South El Monte, CA 
Whittier Narrows Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 bring your big arm and let um fly

2-4    6/16/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice open flat park with some technical shots if you want to score real low and a chance to throw for max distance as they have some long ones 500+ from the alt tees multiple pin settings good place to throw and practice rollers 18 easy to follow holes FREE
Cons: there are 27 baskets but you may need a local to show you the old 9 in the middle and back of park and the locals have a bunch of safari holes that they play that can be confusing look out for other park goers look out for traffic on 12 & 13 (no fence) can get windy the old
Other Thoughts: i threw my first ACE here on hole 14, 334 feet so i like the place some may say not very challenging. i say try to score a great number(-10,-12 for 18) there and you will be challenged unless you have a cannon of an arm

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Local Thing

1    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course that makes good use of the natural features of this very flat park. The first 18 holes are very well marked out with good signs. The tee pads were fairly consistent either making good use of the side walk or other cement features. The park was not crowded at all and there was only one other group using the DG course while I was playing with my roomate. There were several different types of shots required. The locals that were there where very friendly and helpful when it came to finding the last 9 holes.
Cons: A majority of the time you are throwing super long though none of the holes are really more than long par 3's. There are now apparently 27 holes though the last 9 are known only to the local crowd, who I did run into there. Most of the baskets looked very run down and even found a few with only a single row of chains. Some looked like they were on their last legs of life. There was almost no elevation change. A couple of shots were thrown through what look like they would be crowded pedestrian areas. The one place where I was lost after finding the first hole was after hole 9 with 10 being accross the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course was a great challenge and is perfect for those with longer arms. It is very clear that at some point in the past that the course was very different from what it is today. Most of the old course appears to still be in existence and could be played if you know the layout. Also, after talking with the locals, I was told that there are an additional 9 holes, including some of those origional holes, bust good luck finding them if you do not know where they are already. This could be a truly magnificent course if there were signage for the additional 9 holes. Also, make sure that you end up in the right parking lot, otherwise you will have a hard time finding where hole 1 is and get really confused with all the extra baskets that you will see. The parking lot you want to be in is really as far south as you can get on Santa Anita and then on the east side of of the street. There are a lot of signs points to Whittier Narrows but that is definately the lot that you want to be on. The first tee is by the main walking path starting out from the parking lot on the north side of the parking lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, Long, Not Crowded

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked course, great signs
Concrete tees
Easy to follow course
Cons: No elevation change, flat
Easy to play, long but few obstacles
Other Thoughts: Very nice urban course, probably not work making a long tip for, but if you're in the general vicinity it's an easy course to play. All of the holes are flat and straight, with a few tree or power-line obstacles. The course is at the end of Santa Anita Blvd -- parking is $4 on the weekends (apparently up until 3:30 pm -- when the gate attendant locked her tollbooth but not the parking lot... and when a lot of local guys showed up!). The first tee is near the parking lot, also near the tollbooth.

The only tee that's a challenge to find is #10 -- remember that it's ACROSS THE PARKING LOT from #9. The course then continues around the outside edge of the park from there. Note also, the course apparently has been re-laid-out since they added the extra four holes. The numbers molded into many of the concrete tee pads are not accurate any more, but they have moved all of the signs to the right places so believe the signs, not the teepads, when you're looking for your tee. Also, when the next tee is not obvious, it's marked on the sign for the prior hole. Read the tee signs with care, they are great and full of useful information.

You can park for free on either Durfee (where Santa Anita dead-ends, go left) or on Lexington-Gallatin Rd. If you park on Lexington-Gallatin, there are openings in the park fence at tees 4 & 6 -- near the corner of Lexington-Gallatin & Andrews.

To my way of thinking, this course should be rated 2.5. It's flat, with few obstacles, and mostly straight-ahead baskets. I gave it an extra half-point for having all concrete tees, great markings, and because it's not crowded. In all, this is a nice, local-urban course that favors long hard tosses over technical skill.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 review rewritten 7-1-09

5+    8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is flat (max elevation change probably less than 6 feet) and long, with multiple pin placements for most of the holes. Being part of a multi-use park, the grass is well-watered and groomed, which makes it great for rollers. There's usually someone in the parking lot selling discs on the weekends. All tees have good signage; streets, power pylon enclosures, and parking lot are all OB.

Nice double loop that begins, midpoints, and ends at the same place. From the #9 pin, turn RIGHT and walk all the way across the parking lot to the #10 tee. Nine extra holes after #18, as others have mentioned, known mainly to local players.
Cons: On holidays you can expect the park to be crowded. I've seen famlies picnicking around the basket, using it as a BBQ pit and hanging food off the chains (!)
Other Thoughts: All in all this is probably an ideal course for big arms who want to practice placement shots. Only a few holes are technical. Centrally located in the LA metro area - if you're visiting, this course should be on your "if you have time" list, at least.

The course is part of a HUGE park that has multiple attractions for the whole family. There's fishing in the lake, a shooting range, and meeting places for all sorts of groups. Last time I played there was some sort of a car club there and it was a trip watching all these $50000 low-riders cruise on by!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Flat Course Away From the SoCal Frenzy

7/14/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Length, upkeep, trees
Other Thoughts: Whittier Narrows is a fairly long and mostly open course featuring good signage, one set of concrete teepads per hole but multiple basket placements, and is manicured in the classic well maintained park setting. Being a little further from the hubbub of LA, however, Whittier seems quieter than other SoCal courses I've played, a "best kept secret," especially for those with a grip and rip game.

Like El Dorado, Whittier is a flat course, and while it does have trees that certainly come into play, I think it's still probably the most open of the SoCal courses I've played. Some of the trees that Whittier Narrows does have, however, are impressive specimens. Whittier is longer than average, though. My guess for fair par would be in the low 60s, but I really don't know. The course definitely plays to the boomer arms much more so than those with a control game. It does let up on you periodically with a few true par 3 holes, but otherwise is pretty consistent. I can't think of a single bad hole at this course, and wouldn't want to pick a favorite. None really stand out as exceptional, but they're all good.

Whittier Narrows is well kept, mellow, and has a few good views of the mountains. Many people would be pleased to call a course this nice their home course, and it's well worth a visit if you're in the SoCal area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Always enjoy it

5/10/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: jetasun
Played: 108  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Spacious Tee Pads
Longer Holes in General (making birdies a challenge for the avg player)
Great location to work on your "roller".
Clean Park
Never Crowded
Cons: Little to No Elevation Changes
Other Thoughts: I hadn't been out here for a few months and was psyched to find an additional 7 holes that could be played beyond the standard 18. Who knows, maybe there are more. I rarely see a local out here to know for sure.

I always enjoy playing Whittier because it has a mellow feel to it, while still forcing me to concentrate to finish at par or better.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.