Okoboji, IA 
Okoboji Gold DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkdisc Hole #12 (Taken 6/2013)
-- / --   3 / 305ft.   -- / --   4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Finally, Okoboji discovers our sport

1    5/31/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: tengstrom
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • Okoboji is a mecca for recreation but it took the region far too long to discover our sport. I have been going to family reunions there for 29 years and for the past seven I have wished there was a legitimate course nearby. When the people there finally put one in, boy, did they ever come through. Nice work.
• Challenging, enjoyable design with many legitimate par-4s, quality par-3s and a titanic-but-reachable par-5.
• This course will make you get your daily exercise.
• Plenty of variation among shots. Hole 9 (up, over, then down into woods) is a kind of hole I have never encountered before.
Cons: • Needs concrete tee pads.
• Could you extra mowing (particularly on right of Hole 7) or a good dose of trampling down the grass.
Other Thoughts: When this course is all done, it ought to be a destination course. Good work, Dickinson County Conservation Board.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Lake Course

1    5/8/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets that are easy to see and catch well.
+Great variety of hole length. There are some pretty long open holes, medium length holes under the oak savannah canopy, and short but tight holes up and down the hill.
+Decent elevation. Some rolling hills in the open and some steep tight holes on the main hill.
+Well maintained park. No garbage anywhere.
+A few ace runs if you hit the right line. Nothing too open or easy though.
+Chuck used all of this park to put these nice 18 holes in. The park isn't as big as I initially thought.
+Disc golf only park- there might be walkers and nature lovers here too but there isn't any infrastructure set up for anyone but disc golfers.
+Nice, serene setting outside of town.
Cons: -Natural pads
-Course flow is weird and signage is needed to correct this. I kept going to the wrong tee. There are mowed paths throughout the course and they often lead in the wrong direction. They might be mowed out for other park users but are very confusing to disc golfers.
-Erosion will be an issue on some of the hill holes with any use.
-Open holes weren't that fun for me.
-Pretty windy, the west side is very open.
Other Thoughts: +Will probably be bumped up to 3.5 with cement pads and better navigation. I think this course will age well.
+This course will probably be slightly higher rated by those with big arms who liked open bomber holes.
+Some holes had a high fun factor for me. They were the medium length lightly wooded holes and the short ones on the hill. The long ones were open and windy and not as enjoyable for me.
+This is the only course worth playing in the lakes area. Stop here for sure if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: mev53
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout
18 holes
Trees and grass
Nice hill shots
Great use of multi throwing styles
Cons: Long course
Have to walk around parking lot to play holes in order
Relocating a few holes this would be a great course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in a great area.

2-4    8/12/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: kyand33
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variations- there are some long some short, some wooded some open, and some uphill some down hill.

Great Area- there is so much to do in Okoboji and there are always things going on. The course is just far enough away from everything that you feel out in the wilderness.

There are 2 different length tees to accommodate for all types of players.

There's 18 holes so it never gets old!



Cons: The only negative is that it is fairly easy to lose a disc, but if you're with a few friends and someone can go ahead and spot, you shouldn't have trouble.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Newbie is Groovy

2-4    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: TwistnShout
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the length and scope of this course from the nicely wooded to open field with a hill or 2 in between. You will need a few tricks in your bag to weeble this wobble that may tilt ya but may you never fall down. Has bathrooms and benches on a very nice piece of landscape.
Cons: Most tee pads weren't marked but aren't too hard to find.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. I will be back for sure...I would just recommend printing the course map to carry with. It will save you some extra hill climbing:) I would rate this course a 4 but for the lack of next hole direction, which really was the only 'flaw' except for the ravenous brush that ate my Lace:(((((.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New and Necessary for the Lakes

1    6/21/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of challenging holes. Great mix between long and short. It's nice to have dual tee pads on almost every hole to help with some of the lengthy holes, and believe me there are a couple "Lengthy" holes!
Cons: The grass is very very high throughout the course making it take extra time to find errant throws. I understand I was there within 5 days of the baskets being installed so hopefully they can mow a lot of it down and widen the fairways. You're bound to find a couple ticks after your round.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is awesome. I haven't played a course that challenged me for par in awhile, so if you want a challenging game you better check this course out. Not to mention the plus of if being at the Iowa Great Lakes. There's plenty to do after you play a round!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.