Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #14 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Around the Field

1    4/21/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: japaboston
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is mostly open area where you can throw your hardest.
Every T has a nice new rubber surface.
There is a lot of water around, and that makes for a very pretty scenery.
Cons: It's a little frustrating, when it's windy. Like I said most of the drives, and midrange shots are from an open area, and that makes it difficult to control the discs trajectory.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/5/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **************
as of spring 2011- all the T-pads were replaced and repaired- i'll leave my "cons" comment below just to demonstrate how great of an improvement it is- the t pads are real sturdy and grippy rubber mats-
**************
-free
-quality baskets, installed well and in good shape
-a lot of open space, lets you see if you can really throw over 300 ft (though only 19 is a true par 4 IMO)
-never really crowded
-parking
-OB rules clearly stated on T-signs
Cons: -the Tee Pads really need to be concrete, i'm not sure why they don't just buy a load and fill up the boxes- they're practically worn down a solid 6 inches with huge divits -
-easy to lose discs if you're not much for looking through the woods or you don't pay attention to where your disc went
-hole 1 is an SUV parking lot for soccer moms after 5:15 on weekdays all spring/summer, but thins out for football season as the fields are further down
-possibility for ticks and poison ivy- though i've never had either and i've played the course over 50 times
Other Thoughts: this is my home course so to speak, and i pretty much learned to play disc golf here- so i love it. i can understand how someone new might get a bit turned around looking for the baskets and tees. some more accurate "directional" signs and maps seem like they might add a nice touch and be helpful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could use a redesign

1    7/6/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a welcome kiosk right nere hole one; although the only thing in it is a plaque thanking an Eagle Scout for designing the course. Two sets of tees are offered, reds and blues, although only one may be playable depending whether or not a ball game is going on. The near new Chainstars have numbered flags on top of them. This is super helpful because on a couple of holes multiple baskets are in view. The metal tee signs are in pretty decent shape and give the distance and par for the long tees. The short tee's info is marked at the tee pad on a painted 4x4. The pin placement on probably half the baskets is very creative and will make you work hard to birdie. There is a really good use of water (when it isn't dried up) and O.B. There is a good mix of holes from both sets of tees. Prepare to be challenged. There are clear paths between the baskets so navigation isn't too difficult. There are scattered trash cans and benches throughout. Athletic fields are there as well as a small snack shack (open during games). A porta pottie is available in between holes eighteen and nineteen.
Cons: The scorecard box was filled with trash and contained no cards. Some of the tee boxes are right next to the sports fields or the overflow parking area. The natural pads need leveling and the short ones are in pretty rough shape. Several holes play back and forth along a ridge and footing is tricky over all the dead grass. The grass was mid shin high when I played, well at least the areas that were only for disc golf were. There were bees and no see ums everywhere. There are no next tee signs or maps of the holes. Some of them, most notably eight, are awefully hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Bring the map available in the links section.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A few nice holes with some filler...

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 3, 8, 11 and of course 18 are memorable. Even though several baseball games were going I could play all holes. Found all tees and holes, eventually. Room to air out the arm on a few holes, due to them being uphill. Big cement bases saved my drives twice from sliding by.
Cons: Many of the holes are instantly forgettable. Too much punishment for typical RHBH throws (had a couple skips off of the hard dirt that sailed down into the woods left of the hole). The "greens" are pretty small, either get close or skip/roll down a hill left, right or behind the hole to your doom. Windy and yet also buggy. Only two wooded holes, neither of which have defined fairways. Had to play Hole 1 from Am tee as there were 15-20 cars parked directly in front of the Pro tee.
Other Thoughts: Wish I had a better RHFH, cause it got a bit tiring watching the wind turn decent drives into search and rescue missions. Miss 5 feet left and you're "wet" or buried in the woods, miss 5 feet right and you are, well, sitting 5 feet right. I understand, you either had to go clockwise or counter-clockwise, and would rather errant throws go away from the Little Leaguers, but boy I wish I was a lefty. Otherwise, a bit heavy on the open holes. I actually liked the use of OB, made it much more difficult than it could have been on many holes. Easy access from I-95. Stubbed the heck out of my big toe on the path from 13 to 14, broke the nail, bloody mess. Watch out for a little stump right in the middle of the path.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An Average Slice of Pye

