and comfortable being filled in with gravel. The tee signs were phenomenal and the park was kept very clean with mowed fairways and no trash.

Plenty of benches and the course has two 9 hole loops that take you back to the parking lot.
Cons: Perhaps the biggest detractor - and it wasn't even a real big problem - was the amount of foliage grown in off the fairway. It had a jungle-ly feel to it when I played in late May and I'm sure it's that way for 4-5 months. Not ever disc-swallowing rough, but constant undergrowth right off the fairway caused for a lot of searches. The problem was coupled with the fact that the lines here are very tight, specific, and unforgiving. Great for a challenge, but this is one of those courses where I felt like I had no breathing room to make mistakes and that took away from the fun just a bit. This problem would be alleviated some in the fall/winter.

Looking back, the course blends together somewhat and I think that's due to it having primarily one type of setting - tight woods. As always, Houck and Co. will literally use the land to its maximum potential, and he gave the design a tremendous amount of variety within its wooded setting. I just think the limitations of the park had me feeling that something was missing. "The designers did the best they could with the land offered" is practically a cliche on DGCR, but it's very true here. Just would've liked a little more variety in the type of holes offered.

A good bit of holes had blind pins/curvy fairways which required some extra scouting.

Awkward transitions from 12-13 and 17-18.
Other Thoughts: Rock Ridge is the best course that I've given a 4.0 and I was tempted to give it a 4.5. I can't emphasize enough how well the course is designed and the tremendous attention to detail that was given. It has its own personality that distinguishes it from other top courses, I can't say I've played another course like it. Not too many cons found here, especially if you enjoy playing strictly wooded, challenging courses. I'd make it a top priority if you are in the Triangle area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Rock Ridge rocks!

2-4    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 59  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a park with only disc golf and a walking trail.

This course has excellent signage that directs you to next tee. The flow is intuitive with one small exception. Between my first and second visits, signage was added to point out separate paths to blue and red tees. Signage directing to 18 from 17 was improved as well.

Tee pads are the nicest mat tee pads I have seen. They are on crushed gravel and are level and in good shape. For the most part the separate tees add variety and give extra challenge for those who want to play from the blues.

The holes here finish left and right and there are more S-turn paths to the basket than I have ever seen on a course. Get ready to use your backhand, forehand, roller and any other shot you have in your repertoire. There is a good amount of elevation change and the fairways are pretty open for such a wooded course. There are often multiple paths to the basket.

The course is on a beautiful piece of property a little off the beaten path, and I saw no other golfers on either of the rounds I have played.

There is wifi here, which was surprising considered the location of the course.
Cons: Some of the fairways could use a little more traffic to beat down the vegetation. This was a very small issue.
Other Thoughts: Rock Ridge is a lot of fun. From the long tees, It is one of the longest courses I have played. I played from the short tees yesterday and got par on all the sub-200 holes and bogied or more on the plus-400s.

I think beginners and noodle arms will enjoy the shorter holes. Some holes will be frustrating for those same players due to length and need to shape shots. I love being out in the woods on a well-designed course. I enjoy playing if I am shooting par or 30 over. Rock Ridge is a nice walk in the woods. I look forward to enjoying it even more as my skill increases.

If you don't have a map or forget to look for the 'next tee' marker on the tee signs, at #12 do not follow the path past the basket. It leads back to #10. Backtrack the fairway and take the trail to the right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

5+    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Jawa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee Pads are great for the terrain. Fairways are well defined. Benches on all pro tees. Multiple Tees on each hole. Tee signs and course flow are among the best I've played. Only course to have better tee signs is Rockness.

The longer tees allow more experience players a challenge while the shorter tees allow rec and intermediate players enjoy the course as well. I have played both multiple times. You will need every shot to succeed here. Course is very balanced and doesn't favor any one particular hand.
Cons: Drainage could still be a concern on 2 holes. As the course has matured and the fairways have worked in it has improved. But the times that I have played after rain it was an issue. This is what keeps it from a 5.
Other Thoughts: This course has gotten better every time I've played it. I've played it about 4 times this year alone. Definitely one of my top 5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course!

5+    6/14/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: thumber_guy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will mature into a 4.5, it is that well done. It rewards skill, placement, and control, the fairways have bends in both directions (some on the same hole) and is just beautiful. Tee pads are the best I have played on.
Cons: It can get pretty wet sometimes, and it is not surprisingly heavy with ticks.
Other Thoughts: If you are used to par 3 courses and going at the basket every time, you are going to have to rethink your strategy on this course. There are a few ace runs but that's it. You'll quickly find out that being in the fairway is a *lot* better than not.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow....Just Wow.

2-4    5/5/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: bipwarrior
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Ups, Downs, Lefts, Rights, Dead Straights. This is my first non par 54 course, and this is the kind of golf I want to play more of. Its difficult, but also incredibly fair in the sense that it usually allows you to pitch out with forward progress if you get into the junk, and still make a good upshot to save par. If you play conservative, its really fairly easy to stay within range of par here. If you do decide to go for it on the risk/reward holes, you either feel like a hero or a nobody.

