Disc Golf Store
Carmel, IN 
Hazel Landing Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 317ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    5/4/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: madman1101
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good signage, with distances, and pin locations on a nice map, as well as a full course map at the start.
Practice basket with distance markers as well as a nice open area for distance throwing is great.
Course flows pretty well for the most part and utilizes the terrain very well
Cons: After heavy rains some holes become flooded and unplayable.
Some walks between holes were a bit odd, some had signs while others didn't.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a challenge to find it, tiny sign. tucked back on a gravel road. just keep an eye out and you'll be okay

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Indy

5+    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: adam12
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course since it first opened in 2013. Every time I've played over the past year, the course has been improved. They've added gravel and signs and steps to direct you throughout the course.

Each hole has 2 concrete tees and 2 possible basket locations. Each Tee has signs that outline the course. There is an excellent practice basket with challenge game you can play by yourself or with friends to improve your putting.

The course begins in a lightly wooded area, but quickly navigates into mature trees and forest along the White River. It's a very scenic and refreshing walk. The wooded holes are challenging and require a very accurate shot.There is a water hazard of the White River on a couple of baskets, but it's pretty easy to avoid, unless you get a really unlucky bounce or roll off a tree.

There is a great variety of shots required throughout the course and it's by far my favorite course in the Indianapolis area. It's great for anyone who lives in the city and is wanting a scenic woodsy course.
Cons: There aren't a ton of elevation changes, but that's because this is Carmel. The only hill was taken by "The Hill" course at Northview Christian Church, just down the street. That being said, there are a couple of baskets that are placed on small elevations that add more variety.
Other Thoughts: This course is located on the east side of Hazel Dell Parkway at 106th st. 106 Street feeds into the park. There is a really tiny sign so it might be hard to find(especially coming from the North). This is a great hidden park to take your family for a picnic. There are picnic tables along the river.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Scenic Course

2-4    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets - 18 grippy Innova Discatcher baskets. There are 2 possible locations per hole (A and B). B is more difficult and A is shorter and slightly easier.

Practice Basket with 9 pavers circling it with distances listed.

Tee Pads - 2 large concrete tee pads per hole.

Signs - Each tee has a sign (2 signs per hole). Signs show a picture of the hole including both tees and both basket locations, distances, par, and how to get to next hole. Detailed course map at the start of the course. Detailed description at practice basket on how to play a game using the stone pavers. Also there are several signs pointing to the next tee when there could be confusion.

Variety - Open holes with distinct fairways, moderately wooded holes, heavily wooded holes, holes surrounded by tall grass, long holes, ace run holes, blind shots, thick rough, and 2 water hazards. Course does a great job of blending these. 1 - open with narrow fariway, 2 open with a guarded basket, 3-4 in woods, 5 in open, 6-8 in woods, 9-10 short ace runs bordering a fast flowing river, 11-12 in the open, 13 technical hole with guarded basket, 14 long hole surrounded by tall grass, 15 blind shot starts open ends in woods, 16-17 medium length hole with guarded basket, 18 mostly open blind shot. All wooded holes have some sort of slight elevation change.

Park is very peaceful and scenic.

Trash can before hole 1, at tees for hole 8, and after 18.

Benches on site made from tree stumps.

Stairs when needed.

If there is not a next tee sign and a fork in the path, the incorrect path will have a log laying across the path (leaves path usable but suggests you use other path).

Course is very difficult and technical. It will challenge any skill level. Aimed towards intermediate or advanced players. It brings the best out in you. It is difficult to save par (can also be a con). Unlike other area courses, this course is extremely technical. It makes you think and you have to know which type of throw to use.

Course is in much more of a nature park setting (paths through woods). It is very spread out. When brush/rough grows in, holes are very secluded from each other.
Cons: Course is very challenging. It can be hard to save par. When the brush surrounding holes grows in, you can spend plenty of time looking for discs. It can make or break your day. (Before it grows in, you won't have any difficulty finding discs).

Poison Ivy and thorns are included in the rough. I would suggest playing in the early spring or the late fall before/after it grows in.

Most wooded holes flood after a long rain (river overflows).

No bathrooms on site (yet).

The gravel road needs to be paved. It is full of holes.

Course is mostly flat.

Could use a few more next tee signs (after 8, after 10).
Other Thoughts: This is the most challenging course in Indianapolis. It has a bit of everything. Overall, the Frankfort course is just as challenging if not more challenging due to wooded holes with extreme elevation.

I have played this course in both basket positions. Course is challenging even from the easier of the 2 positions.

This course is challenging even from the AM tees. It makes you pick your throw and it makes you think. If this course is too challenging, there are plenty of options for you to use.

