New Carlisle, IN 
Bourissa Hills Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A great 9 hole course!

5+    6/23/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: dasteve003
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Just possibly my favorite course. I'm very new to the game and have only played 5 different courses so consider that as your reading this review.

This course is great for beginner's in my opinion (as I'm one and love it). Holes 2, 3, 5, and 9 have some good length to them. There are a few trees as well as some decent hills that the course makes pretty good use of. With maybe the exception of 2, 3, and 5 possibly be considered fairly similar as they are all long fairly straight shots (although 5 does have a couple trees in the way). The baskets for these 3 holes are in different surroundings which makes them different enough for me. Despite some similarities I feel each hole has it's own identity and once I finish one hole I can look forward to the challenge of the next. I have read multiple reviews about poison ivy on this course. I've been in the woods on holes 4, 5, and 8 and haven't encountered any yet so maybe they've addressed that recently or maybe I've been very fortunate but I'll try and keep a closer look in the future. Here's my summary of each hole:

Hole 1 - Throwing low is key here with a slightly elevated "green" this course can pump you up with a good tee shot or frustrate you if you hit a tree trunk or the long overhanging branch off the tee to start your round.
Hole 2 - A long way to the hole (for me anyway). I've had a couple get about 40 - 50 foot away but haven't birdied this one yet. The tee box is on a downhill slant and since it's dirt it can be a little tricky. This hole does go down hill a little.
Hole 3 - Comes back up the incline you just went down as its right next to hole 2 going the opposite way. A challenging hole for me due to the distance. The basket is surrounded by plants and or trees on the backside but is pretty open and accessible from the front.
Hole 4 - A shorter hole but one with the basket kind of off to the right and with a tree right in the way. I got my first ever birdie on this hole and I feel it's one of the easiest holes on the course assuming you get through the tree on your tee shot. Probably a tougher one for a LHBH thrower.
Hole 5 - A longer hole with a tree or 2 to get in the way and woods along the entire left hand side of the fairway. A long tee shot is key to paring this hole.
Hole 6 - Probably the toughest hole not due to distance on the course, A tree to the right and a big one up a smaller incline almost right between you and the basket. A challenging hole, but a fun one.
Hole 7 - Probably a hole best for a lefty. I really have to flick my wrist pretty good at the end of my throw (I throw RHBH) to get it near the basket as there is a tree to the right of the tee box that I have to get past and then head way to the right and down a slight incline to get to the basket.
Hole 8 - The only hole that goes "into the woods" and it's barely in there but definitely a cool change of pace for the fairly open course. Pretty easy to be searching for a few minutes for your tee shot on this hole as there is woods to the left of the fairway and a small opening to go into the cleared area where the basket resides. Once you've played it a few times and get comfortable a pretty easy hole to par.
Hole 9 - Let er Rip off the tee if you're looking for a shot at par here. I've pared it several times and came real close to hitting a birdie from about 50 foot out today. This hole is probably the most intimidating of them all. Once you get close there is a pretty steep incline as the basket sits on top of a little hill for an added challenge.

All in all I give this course a 4.5 out of 5 as it's totally free and a course I go to at least once a week. Getting rid of any poison ivy that may be out there would be a huge bonus if it isn't already taken care of and if they could somehow add another 9 similar to this it would be awesome but I don't know where they'd put it. I'd prefer at least one hole that's a par 4 instead of all par 3's but it's not a huge deal at this course. I normally shoot around +1 on this course (still a beginner). Best baskets of any course I've played yet. If your in the area and haven't played this course I highly recommend taking it for a spin.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun short course

1    9/13/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a beginner course, but it's still got some fun basket placements for experienced players. I was able to follow the course very easily first time playing. I see the hole lengths are an estimate. I think 2 and 3 especially may be a little longer than 300'. 2 is a very fun practice hole for lengthy downhill drives. If you're alone on the course, you'll want to empty your bag. I really enjoyed that one.
Cons: Unfortunately, I played when there was a huge gathering at the picnic shelter, so I was unable to play hole 9. Families and their kids were playing on the hill and using the #9 basket for fun. No big deal, but it would be dangerous to try to throw near them. #1 also offers danger if anyone is in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: New baskets are great, course is well maintained, and it's just simply a fun play to let 'em fly. New Carlisle is a great area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat free disc golf!

