Disc Golf Store
Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #6 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / --   3 / 171ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Come Get Your Piece of Pye

1    1/30/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes with baskets that have been broken into, but in fairly good shape. Flags mark the holes for sight, as many holes play on hills for a top notch putting challenge. For the most part, flags are in decent shape (see cons for more). Blue tees offer rubber mats with good run-up room, plus a distance and description of what is OB for the holes. Red tees are only stakes in the ground, but allow for those with noodle arms like me to play competitively with the big boys. Good variety of up and down hills for a great workout, and no overwhelming holes. Hole 18 reminded me of 1 at Maple Hill, throwing over a pond with the basket barely feet past the edge of the water. Easy to find. Less than 5 minutes from I-95. OB adds a challenge should one decide to play it as such. Loved the sign on 7.
Cons: That being said, if you come in the off-season, the gate is closed, so you'll have to walk a good distance. Some of the flags were really tattered and could be replaced. In the winter, the steps to 7 and 9 are very icy and tough climbing. If you hate elevation, this is not your course, neither if you hate fast greens, as there are many holes like this. May be a con for some and a pro for others.
Other Thoughts: Pye Brook is a nice course. It is by no means a destination spot, but if you're coming up 95 from Boston or down 95 from Maine/eastern NH, take a quick five minutes off the highway and stretch out your legs at Pye. At the end of the day, it served me a nice slice of humble pye, which I appreciated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A few nice holes with some filler...

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 3, 8, 11 and of course 18 are memorable. Even though several baseball games were going I could play all holes. Found all tees and holes, eventually. Room to air out the arm on a few holes, due to them being uphill. Big cement bases saved my drives twice from sliding by.
Cons: Many of the holes are instantly forgettable. Too much punishment for typical RHBH throws (had a couple skips off of the hard dirt that sailed down into the woods left of the hole). The "greens" are pretty small, either get close or skip/roll down a hill left, right or behind the hole to your doom. Windy and yet also buggy. Only two wooded holes, neither of which have defined fairways. Had to play Hole 1 from Am tee as there were 15-20 cars parked directly in front of the Pro tee.
Other Thoughts: Wish I had a better RHFH, cause it got a bit tiring watching the wind turn decent drives into search and rescue missions. Miss 5 feet left and you're "wet" or buried in the woods, miss 5 feet right and you are, well, sitting 5 feet right. I understand, you either had to go clockwise or counter-clockwise, and would rather errant throws go away from the Little Leaguers, but boy I wish I was a lefty. Otherwise, a bit heavy on the open holes. I actually liked the use of OB, made it much more difficult than it could have been on many holes. Easy access from I-95. Stubbed the heck out of my big toe on the path from 13 to 14, broke the nail, bloody mess. Watch out for a little stump right in the middle of the path.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Holly
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied terrain, water hazards, well-marked baskets, pet friendly, ample parking, wooded, grassy...
Cons: Dirty fishbowl has eaten a number of my discs. Horse shows take over holes 7-15 (this has only happened once while I was there).
Other Thoughts: People don't seem to return the discs that they find here... Bummer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pye Brook Park

5+    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: long course will take you on a long winding up and down walk throughout the park. Plenty of hazards and changes in angles.
Cons: The wind, the bugs, and the fact that you can lose a disc on a great shot sometimes because the grass in the fields can get way too high. If you aren't fully focused you can spend a lot of time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: A good course overall. Younger and beginner players may not exactly fall in love with the game from playing here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

8/5/2006   7/6/2008
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for rec. to adv. players to have a quick rounds. Some nice holes that requires good shots or make it up big time if you screw it up.

Nice tee signs and the course are well kept by town.
Cons: It can get crowed when there's baseball games going on. Be cautions when throwing discs near baseball fields during strong winds.

Choose wisely when throwing at #18 across the water. Pretty close calls when disc landed near the water.
Other Thoughts: Course is pretty much straightforward really. Just throw it straight and you can make it par everytime or get some deuces all the way around if its good day.

One thing in mind that the course is on pretty high top hill area where there are plenty strong constant winds which I can my kite there after the round. It make the game more challenging to play.

Worth checking out for Rec. to Adv. players and also to introduce to newbies as well. Pros can play there if they are in mood for quick rounds if happen to be in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.