Plattsmouth, NE 
Oak Hollow DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 170ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very difficult to navigate

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2 Years
Pros:
- set in a nice old park with plenty of trees
- red and white tee boxes
- challenging elevation changes
Cons:
I played the first hole and got lost. I was never able to find the second tee box. I found a tee box near the basket for #1 but when I got to what I thought was basket #2 it turned out to be #9. With the exception of of the hole #s written on the baskets with a sharpie, there were no markings or navigational tools anywhere.
Other Thoughts:
Do not try to play this course unless you have someone that is familiar with it to guide you. The course has a lot of potential but it is too poorly marked to play right now.

 Layout for a good course

1    6/3/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: edavis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has several hills that challenge the player, and I liked that the course was not littered with smaller tress but well established large ones to play around. The park is fairly big, and has some playground equipment, although none interferes with play. There is parking close to a picnic shelter. It has a great landscape for disc golf, and is a quick play and not to far away from omaha or lincoln if you want something different. Park was well mowed and maintained.
Cons: I couldn't tell where I needed to go most of the time, but put together a course that I thought was correct. holes 1-3 were the most confusing. Hole #4 was the only one that still had a sign. The baskets are in really good shape, and the course challenges the golfer with throws both over and under 300'. If all else fails make your own course and have fun.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive, and could be a very good course if there were some better directions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    12/28/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a small city park that has lots of playground equipment scattered around. Also a walking path present, so you might have to wait in a few spots.
- Best feature of the park is the hilly terrain; almost evey hole has some elevation change to it. #1 shoots over a long valley, the next two are downhill, the next three are uphill, and so on. A few of the pins are blind due to the hills, like the uphill #5, and the downhill #7. Definitely adds challenge and fun, respectively.
- Decent amount of trees are present as well, to force some line shaping. #3 has a ridiculously low canopy to deal with; the tee is on the same level as the branches of the tree straight ahead. In most cases, a straight shot is the best bet, a few others are best suited for a RHBH hyzer.
- Pretty good mix of hole lengths, especially with two sets of tees. All are over 250', including two over 300' and another (uphill) over 400'. Not too bad for a little course.
- A few baskets have some junk close by, to force a little shot placement. Especially #6, which has a sloped green and some brush behind the pin.
- Good baskets, signs practically non-existant. The wooden planks in the ground are tricky to find and are extremely faded. Thank god for the directions on this site, otherwise it'd be a real pain.
Cons: - Yeah, navigation really hurts. Someone coming with no help is going to be in big trouble.
- Overall, a pretty short course. only 2600' from the longs, with six holes under 275'. A lot of the holes are pretty straightforward on top of it.
Other Thoughts: - For a small 9-holer in a smaller city park, it really has a lot going for it. Lots of ups and downs, a decent amount of trees, and some tricky lines. A couple holes are pretty interesting, while some others are pretty standard. A great place for beginners, or more experienced casual players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Neglected Course

5+    4/10/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course built on land meant for disc golf. Every hole has some elevation change as you throw over, between, and around the rolling hills and valleys. The old trees and their branches add to the challenge. Can you throw a pinpoint shot under that branch to get to the basket on the hill? Or do you throw a hyzer around it and settle for par?

Most of the baskets are situated on hills, forcing the great risk-reward decisions that make disc golf fun. I clanged two putts on the 6th hole and watched helplessly as my putter rolled 50' past me.

Every hole has two "tee pads." They're really just planks of wood in the ground, so you're teeing off from grass, but this doesn't bother me. The reds are mostly in the 200-250' range and are beginner friendly, and shooting under par is not difficult (I'm an 850-rated player and shot -1 in my first round). The whites are considerably longer, so the uphill holes are much tougher.

The park is not very crowded. On a beautiful early-spring day, I saw a few other disc golfers and a few dog walkers, but that was about it. There aren't many long walks between holes, and I managed to play one round on the reds in under 30 minutes without hurrying.
Cons: The park is pretty neglected. Broken swings, rusty merry-go-round, and pull-up bars with peeling paint. And it carries over to the course fixtures (aside from the baskets, which are in good shape). All the tee signs but one are gone, so navigation would have been impossible the first time without help from a local. The tee pad numbers have worn away, and a couple of the pads are missing. The grass doesn't look like it's mowed often enough.

There are a couple spots that could be unsafe if the park was busy. Hole #9 has you throwing over an old teeter totter. Holes #7 and #8 have you throwing blind shots over little hills. They're cool shots, but be careful throwing a sweeping hyzer on #7 (make sure no one is on the path).

Also, it's not a huge park, so if it got busy, you might have to avoid people. I had to wait on a couple old guys who were in one of the fairways with their metal detectors! (no doubt searching for the Frisbee pie tins they threw on these storied fairways decades ago)
Other Thoughts: There aren't a lot of courses near Omaha, so I don't know why it took me so long to get to this one. It's worth the trip to try a different course and work on some skills that the other courses don't emphasize (like putting on inclines). The challenge and terrain help make up for some of the poor navigation and neglected course fixtures. Just don't expect too much here.

Since there is no map on this site, here are some rudimentary directions to get you through the course. The directions are for the white tees. The red tees can usually be found by just walking forward from the white tees.

1. Start by the chimney and the bathrooms and tee off toward the east. The white tee faintly says "2" on it, but this is wrong (a local guy verified).

2. Turn north (left) from basket #1 and find the #2 tee near the wooden utility pole. Tee off toward the west. Note: the red tee is not oriented toward the basket for some reason.

3. The tee pad is next to the brick memorial near the entrance to the park. Tee off toward the east.

4. Walk southeast from the 3rd basket and tee off to the southeast.

5. Walk south down the long hill across the path. Tee off west in the same direction as the path.

6. Keep walking west. The white tee is near a post. The basket is way up on the hill between two trees.

7. Turn around from the 6th basket and walk east. Tee off to the east (the tee is right under the scoreboard). The basket is beyond the drop-off under the big scraggly tree that is straight ahead.

8. Keep walking east from the 7th basket. I couldn't find the white tee, but the red one is there. Tee off toward the east over one of the rolling hills.

9. Turn left and walk north from the 8th basket. The white tee is there, but I never found the red. Tee off to the west toward the teeter totter up the hill (near the parking lot).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation on every hole!

1    10/3/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a real challenging 9-holer. Every hole has an elevation change of some kind from the Long Tees. They use painted wood boards to mark the tees. The Long tees have a nice variety of distances, while the reds are mostly around 200. The old trees are great. There are many ways to approach many of the holes. It was fun deciding which way to go. The putts have to be there, or you may find yourself hiking to get it down hill on a few of the holes. There wasn't any water there the day I was there, but you can tell the little creek running through the park does often have water.
Cons: The red tee board is missing on #9, but there were still signs of it. Just tee off in front of the creek on the same side as the longs are and you are close. There was a bathroom there, but there was no way I was going to check if it was functional. So for the safety value, we'll say it is not. ;o) Finding your way around is not too bad, but as info #5 is all the way down the hill across the creek. Half of the tee signs are missing. The trashcans are few and far between also. The park was actually pretty trashy, even though the holes were fairly scenic.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor for this course is pretty high. Teeing off on the hilltops, trying to get a nice long drive, and yet being accurate at your route was the nuts. If this course was near my home, I would play it often. This was one of the better 9-hole courses I have played as far as technical and difficulty.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.