Carmel, IN 
Hazel Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #6 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 317ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
my fav in Indy

1    6/21/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: INDY_NEBO
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course around as far as diversity in shot characteristics as well as terrain. It's well secluded, the only other people you may see while playing is the occasional trail walker or kayaker. Beautiful scenery and clean grounds. Top notch baskets and dual concrete tees.
Cons: FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, somebody change the baskets back to the short settings. They have seriously been in the B placement ALL YEAR. I'm not a fan of any courses changing the basket locations, especially if they have multiple tee pads. If a player feels ballsy and wants a challenge, just use the long tees! Half of my friends said they wouldn't play this course with me until they move the darn baskets back!!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE BRING THEM BACK DOWN. Oh, and do something about all these dag gone nettles! I seriously keep a long scycle like stick with me when I play this course so I can mow thru the nettles without getting stung to death.
Other Thoughts: Another thing missing here is a community bulletin board. I know, its the 2010's and everything's online, but I find guys get more enthusiastic about future events and leagues when they see it on a board right before they play a round!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Solid

1    4/19/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: optimalben
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Organization: the layout is very intuitive and well measured/signed. A+ on this. Tee pads are new and big; trails are well defined and located.

Level of difficulty: the pins were all "back" today, so I played from the shorter tees, and this was a perfect combination of challenge and satisfaction. Plenty of long putts for 2s (none went in though, sadly) and I didn't feel "screwed over" by the course. All my bad scores were really my own fault.

This is one of the best new (to me) courses I've played in a while.
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning. Hardcores would complain that the way I played today wasn't that challenging and the course doesn't play very long. But that's why the gold tees are there.
Other Thoughts: Don't be dissuaded by the way in. Coming off 96th street, you feel like you're in this pit mining sewage treatment plant hellhole, but the park is upriver from all that and very scenic and nice-smelling.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Competition Worthy

2-4    12/20/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 211  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting at the fantastic course map (please, someone post that up here on DGCR!), and the DisCatcher practice basket, Hazel Landing has a large space to stretch out, in view of some shaded picnic tables over by the river, then has a nice sign showing the way to the first tee. You'll find two large, level, flush, concrete tee pads and two basket positions for each hole, and beautiful Houck designed signs at each tee. With the added next tee signage where needed, this course shows how to do it up right. Navigation is easy and intuitive, even for first timers. It's no surprise, as you play the course, to find sturdy infrastructure (steps and the like), where needed to cross the little ravines, or to scale the ridges by the river.

Despite being in the level floodplain of a river (so not having much elevation to work with), the design incorporated the woods, as well as the tall grasses and trees (in the 'field' holes), to challenge every tourney division to execute their shots off the tee. Depending on the setup and your choice of tees, I could see this being a tough play for all. There isn't any monstrous distance, but the longer shots require a fairly accurate line to get in close for birdie opportunities. But even the technical woods holes were almost all 'fair'. I found the hole closest to the river (10) to have a bit of 'pucker factor' when throwing my two-ace Buzzz for another attempt, after having just bashed chains (and fallen out) on 9. I chose to throw safe for my deuce and not risk a kick off a tree into the drink.
Cons: Not much to complain about, but it is worth mentioning that -most of the time-, the long tees seem to add only more distance and precision to the same shot as the short tees, rather than going for a completely different look (a couple of the exceptions being the very fun, gulley running, raised basket hole 8, and hole 17, with the longer tee requiring an S-shaped drive).

Some of the holes appear to have been 'tweaked' since the signage was made up. I noted that hole 7 now sweeps pretty far to the right of what the sign indicates, and that hole 12 has the tees different than the sign (and seemed shorter from the blue tee than listed).

Just a personal observation/preference, but with some of the really short holes being extremely challenging and fun (the huge trees, VERY tight gaps, and mando on 13 spring to mind), it felt like the last couple of more 'open' holes failed to finish with a bang. But then, I was playing the blue tees in the winter, and the experience might be more thrilling for the bigger arms from the gold tee on 18, with summer leaves defining the line).
Other Thoughts: It would be very easy for first timers to miss the small park entrance sign across from 106th street, because the place doesn't look like a park until you travel the length of the gravel drive to the 'civilized' and well-kept parking area at the end.

