Petersburg, IN 
Prides Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NJFEST1 Hole #7
-- / --   3 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better have a disc retriever!!!

2-4    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: bballr4567
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Absolutely perfect fairways. You will not loose a disc if you land on the grass. Just impossible. Perfectly mowed.

2) Great, great, great mixture of risk/reward ratio. Do you risk the water to make the birdie or go for the 3? There are holes you HAVE to go over water but they are reached by most beginner players as they are around 200ft in length. The longer holes have alternate tee pads as some are a long carry over a lot of water.

3) Very pretty course. Lots of the baskets are placed on an peninsula where you can easily toss your errant putt into the water.

4) There is a hole for every style of play. There is no one type of player who will win on this course. You need a well rounded bag to get through it.

5) Water, water and more water. How the course designers ever got the park to commit to the hole layout is beyond me. Just great placement and amazing use of the land.

6) I loved hole 4. Just a blast of a hole.
Cons: 1) The amount of walking between holes especially the front 9. Just felt like I was walking farther distances than the actual hole I just played. I understand the reason why but a few hole placements (especially 10) really boggle the mind.

2) Lots and lots of pedestrian traffic. Although I played on an iffy Saturday there still was quite a bit of people fishing near a few baskets. It could become troublesome in the future.

3) Some of the tee pads are unlevel. While just a personal preference it can be mildly annoying especially when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is just a fantastic course.

Its right off I69 and only a few minutes outside of the town of Petersburg. We played two rounds and ate lunch in between.

While playing is free, there is a $2 entry fee for the park. Just an FYI.

It would be nice if there could be some bridges added in the future on certain holes like #4 and #5 it could really make it a "sweet" feature and shorten the amount you need to walk but thats dreaming.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/29/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: tbr75
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Prides Creek is a great disc golf course with well-balanced challenges, a variety of shots, excellent maintenance and visual appeal.

-Perfect start to the course. Hole 1 is a phenomenal start with a 500ft hole that has a tight gap to hit off the pad and opens up to allow for big distance towards the lake. It rewards good placement/accuracy though, with the lake surrounding the left and back side of the basket about 30ft away.

-Distance variety: 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700ft holes. The longer holes have short teepads as well. The par 4's on this course are true par 4's.

-Shot variety: Long bombs, ace runs, low ceiling, placement shots. I'm RHBH and don't throw much forehand, but it seems like a well-balanced course for lefties and righties. There are also options for rollers, thumbers, tomahawks, and skip shots (on grass and on water). If you're a creative shot-taker, you can make up strokes by finding lines most others won't try.

-Use of elevation is good, with a lot of downhill shots, uphill shots, right-to-left, and left-to-right hills. Also some baskets placed right before a big downhill that creates a much more difficult approach or baskets on an uphill that allow for an ace run but also present the possibility of a rollaway putt.

-Well-maintained, in 4 visits the course has always looked like it was ready for a tournament. Unless you throw one in the water, you should leave with the same amount of discs you start with as there aren't any nasty "rough" areas.

-Nice teepads, not anything crazy but definitely wide enough and long enough to please most golfers.

-Holes where you throw over water have a short teepad or an easy layup over the water, so if you're worried about losing discs or not having enough distance just play smart.

-No crossing of fairways. I'm sure it will happen, but chances are pretty low of getting a disc on another fairway where someone else is throwing.

-No blind shots at basket, which I've noticed at other courses can be a bit of a safety issue.
Cons: -Starts off with some longer walks between holes. For hole layout it's completely understandable why it's like this, but nonetheless I was putting more steps in getting to the next teepad than I have on other courses.

-Some teepads aren't level. Maybe this is only personal preference, but I like to have a level teepad even if I'm throwing uphill/downhill. Most are flat since a lot of them were placed on flat ground, but a few are angled with the hill they were placed on which might cause some weight-shift issues while driving.

-Campers. Most pedestrians are on the road in golf carts so they're out of your way pretty quick. But there are some camp sites, more specifically the one on hole 9, that will make you skip a hole or play from the shorts if somebody is there.
Other Thoughts: Had this in the cons, but this really isn't the courses fault so moved it down here: The course is located in the middle of the Evansville to Bloomington I-69 stretch, where there is literally no-where to stop for gas/drinks that isn't miles off the interstate. Luckily there are a couple restaurants and a gas station or two in Petersburg which aren't too far once you've already driven to the course.

Anyways, this is an amazing course and my favorite in the area. Whether you're a casual golfer or a traveling pro you should encounter a fun, challenging course in Prides Creek Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This course is a must play!