If you are looking for a challenge, I would recommend this course. If you are a beginner, I would suggest practicing more before trying this course, you will get frustrated. It will definitely make you better either way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hazel Landing

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: Sstetson21
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is excellently constructed. Was just a park next to the white river before constructed so it is well maintnenced.
Having a practice hole and map of the course before going in hole 1
Concrete tee boxes
Signs for every tee box
clean (trash cans every couple holes)
Just an overall great build course for dificulty playing. Would not recommend for players with "alright" skills.
Cons: In summer very very likely you can lose a disc on any hole on the whole course.
some holes next to white river can get muddy due to flooding of the river.
Other Thoughts: Enterence is a little hard to find for first timers playing at the course. When pulling it doesn't seem to be a course, because it is somewhat next a rock corey. You just need to keep going down the gravel road

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + best practice area I have ever seen, great signs, bricks for every distance between 20 and 80 feet
+ 1 full color sign per pad and 2 pads per hole
+ tee pads are very long despite it being a smaller course
+ on almost every hole, there is a very clearly cut fairway that obviously took a lot of effort/money to make happen
+ good mix of technical + distance + different shot lines
+ rough areas are not thick enough to outright lose a disc
+ nice park, quiet
Cons: - needs trashcans, not for my sake but for the future of the course's sake
- some of the woods holes, 3, 13 esp need to be cleaned up in a way that allow for good shots to be made, not just lucky ones
-some of the holes are redundant in design
Other Thoughts: in my estimation, this is a below average piece of land that was turned into an above average course through lots of money and work. I really enjoy playing along the river, and not having to throw over it or for it to come into immediate play.

one thing I think that could elevate this course to elite status, or at least cult status would be if they put in some man made barriers and obstacles, like the triple mando hole at winthrop, etc. Also if they could cleanup some lines for higher shots, that would be awesome as well. Other than that, best course in HamCo without a doubt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tough course

2-4    10/20/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: Guitarlos
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough course. Lots of trees and the fairway is very tight. Fairway didnt exceed 40 feet wide in almost all holes. Trees range from little saplings to age old gigantic Oaks. This course really forced me to think almost each and every shot that I had.

Drainage from run off from rain is awesome, it had rained the day before and the entire course was very allowable without any accumulation of mud on shoes.

Tees are big, clean and concrete, no cracks.

Very well layed out course, too much of a anhyzer on the back course and you may land in the White River!

Practice area has a great game of warm up. I cant remember, but I think it was 6 + markers where you try to putt, distances increase as you go on. Wonderful idea.
Cons: You really have to look for the signage, upon initial visit. If you are not careful, you'll pass up the entrance off of Hazeldell Rd. Only drawback, was the dirt road leading to this place. I rode my motorcycle and the dirt was a bit much.
Other Thoughts: Tough course but yet, it challenged each and every throw that I had throughout the course. OB can be a detriment to time spent locating and/or retrieving discs ( the water next to some of the holes)..

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination course. Worth the trip!