You may want a spotter ahead on the 'field' holes, because the tall rough just off the somewhat narrow fairways look like they could be disc eaters in the summer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun secluded course I want to play again!

1    11/29/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 262  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tee pads.
Two basket locations for each hole.
Many different shots and unique holes.
Very secluded park, even though it's in the middle of suburbia.
Awesome signage.
A couple of butt hole puckering holes along the river!
Cons: Hardly any elevation (like most of central Indiana).
Looks like the weeds can be disc eaters in the summer. Some of the open holes remind me of Heritage Park near Cincy, but lined with way more weeds. (These weeds/zebra grass/natural habitat areas seem to be all the rage in suburban parks. Not just weeds from lack of upkeep like at my course!)
Other Thoughts: To play quickly and bag as many courses during the day, I played the short pads. It was fun, but I wish I would have played the longs. When I saw hole 13 long I thought, "whew, glad I'm playing the short pad!"

Hole 8 and 13 look like they play in an old canal possibly? Sure looks like a canal bed with the old towpath and subsequent railroad bed between the canal and river. But, I couldn't follow it farther along the river. Reminds me of the old canal in Wesselman Park in Evansville.

I really enjoyed this course and look forward to a return trip for the long pads!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    11/24/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: formerwrestler
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with good variety of holes. Some wooded, some long, very well maintained.
Cons: Little hard to find.
Other Thoughts: DG course not well marked off of Hazel Dell. At the intersection of 106th St. and Hazel Dell go East into park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/4/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: madman1101
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good signage, with distances, and pin locations on a nice map, as well as a full course map at the start.
Practice basket with distance markers as well as a nice open area for distance throwing is great.
Course flows pretty well for the most part and utilizes the terrain very well
Cons: After heavy rains some holes become flooded and unplayable.
Some walks between holes were a bit odd, some had signs while others didn't.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a challenge to find it, tiny sign. tucked back on a gravel road. just keep an eye out and you'll be okay

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Indy

5+    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: adam12
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course since it first opened in 2013. Every time I've played over the past year, the course has been improved. They've added gravel and signs and steps to direct you throughout the course.

Each hole has 2 concrete tees and 2 possible basket locations. Each Tee has signs that outline the course. There is an excellent practice basket with challenge game you can play by yourself or with friends to improve your putting.

The course begins in a lightly wooded area, but quickly navigates into mature trees and forest along the White River. It's a very scenic and refreshing walk. The wooded holes are challenging and require a very accurate shot.There is a water hazard of the White River on a couple of baskets, but it's pretty easy to avoid, unless you get a really unlucky bounce or roll off a tree.

There is a great variety of shots required throughout the course and it's by far my favorite course in the Indianapolis area. It's great for anyone who lives in the city and is wanting a scenic woodsy course.
Cons: There aren't a ton of elevation changes, but that's because this is Carmel. The only hill was taken by "The Hill" course at Northview Christian Church, just down the street. That being said, there are a couple of baskets that are placed on small elevations that add more variety.
Other Thoughts: This course is located on the east side of Hazel Dell Parkway at 106th st. 106 Street feeds into the park. There is a really tiny sign so it might be hard to find(especially coming from the North). This is a great hidden park to take your family for a picnic. There are picnic tables along the river.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Scenic Course

2-4    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 83  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets - 18 grippy Innova Discatcher baskets. There are 2 possible locations per hole (A and B). B is more difficult and A is shorter and slightly easier.

Practice Basket with 9 pavers circling it with distances listed.

Tee Pads - 2 large concrete tee pads per hole.

Signs - Each tee has a sign (2 signs per hole). Signs show a picture of the hole including both tees and both basket locations, distances, par, and how to get to next hole. Detailed course map at the start of the course. Detailed description at practice basket on how to play a game using the stone pavers. Also there are several signs pointing to the next tee when there could be confusion.

