Disc Golf Store
Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / --   3 / 198ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Come Get Your Piece of Pye

1    1/30/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes with baskets that have been broken into, but in fairly good shape. Flags mark the holes for sight, as many holes play on hills for a top notch putting challenge. For the most part, flags are in decent shape (see cons for more). Blue tees offer rubber mats with good run-up room, plus a distance and description of what is OB for the holes. Red tees are only stakes in the ground, but allow for those with noodle arms like me to play competitively with the big boys. Good variety of up and down hills for a great workout, and no overwhelming holes. Hole 18 reminded me of 1 at Maple Hill, throwing over a pond with the basket barely feet past the edge of the water. Easy to find. Less than 5 minutes from I-95. OB adds a challenge should one decide to play it as such. Loved the sign on 7.
Cons: That being said, if you come in the off-season, the gate is closed, so you'll have to walk a good distance. Some of the flags were really tattered and could be replaced. In the winter, the steps to 7 and 9 are very icy and tough climbing. If you hate elevation, this is not your course, neither if you hate fast greens, as there are many holes like this. May be a con for some and a pro for others.
Other Thoughts: Pye Brook is a nice course. It is by no means a destination spot, but if you're coming up 95 from Boston or down 95 from Maine/eastern NH, take a quick five minutes off the highway and stretch out your legs at Pye. At the end of the day, it served me a nice slice of humble pye, which I appreciated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than Expected

1    10/21/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concerns in other reviews about maintenance have been addressed. The course was well groomed and easy to play. Nice combination of woods and open areas.
Cons: Nothing. All the complaints in other reviews were exaggerated or had been remedies by grounds keepers. I suppose tics and lyme disease might still be an issue, but I am still healthy.
Other Thoughts: Under rated and worth a visit. Especially beautiful in the fall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rainy Monday

1    8/12/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Maddog30
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Challenging, good pads. Scenic. Free.
Cons: Hilly and long (hole distances). Their rating of all the holes being par 3 is debatable. Many of the holes would be par 4 on any other course. Primary issue is the lack of maintenance, fairway grass was 6-8", but surrounding terrain was waist high, making locating your disc in the field brush difficult. This area is known to have lots of deer carrying Lyme Disease, (I did notice deer tracks in multiple locations), It isn't the best idea having to wade thru waist high fields, if weed-wacking the fields adjacent to the holes prevent just one case of Lyme Disease I would be time well spent.
Other Thoughts: If it was well groomed, I'd pay to play there.

 

5+    5/6/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pye Brook Park gives New England players a break from the standard wooded courses that are common in the area. The park is a former landfill converted into an athletic park. Most holes play over grass with a couple tucked away in the woods.

Some clever pin positions and good use of the elevation provided by the rolling hills make for some nice variety not typically seen on such open courses.
Cons: There are quite a few holes that play into each other. In particular, hole 5's tee which is right behind the basket for 4, and holes 16, 17, and 18 which all try to make use of the big hill.

There are a couple points where the course feels repetitive with multiple holes making use of the same landscape feature. This includes holes 3, 4 and 5 which all play along the right to left slope off the ball fields. Also 8, 9 and 10 all play across the same sinkhole. And as mentioned before, 16, 17 and 18 bring a large mound into play.

Navigation can be tricky in a few spots, particularly going from 10 to 11 (follow the white fence around the coral and you'll get to 11's tee). Some next tee indicators would be very helpful. In addition, many of the tee signs have been vandalized and are nearly unreadable.

I know this is really nitpicky, but many of the holes have exposed conrete bases. The problem I have with this is that they can cause a lot of really bad (and in my opinion, unfair) rollaways.
Other Thoughts: For those of us in New England, Pye Brook gives us a chance to get out of the woods and play out in the open a bit.

Advanced players can find sufficient challenge provided by distance, elevation change, and wind. Most holes can be reached with a good tee shot, creating a lot of birdie opportunities. With very little vegetation in play, bad shots are not generally punished badly, making the course friendly for beginners as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stick it out!