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets at Pye Brook Park are in amazing shape. The Mach 3's have inner chains and catch quite well. All baskets have flags sticking out the tops, making for easier identification. The fairways are well defined, as most holes are out in the open. Fences and water (sometimes) provide the challenge of avoiding OB. This would be a nice course for a beginner.
Cons: If there are baseball games going on, forget playing the first few holes, as parents will likely be sitting in some of the fairways. Parking can also be an issue. Only 2 wooded holes that I can recall...the rest are wide open. The teeboxes on the blues are decent, while they basically just threw down some 2 x 4's for reds. Can get very swampy when wet.
Other Thoughts: If Muldoon Park in Pelham, NH is the beginner course for fans of wooded holes, then Pye Brook Park is the beginner course for fans of open throwing. Hardly any trees on this course, but not exactly a course to throw long bombs either. Most holes are about the same. The baskets are phenomenal at Pye Brook.

All in all, a very average course, hence the 2.5 disc rating. I would certainly return to Pye Brook if I was in the area, but won't go out of my way to play there again. The course is 100% free, and is unlikely to be crowded if no baseball games are taking place. The plus side of the baseball games is they will open the snack shack, allowing DGers to snag some $1 Gatorades and other treats.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Signage?

1    6/16/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Basket placements make birdie/par shots above/below challenges.
Cons: Tee Signs, when available, do not have maps only distance and baskets can be blind.
Other Thoughts: Ask for HELP! Was fortunate to chat with local couple who pointed out course layout. 11th tee is across horse field (south). Worth the play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and down, round and round

5+    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty wide open. You play clockwise around a raised landfill, so over half the shots you want to play right to left in the air. Good course to open the arm up on in some places. Depending on the weather, there can be up to 3 or 4 water holes.
Cons: There can be a lot of long grass that makes for tough searching if it hasn't been mowed.
Other Thoughts: Whatever you do, don't go in the water. That's landfill leachate.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Time for a little edge play

2-4    7/5/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wide open, straightforward course that seems to cater to the beginner/intermediate player. Some long shots and a few tougher ones that make use of the elevation changes afforded by the flood control dykes steep sides. The fact that 80% of the course runs around the perimeter of several sports fields means you have to keep it straight and true lest you lose your disc deep into the surrounding woods on the periphery.
Generally, if you get too much hyzer or nose up on your right-handed backhand shot, you're in for a lost-disc search and rescue. This, I've found is a great way to focus on keeping your shot low and straight, and work that backhand anhyzer a bit! Not a bad place to keep up your chops if you get tired of playing more disc-golf-oriented courses.
Cons: Not a lot of variety to be had here with only a couple holes tucked into a small patch of woods with the rest being out in a big open field. Kudos to the folks who got the course approved, but one is left with the feeling that it was sort of tucked in as an afterthought.
I've played here four times and three of those were windy to the point of... well it just took the fun out of the game. We spent a good amount of time looking for discs in the woods off the edge of the park when the breeze would grab a nice straight shot and launch it into the arboreal abyss or the Dead Marshes.
This is primarily a "traditional sports" park and you'll find football and baseball games going on quite often in the summer/early fall. Disc golfing is a bit of an afterthought here so be mindful of non-players walking dogs, riding horses, etc.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to get a feel for how to throw a disc if you're new to the game. Plenty of room on most holes for errors or to try uncorking a big drive if you're feeling out your DG muscles.
Check the local weather to see what the winds are like before you trek out here...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Holly
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied terrain, water hazards, well-marked baskets, pet friendly, ample parking, wooded, grassy...
Cons: Dirty fishbowl has eaten a number of my discs. Horse shows take over holes 7-15 (this has only happened once while I was there).
Other Thoughts: People don't seem to return the discs that they find here... Bummer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pye Brook Park

5+    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: long course will take you on a long winding up and down walk throughout the park. Plenty of hazards and changes in angles.
Cons: The wind, the bugs, and the fact that you can lose a disc on a great shot sometimes because the grass in the fields can get way too high. If you aren't fully focused you can spend a lot of time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: A good course overall. Younger and beginner players may not exactly fall in love with the game from playing here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.