South El Monte, CA 
Whittier Narrows Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 500ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mixed Results

5+    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: SuperBurrito
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a large well groomed grass park with slight rolling hills/mounds. There are three 9 hole loops that start and end at the main parking lot.
- Many of the Holes have good tee signs.
- Most holes have a good tee pad.
- Plenty of fun holes to bomb on.
- Plenty of free parking on the streets and a huge lot ($6/car on the weekend)
- Real bathrooms.
- Paths and parking lot offer up some OB to make things a little bit more challenging.
Cons: When we last arrived there were 200-300 people playing soccer/futbol across holes 16-19 and hole 27. There was absolutely no playing those 5 holes and the basket closest to the parking lot had been filled to the brim with bags/water/coolers/jackets and had items piled on top. I had to laugh.
- Weekends may be much worse if you want to play all the holes.
- Hole 2 throws right next-to/over a fenced in SUPER powerline structure/pole. It may be impossible to retrieve a disc if it lands in the middle, unless you like climbing razor wire or have a really long pole.
- Not all holes have a tee sign. 19-27 have no signs at all. (print the map!)
- Not all holes have a tee pad. The higher the number hole the more likely you will be teeing off from a marked spot on a path or from a well used spot in the grass.
- Many of the baskets are very old designs and smaller or lower than you would normally expect. (this is minor and may actually add to the challenge)
- Sheriff watched us (and everyone) the entire time, so be prepared for that kind of presence.
Other Thoughts: Like most public park courses this one is much better to play on the weekdays. For sure print out the map if its your first time or you are expecting to find/play the last 9. The first 9 had the best tees and markers. The second 9 was pretty good as well with a couple missing markers. The last 9 has no markers and only natural or path tees. Figuring out where the next hole is can be very difficult sometimes. Not the most challenging course out there but there are many very fun shots here. Hole 13 is the highlight of the course if it is in the position where it is on a island in the parking lot!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long, Spread Out And A Little Tricky To Navigate!

1    7/2/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Whittier narrows is this large, sprawling, flat park with scattered mature trees. I found a kiosk at the start by the parking lot. the kiosk had no disc golf information on it. There are concrete tee pads with kind of a speed bump marking the front edge. The signs are a large yellow poles with large fiberglass tee signs on them giving you the distance and a map.

I got confused right off at # 2. # 4 plays right through a picnic area. # 6 has an oval shaped tee pad while # 7 and # 8 both tee off sidewalks. I had a hard time finding # 9 pad. Then the second 9 start on the other side of the parking lot. # 13 is a fairly narrow hole for this course. The basket was not set on the island today, too bad!
# 18 plays back to the beginning and I have no clue as to the whereabouts of the final 9 holes.
Cons: Navigation was quite sketchy for me. I looked all over for numerous tees. Never did locate holes 19-27.
Park is wide open and flat. The island hole is the only hole that seems to have to have much personality. Others just seemed long.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite sure that I would have enjoyed this course more had I been able to hook up with any locals. Unfortunately, there was nary a local to be found a 7:30 AM on a Wednesday morn. Just me, a few parks maintenance men, a few squirrels and a couple of folks wandering about. I doubt very much whether any of these folks or critters could educate me on the missing 19-27th holes. All in all, a very average course.


1    4/1/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -27 holes separated into 3 easy 9's all starting near parking lot
-multiple pin locations
-Some pretty decent variety in length
-Park wasn't busy when I played, no conflicts with other uses
-Decent teepads for the most part
-Not too busy when I played
Cons: -Pretty open and flat, gets kind of repetitive.
-Not much need for shot selection... you can play the full course without much issue by using the same shot type throughout
-Some questionable basket locations that make you throw along road ways or to baskets that are less than 10m from parking lots.
-19-27 aren't as easy to navigate as 1-18.
Other Thoughts: I played this along with Sylmar, Oak Grove, La Mirada, and Huntington Beach in one day and this was probably my least favorite of the bunch. Expected a bit more out of it, and left a bit disappointed. I think the land could be better used as an 18 hole course instead of 27.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Historic Course, But not enough Elevation change

2-4    1/31/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked tees with signs on most holes
Great use of obstacles, including Electric pole pylons with 10 ft barbwire fences. Luckily the fences are unlocked so you can retrieve your disc
Plenty of long holes - bring out the big arms!
Additional 9 Holes in addition to the Standard 18
Creative use of angles - not all RHBH hyzer
Well maintained baskets
Crowds are kept to a minimum - maybe because it is a bit out of the way
Good concrete tees on most holes
Beautiful old growth Trees
Plenty of bathrooms and trashcans


Cons: Virtually no elevation change - the park is quite flat
Can be very wet in the morning or after a storm - mud in some areas
6 Bucks to park, although you can park on the 2 side streets, Lexington and Durfee
No Pro Shop or snack shop
Course is "off the beaten track" - kind of a bit in BFE
Next door to some sort of Police substation with police cars constantly coming and going. As long as that's OK with you it doesn't pose a problem.
Other Thoughts: Whittier Narrows is a course in the L.A. area that has been around for quite a few years, and was home to the 2001 PDGA National Championship. The course is a challenge for players of all levels, and has some of the most creative use of obstacles I have ever seen on a course.

Although there is no significant elevation change, there are plenty of angles of all types - some extreme hyzers, some controlled anhyzers, and a bunch of tree tunnel shots. Rollers will definitely be at home here as plenty of holes play in the 400+ range. Although it does seem a bit daunting at first, there are plenty of birdies to be had.

Signature holes include a hole that is a slight hyzer to a grass "island" in the parking lot, shooting over a small 2 lane road. The road is OB and gives the psychological effect of water. It makes for an interesting placement shot. Another hole plays around 3 giant power pylons with 10 foot high barbed wire fences - the basket is in the far right corner.

Errant shots are definitely punished at this course. An Extra 9 holes in the back established by locals allow the course to be played to a full 27 holes.

I would play this course again, but my personal preference lends itself toward courses with more elevation change - for me, I really want to see half the holes have some some elevation change or it gets a bit boring. There are only maybe 4 holes on this entire course that offer any sort of elevation change. Overall though, a challenging course that definitely deserves a play, but there are much better in the L.A. / North O.C. area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 whittier narrows

2-4    10/29/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Shaggles
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for distance shots. If you want to play at a driving range or you just like to throw far this is a good course to do so at!! Not very busy small to no crowds.
Cons: Some of the pins are hard to locate or are just not there like on hole eight, can`t find that pin anywhere! Little confusing for a first timer due to the fact thatthe holes/pins are hard to locate.
Other Thoughts: Good course for anybody who wants to really learn what their drives look like and practice desired flight patterns.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.