5+    6/24/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Personal note- this course is close to where I live and is where I learned to play so lots of good memories here!
-Plenty of shade, besides walks after drives on holes 2, 3, and 9.
-Swings for comfort and shade near holes 2 and 9.
-New disc catcher baskets! Unlike other older and smaller baskets, you can have a nice putt normally not go through the chains to the other side.
-Nice mix of holes. Flat, hilly, holes that include trees, fences for out of bounds, and hole 8 plays into the back of the woods!
-Decent sized parking lot.
-Wooden posts that indicate what hole you are on as well as the distance.
-Hole 9 has a splendid layout! Long drive downhill and the basket is on a steep uphill that levels off to mimic a "green". Many times your second/third throws will roll right down the hill which is frustrating but the challenge is welcome and makes the hole unique.
-Many 'let er rip" drives into open areas up and downhill which are always fun.
-Park is frequently mowed and kept is satisfactory condition for the most part.
-Numerous picnic tables and a pavillion near the tennis courts and hole 4.
Cons: -Not very challenging. Was originally for me but as I have improved my game it has become too easy.
-Wooden posts are pretty basic, not very flashy.
-Little signage. Although the course is pretty much self explanatory.
-Poison ivy just lurking everywhere!
-Fence near holes 5-7 is breaking down in a few spots. Be careful when hopping over it.
-Hole 6 is the only bad hole. It's bland for one, almost like the designers didn't know where to go from there so they just plopped it in a random spot under a tree.
-Only 9 holes. I really believe it could be more due to the mass amount of woods available. Hole 8 is the only wooded hole and it is fun, besides seeing an occasional snake! If there were more holes possibly in the woods it could add another element to Bourissa. Although I don't know if that's something New Carlisle would be willing to do in terms of making more trails.
-Due to the absence of concrete tees, the dirt tees can get slippery after some rain.
Other Thoughts: -Try the course backwards for fun! My friend and I have and it is more challenging.
-Good place to practice new techniques.
-Especially nice to play at if you're a beginner or relatively new to the game.
-Overall, nothing spectacular here but nothing that really warrants a horrible rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nothing fancy; great for beginners

1    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: discNDav
Played: 327  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a new city park which is clean and well maintained. Cut grass. Yellow Innova flags on top of each DisCather basket. Decent elevation changes considering this is northern Indiana.
Plays slightly longer than it looks. Beginner friendly, no shots are difficult (except #6).


Cons: Only 9 holes with all dirt tees. The tees are marked with a wooden post and a yellow number (not always pointing you towards the basket) but can be seen from the previous basket.

Since it is so new, the dirt/grass tee area's are not exactly defined. A worn area in the grass will develop soon enough with more play.
Other Thoughts: the below distances are estimates...

#1 - 250' slightly downhill which plays over a permanent picnic table if throwing RHBH. Potentail danger right away!

#2 - 300' mostly open downhill shot with the basket left just on the uphill (not #7 which is straight ahead)

#3 - 300' back uphill. Completely open hole except behind the basket there isn't much room.

#4 - 140' RHBH around a tree and left of the tennis courts. Ace run! Is a mando needed very near the tee?

#5 - 280' fun downhill shot guarded by 2 trees about 250' out. The fence which borders the left side of the fairway is already damaged from golfers climbing it to retrieve discs. A gate or opening is needed since lot of shots will hyzer OB here.

#6 - 240' tough uphill shot with no clear fairway. Hated this one.

#7 - 140' sloping left to right shot. Which side of the post to you tee from?

#8 - 180' straight low ceiling shot ending in the woods.

#9 - 375' wide open with a great elevated green area which will be prone to roll aways near the basket. Great basket placement!

Miller's Home Cafe in town is excellent for any meal. Terrific small town eatery!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Course in New Carlisle

5+    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bourissa Hills DGC is a 9-hole beginner level course set in a small but well-equipped multi-use park. The course mostly avoids the other activities and is tucked away in the far back corner. Surrounded for the most part by woods, the small valley the course plays around and across is mostly open grass dotted occasionally with ancient oak trees. There's plenty of open areas to get some sun, but the shade is plentiful enough on even the hottest of days.
- Good use of the rolling elevation. #2 plays downhill across the valley, the basket protected by oaks. #3 plays uphill back across the valley, the pin placed precariously on the edge of the woods. #5 has a long gradual slope downhill. #'s 6 and 7 play laterally across the rim of the valley. Finally, #9 plays uphill, the pin sitting on the edge of a small drop-off. The rollaway potential on this hole is commensurate for this sort of course; definitely possible but not punishing enough to put off novice players.
- Great use of trees. Low ceiling shots on #'s 1, 6, and 8. Trees surround greens on #'s 1 and 8. Pins are placed next to woods to create risk (e.g., #3). Scattered trees provide obstacles throughout. A mulberry tree provides shade and berries at #5's tee.
Cons: - The signage is a little suspect at this point. No distances or maps, just a wooden post with the number. It really doesn't affect play too much, except the first time through. #2's basket is the one tucked in the trees, not the one in the open to the right (trust me, it's not obvious).
- Natural tees. I'm guessing at some point that these will get upgraded. At the moment they're a non-factor but with play or in wet conditions they're far, far from ideal.
- Poison ivy is growing up the tree directly behind #2's basket. Be careful. It's also at the edge of the woods in most spots, and to the right of #1's tee.
- Picnic tables in play on #'s 1 and 2, although these look to be used infrequently. The tennis courts might come into play on #'s 4 and 5 on particularly bad shots, but again, these seem to be seldom used.
- A fence bounds the left side of #5's fairway. Lots of noob hyzers will go to the other side. The fence is low and easily jumped; however, I spoke with someone involved with the park and they said a section would most likely be removed, allowing easy access to the other side.
Other Thoughts: - I was pleasantly surprised with this course. Solid if not spectacular for a 9-hole beginner level course. Lots of fun shots for beginners and more advanced players alike. Pros and upper-level players need not apply unless course bagging or using the course as a practice area (at which it excels).
- There's a broad piece of concrete to the right of #1's tee that could be used to play to any of the baskets as alternate holes.
- Shout out to gordonbombay for the assist!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.