Topsfield, MA 
Pye Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / --   4 / 261ft.   3 / 357ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Decent Course

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are pretty challenging with almost all having multiple tees for different skill levels. Open course design is accommodating for beginners.
Cons: Some layout decisions make you scratch your head (placing tees in the fairways of other holes) and there are no holes that are really memorable. Swampy at times depending on rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a pretty average to slightly above average course. Nice location for a course, with some well laid out holes, but there are some oddities. One of the holes runs right along a baseball outfield fence, so if there is a game going on, you better be careful. Parking is also a problem if there is a game going on. Tall grass can make finding discs quite annoying, and this course can also get very wet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge, distance, water, and woods!

2-4    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: Nice gravel tee boxes, great variety of holes....some over water, long drive holes, tight turn holes, some in the woods, others are for the short game, easy to find every basket and tee box, grass is frequently mowed.
Cons: Very buggy during certain times, especially the evening when there is no wind. Cars often overflow onto the first and second hole potentially making the round an expensive one if you know what I mean.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and a good weekend double round type course for amateurs to pros to enjoy. I wish there were more tournaments there!!!

 Pye Brook Park: My First Game

1    5/16/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: InternationalLog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Separate tees allowed for my novice friend and I to play with more experienced friends.
Cons: One of the holes was missing a tee off marker for the amateur tees. We ran into a representative for the course who explained that it interfered with some of the other park activities, so the marker is only placed for special events.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good use of an old landfill!

 Great course

5+    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees for each hole. Mostly all wide open and challenging. A good variety of shots to 18 (blue tee) is especially satisfying when the pond is full of water.
Cons: When kids sporting events are going on the parking can overflow blocking some of the baskets. A couple holes are right along the edge of the football field so you have to be careful during games. The only hole I curse everytime I am there is 17 (blue). It is on the edge of a steep hill that goes down to the left...you really need a strong anhyzer (if you are a righty) shot to stay out of the woods here that will hold the curve to stay out of the woods here.
Other Thoughts: The changes in distance between the red and blue tees are pretty big. Red would be good if you are bringing beginners out but I don't think they'd offer much of a challenge to someone that had been playing for awhile.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Huck it out there!!

5+    11/19/2008   3/19/2009
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course for the most part that utilizes some hillside for pin placements. O.B. LONG O.B. SHORT. Roll away putts all make for fun, yet challenging course.(Especially if it's windy) Easy to find, just off I-95.
Cons: Avoid the standing water. Natural teepads. Multiuse sports complex.
Other Thoughts: Would make a great addition to any Eastern Mass. D G weekend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big hills

5+    11/5/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some big elevation changes and makes good use of the topography. Any time there are steep slopes, at least a few baskets (in my opinion) should be located near the slope for some good risk/reward, and Pye Brook does just that. Several of the holes have big right-to-left hills, so a RHBH player has the challenge of ending up way left if you hyzer out just a little too much. Because of this the course probably favors a lefty a little bit.

There are a couple holes with water, most notably 18, which forces a 300-foot throw over the water (it was completely dried up after a very dry fall, but it's usually full of water) to a narrow green, or laying up on the side.

Holes 16 and 17 play to baskets perched atop big hills with steep pitches on either side, so placement can be challenging.

Navigation generally is good, and the tee posts are visible. Tee pads are rubber. Tee signs show the distance but not any fairway contours (although the basket is easily visible on all but one or two holes).
Cons: Most of the holes are completely wide open, so the elevation and avoiding OB are the only challenge. There are two wooded holes, but it doesn't appear any trees were cut down, so the available lines are barely there.

I have never played here when baseball games were going, but I imagine it makes it a lot less enjoyable (the second hole has the real possibility of landing in the outfield if you pull right too much).

The course doesn't have a lot of challenge for an advanced player, but the water keeps some of the holes from being very beginner-friendly. It is best for rec and intermediate players with a little experience under their belt.
Other Thoughts: I revisited this course after 4 years. I can throw around 300 feet now, so I found the course enjoyable but not overly challenging.

The course can get pretty windy, which could be a pro or con, depending on your viewpoint. If you are north of Boston and want to test our your distance, this course is more than adequate. If you're visiting the area, there are far superior courses within an hour or so..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

8/5/2006   7/6/2008
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for rec. to adv. players to have a quick rounds. Some nice holes that requires good shots or make it up big time if you screw it up.

Nice tee signs and the course are well kept by town.
Cons: It can get crowed when there's baseball games going on. Be cautions when throwing discs near baseball fields during strong winds.

Choose wisely when throwing at #18 across the water. Pretty close calls when disc landed near the water.
Other Thoughts: Course is pretty much straightforward really. Just throw it straight and you can make it par everytime or get some deuces all the way around if its good day.

One thing in mind that the course is on pretty high top hill area where there are plenty strong constant winds which I can my kite there after the round. It make the game more challenging to play.

Worth checking out for Rec. to Adv. players and also to introduce to newbies as well. Pros can play there if they are in mood for quick rounds if happen to be in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Playing @Pye Brook

4/17/2008   4/18/2008
Review By: Hovey1127
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pye Brook is wide open with great elevation changes, and challenging slopes that you have to putt on.
Cons: Situated around town playing fields the area is not exclusively for DG. The park gate at times is closed.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It can be tough but it is fair.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.