2-4    6/13/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: juggalotus99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is amazing! Absolutely the best maintained course I have ever played. Fairways are neat and well mowed. Sign at the beginning of course has a map and other info. Tee signs are detailed and very easy to follow. Love all the elevation changes and the way the course was designed with the water. A nice mixture of all kinds of shots, really wanted to play it for a long time, felt I could play it again and again and find different lines and shots.
Cons: My biggest complaint is that the baskets IMO do not catch as well as the Innova Discatchers that I'm used to at my home course. But they still catch good enough not to be a big problem, just takes a little time getting used to them.
Other Thoughts: I saw golf carts all over the place, driving around the disc golf course, and parked out front of the pro shop for their ball golf course. I wonder if they rent them to disc golfers because that would be amazing! If you're in the area or even to make a trip out of it, do yourself a favor and play this course you would be hard pressed to find any better.

A little bit of everything!

1    5/3/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of it all, right/left, left/right, straight, water shots, fast greens, you name it.

Some longer holes that are a little wide open to crush, some shorter holes that have a nice pin placement.

Hole 1 starts you off nice with a downhill RHBH hyzer at 524 ft, key is to get it in a good spot to have a nice upshot, of course with the water lingering behind the basket you are most likely going to leave your approach short. I love the variety that offers, go for it and take another stroke or lay up short again for an easy par 4. Love it.

Hole 4, nice placement shot off the tee, basket is on a peninsula with a conifer in the water. Must land flat on the green to prevent a roll away back into the water. Love this.

Hole 5, short straight shot over some water at about 250. Dig it!

Hole 10 is a nice change up from the longer holes, almost a straight shot with a hill for a good ace run, helps the course flow well.

Hole 13, along the road, 210ish to clear the water, with OB across the road, fun shot, especially with the wind.

I could go on and on but I'll cut the pros short.

Cons: Cons, very few, hole 9 from the long, once you clear the trees it is just a long wide open shot. That is just being picky, but other than that, no cons. Maybe a few benches, a bathroom, and a water fountain could be added.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Southern Indiana, between it and Sevrien Lang it is a tough battle, I'd say Prides gets it with its element of water, and pin placements that provide more risk-reward opportunity.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/4/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Championship level course. Can bring the best of players back to the field with one bad hole. Good mix of long, water lined holes and easier birdie opportunities.
Cons: I don't mind the curious people but I did mind the people in the shelter houses not caring about what was going on and playing in the fairways and looking at you like you stupid for warning them that you are about to throw a heavy projectile at them as hard as you can.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in the state hands down.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful New Course!

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: natmance
Played: 70  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking to let your discs fly far. A lot of wide open fairways and plenty of chances to throw some long drives. There are also a number of shorter, birdie holes to make up for the disappointment on scoring 4's and 5's on the long holes. A good amount of elevation change on many of the holes, and the lake makes for some interesting placement shots. If you are conservative, you shouldn't have trouble keeping dry, though.
Cons: This would not be a good course for beginners, as the frustration of losing discs in the water could be overwhelming.
Other Thoughts: The course is well-mowed and maintained. Even though the course is brand new, it is very playable. I hope to see some big names come out to play tournaments on this championship level course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Monster in the Midwest

2-4    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Long, smooth, flat concrete tee pads on every hole.
+Gateway Titan 24 baskets.
+Very descriptive and informative tee signs.
+Very nice information sign at beginning of course.
+Very clean park. The parks department takes excellent care of this park. Honestly, this is probably one of the cleanest and best well manicured park I have ever played.
+Shot variety. The layout is very well balanced with left to right, right to left, straight shots, short ace runs and long bomber holes.
+Fun factor vs. challenge. I liken this course to Madisonville. It utilizes very similar land, similar length, and similar scoring. Prides Creek is better (in my opinion) because of the fun factor. By throwing in some clever ace runs, this course can still be fun when the accurate distance game is off.
+Basket locations. This course is loaded with both breathtaking and butt-puckering basket locations.
Cons: -There are a few more mandos than I'd like to see, but they make sense.
-Water. On twelve holes, water comes into play, including four (five if you count hole 4) holes that require players to throw across water. Smaller arms will definitely want to consider playing the short tees on 8 &9.
-Pedestrians. Since it is a multi-use park, there are likely to be users who are not disc golfers. (In my round though, I had three people approach me inquiring about the game. No one was a butthole at all.)
Other Thoughts: Quite simply, this course is a must play, awesome course. As it gets played a little bit more and starts to wear in, it's going to prove to be one of the best around. Dane and Nick really outdid themselves this time.
Hole 1 is an exceptional starting hole. A sweeping par 4 that ends with a breathtaking basket located on a small peninsula into beautiful Prides Creek.
Hole 4 is a par 4 that gives players the option of playing around or playing across a small bay, with placement being crucial on either route.
Hole 8 is a long par 4 that starts with a 275' throw across water followed by a trip down a well manicured fairway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.