2-4    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice and long
- Some very cool shots and placements
- Free
- Locals were helpful
- Large rubber tees
Cons: - In serious need of upkeep
- Filler holes, particularly in the beginning
- Signs warn down/vandalized
- Navigation can be tricky
Other Thoughts: The title of the review says it all. I played this course with a friend and his two 10 year old kids, and we were a bit discouraged at first. Holes 1, 2, 4, and 5 were boring and we felt like the course was going to suck based on them. The fairways were rough throughout the course, but the rough, particularly in the front 9, was unacceptably long and we spent a lot of time helping the kids find their discs (and they ours a few times). I can handle a little punishment for going off course, but waist high grass choked with poison ivy is not cool. Once we go to hole 6, we got our first taste of the good side of Pye Brook Park. Instead of putting the basket 300 - 375ft away on the side of the hill like the first 5 holes, 6 has you tee off from the top of the hill shooting along it, but then the hole is tucked away in a forest grove on the left about 300ft. away. Neat! After 6 the course moves away from the athletic field and into some woods and pasture where there is more variety and better grooming of the fairways. 8, 9, and 10 play across a huge gully with creative pin placements to ensure that you need more than a big arm to par or birdie. After we holed out on 10, we got stuck and had to pull up a course map on my phone to see where to go (thanks DGCR!). Some directional signs would go a long way towards making this a smoother process for first timers. We figured out that you need to follow the pasture fence to find 11, which shoots 300 ft over another huge gully, this time filled with nasty pond water (cool challenge but I wouldn't go in for a lost disc). We got a little lost again trying to find 12's blue tee. We found the red easily enough, but the blue turned out to be tucked away in the forest down a barely visible trail by the side of the dirt road. The tee area for 12 was well worth the effort to find as it was essentially a hidden garden. There were purple flowers and a roof of branches that were raining little green buds (and a lot of pollen) so the whole thing felt a bit surreal. 13 and 15 are short tight wooded holes that make for a refreshing change of pace (though the sign pointing to 15's tee was marked "this way to tee 12"). 16, 17, and 18 are grand scale holes playing with huge elevation change. 18 is the signature hole (called el signatore on the tee sign) and shoots 320ft. down a huge hill and over a big ol' pond. Given the height and threat of the pond, it's real easy to overshoot and a great challenge to end the regular 18. The "extra" hole 19 is worthless and a waste of time to play. The locals say there is a path from 18 to the "tee" (an orange cone at the back of a field sporting a no trespassing sign), but we couldn't find it at all. We walked from the 19th hole behind the 1st tee to find the tee/cone, which would be dangerous if others were trying to play the hole. The hole itself is a shot over a field, then along a paved road with thick woods on either side. It's not a very interesting line and the road tears up discs like nothing else. I would recommend disregarding the existence of this hole and simply playing the original 18 and leaving on a good note.
In general, there were some very nice touches but the confusing layout and lack of upkeep were real downers. The teeboxes are made from rubber horse pads and are both large and grippy. Wooded holes had a broom hanging near the tee to clean off leaves and deadfall. The fairways away from the athletic field (11 - 15) were well kept, but everywhere else 8 - 12" grass was the fairway norm. Being adults in decent shape, my friend and I were fine with the constant ups and downs through tall grass, but the kids were pretty wiped and we had to skip out on a second round. The red tees were the perfect length for children, but anyone that can throw 250 - 300 ft would find them way too easy. That said, those 250 - 300ft. shooters would also find several of the blue tees unbirdiable and tough to par. Despite only having a few wooded holes, this course is fairly challenging and unforgiving. It's easy to fly way off course and with all but 19 being par 3, it can be tough to save a par. If they added some signs, and organized a few people to do some mowing, they'd have a 3.5 to 4 rated course. Definitely worth a play, but not worth driving over an hour to play unless you had some other courses on the agenda.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love to hate it.

5+    2/4/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: chrisq
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rubber tees.
Wooded holes are fun.
Cons: Just about everything else.
Other Thoughts: This place is a wind factory, never have i seen funnier flight characteristics than at this place. This is also the only course that i end up encountering a total jerk or group of jerks every time i go. Definitely not a course to go out of your way to play, if you're in the area, great course to practice at, especially during the off season when there's no football games.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Mr. Blue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LOVED this course! NOT a "typical" New England course. I know that there have been many changes in the recent past on this course. Most notable of these changes were the tee pads. They have gone with rubber tee pads, but framed out. They are excellent!
The elevation changes are great, and utilization of EVERY angular direction of the property means you get to face the wind in every direction, and you never get bored.
Holes 6-10 are good rips off the tee that utilize a good sized ditch/gorge with good guardian trees around the baskets.
Cons: Given the multiple uses for this park, there are some holes that necessitate some manufactured OB's. The biggest issue is that these OB's can make for some dangerous approach shots on certain holes.
The course can get soggy in areas, and there are some rough areas you have to traverse to get to the next tee box.
There are 2 sets of teepads, but the shorts are TOO easy, and they natural pads..... VERY used.
If you lose one in a couple of the water hazards, THEY ARE GONE! The water is on the uber nasty side.
Other Thoughts: If I played this course routinely, I'd be in GREAT shape! The course is a good walk, and with the elevation, it is great practice. Honestly, I feel that the course plays like something you would see in KC.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  challenging and fun

5+    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: o0mort0o
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free, full 18 hole, Challenging open shots as well as tricky tees from the woods , nice new rubber tee pads , nice baskets with visible yellow flags markers on all them well maintained grounds friendly golfers and a practice hole
Cons: First 4 holes go around a practice football field. This can be a bit of an annoyance with all the people running around and the whistles but then again that is only during a practice . It is nice and peaceful when practice is not in session.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to work on your drives!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/19/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course play around the perimeter of the park. There is plenty of parking which could get filled up if there are ball games going on. The course is mostly open with a nice use of elevation being used.

Other Pros:
- varied water hazards
- flags on baskets
- tee signs, dual tees, garbage cans

* I saw some locals working on tee boxes and signs, which means the details of the course are improving!
Cons: I did not have navigation problems until the very end. #19's tee was tough to find, take a look at a map before going out.

Other Cons:
- some natural tees in rough shape
- throws over picnic tables

*The directions took me to an entrance that had a locked gate, we found another entrance off of Bare Hill Rd. which was open.
Other Thoughts: The most memorable hole was #18, a throw from a hill over a large pond.
Overall, this is a typical course with some fun holes. Play it if your nearby but don't make a special trip for it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: dugmar
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free. Tons of parking. Lots of variation from wide open fields to dense forest. Huge variations in elevation. Nice upgraded tee boxes make a huge difference. Flags recently replaced. Hole #18 is worth the trip alone.
Cons: Holes 3, and 4 lack excitement. Ticks! Be very careful if you enter the woods. There are TONS of ticks here, even picked one up in the winter. Wind is also a problem here, it always seems to have a stiff breeze, even on a calm day. Disc theft seems to be a commonly reported problem here. Me and the guys I play with often have lost 5-6 discs here on 18 in the water, most of them floaters (Wahoo, Dragon, etc.) None were returned.
Other Thoughts: Get ready for a nice little hike. This is a cardio workout course for sure.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.