South El Monte, CA 
Whittier Narrows Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 316ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Long course, bring your big arm

5+    8/13/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Three 9-hole courses all start and end near parking lot. If you're out to play 9 you can have your pick (I recommend 10-18)
-Some pin placements put low-hanging tree branches into play and force some shot-shaping.
-Hardly ever busy. Most days I'm the only one out on the course.
-The island hole (#13) is really fun to play.
-Back 9 has a different feel than the front and mid 9.
-Real bathrooms between hole 7 and 8.
-Locals are very friendly and laid-back and will help you navigate if needed. I've met and played with more people at this course than any other in the area. Don't be afraid to ask if you can tag along if you happen to be out by yourself.

Cons:
-Can get swampy in some areas in the mornings due to excessive watering.
-Parks & rec hacks up the fairways with the mower.
-Fire ants - be careful in the patches of dirt!
-Baskets are old and worn
-People in charge of pins rarely ever alternate pin placements.
-#3 and #4 are long holes for the sake of being long (currently anyway). These would be much more interesting holes if they made use of the patches of trees and put the pin somewhere near/in those.
-$5 parking on the weekends!!! Park on street north of holes 3/4/5.
-Dirt teepads on 19-27 with the exception of holes that start on the sidewalk.
-Occasionally you'll run into a family making use of a fairway as their BBQ area.
-With the exception of #13, there really isn't a cool unique hole on this course.
Other Thoughts:
Since moving nearby, this has become my 'home course'. My first impression of this course was not good as I could only rarely clear 300' with a driver. Playing here more and more over the past 6 months has forced me to work on adding distance and now my drives are in the 350'-400' range. This is a great place to go to work on your game, since you will rarely have anyone playing behind you. Also, it's semi-beginner friendly as there really isn't anywhere you can lose your disc with the exception of the fenced-in electrical towers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'm Tired!

1    5/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Distance, distance, distance! Great practice for rollers. Tree and grass.
- free parking when we went.
- "rest" stops are possible but you are visible. The linked fence surrounds the entire park.
Cons: - signs are confusing. Bring a map.
- a few holes should be modified for beginners.
- slightly boring course.
- safety for solo ladies is just ok. Plenty of people during the day but I wont be going there alone.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite but will go back to practice my distance shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lateral Epicondylitis

5+    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes with a lot of big distance holes.

- Tee pads, signs and baskets are in good shape.

- Fairly light non-DG traffic, practically deserted on weekdays.

- Easy navigation with the map, the only trick is crossing the parking lot.

- Good mix of long and short pin positions. The course layout makes it really important to cash in on the short holes. And rewards big drives.

- Excellent use of obstacles and OB including power lines, trees and island holes.

- Well maintained, clean park. Grass is regularly mowed, perfect for distance rollers.
Cons: - Super flat, on every hole.

- The course just has weird vibe to it. I know it's a subjective thing to say but the combination of being practically deserted, the police patrolling and the random trucks in and out of the parking lot just give it a strange feel.

- Pay to park on the weekends, don't fall for it you can park on the side street for free.

- Alt 9 is hard to follow, use the directions on this page.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great change of pace from the others in the LA area. The most open distance holes that you will find in the area.

I have to admit that my first trip here I was disappointed with the weird vibe, flat land and lack of aesthetic value. But having come back again and again and playing in the weeklys I have come to really appreciate the course.

It's a solid course with a good challenge and it's worth checking out if you are in the area, but it won't' knock your socks off.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, but fun

1    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that is grassy and scattered with mature trees but no brush. Some creative use of fenced off and road ob adds some challenge and risk to an otherwise flat course. The trees are used well to make a mix of holes that allow for lots of different lines, and holes that define a specific line to get through more dense areas of the park. There is a good balance of right and left turning holes, and enough distance to add some good challenge.