The tee pads are AMAZING. If you've played Camp Durant BSC's course, you know that the fine gravel mixture they use is about as good as it gets. Rock Ridge goes a step better by laying down hexagon mats in the gravel to combat erosion and ruts. I much prefer these to concrete tees, but I'm weird.

GREENS! The greens on this course are very well designed. While not always the full diameter of the circle, they are plenty big to collect a decent shot and allow a putt opportunity. The biggest thing that I like about them are that the only trees left inside the green area are very well thought out guardian trees. No random knock your putt down for no reason types.

The fairways are plenty wide for NC golf, and there are usually multiple line options on any given hole. Some don't make sense when viewed from the short tees, but step back to the longs and it all makes sense.

This park is not really a multi-use park in the sense that it doesn't have ball fields, soccer fields, basketball courts, or any of that stuff. Once you're on the course, you don't run the risk of making an errant throw and accidentally hitting someone. The only other things in the park are the paved walking/running paths and a playground for families. Both of these are far enough from the throwing areas that you don't have to worry about them though.
Cons: The biggest con that I have with this course is that it's 2.5 hours from where I live. It's that good.

The minor gripes that I have are easy to get over when I think back about all the things I love, but I'll talk about them here anyway.

Signage. The tee signs are wonderful, but some signs pointing you in the direction of the next tee would be useful on a few of the holes, especially when you have to go back out to the paved paths. Our first time around we got a little confused once or twice, but nothing terrible. Something a little more permanent than the survey flags currently marking trails would be nice.

There aren't too many places to refill a water bottle so bring at least two if you drink a lot.

Bathrooms. There is only a port-a-john at the parking lot. If you hit DEFCON 1, go ahead and write-off your golf towel.

Other Thoughts: This course is truly a gem. I've rated it a 4.5 because I honestly think it will be at least that good as it gets played in.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

lots of blind holes here

5+    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: logjammin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a wide variety of fairway types. All holes are wooded, but some have wider fairways than others. There are leftys, rightys, uppitys, downys, valleys, zigzags, and zagzigs. Whatever your favorite throw, you'll get an opportunity to throw it here.

Although it is wooded, there are some holes where you can let loose and throw it far.

There are 2 teepads for each hole (blue and red). Signs at each tee.

There are no multiple pins, which I consider a pro, especially with so many blind holes.

Most areas don't get muddy or swampy.

Cons: There are a whole lot of blind holes. Until you get used to this course, you'll just be hucking it down the fairway and hoping for the best. I played the short tees in the winter, and more than half of them were still blind from the tees.

Some spots get swampy after it rains. Just a few areas. I think they overdid it when they were clearing out the fairways. They could have left some of the natural mulch on the ground, and it might have kept things from getting soupy. But in time, that should take care of itself.

I think the only restroom in the whole park right now is a porta-john in the parking lot, and there is never any soap or disinfectant in there. Bring your own soap, I guess.

In a couple of places, it's hard to find the next tee. After # 6, you walk back to the paved path and go right, then tee # 7 is on the right. After 12, walk back down the fairway, and at the dogleg, a path to the right goes to 13.

There's a little bit of litter already.
Other Thoughts:
# 1 is a double dogleg. Left then right.
#2 Is a hard right turn, then about 300 more feet over a little valley.

# 3 is short, over a little dip, then hard left.

# 4 is short, pretty straight along a little creek bed.

#5 gives you a choice of left or right, and a lot of trees to hit.

# 6 is short, but you have to choose between tight paths. They even went out of their way to put 2 big cedar posts in the way.

7 is a doozie. Long straightaway, then a big island of dense woods. Take the high road on the left, or the low road on the right.

# 8 is a short straight uphill with a tight fairway.

# 9 is another uphill, left turn.

There you are at the parking lot, and # 10 is next to # 1. It is a long straightaway, then a left turn.

Hole # 11, at least from the short tee, is an ace run. If you can get it through a narrow gap from 100 feet away, you have a good shot.

12 gives you a right angle halfway down the fairway. And don't forget to come back down the fairway afterwards. Then at the dogleg turn right instead of left.

13 is short and hard right.

14 is long and hard right.

# 15 is short and straight and very tight.

# 16 is another short one, but you have to go left or right for that one.

Then comes 17. Start out downhill, then over a bridge, and uphill, then turn left and eventually turn right, and there will be a basket there right when you're about to give up.

