Disc Golf Store
Brookfield, NH 
Moose Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #10 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket/Steps to Tee #11



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Little Course

1    6/14/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: Westnite17
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a smal wide open course that is great for beginners and allows for approach shot practice. Birdie Alley on the back nine is loads of fun. Not busy.
Cons: Some may feel the course is too short. There is no real opportunity to stretch things out until the 18th par 5. Great view from the tee atop the tubing hill!
Other Thoughts: I am not sure why this course is not played by more people. It is a pay to play, $5 for a round or $8 for the day. We played 4 rounds. I will definitely return, this time with a lunch to play all day!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners

5+    5/9/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: surperdude
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shoot shots. Great place to build strengthson your weaker shots. Also, it is a great place to go for casual play with birdie alley. Easy course to shoot under par and boost confidence.
Cons: Sometimes the wind can get annoying. Sometimes.
Other Thoughts: All around great course. The people are nice. The club house is great.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and fun

1    8/18/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed and well maintained, the Moose is a great place to play a casual round in the White Mountains. The layout of the course is geared toward the novice with most of the holes being very short. The setting is very nice through woods and fields with a good amount of ups and downs. There are some well-built footbridges over babbling brooks that are good places to pause for a quick rest. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the spacious clubhouse is stocked with discs, snacks and beer.
Cons: Length. It is one of the shortest 18 holers out there. The signs are a bit too close to the tees on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Shoot the Moose. It is an extremely fun round and the clubhouse is cool. Play a round with Tex if he's around. He's the designer and a good player.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good NH Fun!

1    7/17/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Jimb
Played: 77  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simple, effective, tee signs with hole #, distance and basic layout. 5' x 8' concrete tees made up of two 5' x 4' slabs laid back to back. They are well placed and the gap between them is smooth. Most tees have are pretty much on same plane as surrounding ground so you can start your run-up from the side a little if needed. My favorite, brand new Innova Discatchers, with the hole number always facing the tee or fairway.

Nice, rustic, benches on most holes. Cool bridges where needed and one nice set of steps up a hill from one basket to next tee where hiking up the bank would have been a pain. Once in the woods this is a very scenic course. I love the ferns, the small stream running through a couple holes and the exposed rock in places.

The grassy areas are well maintained. The wooded holes are nicely cleared with appropriately wide fairways cut through the woods. They've obviously been cleared recently as there's not much foliage on them yet.

About half of the holes are mostly open and the other half wooded. They take advantage of the elevation on site with holes playing up, down and across the slopes. The wooded holes have nice fairways, and generally give you a good shot at birdie (or even ace runs) if you hit your lines. The wooded holes have a nice mix of straight, right turning and left turning holes. The stream could come into play on a couple holes. And, of course, the big 589' down-hill closer running down the tubing hill is a load of fun!
Cons: Generally the holes are short in length, especially the wooded holes. This didn't detract from my fun, but it did make the holes much easier. Several holes really feel like filler, just thrown in there to connect the better holes. A couple just play down some snowmobile trails, for example.

This doesn't detract from my rating, but those New England biting flies are a mess. I only ran into a few in the wooded areas, but a few is more than enough.
Other Thoughts: The course opens up in a pretty bland way. It was REALLY HOT when I played and I was coming down with a sinus infection. So after the first 4-5 holes, I wasn't even sure if I was going to continue. Fortunately, it got better after that. It was much cooler, and much more interesting, in the woods.

It seems as though there's space for longer pin positions for alternate tees for many of the holes which could really add to the fun of the course. As is, it's a nice practice course and would serve as a great place to break newer players into the game.

And finally, just for fun... On #18, my first drive was fine, at about 400'. I parked my approach and took a nice 3 for eagle. But, it's 589', and it's a long way downhill. So I had to empty my bag of all drivers. Once I got the hang of the hole, I was able to throw my first 500' throw ever. The distances are marked off along the hillside and I also paced off the remaining distance from where my drive landed to the basket. I was thrilled to see that it went 500'... even downhill. I may never see that again and I'll always have this memory.

To finish, this is a course that I really enjoyed. I was staying about 40 minutes away, and didn't feel bad about making the trip. It was a lot of fun. If you're only interested in a great challenge, don't bother. But if you just want to have a fun round, with an excellent closer, on a really pretty course, you should enjoy The Moose.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive that it just opened

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Gastricboot
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed course
Fun to play
Excellent club house
'Birdie Alley' is lots of fun
Cons: Rough off of the fairways
Still needs some clean up on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: The course opened about two months before I played it but I would have guessed it had been around for years based on how well most of the holes are groomed. In the middle of the course it looks a little rough where they cut and mulched trees but the play is still excellent. The first 9 offer a shot variation that makes the course fun and 'birdie alley' in the back 9 offer an exciting opportunity to get some aces. The club house is equipped with a bar and actually serves alcohol!
While it isn't has challenging as some other courses in NH it is a very fun course that will have me coming back over and over. Well worth the trip just to play it a couple of times a day. If Tex, the designer, is around he'll probably play a round with you as he did with us.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun and easy golf

2-4    6/23/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great vibe
- Clean fairways
- Nice, new baskets
- Excellent use of elevation and available water
- A nice, cool (temperature wise) pro shop with Innova and Discraft discs, snacks, and cheap beer
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Improvements planned for the future
Cons: - Way too short to challenge the average player
- The back nine is rather repetitive
- Rough is thick off the fairway (it's a new course after all)
- Tee pads are a bit small, especially on the few longer holes where a run up would be nice
Other Thoughts: A nice, relaxing new addition to the NH disc golf scene. Moose Mountain DGC is definitely designed for the casual/rec level player, so don't go expecting any sort of challenge if you've played for more than a few months. That disclaimer being out of the way, the length and lack of challenge is not a reason to avoid the course unless you're a glutton for punishment. The course is a lot of fun, making full use of it's location on a ski and tubing mountain to provide quite a few downhill bombs and sharp uphill shots. Ace runs abound, so if you're looking to snag a few hole-in-ones this is the place you're likely to do it. Most fairways are relatively open, and the few trees left are strategically placed. There definitely should have been a few more trees left on most holes however. You won't need your full bag here. I managed most drives with either a putter or a midrange, with about 4 holes requiring a fairway driver. The only hole that really calls for a distance driver is the nearly 600ft downhill hole 18. It's wide open so there's room to air out and get some driving done before finishing your round (always a plus). I found the many uphill, open, <200ft shots on the back nine to be a bit tiresome. One or two would have been nice, but being able to play 6 holes in a row with a putter is a serious design flaw. The clubhouse is large and naturally cooler than the outside. They have an acceptable selection of Innova and Discraft discs, cheap snacks, and, best of all, $2 bottles of beer. There's nothing like playing a round and knowing there's an ice cold beer waiting for you back at the clubhouse, and that fact is made better by the general friendliness of the local players and staff. If you happen to hear shouts of exertion on the course, you're likely to have run into Tex, the course designer. He's a good guy who's always happy to hang out and explain the thoughts behind the course and take advice on how to make it better.
Overall, I look forward to seeing the course grow and will definitely be coming back, if not for the challenge then for the atmosphere. The course is very easy, but there are a few holes that are tricky enough to keep good players interested, and the relaxed mood makes for a better experience than you'd expect. Check out the Moose!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center