Petersburg, IN 
Prides Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NJFEST1 Hole #5
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
The Pride of Petersburg

1    10/25/2016   12/2/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Prides Creek Park is a beautiful park surrounding a lake, with grass covered rolling hills and lots of mature trees. The water is in play on several holes, and the long tees make it a formidable challenge. Course layout has a good flow and is pretty easy to follow. Consistent high quality holes with great variety of looks. I played one round, from the long tees, and shot a 4 over par 64. I missed multiple birdie putts, and threw a couple of shots in the water (lost a disc on hole 5). Also had a couple of bad approaches that cost me shots. Under par is totally possible, but you need to bring your A game. My only birdies were holes 10 and 11, the two shortest holes on the course. There are no bad holes on the course. I liked the first 14 a lot, and the last 4 are a bit more vanilla, but still have nice lines and elevation changes to keep it interesting and fun. So many good holes, but to me the highlights included a nice, long, downhill drive through the trees to the waters edge. 5 is another great longer hole that bends and features the first water crossing, if you want to go at it like that. Then I had an incredibly lucky drive on 6 that miraculously skipped like a stone across the water after a low driver throw, and saved my par when it jumped back on dry land. Hole 8 is a bomb across the water from the long tee that had me holding my breath hoping to clear. I also really liked 14, which is from the top of one hill to another, going around a big stand of trees growing in the low spot in between. I threw a big anhyzer with a really stable driver into the wind, and it landed within 25 feet of the pin, but I couldn't convert the putt.
Cons: Pay to play, and I was not clear exactly where to put the money and how much of it to leave. I got my moneys worth for sure. Sorry about the loose change in the mailbox guys. Water and length will make this a tough course for beginners. Lost a good champion Wraith to the lake on hole 5, throwing a sidearm that I knew was high risk, but that's how it goes sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Check this park out for sure if at all possible. It is well kept, well equipped, and very fun. Worth every penny. This course reminded me of Madisonville DGC in Kentucky, but with slightly better elevation, and more water in play. Challenging and fun from start to finish. Talked to a crew of guys there and they seemed nice, I would stay in a pretty good mood too if I got to play Prides Creek on a regular basis. Quite possibly my favorite of the courses that I've played in Indiana.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Indiana!

2-4    10/22/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: Chrisrbaker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - amazing use of the land and lake
- beauty, feels like you are playing at a nicely groomed ball golf course
- challenging, but not frustrating
- gateway titan baskets are very nice, first time playing on those
- well thought out pin placements, it's like they put those out there first and then worked backwards....pins on ridges, pins on peninsulas, nicely guarded pins by mature trees...FANTASTIC!
Cons: - some flow issues with walking from hole to hole and a couple close baskets/teepads but not too bad. I'd always sacrifice some walking/flow for some great holes and there are a ton of great holes at this course.
Other Thoughts: LOVED it. Played a morning round and shot 60. Grabbed lunch and came back hoping to shoot a few throws better my second time and shot a 48. Great placement shot golf on the Par 4s. This course is only a little over an hour from my hometown of Bloomington and will be even closer when I-69 is completed. Will be going back A LOT.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun and Challenging Course

1    11/8/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: McPiddles
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great signage! Some of the best I've seen.
* Very well kept. Teepads are all concrete and are in great condition. Baskets were all in good shape too.
* Challenging but not frustratingly so.
* Some shorter holes require a very well placed shot which makes them more rewarding than some of the longer holes.
Cons: I really only have one minor thing to mention.

The front 9 has a great combination of long holes and shorter holes that make you shape your throws. However, the back 9 seemed to fall off and default to shorter holes that are fairly straight forward. It's not necessarily a "con", but just something that made the back 9 not as fun as the front.
Other Thoughts: This course varies the type of holes which I consider to be a great thing. The first hole is not huge, around 450 feet I believe, and it is deceptive. There are a handful of holes like this on this course, and I'll explain myself.

Caveat: This is my first time playing this course!

Hole 1 starts off with a straight shot off the tee, but you have to hit a 20 foot gap between trees that extends about 75 feet. Then it opens up with the basket nestled behind a small knoll. This seems straight forward until you realize that the basket is only about 10 feet from the water.

There are several holes that follow this type of "recipe" and it's a good one!

There are a few of the longer holes that require you to throw over water if you want to have a nice birdy opportunity (playing par 3). These are off the tee as well and require you to clear roughly 250-300 feet of water. Exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time!

Overall, this is the best course I've played in Indiana thus far and is a ton of fun. I will be returning soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better have a disc retriever!!!

2-4    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: bballr4567
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Absolutely perfect fairways. You will not loose a disc if you land on the grass. Just impossible. Perfectly mowed.

