Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #1 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / --   3 / 150ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Rainy Monday

1    8/12/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Maddog30
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Challenging, good pads. Scenic. Free.
Cons: Hilly and long (hole distances). Their rating of all the holes being par 3 is debatable. Many of the holes would be par 4 on any other course. Primary issue is the lack of maintenance, fairway grass was 6-8", but surrounding terrain was waist high, making locating your disc in the field brush difficult. This area is known to have lots of deer carrying Lyme Disease, (I did notice deer tracks in multiple locations), It isn't the best idea having to wade thru waist high fields, if weed-wacking the fields adjacent to the holes prevent just one case of Lyme Disease I would be time well spent.
Other Thoughts: If it was well groomed, I'd pay to play there.

 

5+    5/6/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pye Brook Park gives New England players a break from the standard wooded courses that are common in the area. The park is a former landfill converted into an athletic park. Most holes play over grass with a couple tucked away in the woods.

Some clever pin positions and good use of the elevation provided by the rolling hills make for some nice variety not typically seen on such open courses.
Cons: There are quite a few holes that play into each other. In particular, hole 5's tee which is right behind the basket for 4, and holes 16, 17, and 18 which all try to make use of the big hill.

There are a couple points where the course feels repetitive with multiple holes making use of the same landscape feature. This includes holes 3, 4 and 5 which all play along the right to left slope off the ball fields. Also 8, 9 and 10 all play across the same sinkhole. And as mentioned before, 16, 17 and 18 bring a large mound into play.

Navigation can be tricky in a few spots, particularly going from 10 to 11 (follow the white fence around the coral and you'll get to 11's tee). Some next tee indicators would be very helpful. In addition, many of the tee signs have been vandalized and are nearly unreadable.

I know this is really nitpicky, but many of the holes have exposed conrete bases. The problem I have with this is that they can cause a lot of really bad (and in my opinion, unfair) rollaways.
Other Thoughts: For those of us in New England, Pye Brook gives us a chance to get out of the woods and play out in the open a bit.

Advanced players can find sufficient challenge provided by distance, elevation change, and wind. Most holes can be reached with a good tee shot, creating a lot of birdie opportunities. With very little vegetation in play, bad shots are not generally punished badly, making the course friendly for beginners as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stick it out!

