South El Monte, CA 
Whittier Narrows Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 360ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 review rewritten 7-1-09

5+    8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is flat (max elevation change probably less than 6 feet) and long, with multiple pin placements for most of the holes. Being part of a multi-use park, the grass is well-watered and groomed, which makes it great for rollers. There's usually someone in the parking lot selling discs on the weekends. All tees have good signage; streets, power pylon enclosures, and parking lot are all OB.

Nice double loop that begins, midpoints, and ends at the same place. From the #9 pin, turn RIGHT and walk all the way across the parking lot to the #10 tee. Nine extra holes after #18, as others have mentioned, known mainly to local players.
Cons: On holidays you can expect the park to be crowded. I've seen famlies picnicking around the basket, using it as a BBQ pit and hanging food off the chains (!)
Other Thoughts: All in all this is probably an ideal course for big arms who want to practice placement shots. Only a few holes are technical. Centrally located in the LA metro area - if you're visiting, this course should be on your "if you have time" list, at least.

The course is part of a HUGE park that has multiple attractions for the whole family. There's fishing in the lake, a shooting range, and meeting places for all sorts of groups. Last time I played there was some sort of a car club there and it was a trip watching all these $50000 low-riders cruise on by!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Flat Course Away From the SoCal Frenzy

7/14/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Length, upkeep, trees
Other Thoughts: Whittier Narrows is a fairly long and mostly open course featuring good signage, one set of concrete teepads per hole but multiple basket placements, and is manicured in the classic well maintained park setting. Being a little further from the hubbub of LA, however, Whittier seems quieter than other SoCal courses I've played, a "best kept secret," especially for those with a grip and rip game.

Like El Dorado, Whittier is a flat course, and while it does have trees that certainly come into play, I think it's still probably the most open of the SoCal courses I've played. Some of the trees that Whittier Narrows does have, however, are impressive specimens. Whittier is longer than average, though. My guess for fair par would be in the low 60s, but I really don't know. The course definitely plays to the boomer arms much more so than those with a control game. It does let up on you periodically with a few true par 3 holes, but otherwise is pretty consistent. I can't think of a single bad hole at this course, and wouldn't want to pick a favorite. None really stand out as exceptional, but they're all good.

Whittier Narrows is well kept, mellow, and has a few good views of the mountains. Many people would be pleased to call a course this nice their home course, and it's well worth a visit if you're in the SoCal area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Always enjoy it

5/10/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: jetasun
Played: 100  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Spacious Tee Pads
Longer Holes in General (making birdies a challenge for the avg player)
Great location to work on your "roller".
Clean Park
Never Crowded
Cons: Little to No Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts: I hadn't been out here for a few months and was psyched to find an additional 7 holes that could be played beyond the standard 18. Who knows, maybe there are more. I rarely see a local out here to know for sure.

I always enjoy playing Whittier because it has a mellow feel to it, while still forcing me to concentrate to finish at par or better.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center