2) Great, great, great mixture of risk/reward ratio. Do you risk the water to make the birdie or go for the 3? There are holes you HAVE to go over water but they are reached by most beginner players as they are around 200ft in length. The longer holes have alternate tee pads as some are a long carry over a lot of water.

3) Very pretty course. Lots of the baskets are placed on an peninsula where you can easily toss your errant putt into the water.

4) There is a hole for every style of play. There is no one type of player who will win on this course. You need a well rounded bag to get through it.

5) Water, water and more water. How the course designers ever got the park to commit to the hole layout is beyond me. Just great placement and amazing use of the land.

6) I loved hole 4. Just a blast of a hole.
Cons: 1) The amount of walking between holes especially the front 9. Just felt like I was walking farther distances than the actual hole I just played. I understand the reason why but a few hole placements (especially 10) really boggle the mind.

2) Lots and lots of pedestrian traffic. Although I played on an iffy Saturday there still was quite a bit of people fishing near a few baskets. It could become troublesome in the future.

3) Some of the tee pads are unlevel. While just a personal preference it can be mildly annoying especially when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is just a fantastic course.

Its right off I69 and only a few minutes outside of the town of Petersburg. We played two rounds and ate lunch in between.

While playing is free, there is a $2 entry fee for the park. Just an FYI.

It would be nice if there could be some bridges added in the future on certain holes like #4 and #5 it could really make it a "sweet" feature and shorten the amount you need to walk but thats dreaming.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/29/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: tbr75
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Prides Creek is a great disc golf course with well-balanced challenges, a variety of shots, excellent maintenance and visual appeal.

-Perfect start to the course. Hole 1 is a phenomenal start with a 500ft hole that has a tight gap to hit off the pad and opens up to allow for big distance towards the lake. It rewards good placement/accuracy though, with the lake surrounding the left and back side of the basket about 30ft away.

-Distance variety: 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700ft holes. The longer holes have short teepads as well. The par 4's on this course are true par 4's.

-Shot variety: Long bombs, ace runs, low ceiling, placement shots. I'm RHBH and don't throw much forehand, but it seems like a well-balanced course for lefties and righties. There are also options for rollers, thumbers, tomahawks, and skip shots (on grass and on water). If you're a creative shot-taker, you can make up strokes by finding lines most others won't try.

-Use of elevation is good, with a lot of downhill shots, uphill shots, right-to-left, and left-to-right hills. Also some baskets placed right before a big downhill that creates a much more difficult approach or baskets on an uphill that allow for an ace run but also present the possibility of a rollaway putt.

-Well-maintained, in 4 visits the course has always looked like it was ready for a tournament. Unless you throw one in the water, you should leave with the same amount of discs you start with as there aren't any nasty "rough" areas.

-Nice teepads, not anything crazy but definitely wide enough and long enough to please most golfers.

-Holes where you throw over water have a short teepad or an easy layup over the water, so if you're worried about losing discs or not having enough distance just play smart.

-No crossing of fairways. I'm sure it will happen, but chances are pretty low of getting a disc on another fairway where someone else is throwing.

-No blind shots at basket, which I've noticed at other courses can be a bit of a safety issue.
Cons: -Starts off with some longer walks between holes. For hole layout it's completely understandable why it's like this, but nonetheless I was putting more steps in getting to the next teepad than I have on other courses.

-Some teepads aren't level. Maybe this is only personal preference, but I like to have a level teepad even if I'm throwing uphill/downhill. Most are flat since a lot of them were placed on flat ground, but a few are angled with the hill they were placed on which might cause some weight-shift issues while driving.

-Campers. Most pedestrians are on the road in golf carts so they're out of your way pretty quick. But there are some camp sites, more specifically the one on hole 9, that will make you skip a hole or play from the shorts if somebody is there.
Other Thoughts: Had this in the cons, but this really isn't the courses fault so moved it down here: The course is located in the middle of the Evansville to Bloomington I-69 stretch, where there is literally no-where to stop for gas/drinks that isn't miles off the interstate. Luckily there are a couple restaurants and a gas station or two in Petersburg which aren't too far once you've already driven to the course.

Anyways, this is an amazing course and my favorite in the area. Whether you're a casual golfer or a traveling pro you should encounter a fun, challenging course in Prides Creek Park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  This course is a must play!