2-4    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice and long
- Some very cool shots and placements
- Free
- Locals were helpful
- Large rubber tees
Cons: - In serious need of upkeep
- Filler holes, particularly in the beginning
- Signs warn down/vandalized
- Navigation can be tricky
Other Thoughts: The title of the review says it all. I played this course with a friend and his two 10 year old kids, and we were a bit discouraged at first. Holes 1, 2, 4, and 5 were boring and we felt like the course was going to suck based on them. The fairways were rough throughout the course, but the rough, particularly in the front 9, was unacceptably long and we spent a lot of time helping the kids find their discs (and they ours a few times). I can handle a little punishment for going off course, but waist high grass choked with poison ivy is not cool. Once we go to hole 6, we got our first taste of the good side of Pye Brook Park. Instead of putting the basket 300 - 375ft away on the side of the hill like the first 5 holes, 6 has you tee off from the top of the hill shooting along it, but then the hole is tucked away in a forest grove on the left about 300ft. away. Neat! After 6 the course moves away from the athletic field and into some woods and pasture where there is more variety and better grooming of the fairways. 8, 9, and 10 play across a huge gully with creative pin placements to ensure that you need more than a big arm to par or birdie. After we holed out on 10, we got stuck and had to pull up a course map on my phone to see where to go (thanks DGCR!). Some directional signs would go a long way towards making this a smoother process for first timers. We figured out that you need to follow the pasture fence to find 11, which shoots 300 ft over another huge gully, this time filled with nasty pond water (cool challenge but I wouldn't go in for a lost disc). We got a little lost again trying to find 12's blue tee. We found the red easily enough, but the blue turned out to be tucked away in the forest down a barely visible trail by the side of the dirt road. The tee area for 12 was well worth the effort to find as it was essentially a hidden garden. There were purple flowers and a roof of branches that were raining little green buds (and a lot of pollen) so the whole thing felt a bit surreal. 13 and 15 are short tight wooded holes that make for a refreshing change of pace (though the sign pointing to 15's tee was marked "this way to tee 12"). 16, 17, and 18 are grand scale holes playing with huge elevation change. 18 is the signature hole (called el signatore on the tee sign) and shoots 320ft. down a huge hill and over a big ol' pond. Given the height and threat of the pond, it's real easy to overshoot and a great challenge to end the regular 18. The "extra" hole 19 is worthless and a waste of time to play. The locals say there is a path from 18 to the "tee" (an orange cone at the back of a field sporting a no trespassing sign), but we couldn't find it at all. We walked from the 19th hole behind the 1st tee to find the tee/cone, which would be dangerous if others were trying to play the hole. The hole itself is a shot over a field, then along a paved road with thick woods on either side. It's not a very interesting line and the road tears up discs like nothing else. I would recommend disregarding the existence of this hole and simply playing the original 18 and leaving on a good note.
In general, there were some very nice touches but the confusing layout and lack of upkeep were real downers. The teeboxes are made from rubber horse pads and are both large and grippy. Wooded holes had a broom hanging near the tee to clean off leaves and deadfall. The fairways away from the athletic field (11 - 15) were well kept, but everywhere else 8 - 12" grass was the fairway norm. Being adults in decent shape, my friend and I were fine with the constant ups and downs through tall grass, but the kids were pretty wiped and we had to skip out on a second round. The red tees were the perfect length for children, but anyone that can throw 250 - 300 ft would find them way too easy. That said, those 250 - 300ft. shooters would also find several of the blue tees unbirdiable and tough to par. Despite only having a few wooded holes, this course is fairly challenging and unforgiving. It's easy to fly way off course and with all but 19 being par 3, it can be tough to save a par. If they added some signs, and organized a few people to do some mowing, they'd have a 3.5 to 4 rated course. Definitely worth a play, but not worth driving over an hour to play unless you had some other courses on the agenda.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love to hate it.

5+    2/4/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: chrisq
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rubber tees.
Wooded holes are fun.
Cons: Just about everything else.
Other Thoughts: This place is a wind factory, never have i seen funnier flight characteristics than at this place. This is also the only course that i end up encountering a total jerk or group of jerks every time i go. Definitely not a course to go out of your way to play, if you're in the area, great course to practice at, especially during the off season when there's no football games.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/19/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course play around the perimeter of the park. There is plenty of parking which could get filled up if there are ball games going on. The course is mostly open with a nice use of elevation being used.

Other Pros:
- varied water hazards
- flags on baskets
- tee signs, dual tees, garbage cans

* I saw some locals working on tee boxes and signs, which means the details of the course are improving!
Cons: I did not have navigation problems until the very end. #19's tee was tough to find, take a look at a map before going out.

Other Cons:
- some natural tees in rough shape
- throws over picnic tables

*The directions took me to an entrance that had a locked gate, we found another entrance off of Bare Hill Rd. which was open.
Other Thoughts: The most memorable hole was #18, a throw from a hill over a large pond.
Overall, this is a typical course with some fun holes. Play it if your nearby but don't make a special trip for it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could use a redesign

1    7/6/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a welcome kiosk right nere hole one; although the only thing in it is a plaque thanking an Eagle Scout for designing the course. Two sets of tees are offered, reds and blues, although only one may be playable depending whether or not a ball game is going on. The near new Chainstars have numbered flags on top of them. This is super helpful because on a couple of holes multiple baskets are in view. The metal tee signs are in pretty decent shape and give the distance and par for the long tees. The short tee's info is marked at the tee pad on a painted 4x4. The pin placement on probably half the baskets is very creative and will make you work hard to birdie. There is a really good use of water (when it isn't dried up) and O.B. There is a good mix of holes from both sets of tees. Prepare to be challenged. There are clear paths between the baskets so navigation isn't too difficult. There are scattered trash cans and benches throughout. Athletic fields are there as well as a small snack shack (open during games). A porta pottie is available in between holes eighteen and nineteen.
Cons: The scorecard box was filled with trash and contained no cards. Some of the tee boxes are right next to the sports fields or the overflow parking area. The natural pads need leveling and the short ones are in pretty rough shape. Several holes play back and forth along a ridge and footing is tricky over all the dead grass. The grass was mid shin high when I played, well at least the areas that were only for disc golf were. There were bees and no see ums everywhere. There are no next tee signs or maps of the holes. Some of them, most notably eight, are awefully hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Bring the map available in the links section.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 An Average Slice of Pye

