Grand Rapids, MI 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great Winter Course

1    12/4/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: senatorjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good layout for an open course
Obstacles provide a challenge, but let you rip it once in awhile
Beautiful park when snow-covered
Not too windy
Plays quickly, which is a plus in the cold
Cons: Not an incredible variety of shots, mostly hyzers
Probably not nearly as much fun in the summer
Other Thoughts: The main objections I see to the course (crowded with non-DGers, water on course, goose poop, etc.) are all neutralized during the winter. Plus, once the river freezes, it lets you screw around with a few shots you might not try otherwise

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Goose Poo...

5+    9/25/2007   9/25/2008
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes and lots of players always willing to pick up stragglers.

Great tees.

Open design which I prefer greatly to the "tunnel shot" design I've seen on some courses.

Great practice for long bombs.
Cons: Goose crap ALL OVER THE PLACE. Bring towels and hand sanitizer. Almost every shot results in goose crap stuck to your disc.

Way too easy to lose your disc in the water on some holes...like goose poop point.

Not very challenging for players who can throw over 400'. Most holes are straight and wide open with very few trees or other obstacles.

Course is unplayable until early summer because of flooding from spring thaw.

TONS of walkers/bikers/dogs and other obstacles that aren't supposed to be obstacles. I hit walkers with discs 10+ times because when you scream FORE in a park, people don't know to duck. I ran into an art class one day that was taking up three holes. Family picnics and fisherman always surround the back nine.

People are oblivious to the fact that it's a disc golf course and often times you have to ask them to get out of the way before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and people learning the basics of disc golf. I developed my game on this course for three years but if I were to play it now, I don't think I'd like it nearly as much as I used to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Park

2-4    8/29/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: worthdan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course and very easy to navigate. nice wide open shots. some large trees and water come into play to up the difficult a little bit. very nice park with beautiful scenery.
Cons: a little on the easy side. only played it twice and the first time i shot a 53 and the second time i shot a 48, but it was still worth the play and i plan on playing it again. also, when i played there were geese and geese droppings everywhere. didn't bug me but might bug others.
Other Thoughts: nice course in the norther grand rapids area and very easy to get to, just off of US131. good place to take a beginner (also stated in another review).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

6/11/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: discraft686
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is great for the one just starting with the wide open holes.
Cons: half of the holes were underwater due to the river over flowing. The park is nice but there are some people that may come into play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/29/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, can be quick to play, nicely shaded.

- Cement Tee pads

-Most signs

-Good amount of shots.
Cons: some holes were marked with pars but i think they were off. A par three was labeled a par 5

-Floods a lot and has a lot of slushy fairways sometimes

-Multi Use Park
Other Thoughts: Fun, nice, easy to find your way. If you bring someone who hasn't played there is a good amount of space to do some practice throws before you get to the first tee.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside North

5/14/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: SuperNovice58
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the majority of the holes are well kept and feature interesting obstacles and challenges that make for a challenge, but are not so challenging that a novice will be utterly overwhelmed.
Cons: There are several holes that become flooded with only a little water. the course also seems to retain water, remaining muddy for a fair amount of time after rain. There are several holes that are incredibly difficult, right next to water or een crossing water. It takes more than my two hands to count the times Ive been forced to go swimming in these ponds.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. If you do not feel like risking your discs, you can easily continue along the path, and go right ahead to the next hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Park

9/9/2007   3/9/2008
Review By: heylopez
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course to play. Great in the summer with lots of shade from all the trees. Not very challenging overall, though has some water which can prove to be difficult.
Great way to play a quick 18.
Cons: Water can be an issue, this is the type of water you don't want to swim in. Can be crowded with other the general public and sometimes other players.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Park (North)

5+    10/23/2007   10/23/2007
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, Scenic, with nice variety of holes (short, long, obstacles, wind sometimes), mature trees, water comes into play on several holes (most pronounced on holes 13-16).
Cons: lost discs in the water is always a problem, floods in the spring to make some holes underwater, frequently crowded on sunny weekends both with golfers and pedestrians/picknickers, some signs in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tees on 1-9, 12, 13, 18, rest are dirt. Another older, shorter 'pole course' is located on the south side of the park near the 17th tee (see other review)

UPDATE: July 7 2009: New concrete Tees were installed on all the holes that were previously missing them, which improves the back 9 by a considerable margin (if only the signs could now be replaced/fixed)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.