The park is nicely taken care of, with recently mowed grass and no real litter or vandalism issues. The front and middle 9s have nice concrete tees and decent signs, making them easy to follow. There are a lot less people here than other LA area courses, so you can get through 27 holes here in the same time that 18 holes take at many other parks.
Cons: The course does a good job of mixing up hole shapes, but it feels a little repetitive because of how flat the course is, and there isn't much variation in the foliage throughout the course. Some holes feel long for long's sake, and too many fall into a tweener distance where the vast majority of players can't ever get a 2, but there isn't enough risk to cause many 4s.

The third 9 is a little hard to follow, the map and daKineSurfer's review make it a lot easier. A couple holes share a basket, and so you might have a conflict with two groups playing to it at the same time. There are a lot of picnic areas scattered around the park, and several are in places where an errant disc could easily end up. The road as ob is a fun obstacle, but can be an issue if there's much vehicle traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park course, but a little lacking in risk/reward decisions and variety. Beginners will find it a little long, and might get frustrated. More experienced players will need to throw long to score well, and find this a good place to work on distance rollers with hard ground and short grass. This isn't a destination course, but it's worth a stop if you're in the area.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Flat park course in SG Valley

5+    11/25/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow the course
-Concrete tee pads, and they are flat
-Long, long baskets, and some short ones too.
-27 holes, if you can figure out how to play the 'hidden 9.'
-Friendly locals, but the park has been pretty dead every time I go.
-Beautiful green grass, although the consistency varies, making the disc landing a surprise every time.
Cons: -Police presence has been pretty high lately. A substation is across the street.
-Some holes on the back 9 play close to a busy road, and is not fenced in.
-No real terrain features, mostly flat and hills that are no more than 5' tall.
-Have sometimes dealt with some pretty oblivious picnic patrons.
-Some pins play close to the parking lot. I would recommend parking in the middle section of the lot to prevent dentage.
-Some old mach & dga baskets are starting to look like they need some TLC. There are some beautiful Discatchers on the unused 'old 9,' why not move them onto the real course?
Other Thoughts: Course is in a very large generally unused park. There are some playground areas, and some picnic areas that do get used, but for the most part, they are easy to avoid while playing.

Sometimes, the sprinklers are on while were trying to play, which has made the game kind of interesting to say the least.
On weekends, they wanted $8 to park the car in the lot. There is a street right along the park that you can park for free on. I don't have a problem paying but when its that easy to avoid, Ill avoid it.

Hole 10 starts on the other side of the parking lot, just so you know.
Finally played 19-27 and they are a good little bonus 9 to end the day well. The course is visible from basket 16, and actually starts on the tee pad for 17. Read one of the more recent reviews for a detailed description of the course, which shouldn't be missed.

This park is probably one of the better opportunities in Los Angeles to really practice your big arm throws. The least busy of the major park courses from what I have seen, I have never been stuck in that irritating rotation where you are trying to keep up with the guys in front of you, but not lag too long for the guys behind you.
I like to play here to have a relatively quiet day of wide open drives.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, long and grassy

5+    10/24/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: thrownow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 39.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good length in flat grassy park. Great for rollers and distance drives. Rarely crowded. Only 9 minutes east of downtownLA
Cons: No elevation. Nice to have the additional holes but they lack tee signs or even marked tee areas.
Other Thoughts: Best use of local resources would be to get tees and signs on the additional holes here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy Fields

1    8/24/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Grassy fields all around which are perfect for rollers and big arms
- I used a map and it was pretty easy to get around. the only hard part is crossing the parking lot after hole nine
- concrete tees
- amenities
- plenty of shade and parking
- good mixture of long and short holes
Cons: - sometimes i had to walk out to find where the basket was
- some baskets were close to the street. an irate shot come be dangerous
- some holes dont utilize the park well
- little elevated
- definitely a big arm kind of course
- they should mark the other alternative holes. the ones the locals know, then again maybe its a good thing for them
Other Thoughts: the course was pleasant to play. getting par for a novice is not unfeasible if you play smart. some holes will hurt you if you lose focus. all and all the course was fun and just the right amount of challenge for players starting out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 bring your big arm and let um fly