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets at Pye Brook Park are in amazing shape. The Mach 3's have inner chains and catch quite well. All baskets have flags sticking out the tops, making for easier identification. The fairways are well defined, as most holes are out in the open. Fences and water (sometimes) provide the challenge of avoiding OB. This would be a nice course for a beginner.
Cons: If there are baseball games going on, forget playing the first few holes, as parents will likely be sitting in some of the fairways. Parking can also be an issue. Only 2 wooded holes that I can recall...the rest are wide open. The teeboxes on the blues are decent, while they basically just threw down some 2 x 4's for reds. Can get very swampy when wet.
Other Thoughts: If Muldoon Park in Pelham, NH is the beginner course for fans of wooded holes, then Pye Brook Park is the beginner course for fans of open throwing. Hardly any trees on this course, but not exactly a course to throw long bombs either. Most holes are about the same. The baskets are phenomenal at Pye Brook.

All in all, a very average course, hence the 2.5 disc rating. I would certainly return to Pye Brook if I was in the area, but won't go out of my way to play there again. The course is 100% free, and is unlikely to be crowded if no baseball games are taking place. The plus side of the baseball games is they will open the snack shack, allowing DGers to snag some $1 Gatorades and other treats.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Signage?

1    6/16/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Basket placements make birdie/par shots above/below challenges.
Cons: Tee Signs, when available, do not have maps only distance and baskets can be blind.
Other Thoughts: Ask for HELP! Was fortunate to chat with local couple who pointed out course layout. 11th tee is across horse field (south). Worth the play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Time for a little edge play

2-4    7/5/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wide open, straightforward course that seems to cater to the beginner/intermediate player. Some long shots and a few tougher ones that make use of the elevation changes afforded by the flood control dykes steep sides. The fact that 80% of the course runs around the perimeter of several sports fields means you have to keep it straight and true lest you lose your disc deep into the surrounding woods on the periphery.
Generally, if you get too much hyzer or nose up on your right-handed backhand shot, you're in for a lost-disc search and rescue. This, I've found is a great way to focus on keeping your shot low and straight, and work that backhand anhyzer a bit! Not a bad place to keep up your chops if you get tired of playing more disc-golf-oriented courses.
Cons: Not a lot of variety to be had here with only a couple holes tucked into a small patch of woods with the rest being out in a big open field. Kudos to the folks who got the course approved, but one is left with the feeling that it was sort of tucked in as an afterthought.
I've played here four times and three of those were windy to the point of... well it just took the fun out of the game. We spent a good amount of time looking for discs in the woods off the edge of the park when the breeze would grab a nice straight shot and launch it into the arboreal abyss or the Dead Marshes.
This is primarily a "traditional sports" park and you'll find football and baseball games going on quite often in the summer/early fall. Disc golfing is a bit of an afterthought here so be mindful of non-players walking dogs, riding horses, etc.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to get a feel for how to throw a disc if you're new to the game. Plenty of room on most holes for errors or to try uncorking a big drive if you're feeling out your DG muscles.
Check the local weather to see what the winds are like before you trek out here...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are pretty challenging with almost all having multiple tees for different skill levels. Open course design is accommodating for beginners.
Cons: Some layout decisions make you scratch your head (placing tees in the fairways of other holes) and there are no holes that are really memorable. Swampy at times depending on rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a pretty average to slightly above average course. Nice location for a course, with some well laid out holes, but there are some oddities. One of the holes runs right along a baseball outfield fence, so if there is a game going on, you better be careful. Parking is also a problem if there is a game going on. Tall grass can make finding discs quite annoying, and this course can also get very wet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.