Grand Rapids, MI 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #11 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Riverside = Sure IS!

1    7/25/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A very challenging course
- Not too many terrain changes, but it makes up for that with the challenges of the trees, water hazard and the road along holes 1-5.
- A great 18 hole course in the Greater Grand Rapids area.
- Hole 15 is the most memorable hole on the whole course. The Peninsula!
- Tees are great and baskets along with posts are in great condition.
- Good anhyzer and hyzer shots course
- Bathroom right by the parking lot to hole one.
Cons: - Goose poop around holes 14-16 are so caked up that most stray away. 15 is the only one worth walking through to play.
- During the early part of the Spring and later parts of the Fall the water rises and most of the back 9 are flooded, making it inaccessible to play.
- The bog along most of the course is discouraging due to the fact that it stinks, is mucky, and if you lose a disc in there, chances are its gone.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I loved playing the course, even with the above aforementioned cons. Just remember to bring water and crappy discs/shoes for most of the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Professional but wet

5+    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well designed. A great mix of distance and technicality. Water adds a fun mix of pressure and skill. Holes 1, 7, and 14 are gems.
Cons: Since its so close the Grand River, flooding can be extremely troublesome. Hole 15 can be nearly impossible half the season.
Other Thoughts: A must if in the Grand Rapids region. Besides Brewer, Riverside is the most professional course in Grand Rapids

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: B1eedB1ue
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Perfect distance for me, I like throwing long, and Riverside lets me open up on a few while still having the challenge of a few trees.
Varied hole types
Water holes (with exception of goose poop peninsula) are just right.
Cons: Goose poop peninsula, skip every time, can't afford to risk losing discs here, and it's covered by bird feces.
Sometimes they go too long without cutting the grass, killing any skip or roll.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth it. Bring more than one disc just in case, but if you choose to play safe you won't lose a disc.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 During Winter

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot Variations
Distance changes
Water challenges
Concrete tee pads
Signs give accurate distances
Cons: Water challenges (Play it safe or be out $10)
Pedestrians
Holes 14, 15, and 16 are tough water holes with 15 being the toughest.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get a good chance to see this course in all its beauty as we played it with snow on the ground and the water frozen over. I can only imagine what hole 15 would be like with water. Ice on the lake was thick and we could get our discs that were 40 feet off the bank of hole 14. Hole 16 ice on the left bank is not sturdy. There is an air pocket of about 2 feet in between the water level and the ice. This course is gorgeous that I'm pushing my disc buddies to play again when I come up for the summer. This is a must play! Just make sure you get it during the right conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Riverside Rules!

5+    9/2/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: zachmo13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a good amount of long and short holes here. Still has some ace run holes. Water holes help with being accurate and there's lots of tables and pavilions to take breaks if your tired or if the rain starts. And probly 50% of the time there will be someone already in the water to get your disc for you if you do happen to throw it in the drink.
Cons: There are definitely some cons that come with the course as well. The back nine is were it gets nasty. Lots of water holes that have a serious chance of robbing your disc, plus there's goose poo everywhere. Usually there's some people who are just standing in the way and don't care if your discing but still get really pissed when you almost him them even though you told them to move.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course. I only live four miles away so it's close and there's 18 holes plus a couple alt. holes as well. (From the fire hydrant to 17, and from the shed to 18). Haven't aced one there yet but I hope to change that soon.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/31/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the concrete tee pads and baskets. Course is quite open, but there are some tree challenges here and there. The water holes can be frightening when the wind is against you.
Cons: Not many negatives I can say about this course, other than once you play 16 it's not easy to find where 17 and 18 are. These holes have been moved more than once, and you run into the wooden sign for the old (late 70s or early 80s) pole course that works its way to the south in the park.
Other Thoughts: 13 is at the end of a point of land jutting out into the lagoon. High water in the spring makes this even more challenging. I played the course on May 31, 2009 and we skipped 13, the water was within 10 feet of the base of the basket.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Park

9/9/2007   3/9/2008
Review By: heylopez
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course to play. Great in the summer with lots of shade from all the trees. Not very challenging overall, though has some water which can prove to be difficult.
Great way to play a quick 18.
Cons: Water can be an issue, this is the type of water you don't want to swim in. Can be crowded with other the general public and sometimes other players.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.