Grand Rapids, MI 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #11 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/14/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Logically flowing course around the whole park.

Open, yet a bit more than a mere pitch and putt.

Generally not too crowded.

A great place to bring beginners, especially on the front nine. Experienced players can score well below the course par.

Water hazards require risk-reward assessment and good throw selection.

Holes are fun and satisfying.

Open front nine (I'm thinking 3-5 especially.) are a good place to try out new throws and discs.
Cons: Water hazards. Unless you're very conservative with your throws, you're likely to lose a disc at some point.

Goose poop on 12-16. Bring a towel.

If it has rained in the past few days (and in GR it most likely has), some holes will be downright unplayable, especially 15, 16.
Other Thoughts: My go-to course in GR. Always worth playing. Have always found a friendly crowd while playing there. Don't bother to play in the spring unless it has been uncommonly dry or you don't mind skipping holes in the back nine.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The tee pads are nice, along with the baskets
Cons: Water, i hate loosing my discs
Other Thoughts: Ive been playn here since i was like 6 years old, but ive been wondering, anyone know why the teepad for 18 dosent face the hole?

edit: they made a new tee behind it like last week

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/31/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the concrete tee pads and baskets. Course is quite open, but there are some tree challenges here and there. The water holes can be frightening when the wind is against you.
Cons: Not many negatives I can say about this course, other than once you play 16 it's not easy to find where 17 and 18 are. These holes have been moved more than once, and you run into the wooden sign for the old (late 70s or early 80s) pole course that works its way to the south in the park.
Other Thoughts: 13 is at the end of a point of land jutting out into the lagoon. High water in the spring makes this even more challenging. I played the course on May 31, 2009 and we skipped 13, the water was within 10 feet of the base of the basket.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside GR

2-4    7/13/2008   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Probably the best course in the Grand Rapids area. Very challenging water. Nice wide open frost 9. Very nice park. worth the drive downtown in the summer. Don't be scared to jump in after your discs, it's pretty clean, comparably.
Cons: Can flood easily, as it is directly on the banks of the grand river. Due to damaged/ broken signs, it can be a little difficult to traverse.
Other Thoughts: Also an old post course of site

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Water here...

1    5/9/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will have you walking a great amount. Very beautiful looking scenery in a very wonderfully clean park. Holes are long at times, and not too technical. Played on a Sat., at 8 a.m.. Lots of very nice people in the park at this time. I would recommend playing this course.
Cons: Lots of water in the Spring aparently. My god, this park was flooded when I played. Lost a disc in the river. Decent signage, but not the best. An announcement at the park that was posted claimed that the leagues were cancelled, and moved to "Brewer", but no other info. was posted. Was I supposed to go back to my hotel and find out where the hell "Brewer" was?
Other Thoughts: While on vacation, I found this to be minutes from my hotel, so I decided to play. Park by the baseball diamond, and continue to walk South for a while until you find the 1st tee pad. I had to skip about 4 holes due to the flooding, and then it started raining pretty good as well, so in fairness, I had to skip the last 4 holes or so, too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 FUN DAY AHEAD

5+    5/8/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice long course, easily navigable. Course encircles the park, and a group can spend a whole day playing this course twice.
Cons: Flooded for most of the year. Beginners often throw in the water, require a "brave soul" to retrieve. WAY too much goose crap on hole 15.
Other Thoughts: Not too many people besides golfers occupy the course. Sometimes people fish near the basket or picnic near holes 13 and 14.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/18/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great set up, with a variety of easy birdies to some that you hope to get a par on. testing water holes on back nine. nice grass and mostly open.
Cons: no cement pads in back nine.
Other Thoughts: sometimes people don't understand that it is a disc golf course and think it is ok to have picnics in the middle of the fairway. there is a guy who gets all the discs out of the water and sells them for cheap. sometimes he has some really nice disc.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Rapids' Best (about 25% of the time)

5+    10/29/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Port-a-potty in parking lot, drinking fountain on the back nine.
- Lots of risk/reward water holes on the back nine that offer a challenge not found on most other GR courses.
- Goose poop point (hole #15) is a rewarding hole that will test your mettle.
- Just a pretty course and a great location in general.
Cons: - Quite a few missing/vandalized/inaccurate signs.
- Front nine is mostly wide open. Drive, approach, and putt... if it isn't windy, there's simply not much challenge involved.
- No elevation changes at all.
- The normal drawbacks of playing at a popular all-purpose park.
- Flooding and overcrowding are a big problem.
Other Thoughts: Riverside Park, as the name implies, sits on the banks of the Grand River. It's a pretty park, but the river makes the course quite unpredictable. I'll break down the conditions into four categories:

1. Winter = Snow. And lots of it. This may or may not make the course unplayable, depending on how hardcore you are.

2. More than half of the holes are completely underwater about 25% of the time. Ice jams and frequent spring rain are to blame. The basket at hole #1 usually shows the high-water mark for the season.

3. Another 25% of the time the water level will have diminished enough to make only some combination of 13, 14, 15, and 16 unplayable. Hole 15 is usually the first hole to go underwater and the last to dry out. The pole course nearby (Riverside South) is often helpful in these cases since you can make up missed holes there.

4. 25% of the time, the weather will be perfect and the ground will be dry. Everyone knows when these times are, and this is when everybody is at Riverside Park. You'll have groups of 7 players, 4 disc throwing toddlers, and 3 dogs clogging up holes for hours at a time. Runners, joggers, walkers, and bikers create constant traffic on the path that winds through the course. High school cross country teams practice on the front nine. Medieval reenactors (both the geeky high school types and the 35 year old men whose costumes are waaay too elaborate) often conduct battles around hole 13 and 14. You'll frequently have people fishing in the fairways of holes 15 and 16. Concerts are held in the open area at the 17th and 18th holes. Are you starting to get the picture? This is by far the busiest park in the city when the weather is nice.

If you don't mind waiting and observing all the pedestrians doing pedestrian things, then you'll have a good Saturday afternoon here. Otherwise you're best off coming when the snow is on the ground or when a couple of the holes are underwater.

UPDATE 10/2009: The parking lot has been repaved and there are now teepads on all 18 holes. Teeing off on an even surface makes a big difference; I'm extremely happy that this situation was remedied. I've increased my rating from a 3.0 to a 3.5.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside

1    3/28/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played this course with some friends who said that it would be really fun. I enjoyed playing it but there wasnt much variation in the layout.
Cons: Muddy
two holes were flooded
not the best course ive played

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun With Water Hazards!

5+    4/8/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of water holes. If you're afraid of loosing a disc in the water, then don't play. Very nice park and has a nice up keep. The front 9 are never crowded and there isn't much chance of hitting anybody. Don't have to worry about loosing your frisbee in deep rough or leaves.
Cons: People galore in the back 9. Sometimes have to skip hole 13,14,15 because, of playground and non discers. IT can be frustrating. Hole 15 is always covered in goose poop and therefore named "goose poop island". Can't play all 18 holes early in the season since baskets 1, 8,9,10,11,15 and 16 are underwater and, launch pad for hole 2 can be underwater. Not to mention in the heat of summer, that pond can stink something fierce.
Other Thoughts: IT's a fun course to play with some interesting shots and some questions you have to ask yourself. To throw or, not throw over the pond? A little bit long for beginners but, deffinately able to play without too much frustration. Not many people like it because, of the water holes but, I think that they give the park it's characteristic.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center