South El Monte, CA 
Whittier Narrows Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 316ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Mixed Results

5+    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: SuperBurrito
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a large well groomed grass park with slight rolling hills/mounds. There are three 9 hole loops that start and end at the main parking lot.
- Many of the Holes have good tee signs.
- Most holes have a good tee pad.
- Plenty of fun holes to bomb on.
- Plenty of free parking on the streets and a huge lot ($6/car on the weekend)
- Real bathrooms.
- Paths and parking lot offer up some OB to make things a little bit more challenging.
Cons: When we last arrived there were 200-300 people playing soccer/futbol across holes 16-19 and hole 27. There was absolutely no playing those 5 holes and the basket closest to the parking lot had been filled to the brim with bags/water/coolers/jackets and had items piled on top. I had to laugh.
- Weekends may be much worse if you want to play all the holes.
- Hole 2 throws right next-to/over a fenced in SUPER powerline structure/pole. It may be impossible to retrieve a disc if it lands in the middle, unless you like climbing razor wire or have a really long pole.
- Not all holes have a tee sign. 19-27 have no signs at all. (print the map!)
- Not all holes have a tee pad. The higher the number hole the more likely you will be teeing off from a marked spot on a path or from a well used spot in the grass.
- Many of the baskets are very old designs and smaller or lower than you would normally expect. (this is minor and may actually add to the challenge)
- Sheriff watched us (and everyone) the entire time, so be prepared for that kind of presence.
Other Thoughts: Like most public park courses this one is much better to play on the weekdays. For sure print out the map if its your first time or you are expecting to find/play the last 9. The first 9 had the best tees and markers. The second 9 was pretty good as well with a couple missing markers. The last 9 has no markers and only natural or path tees. Figuring out where the next hole is can be very difficult sometimes. Not the most challenging course out there but there are many very fun shots here. Hole 13 is the highlight of the course if it is in the position where it is on a island in the parking lot!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long, Spread Out And A Little Tricky To Navigate!

1    7/2/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Whittier narrows is this large, sprawling, flat park with scattered mature trees. I found a kiosk at the start by the parking lot. the kiosk had no disc golf information on it. There are concrete tee pads with kind of a speed bump marking the front edge. The signs are a large yellow poles with large fiberglass tee signs on them giving you the distance and a map.

I got confused right off at # 2. # 4 plays right through a picnic area. # 6 has an oval shaped tee pad while # 7 and # 8 both tee off sidewalks. I had a hard time finding # 9 pad. Then the second 9 start on the other side of the parking lot. # 13 is a fairly narrow hole for this course. The basket was not set on the island today, too bad!
# 18 plays back to the beginning and I have no clue as to the whereabouts of the final 9 holes.
Cons: Navigation was quite sketchy for me. I looked all over for numerous tees. Never did locate holes 19-27.
Park is wide open and flat. The island hole is the only hole that seems to have to have much personality. Others just seemed long.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite sure that I would have enjoyed this course more had I been able to hook up with any locals. Unfortunately, there was nary a local to be found a 7:30 AM on a Wednesday morn. Just me, a few parks maintenance men, a few squirrels and a couple of folks wandering about. I doubt very much whether any of these folks or critters could educate me on the missing 19-27th holes. All in all, a very average course.

Long course, bring your big arm

5+    8/13/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Three 9-hole courses all start and end near parking lot. If you're out to play 9 you can have your pick (I recommend 10-18)
-Some pin placements put low-hanging tree branches into play and force some shot-shaping.
-Hardly ever busy. Most days I'm the only one out on the course.
-The island hole (#13) is really fun to play.
-Back 9 has a different feel than the front and mid 9.
-Real bathrooms between hole 7 and 8.
-Locals are very friendly and laid-back and will help you navigate if needed. I've met and played with more people at this course than any other in the area. Don't be afraid to ask if you can tag along if you happen to be out by yourself.