To get to 18, go to the paved path, and take a right. After you walk past the basket for # 1, you'll see the blue tee for 18 on the left. There's a split fairway, with a low road on the right and a high road on the left. The red tee is on the high road, up near the top of the hill. Both paths are pretty tight. Basket # 18 is right next to the parking lot, and they lived happily ever after.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quintessential NC Golf

2-4    3/8/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 112  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design. It's one of those rare gems that makes you contemplate how to tackle the holes but in a good way. Multiple lines/fairways on many holes and well done greens and distances really make this course a treat to play. The course is tee-riffic (sorry, had to) with 2 sets of well-thought out tees. Well executed and well located tees despite the fact that they're the hexagon mats over gravel variety. I usually turn my nose up at anything but concrete tees poured by the gods but these didn't detract from my experience a bit. Houck has done a good job of establishing par for this course, the 4s and 5s feel legitimate. It's hard to beat a good multi-shot, placement rewarding snake of a wooded fairway in my book and this course delivers.

The course is in a nice, natural park and while not completely secluded it's not difficult to feel serene. Great tee signs, really professional looking.

The shorts are a really fun round and a good difficulty for a wide variety of players while the longs are a healthy challenge for the veterans.
Cons: Navigating hole transitions can be tricky. There are some little clues telling you where to go but they don't really *pop* at you if you're not looking for them. Here's a tip: When in doubt on where to go, go right on any sidewalk. For the most part, trails leading to the next hole are easy to spot for the veteran disc golfer.

Some of the tees and paths could use some water bars and whatnot to redirect water off them and prevent future maintenance needed. Most of the tees dug into uphill holes collect water after heavy rainfall b/c the fairway is basically the fall line.

You're in the woods so much that you can forget how close to fence lines the holes bordering the edges of the park are. It's not likely you'll get kicked or blown over a fence but it's possible.

The course is still fairly rough from newness on certain holes with trip hazards in the way of rocks, holes and small tree stumps not flush with the ground. Some holes have swampy spots, especially near creeks. Nothing major.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Castle Hayne with better elevation, so it's a pretty damn good course. You could play here all day and not get tired of it. Great first impression by Houck, I look forward to any future designs in NC for sure.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great start for a quality course

1    2/17/2014   2/19/2014
Review By: pfpro
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The layout and land preparation are great. Clearly, this was designed around the existing natural landscape, but then appropriate fairways were created.
- Two tee pads at every hole, will definitely play different from the pros and ams. Also, there are many different approach paths that will challenge different disc/shots - so you could play this course several times, and (other then the ace runs) it could give you a different feel each time.
- Teepad signs, excellent. One at each pad, clear distance, routes, pars, and next hole arrows. The only suggestion (total nitpick, I want a perfect world suggestion) would be to show distances to landmarks (lay-up areas, bridges, etc) on the long holes (500' +).
- Nice mix. You don't feel like you are making the same wooded tunnel shot over and over. Good mix of long (almost feeling like a Charlotte course) and short. The ace runs were fairly unique (to each other, not just flat, short tunnels) you had to finish right, or finish left, or shoot uphill. Decent elevation mix for central NC (but my body wasn't too beat up after the round).
- Most of the holes (other then the ace runs) had defined, multiple approach routes. They really make you think about your approach, and you have to plan out several shots. A few of these have risk/reward type decisions - go for the longer, wider approach, or the shorter, tighter one.
- I liked the fact that you had two loops of 9 holes, so you could stop back at your car at the turn.
- Not a big deal, but several of the baskets are on landscaped stoneworks - a really nice touch.
- The park is brand new, so everything is pretty pristine (hopefully it will stay that way!)
Cons: - It was really soggy (standing water on sunken tee boxes and swamps), if you are playing after ANY rain.
More nit-picky, then actual cons
- A few of the walks between holes aren't super-intuitive. The good thing is that one of the more challenging ones (17-18), you will have already seen when walking 1-2. The course map is a huge billboard at the start and there are next tee pad arrows on every sign, so you have no excuses. 12-13 is not good. The course had been flowing so nicely, I didn't really pay attention to those arrows and ended up at 10. Don't know if it's allowed by the park, but a simple painted arrow would be great. There were a few on the course, but they were brown and blended in with the trees nicely.
- not really a con, but more of a suggestion - the course doesn't have to play the same score from the short and long tees. There were definitely holes (12, 18, maybe 17) that should have been a stroke less from the shorts. Felt good to get a birdie, but weren't realistic for a competent player.
- Slightly concerned about hole #2. If you miss the first turn, you are shooting straight into the playground area. Don't know how much use it gets (park was empty except for a walker when I played), but I was thinking "if I shank this, and there were kids there...." as I teed off.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time from the short tees as I was under a time constraint. The long pads definitely looked more challenging, I look forward to getting back there and playing that layout. My favorite hole was 7, maybe because I hit the tight tunnel to the right. This course has, what I will describe, as the Charlotte feel. The holes are wooded, but you still have several 500'+ holes. In the Triangle, you are shooting wooded holes, but there just isn't the space to do the long layouts. Other then the fact that this course is in the middle of nowhere, it's a great course. As it breaks in, hopefully they will get to concrete pads and some benches. It's a really nice course, and can only get better! I look forward to playing here again. Possible epic day disc golf trip - a 15-501 marathon. Start at Valley Spring, Cornwallis, UNC, Southern Community then end at Rock Ridge?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.