1    10/10/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course. There are some longer holes (500+ feet,) but nothing overly ridiculous. Every fairway is challenging, whether it's in the woods, has a low ceiling, or is just narrow (few fairways are wider than 40 feet.) Water also comes into play.
Despite the fact that you are in an urban area, it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere. Upon my arrival I saw a deer and also saw rabbits and "evidence" of other wildlife in the area. It's beneficial to have a sidearm and/or a roller.
Two teepads (concrete or both) and two pin placements for each hole. I played the longer of the two pads and the baskets were in the back positions as well.
Cons: As I'm from southern Indiana I'm accustomed to hills and valleys; some people may be put off by the fact that there is virtually no elevation change but that's fairly standard for central part of the state.
There are no benches, water fountains, or trash cans.
I read reports about nettles and poison ivy but wasn't affected by either (as I played in October, I was covered in "stick-tights," "hitchhikers" or whatever you want to call them (FYI, I've learned that, if you have a laminated scorecard on a clipboard, it's a good scraping tool to get those off your clothing. Just don't bother to do it at the beginning of your round here, you're just wasting your time.)
As the course is new there are still some parts of the fairway that aren't totally growing grass yet but that's to be expected with a new course.
This is just a personal issue for me, but every hole is NOT a par 3. I realize people use that standard for counting scores, but in reality several of these holes should be listed as 4s.
Other Thoughts: I'm listing the distances here from the back tee to the far basket:
1. 472' Straight shot. Fairway is about 35' wide the entire way with scrub on either side. There are trees periodically along the fairway that force you to stay low.
2. 408' Also pretty straight, but you can get a bit higher than on #1. Basket is tucked away below trees.
3. 350' You'll need a bit of an S as you'll go slightly right then back to the left.
4. 333' Trees on both sides of the fairway and a narrow gap about 100' off the pad.
5. 402' Straight.
6. 372' In the trees. Tricky.
7. 375' S left the back right. Narrow gap to get through the first part. Then you'll come back a bit left to right again on your approach with a slight ditch in front of the basket.
8. 386' Runs straight down a narrow ditch. Trees periodically in the ditch to hinder you.
9. 283' Seems short but you can get too far right where there's a river.
10. 341' This one will make your butt pucker. The river runs to the right the length of the extremely narrow fairway. Basket is protected by about 3 trees in front of it. If you run at the basket on your putt and miss it you've got a hill that slopes off to the river only 12' right of the basket. One of the shorter holes, but you'll be nervous.
11. 378' Emerge from the woods for what feels like the first open chance to "grip and rip." Trees run the along the right side of the fairway with scrub to the left. Your drive is fairly straight, but you want to hit the landing area to have an approach, as the basket is tucked back slightly to the right in the trees. It sits atop a hill, so if you run at it you can end up rolling way past, perhaps even to the water.
12. 458' Pretty open, but scrub on both sides of the fairway (also not all that wide.)
13. 347' Narrow gap. You need an "S" right-left-right.
14. 579' Slight dogleg left to right. You'll be throwing over the scrub if you have a decent arm so your accuracy is important. Low trees protect the right side of the basket.
15. 364' The picture on the sign was slightly deceiving to me on this one. Look forward and see where it looks like an opening in the trees on the right--that's where you're going. I threw a roller here (I throw left-hand sidearm) that turned where I needed it.) The basket is tucked away nicely in the trees.
16. 429' Blind shot. Fairway turns to the right and it's a trick gap to hit as it isn't very wide. You'll then need a big fade (if you're righty backhand) as the fairway turns back left with a low ceiling all around the basket.
17. 444'Two narrow gaps to hit. First is about 140' away, and you'll be turning right. If you hit your mark you have another one about 50' in front of the basket. Stay low on your approach.
18. 478' You can let your drive go pretty well but it's not all that wide (trees on either side of the fairway. You'll probably want to land slightly to the left side of the fairway to give yourself a shot at the basket, which will then be back right.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Them Hazel Greens

1    8/24/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hazel Landing Park (HLP) has 18 holes of very difficult mostly wooded disc golf. A few holes play through scrubby prairie areas but most of the course wends through heavily wooded forest. The course is extremely beautiful in the natural setting.
-Tight technical disc golf is the main bill of fare here. Extremely challenging disc golf from the long pads while the shorts are still a good test for most players.
- Excellent use of trees off of the tees in order to force certain shots. Extremely tight gaps on certain holes (#13 comes instantly to mind).
- Good concrete tees. Signage seems a bit of a work in progress when I was there (albeit a few months ago) but is sufficient to find your way. [EDIT: Apparently this has been rectified recently. Routing should now be a snap with complete tee signage and signage between holes. Thanks to MacDaddy for the inside info!]
- Some scenic greens that really make you put on your thinking cap while approaching.
- Elevation: the very few bumps on this land were incorporated into the course, with # 13's green being the standout example.
Cons: -Elevation (or lack thereof): this course is like an open soda left in the sun for five days...flaaaaaat. Not something the designer could really do much about; however, the complete lack of a 3rd dimension is difficult to ignore. Elevation changes have always been a major aspect of my rating rubric and I have rarely come across a course this unwaveringly flat. Those that might take exception to my rating should refer to this point in particular. I realize it can't be helped, but it is what it is.
- Repetition. A lot of super tight lines followed by a lot of super duper dense roughs (replete with all sorts of nasties). While I actually enjoy that sort of golf, HLP kinda brings it all 18 (at least from the Gold Tees) with few respites. Hopefully with a little bit of time the "thickness factor" will scale back a bit.
Other Thoughts: -Hazel Landing was exceedingly fun to play despite some brutal punishment for wayward discs in the way of bodily harm due to chiggers, poision ivy (which is rampant), thorns, and the occasional nettle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

DG Paradise

1    10/3/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tee Pads: The tee pads were great. Very long and course.

Multiple Baskets/Pad Layouts: The course is able to be setup in multiple configurations. You have the Gold tees (long) and the Blue tees (short). There can also be different pin locations, short and long (labeled A and B).

Signage: Before you even get to the first hole there is a massive sign with a course map and general info. Once you get to the tee pads you will see a sign on both the Gold and Blue tees of each hole showing the distance to pin location A and pin location B. At the end of most holes there is a sign pointing to the next tee pad.

Baskets: Brand new Innova Discatchers. Very nice!

Location: You feel like you are out in the middle of nowhere. It is very beautiful and set long the banks of the White River. Water can come into play on a couple holes. Some of the holes along the bank are very picturesque. It honestly doesn't feel like you are in the heart of Indiana. It's worth the walk even if you aren't playing a round.
Cons:
I feel like on some of the holes on the bank of the river where they were missing a few "next tee/hole" signs. We almost teed off on 13, I believe, instead of walking further down the ridge to the next hole. Someone playing behind us actually did end up skipping 2 holes because he didn't walk far enough. We had to direct him further down. This is being pretty nitpicky and if you play this course more than once you will have it figured out.

