Atwater, MN 
Tadd Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Mediocre 12 Hole Course

1    2/4/2017   2/5/2017
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting is fairly nice, a man made lake with a small creek running through and a foot bridge nestled between a ball golf course and some farmland close to the residential district of this unincorporated town.

The length of the course is great for the novice and intermediate player, but advanced and pro players should have an opportunity to birdie every hole.

The baskets are very nice, and while the water is said to be in play on 4 holes, the only real risks would be for an extreme bail out hyzer shank on #5 for a RHBH or the same fail for a LHBH on #12, as well as a LHBH hyzer on #2 (#3 and #8 cross the creek but both holes are about 200 and you'd have to leave something very short to land in the water on those).

I really loved holes 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, and 8.

It's very easy to find and a pretty fun little deuce or die layout.
Cons: It was only after I threw a perfect shot down the middle on #1 between two gigantic firs and parked this difficult shot that I noticed on the tee sign that the pad should be to the left of those firs (a very easy LHBH). They should make this adjustment for a more challenging hole, as I think I might only pull off that perfect shot 1/3 times, and I would make the other 8/10.

Holes 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, and 12 are fairly lazy designs and somewhat boring and very straightforward.

Very confusing layout for such a small piece of land (and who really looks at the tee sign to find the direction for the NEXT hole?). It is very hard to find the tee for #2, even though the first basket you really see while driving in is #2.

It's over a 500' walk between holes 7 and 8 and you really have no clue as to what direction. The only reason I got back on track was that in my search for #2 I found the tee for #9 and was able to figure out that 8 must be somewhere between.

It's almost 500' to get from #9 to #10 and this time you have absolutely no clue as to where to go. I ended up on the ball golf course, as the tee sign for #10 is hidden in front of two gigantic firs (even though the tee pad is BEHIND those firs). It was only when I spotted the basket from the 8th tee of the ball golf course that I realized where the hole was. This tee sign should be moved back to the teeing area so it is visible from the #1 tee and #9 green (which are next to each other).
Other Thoughts: Update: I received a PM saying that it is indeed 18 holes. This makes this sad, terrible design even sadder. As soon as you exit the 11th green, there is a tee sign clearly marked #12 that returns toward the parking lot.

Apparently, one must walk roughly 100 yards past the 11th pin to a foot bridge where Google Earth does show something that looks like pins in a very flat and very lightly wooded area.

What a waste. The designers of this course did a horrible job to make it so difficult to find the additional holes (and to find so many prior).

It's not worth going out of your way to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course for intermediate and novice players

5+    6/19/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: Rush2112
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - nice mix of long, medium and short holes
- some challenging par 3's for those who aren't long
- quite a few nice birdie opportunities
- well maintained, scenic and an enjoyable setting
- good mix of trees with some open terrain as well
- very little use, seldom do I see other players
- not much for bugs and no poison ivy that I've seen
- water isn't a major factor but makes you pay attention
- increased to 18 holes at the end of 2014
- convenient parking with a mini-biff
Cons: - no tees and lacking adequate signage
- confusing transitions between some holes
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course and do so often. While an advanced player will probably see it as fairly easy, an intermediate player such as myself should find this course challenging enough to hold some interest and hopefully walk away at least a few under par. The long tee's (if you can find them) add a degree of difficulty and effect some holes much more than others... this is really my only complaint as most of the markers for the original 12 holes are gone. When it opened, the designers had furrowed out some ground to mark the tee's but these spots are becoming difficult to find. Even so, this is a great place for those new to the sport if for no other reason then there's very little pressure from other players... you can take your time, learn the game, relax and have some fun. I would have rated it higher but the lack of signage and somewhat confusing transition between some holes will make it difficult to figure out for those who haven't played here before... I'm guessing this will change as more funding becomes available. For some specifics... Hole #2 plays fairly long due to low hanging trees and is guarded by water on the right...calls for a low, long, straight shot. Hole #3 is one you need to birdie...it's super short and calls for a simple toss over a creek. Hole #5 is long and a good place to let it rip as there is plenty of open field to the right, though an errand hyzer shot (rhbh) can send it into the water. Hole #6 is another birdie opportunity as are holes 9, 10 and 11. Hole #12 takes you out back to the newly expanded section where the terrain is more open with cedar trees guarding many of the baskets... hyzer off #12 and you'll risk ending up in long reed grass where it becomes very difficult to find your disk (fun hole actually as cedar's block the basket). Hole #14 is long and presents more reed grass as well as wetland if you error right. The 18th finishes with water on the right and a tree guarding the center of the fairway (another fun hole that makes you think and adjust your shot a bit). Tip of the cap to the guys who designed this course, great job, I really like how you used the space.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs to be Finished

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The land was used very well and makes for a fairly fun round. It incorporates a little elevation, some trees and even some water.
-Water shots are approachable and everyone can throw over them. They do still get into your head a little bit and make the round more fun.
-Tees are marked as red and blue. Not a lot of difference between the two but it is something.
-The trees are large and it is a fairly scenic for a small farming town.
-Some ace runs and some longer open holes. A solid variation. It doesn't favor one throwing method or the other.
-The park is well maintained. No garbage around and I don't think that maintenance issues will occur unless they never get tees then the temp tees could get vandalized quickly.
-Nice baskets.
Cons: -No signage. You can see more than one basket on a few tees.
-No tees, they are marked by very temporary wooden posts which have been moved around by people already.
-Layout is ok. You have to walk backwards awhile to get from the tee to basket on 8. Some of the tee markers are hard to see because they are so small. I also missed hole 3 at first and then the hole 9-10 transition was awkward.
-The course is put into little pieces of the course that are already used by walking paths or are too close to parking lots or the road. If they wanted the course there, it had to be this way.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great small town course. They did very well with what they had to work with.
-If they added tees and signage, I would bump my rating up.
-I would stop here if I was in the area again. I probably wouldn't seek out this course but if I was a local or driving by, I would definitely play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small town course with potential

1    9/10/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Craig639
Played: 231  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small city course utilizes the available mowed park land very well. There are water hazards, long bombs, and shorter technical holes with mature trees. Long and short tees are available to throw from to accommodate all skill levels. As this course is basically brand new, tees were only marked with wooden stakes. The course is very easy to navigate as it is and will only be easier in the future with signage and proper tee pads.
Hole two will be a challenging three from the long tee as there is a narrow fairway with water on the right and an OB road and trees lining the left.
To sum it up, water hazards, mature trees, and a little length!
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly open. No proper signage or tee pads yet (this will be addressed if it hasn't already). Mostly flat terrain as it sits on parkland next to a stream and lake.
Other Thoughts: This is a great small town course for travelers passing through the area and for the local residents that may know little about disc golf.
This new course will only get better over time. I would recommend playing this course if traveling through the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Swampy and confusing

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: DiscGolfKing7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice cut grass
Not busy at all on a Sunday afternoon
Cons: 3 water hazards that are very swampy
no signage whatsoever
Very confusing as to what hole you are throwing too
Other Thoughts: Drove 25 miles to play this course and wasn't impressed

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.