Cons:
-Can get swampy in some areas in the mornings due to excessive watering.
-Parks & rec hacks up the fairways with the mower.
-Fire ants - be careful in the patches of dirt!
-Baskets are old and worn
-People in charge of pins rarely ever alternate pin placements.
-#3 and #4 are long holes for the sake of being long (currently anyway). These would be much more interesting holes if they made use of the patches of trees and put the pin somewhere near/in those.
-$5 parking on the weekends!!! Park on street north of holes 3/4/5.
-Dirt teepads on 19-27 with the exception of holes that start on the sidewalk.
-Occasionally you'll run into a family making use of a fairway as their BBQ area.
-With the exception of #13, there really isn't a cool unique hole on this course.
Other Thoughts:
Since moving nearby, this has become my 'home course'. My first impression of this course was not good as I could only rarely clear 300' with a driver. Playing here more and more over the past 6 months has forced me to work on adding distance and now my drives are in the 350'-400' range. This is a great place to go to work on your game, since you will rarely have anyone playing behind you. Also, it's semi-beginner friendly as there really isn't anywhere you can lose your disc with the exception of the fenced-in electrical towers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'm Tired!

1    5/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Distance, distance, distance! Great practice for rollers. Tree and grass.
- free parking when we went.
- "rest" stops are possible but you are visible. The linked fence surrounds the entire park.
Cons: - signs are confusing. Bring a map.
- a few holes should be modified for beginners.
- slightly boring course.
- safety for solo ladies is just ok. Plenty of people during the day but I wont be going there alone.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite but will go back to practice my distance shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -27 holes separated into 3 easy 9's all starting near parking lot
-multiple pin locations
-Some pretty decent variety in length
-Park wasn't busy when I played, no conflicts with other uses
-Decent teepads for the most part
-Not too busy when I played
Cons: -Pretty open and flat, gets kind of repetitive.
-Not much need for shot selection... you can play the full course without much issue by using the same shot type throughout
-Some questionable basket locations that make you throw along road ways or to baskets that are less than 10m from parking lots.
-19-27 aren't as easy to navigate as 1-18.
Other Thoughts: I played this along with Sylmar, Oak Grove, La Mirada, and Huntington Beach in one day and this was probably my least favorite of the bunch. Expected a bit more out of it, and left a bit disappointed. I think the land could be better used as an 18 hole course instead of 27.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Abandoned course

1    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'm trying to think of any, but none come to mind. It's at a park that has real bathrooms. You will be the only person here with the occasional person walking their dog. There are tee signs for every hole, but not baskets for every hole. That's about it.
Cons: The course looks like it has been abandoned for decades. Baskets are not kept up and paint doesn't match on any of the baskets that are bent to hell on some and missing on some holes. Other holes have baskets that are shared baskets with one or more other holes. Park is completely empty, as it is tucked away in the corner of two freeways. And a tiny neighborhood right next to it. I think the park was made for the neighborhood that is in the middle of nowhere.
It is not connected to whittier narrows regional park, so if you don't know the area you will have a hard time finding it. it is right next to Legg Lake, just east of it.
I don't recommend playing here untill whoever is in charge of upkeep of the course does some... Upkeep.
Other Thoughts: Don't come here. Go to la mirada. You will thank me for steering you away from a bad expierience. I really wanted it to be a great course, but it is anything but that.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and open.. literally!

5+    8/13/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -relatively well maintained grass and lots of it
-concrete teepads
-nice and empty most of time
-some nice long holes to break out your arm
-variety of shot opportunities, a few bombers, rollers, and even an overhand or two if you feel inclines
-good risk reward with some holes
-9 'bonus' holes
-old teepads make for some good safari play
Cons: -back 9 is hard to navigate, but the map here helps
-if you play later in the day on weekends there are people having large parties, and they tend to stray into the fairway or pick up your discs(mainly on the front 9)
-lots of police/trucks driving through (not a bad thing, but those with prop 215 related concerns may want to keep their eyes open)
-the gates around the towers are most often locked, make sure to check before you take a risk shot that might land you inside one.

Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in Socal because you can really open up your arm and throw some long tee-shots. Its also rarely crowded, and you can play a whole round without waiting for anyone ahead of you.

When baskets are in their long positions you have a chance to play some 'real' golf, and its not just a birdie festival.

It would be really nice to see someone from SoCal step up and throw a tournament there this coming season. Its been a long time, and the course has great potential.

The weekly tournaments are starting to become more popular again, despite an incident with ace pool money being used for club activities.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lateral Epicondylitis

5+    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes with a lot of big distance holes.

- Tee pads, signs and baskets are in good shape.

- Fairly light non-DG traffic, practically deserted on weekdays.

- Easy navigation with the map, the only trick is crossing the parking lot.

- Good mix of long and short pin positions. The course layout makes it really important to cash in on the short holes. And rewards big drives.

- Excellent use of obstacles and OB including power lines, trees and island holes.