Wish there were benches at each tee pad.
Other Thoughts:
This is by far my favorite course I've played so far. If I lived closer I would play it every day. Bring your "A" game as this course has the ability to chew you up and spit you out. It is worth mentioning the rough. I wouldn't classify it as either a pro or a con but the rough can be deep. You will be rewarded for great shots and punished for bad shots. Throw bright colored discs; it will greatly cut down on the time looking for errant shots. We didn't have spotters and didn't really have problems finding our discs. As for attire, most recommend long pants to play here, but it was quite steamy and warm that day and we played in shorts and tall socks and it was fine. For the two of us it took about 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete. This is a great course and one that should be visited by all DG'ers that are visiting the Indy area. It really is a treat!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Finally, a ridiculous course in my area

1    9/7/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I'm going to be honest, I heard a lot of hype about this course before I went and finally got off of my duff and played it today.
Let me say this before I get started; This course if the real deal, Holyfield. This isn't for sissies. This isn't some local pitch and putt, scraped out of a little municipal park. This is an honest to god, destination disc golf course. So when you people get all clown shoes and review a 9 holer with no tee pads as a 4 or a 5, and we have this kind of course out there, I truly wish nothing but bad things on you and yours.
OK, on to the pros:

The setting - The course is secluded. There are no people walking their dog or random civilians just popping their heads out to see what you are doing. The park sits near fall creek, and it's one of the prettier disc golf parks that I have ever seen. It's hard to imagine a better setting for our ridiculous sport.

Tee pads - Two long, roughed up cement tee pads per hole. So there is one shorter course and a longer, MUCH more difficult gold course. And let me say this; the gold course is not just a longer version of blue. The course is 8-10 strokes harder from the golds. We played both of them, and the tee pads for all 36 spots are nice and long, very level and super well done. Props!

Signs - If you get lost on this course, you might find something simpler to do. Like...I dunno...roller blading or something. The signs show both pin locations from both tee pads. There are "next tee" signs all over the place, in between holes. There is a GIANT map of the course at the beginning of the course as well. The quality of the signs are perfect and professionally done. I've seen one other place with better signs, and that was down in Florida.

Baskets - First rate, brand new Discatchers. There are multiple pin locations for every hole. I really like these baskets as well. I had not played on the new Innovas. and I was very happy with the way they caught.

Variety - in 36 holes, there are probably 30 very distinct shot type. Long, sweeping annys. Tight, super low ceiling wood shots. Thumber shots. Tunnel shots next to a creek. At the end of the day, you could play this course all day and learn brand new things about your game every time you go out. I feel like this is the kind of course that a disc golfer would get better on in a hurry.

This is a hard disc golf course. I read a review on here where someone listed that as a con. Well, I am gong to balance that out by saying "keep it in the fairways man". Of course the rough is..."rough". IT'S IN THE NAME OF THE OBSTACLE! These fairways are perfectly fair and wide open. If you get into the junk, then throw better! If I can walk out and boatrace a course the first time I see it, then I won't want to go back. But if I got out and the course pushes me down and takes my lunch money, then I am going to want to come back. Replayability is a HUGE factor. I live an hour from here and I plan on scheduling my trips to the area around playing this course.

I mentioned it before, but this really is two courses in one. Gold is long and technical. Blue is medium and technical. Play both and have a blast. It's a challenge! (if you're new to the game, I wouldn't advise playing gold though)
Cons: I will say, don't play this course by yourself unless you're a super good disc golfer. There are times when you need a spotter for some of the blind spots. Though I am putting that in the cons, I don't find it to be a real downside. But the fact that you NEED a spotter and can't play by yourself (or shouldn't at least), then I reckon it has to go in the cons. But I am nitpicking.

There are logs on some holes to sit down on. But the place could use more places to rest your weary, broken, tired spirit.

...Get a water fountain or something out there? Maybe? truly, I am nitpicking.

If there is ONE thing missing from this course, it's the lack of a signature hole. Like one really "Oh wow, do you remember this..." about the place. There are lots of super neat shots and incredibly technical golf to be had, but not one mind blowing place. (again, I am nitpicking here. I guess that's sort of my job)
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, I have to say that this is my new favorite "local" course. It's hard, but it is fair...think of it like a disc golf course version of the Drill Sergeant from Full Metal Jacket.

I feel like the best compliment that you can give a course is "I am still not sure what disc to throw on that hole, and I played it twice".
Everything has been well thought out on this beautiful piece of land, and I truly can't wait to play it again.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.