2-4    6/16/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice open flat park with some technical shots if you want to score real low and a chance to throw for max distance as they have some long ones 500+ from the alt tees multiple pin settings good place to throw and practice rollers 18 easy to follow holes FREE
Cons: there are 27 baskets but you may need a local to show you the old 9 in the middle and back of park and the locals have a bunch of safari holes that they play that can be confusing look out for other park goers look out for traffic on 12 & 13 (no fence) can get windy the old
Other Thoughts: i threw my first ACE here on hole 14, 334 feet so i like the place some may say not very challenging. i say try to score a great number(-10,-12 for 18) there and you will be challenged unless you have a cannon of an arm

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Local Thing

1    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course that makes good use of the natural features of this very flat park. The first 18 holes are very well marked out with good signs. The tee pads were fairly consistent either making good use of the side walk or other cement features. The park was not crowded at all and there was only one other group using the DG course while I was playing with my roomate. There were several different types of shots required. The locals that were there where very friendly and helpful when it came to finding the last 9 holes.
Cons: A majority of the time you are throwing super long though none of the holes are really more than long par 3's. There are now apparently 27 holes though the last 9 are known only to the local crowd, who I did run into there. Most of the baskets looked very run down and even found a few with only a single row of chains. Some looked like they were on their last legs of life. There was almost no elevation change. A couple of shots were thrown through what look like they would be crowded pedestrian areas. The one place where I was lost after finding the first hole was after hole 9 with 10 being accross the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course was a great challenge and is perfect for those with longer arms. It is very clear that at some point in the past that the course was very different from what it is today. Most of the old course appears to still be in existence and could be played if you know the layout. Also, after talking with the locals, I was told that there are an additional 9 holes, including some of those origional holes, bust good luck finding them if you do not know where they are already. This could be a truly magnificent course if there were signage for the additional 9 holes. Also, make sure that you end up in the right parking lot, otherwise you will have a hard time finding where hole 1 is and get really confused with all the extra baskets that you will see. The parking lot you want to be in is really as far south as you can get on Santa Anita and then on the east side of of the street. There are a lot of signs points to Whittier Narrows but that is definately the lot that you want to be on. The first tee is by the main walking path starting out from the parking lot on the north side of the parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, Long, Not Crowded

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked course, great signs
Concrete tees
Easy to follow course
Cons: No elevation change, flat
Easy to play, long but few obstacles
Other Thoughts: Very nice urban course, probably not work making a long tip for, but if you're in the general vicinity it's an easy course to play. All of the holes are flat and straight, with a few tree or power-line obstacles. The course is at the end of Santa Anita Blvd -- parking is $4 on the weekends (apparently up until 3:30 pm -- when the gate attendant locked her tollbooth but not the parking lot... and when a lot of local guys showed up!). The first tee is near the parking lot, also near the tollbooth.

The only tee that's a challenge to find is #10 -- remember that it's ACROSS THE PARKING LOT from #9. The course then continues around the outside edge of the park from there. Note also, the course apparently has been re-laid-out since they added the extra four holes. The numbers molded into many of the concrete tee pads are not accurate any more, but they have moved all of the signs to the right places so believe the signs, not the teepads, when you're looking for your tee. Also, when the next tee is not obvious, it's marked on the sign for the prior hole. Read the tee signs with care, they are great and full of useful information.

You can park for free on either Durfee (where Santa Anita dead-ends, go left) or on Lexington-Gallatin Rd. If you park on Lexington-Gallatin, there are openings in the park fence at tees 4 & 6 -- near the corner of Lexington-Gallatin & Andrews.

To my way of thinking, this course should be rated 2.5. It's flat, with few obstacles, and mostly straight-ahead baskets. I gave it an extra half-point for having all concrete tees, great markings, and because it's not crowded. In all, this is a nice, local-urban course that favors long hard tosses over technical skill.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.