Variety - Open holes with distinct fairways, moderately wooded holes, heavily wooded holes, holes surrounded by tall grass, long holes, ace run holes, blind shots, thick rough, and 2 water hazards. Course does a great job of blending these. 1 - open with narrow fariway, 2 open with a guarded basket, 3-4 in woods, 5 in open, 6-8 in woods, 9-10 short ace runs bordering a fast flowing river, 11-12 in the open, 13 technical hole with guarded basket, 14 long hole surrounded by tall grass, 15 blind shot starts open ends in woods, 16-17 medium length hole with guarded basket, 18 mostly open blind shot. All wooded holes have some sort of slight elevation change.

Park is very peaceful and scenic.

Trash can before hole 1, at tees for hole 8, and after 18.

Benches on site made from tree stumps.

Stairs when needed.

If there is not a next tee sign and a fork in the path, the incorrect path will have a log laying across the path (leaves path usable but suggests you use other path).

Course is very difficult and technical. It will challenge any skill level. Aimed towards intermediate or advanced players. It brings the best out in you. It is difficult to save par (can also be a con). Unlike other area courses, this course is extremely technical. It makes you think and you have to know which type of throw to use.

Course is in much more of a nature park setting (paths through woods). It is very spread out. When brush/rough grows in, holes are very secluded from each other.
Cons: Course is very challenging. It can be hard to save par. When the brush surrounding holes grows in, you can spend plenty of time looking for discs. It can make or break your day. (Before it grows in, you won't have any difficulty finding discs).

Poison Ivy and thorns are included in the rough. I would suggest playing in the early spring or the late fall before/after it grows in.

Most wooded holes flood after a long rain (river overflows).

No bathrooms on site (yet).

The gravel road needs to be paved. It is full of holes.

Course is mostly flat.

Could use a few more next tee signs (after 8, after 10).
Other Thoughts: This is the most challenging course in Indianapolis. It has a bit of everything. Overall, the Frankfort course is just as challenging if not more challenging due to wooded holes with extreme elevation.

I have played this course in both basket positions. Course is challenging even from the easier of the 2 positions.

This course is challenging even from the AM tees. It makes you pick your throw and it makes you think. If this course is too challenging, there are plenty of options for you to use.

If you are looking for a challenge, I would recommend this course. If you are a beginner, I would suggest practicing more before trying this course, you will get frustrated. It will definitely make you better either way.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hazel Landing

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: Sstetson21
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is excellently constructed. Was just a park next to the white river before constructed so it is well maintnenced.
Having a practice hole and map of the course before going in hole 1
Concrete tee boxes
Signs for every tee box
clean (trash cans every couple holes)
Just an overall great build course for dificulty playing. Would not recommend for players with "alright" skills.
Cons: In summer very very likely you can lose a disc on any hole on the whole course.
some holes next to white river can get muddy due to flooding of the river.
Other Thoughts: Enterence is a little hard to find for first timers playing at the course. When pulling it doesn't seem to be a course, because it is somewhat next a rock corey. You just need to keep going down the gravel road

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 57  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + best practice area I have ever seen, great signs, bricks for every distance between 20 and 80 feet
+ 1 full color sign per pad and 2 pads per hole
+ tee pads are very long despite it being a smaller course
+ on almost every hole, there is a very clearly cut fairway that obviously took a lot of effort/money to make happen
+ good mix of technical + distance + different shot lines
+ rough areas are not thick enough to outright lose a disc
+ nice park, quiet
Cons: - needs trashcans, not for my sake but for the future of the course's sake
- some of the woods holes, 3, 13 esp need to be cleaned up in a way that allow for good shots to be made, not just lucky ones
-some of the holes are redundant in design
Other Thoughts: in my estimation, this is a below average piece of land that was turned into an above average course through lots of money and work. I really enjoy playing along the river, and not having to throw over it or for it to come into immediate play.

one thing I think that could elevate this course to elite status, or at least cult status would be if they put in some man made barriers and obstacles, like the triple mando hole at winthrop, etc. Also if they could cleanup some lines for higher shots, that would be awesome as well. Other than that, best course in HamCo without a doubt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.