Florence, KY 
RA Jones Middle School Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #7 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Barking Dog Alley?

1    8/14/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing Mt. Airy and Idelwild back to back, I fell back into my old course bagging ways and showed up at RA Jones Middle School. RA Jones has nice amenities for a school course. It has nice sized concrete tee pads, decent small metals signs and Discatchers with the yellow bands and numbers.

The course has some decently long holes with # 7 playing at 375'. The first hole plays the shortest at just 130'. Most are just straight throws with the biggest challenge will be just keeping your disc on it's intended line.

# 1 plays down to the softball field and close to the parking lot. # 2 plays along the end of the soccer field. Then you enter Barking Dog Alley or holes 3-5. These holes play down along beside the neighbor's fences. As you walk past each house, their menacing mutts go crazy, barking loudly and passing it on to the next dog. It seemed as though every house owned a deranged pet. My question is? If these canines get so crazy with one tired old disc golfer walking back by, how do they react with scores of middle school mutants, carrying on only as middle schoolers can act?
Cons: As much as I love seeing courses being installed in our schools and then used for Phys Ed classes and after school programs, I have some serious concerns about this course at RA Jones. So many disc will find their way into the neighbor's yards along Barking Dog Alley. Also, # 7 is a 375' hole that plays along a sloping lawn that borders a deep, nasty rough. So many disc will find their way into that rough. And then, some students will manage to get their discs up on the roof on hole 9. Having taught at the middle school level for four, very long, years, I know that some middle school boys will have a grand old attempting to launch their discs up on the roof.
Other Thoughts: I had a pretty relaxing round here, despite the menacing mongrels of Barking Dod Alley. I'm rooting for this course in spite of all the lost discs possibility. I fear that school officials will get awfully weary of dealing with the neighbor's complaints.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Will be for beginners, but fun for all, too

2-4    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 285  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I always think it's a wonderful idea for schools to put in a course, and RA Jones Middle has decent sized, level, concrete tees aimed at holes short enough for casual and student play. Working counterclockwise around the generously mulched path that runs inside the perimeter of the school grounds, this course offers shots from 123 feet to as much as 383, with elevation coming into play just past the 5th basket, and on holes 6 & 7. Most of them require some control in your release angle, to avoid going right into any fenced yard (where the correlation to barking dogs approaches parity), or left onto the sports fields. Hole six actually plays blind around a tree (anny or hyzer line: your choice), and up against the woods, and hole seven plays very long, and slightly downhill along the tree line.

Played outside of school hours, if no one else is out here, there is some interesting potential for stronger players to try some safari golf, but as designed, its mostly a putter round for even Intermediate players. So, for its intended audience (middle schoolers), it's a fun little introduction to the sport.
Cons: There are some safety issues. Almost every 'fairway' is right over the path. The first basket has the parking lot 15' to the right and the baseball backstop 15' to the left. The second basket is just barely off the soccer field. Some of the others throw right over a couple of the (impressive) exercise stations. Overthrows on hole five have an excellent chance of going over a private fence. The trickiest spot is on hole nine, which runs past the back corner of the building and up a blind sidewalk. Elevating a disc around the corner also can, and will, put one on the roof. So please be very careful with that shot!
Other Thoughts: This course is just around the corner from one of the better disc golf merchants in the area, and halfway between Idlewild/ Boone Woods and Lincoln Ridge (aka Banklick), so it's an ideal site to introduce middle schoolers to the sport.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rec Course

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Ace1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course designed for beginner / rec players (Middle school kids course). Tees will be grass. Tee areas and signs due to be installed in Fall 2013. Safety was a forethought in design knowing kids will be playing this regularly. Tees will be away from baskets. There are no fairways crossing or next to each other.
Cons: The course is mostly open. It goes around perimeter of school grounds. Holes are short. Wind will be the majority of the difficulty.
Other Thoughts: It is designed with kids in mind since the school will be conducting PE class competitions. Once hole lengths and par are determined, the hole info tab will be updated.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 At least the baskets are nice.

1    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 brand new DisCatchers in the ground.
It's on school property so it's exposing the game to kids.
Cons: Where to start...
No map, tee pads, or signs to inform golfers of the layout.
Plays perilously close to playgrounds, baseball fields, the school, the parking lot, and the soccer fields. Anyone using any of these other amenities is in or near the line of fire.
Other Thoughts: Who knows, maybe whoever installed this course (school board?) has plans for pads, signs, etc., but that doesn't change the safety issues. My guess is this will pretty much be used just for PE class and the holes will be left short.

Enzy and I played a safari round using the empty baseball and soccer fields so we could air it out some. We started at the basket by the first baseball field and worked our way counter clockwise from basket to basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.