- Well maintained, clean park. Grass is regularly mowed, perfect for distance rollers.
Cons: - Super flat, on every hole.

- The course just has weird vibe to it. I know it's a subjective thing to say but the combination of being practically deserted, the police patrolling and the random trucks in and out of the parking lot just give it a strange feel.

- Pay to park on the weekends, don't fall for it you can park on the side street for free.

- Alt 9 is hard to follow, use the directions on this page.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great change of pace from the others in the LA area. The most open distance holes that you will find in the area.

I have to admit that my first trip here I was disappointed with the weird vibe, flat land and lack of aesthetic value. But having come back again and again and playing in the weeklys I have come to really appreciate the course.

It's a solid course with a good challenge and it's worth checking out if you are in the area, but it won't' knock your socks off.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, but fun

1    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that is grassy and scattered with mature trees but no brush. Some creative use of fenced off and road ob adds some challenge and risk to an otherwise flat course. The trees are used well to make a mix of holes that allow for lots of different lines, and holes that define a specific line to get through more dense areas of the park. There is a good balance of right and left turning holes, and enough distance to add some good challenge.

The park is nicely taken care of, with recently mowed grass and no real litter or vandalism issues. The front and middle 9s have nice concrete tees and decent signs, making them easy to follow. There are a lot less people here than other LA area courses, so you can get through 27 holes here in the same time that 18 holes take at many other parks.
Cons: The course does a good job of mixing up hole shapes, but it feels a little repetitive because of how flat the course is, and there isn't much variation in the foliage throughout the course. Some holes feel long for long's sake, and too many fall into a tweener distance where the vast majority of players can't ever get a 2, but there isn't enough risk to cause many 4s.

The third 9 is a little hard to follow, the map and daKineSurfer's review make it a lot easier. A couple holes share a basket, and so you might have a conflict with two groups playing to it at the same time. There are a lot of picnic areas scattered around the park, and several are in places where an errant disc could easily end up. The road as ob is a fun obstacle, but can be an issue if there's much vehicle traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course, but a little lacking in risk/reward decisions and variety. Beginners will find it a little long, and might get frustrated. More experienced players will need to throw long to score well, and find this a good place to work on distance rollers with hard ground and short grass. This isn't a destination course, but it's worth a stop if you're in the area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Historic Course, But not enough Elevation change

2-4    1/31/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked tees with signs on most holes
Great use of obstacles, including Electric pole pylons with 10 ft barbwire fences. Luckily the fences are unlocked so you can retrieve your disc
Plenty of long holes - bring out the big arms!
Additional 9 Holes in addition to the Standard 18
Creative use of angles - not all RHBH hyzer
Well maintained baskets
Crowds are kept to a minimum - maybe because it is a bit out of the way
Good concrete tees on most holes
Beautiful old growth Trees
Plenty of bathrooms and trashcans


Cons: Virtually no elevation change - the park is quite flat
Can be very wet in the morning or after a storm - mud in some areas
6 Bucks to park, although you can park on the 2 side streets, Lexington and Durfee
No Pro Shop or snack shop
Course is "off the beaten track" - kind of a bit in BFE
Next door to some sort of Police substation with police cars constantly coming and going. As long as that's OK with you it doesn't pose a problem.
Other Thoughts: Whittier Narrows is a course in the L.A. area that has been around for quite a few years, and was home to the 2001 PDGA National Championship. The course is a challenge for players of all levels, and has some of the most creative use of obstacles I have ever seen on a course.

Although there is no significant elevation change, there are plenty of angles of all types - some extreme hyzers, some controlled anhyzers, and a bunch of tree tunnel shots. Rollers will definitely be at home here as plenty of holes play in the 400+ range. Although it does seem a bit daunting at first, there are plenty of birdies to be had.

Signature holes include a hole that is a slight hyzer to a grass "island" in the parking lot, shooting over a small 2 lane road. The road is OB and gives the psychological effect of water. It makes for an interesting placement shot. Another hole plays around 3 giant power pylons with 10 foot high barbed wire fences - the basket is in the far right corner.

Errant shots are definitely punished at this course. An Extra 9 holes in the back established by locals allow the course to be played to a full 27 holes.

I would play this course again, but my personal preference lends itself toward courses with more elevation change - for me, I really want to see half the holes have some some elevation change or it gets a bit boring. There are only maybe 4 holes on this entire course that offer any sort of elevation change. Overall though, a challenging course that definitely deserves a play, but there are much better in the L.A. / North O.C. area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.