Disc Golf Store
Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #18 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / --   3 / 201ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than Expected

1    10/21/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concerns in other reviews about maintenance have been addressed. The course was well groomed and easy to play. Nice combination of woods and open areas.
Cons: Nothing. All the complaints in other reviews were exaggerated or had been remedies by grounds keepers. I suppose tics and lyme disease might still be an issue, but I am still healthy.
Other Thoughts: Under rated and worth a visit. Especially beautiful in the fall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Mr. Blue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LOVED this course! NOT a "typical" New England course. I know that there have been many changes in the recent past on this course. Most notable of these changes were the tee pads. They have gone with rubber tee pads, but framed out. They are excellent!
The elevation changes are great, and utilization of EVERY angular direction of the property means you get to face the wind in every direction, and you never get bored.
Holes 6-10 are good rips off the tee that utilize a good sized ditch/gorge with good guardian trees around the baskets.
Cons: Given the multiple uses for this park, there are some holes that necessitate some manufactured OB's. The biggest issue is that these OB's can make for some dangerous approach shots on certain holes.
The course can get soggy in areas, and there are some rough areas you have to traverse to get to the next tee box.
There are 2 sets of teepads, but the shorts are TOO easy, and they natural pads..... VERY used.
If you lose one in a couple of the water hazards, THEY ARE GONE! The water is on the uber nasty side.
Other Thoughts: If I played this course routinely, I'd be in GREAT shape! The course is a good walk, and with the elevation, it is great practice. Honestly, I feel that the course plays like something you would see in KC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  challenging and fun

5+    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: o0mort0o
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free, full 18 hole, Challenging open shots as well as tricky tees from the woods , nice new rubber tee pads , nice baskets with visible yellow flags markers on all them well maintained grounds friendly golfers and a practice hole
Cons: First 4 holes go around a practice football field. This can be a bit of an annoyance with all the people running around and the whistles but then again that is only during a practice . It is nice and peaceful when practice is not in session.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to work on your drives!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: dugmar
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free. Tons of parking. Lots of variation from wide open fields to dense forest. Huge variations in elevation. Nice upgraded tee boxes make a huge difference. Flags recently replaced. Hole #18 is worth the trip alone.
Cons: Holes 3, and 4 lack excitement. Ticks! Be very careful if you enter the woods. There are TONS of ticks here, even picked one up in the winter. Wind is also a problem here, it always seems to have a stiff breeze, even on a calm day. Disc theft seems to be a commonly reported problem here. Me and the guys I play with often have lost 5-6 discs here on 18 in the water, most of them floaters (Wahoo, Dragon, etc.) None were returned.
Other Thoughts: Get ready for a nice little hike. This is a cardio workout course for sure.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Around the Field

1    4/21/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: japaboston
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is mostly open area where you can throw your hardest.
Every T has a nice new rubber surface.
There is a lot of water around, and that makes for a very pretty scenery.
Cons: It's a little frustrating, when it's windy. Like I said most of the drives, and midrange shots are from an open area, and that makes it difficult to control the discs trajectory.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Up and down, round and round

5+    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty wide open. You play clockwise around a raised landfill, so over half the shots you want to play right to left in the air. Good course to open the arm up on in some places. Depending on the weather, there can be up to 3 or 4 water holes.
Cons: There can be a lot of long grass that makes for tough searching if it hasn't been mowed.
Other Thoughts: Whatever you do, don't go in the water. That's landfill leachate.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge, distance, water, and woods!

2-4    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: Nice gravel tee boxes, great variety of holes....some over water, long drive holes, tight turn holes, some in the woods, others are for the short game, easy to find every basket and tee box, grass is frequently mowed.
Cons: Very buggy during certain times, especially the evening when there is no wind. Cars often overflow onto the first and second hole potentially making the round an expensive one if you know what I mean.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and a good weekend double round type course for amateurs to pros to enjoy. I wish there were more tournaments there!!!

 Pye Brook Park: My First Game

1    5/16/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: InternationalLog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Separate tees allowed for my novice friend and I to play with more experienced friends.
Cons: One of the holes was missing a tee off marker for the amateur tees. We ran into a representative for the course who explained that it interfered with some of the other park activities, so the marker is only placed for special events.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good use of an old landfill!

 Playing @Pye Brook

4/17/2008   4/18/2008
Review By: Hovey1127
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pye Brook is wide open with great elevation changes, and challenging slopes that you have to putt on.
Cons: Situated around town playing fields the area is not exclusively for DG. The park gate at times is closed.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It can be tough but it is fair.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.