2-4    6/13/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: juggalotus99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is amazing! Absolutely the best maintained course I have ever played. Fairways are neat and well mowed. Sign at the beginning of course has a map and other info. Tee signs are detailed and very easy to follow. Love all the elevation changes and the way the course was designed with the water. A nice mixture of all kinds of shots, really wanted to play it for a long time, felt I could play it again and again and find different lines and shots.
Cons: My biggest complaint is that the baskets IMO do not catch as well as the Innova Discatchers that I'm used to at my home course. But they still catch good enough not to be a big problem, just takes a little time getting used to them.
Other Thoughts: I saw golf carts all over the place, driving around the disc golf course, and parked out front of the pro shop for their ball golf course. I wonder if they rent them to disc golfers because that would be amazing! If you're in the area or even to make a trip out of it, do yourself a favor and play this course you would be hard pressed to find any better.

 A little bit of everything!

1    5/3/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: skottyb
Played: 51  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of it all, right/left, left/right, straight, water shots, fast greens, you name it.

Some longer holes that are a little wide open to crush, some shorter holes that have a nice pin placement.

Hole 1 starts you off nice with a downhill RHBH hyzer at 524 ft, key is to get it in a good spot to have a nice upshot, of course with the water lingering behind the basket you are most likely going to leave your approach short. I love the variety that offers, go for it and take another stroke or lay up short again for an easy par 4. Love it.

Hole 4, nice placement shot off the tee, basket is on a peninsula with a conifer in the water. Must land flat on the green to prevent a roll away back into the water. Love this.

Hole 5, short straight shot over some water at about 250. Dig it!

Hole 10 is a nice change up from the longer holes, almost a straight shot with a hill for a good ace run, helps the course flow well.

Hole 13, along the road, 210ish to clear the water, with OB across the road, fun shot, especially with the wind.

I could go on and on but I'll cut the pros short.

Cons: Cons, very few, hole 9 from the long, once you clear the trees it is just a long wide open shot. That is just being picky, but other than that, no cons. Maybe a few benches, a bathroom, and a water fountain could be added.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Southern Indiana, between it and Sevrien Lang it is a tough battle, I'd say Prides gets it with its element of water, and pin placements that provide more risk-reward opportunity.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/4/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 49  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Championship level course. Can bring the best of players back to the field with one bad hole. Good mix of long, water lined holes and easier birdie opportunities.
Cons: I don't mind the curious people but I did mind the people in the shelter houses not caring about what was going on and playing in the fairways and looking at you like you stupid for warning them that you are about to throw a heavy projectile at them as hard as you can.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in the state hands down.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful New Course!

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: natmance
Played: 70  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking to let your discs fly far. A lot of wide open fairways and plenty of chances to throw some long drives. There are also a number of shorter, birdie holes to make up for the disappointment on scoring 4's and 5's on the long holes. A good amount of elevation change on many of the holes, and the lake makes for some interesting placement shots. If you are conservative, you shouldn't have trouble keeping dry, though.
Cons: This would not be a good course for beginners, as the frustration of losing discs in the water could be overwhelming.
Other Thoughts: The course is well-mowed and maintained. Even though the course is brand new, it is very playable. I hope to see some big names come out to play tournaments on this championship level course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Monster in the Midwest

2-4    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Long, smooth, flat concrete tee pads on every hole.
+Gateway Titan 24 baskets.
+Very descriptive and informative tee signs.
+Very nice information sign at beginning of course.
+Very clean park. The parks department takes excellent care of this park. Honestly, this is probably one of the cleanest and best well manicured park I have ever played.
+Shot variety. The layout is very well balanced with left to right, right to left, straight shots, short ace runs and long bomber holes.
+Fun factor vs. challenge. I liken this course to Madisonville. It utilizes very similar land, similar length, and similar scoring. Prides Creek is better (in my opinion) because of the fun factor. By throwing in some clever ace runs, this course can still be fun when the accurate distance game is off.
+Basket locations. This course is loaded with both breathtaking and butt-puckering basket locations.
Cons: -There are a few more mandos than I'd like to see, but they make sense.
-Water. On twelve holes, water comes into play, including four (five if you count hole 4) holes that require players to throw across water. Smaller arms will definitely want to consider playing the short tees on 8 &9.
-Pedestrians. Since it is a multi-use park, there are likely to be users who are not disc golfers. (In my round though, I had three people approach me inquiring about the game. No one was a butthole at all.)
Other Thoughts: Quite simply, this course is a must play, awesome course. As it gets played a little bit more and starts to wear in, it's going to prove to be one of the best around. Dane and Nick really outdid themselves this time.
Hole 1 is an exceptional starting hole. A sweeping par 4 that ends with a breathtaking basket located on a small peninsula into beautiful Prides Creek.
Hole 4 is a par 4 that gives players the option of playing around or playing across a small bay, with placement being crucial on either route.
Hole 8 is a long par 4 that starts with a 275' throw across water followed by a trip down a well manicured fairway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.