Foley, AL 
Graham Creek Share
Uploaded By: bhadella Hole #6 (Taken 3/2014)
-- / 260ft.   -- / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course...will be back

1    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: *Nice, quiet park setting
*Nice mixture of wooded throwing lanes (though not overly wooded) and open field throws
*Concrete tee boxes with hole # and distance stenciled on the corner
*Ample parking area with restrooms and covered pavilion with picnic tables
*Plenty of shaded areas through out the course to get out of the sun
Cons: *No welcome sign or course map on site
*No direction to next tee box
*No benches or bag holders along the course (no big deal to me, but some people like to have somewhere to take a break)
*If you throw green or transparent discs, you may want to invest in some bright colored discs. With the tall grass, it won't be very hard to lose a disc that blends into the surroundings.
Other Thoughts: After entering the park and parking, I got to looking around for the 1st tee box. I found #2 basket, then backtracked and found my way to #1 tee box.

I'll try to describe the way around the course for those who have never played itů
Once you enter the park, park along the pavilion area. There are restrooms located here.

#1 tee box is located next to the entrance gate to the park. Hole plays among a stand of pine trees back toward the parking area.

#2 tee box is located to the left of #1 basket and plays back toward the parking area.

#3 tee box is located across from the parking area close to the playground entrance. It plays through a stand of pine trees.

#4 tee box is to the left of #3 basket and plays into a heavily wooded "island" encircled by a gravel drive. Watch for vehicle traffic

#5 tee box is to the right of #4 basket

#6 tee box is to the right of #5 basket and plays along the woodline

#7 tee box is to the right of #6 basket and plays along the woodline. There is a bench along the woodline in the shade to take a break (only place to really take a seat along the course)

#8 tee box is to the right of #7 basket and plays along the woodline, with the basket between 2 clumps of trees.

#9 tee box is located along the woodline to the right. This hole plays along the woodline with a slight dogleg to the left.

#10 tee box is straight ahead from #9 basket and plays along the woodline

#11 tee box is to the right of #10 basket. The hole plays in an "alleyway" of trees, with the basket tucked in behind 3 trees

#12 tee box is straight ahead of #11 basket and plays away from the woodline, into a row of large oak trees.

#13 tee box is straight ahead of #12 basket, close to the entrance gate at the road. This is the longest hole on the course, and plays toward the wildlife rescue center (privacy fenced area)

#14 tee box is straight ahead of #13 basket and plays along the vehicle path just past and to the right of the tire "obstacle course".

#15 tee box is straight ahead of #14 basket and plays back toward #9 long tee box. Basket is hanging from a large oak tree.

#16 tee box is to the left of #15 basket and plays out into the open field, back toward the main park area.

#17 tee box is to the right of #16 basket and plays toward the road. Basket is located on the left side of the road between 2 oak trees.

#18 tee box is to the left of #17 basket and plays back toward the main park area into the trees.

As I was loading up, the park manager asked me if I enjoyed the course and said that they have an ACE race tourney next weekend. I told her that I enjoyed it and made a suggestion that they put up tee markers or direction arrows to next tee box. She said that they had plans to do so, and that they were trying to get everything to blend into the park setting. I took it as meaning they didn't want metal T-posts with metal signage, just something that would be more in tune with the nature preserve setting. She said that when they are cutting the grass, it was hard for them to see the tee boxes from the tractor until they were right up on them. She also said that they had plans to build a small building with vending machines (and I assume restrooms near the wildlife rescue center) int he future.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course. Can't wait to come back and play it again, hopefully when it's a little cooler outside.


1    8/2/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Thor Skog
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice pads, pretty level ground with scattered trees.
Cons: Grass was a bit long (probably 18-24" tall), so sometimes a bit difficult to locate discs. Also, hard to find some of the tee pads, as most were unmarked (with 4 of us spread out and searching we never did find the 17th); perhaps some sort of markers or directional indicators would be helpful...
Other Thoughts: Only the 2nd time and course to play dg, so all comments are by a neophyte!

Preserve Paradise

1    7/12/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: KNIGHT
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great new tee pads on every hole, pro and am tee on all holes, long enough tees on distance shot for run ups. I had heard that the grass could be a burden when playing to find your disc but it had been freshly cut when I was there.
Cons: Lack of tee and directional signage really could slow down a round of first timers at this course. Only a few spots to catch a break and take a seat, not a huge con for myself but putting it out there for those who like to smell the flowers.
Other Thoughts: My dad and myself were there starting our round at the sam time as an awesome guy named Beau* who was really helpful about how they are working on the course and their plans to put up signage. It was nice to hear that they have the support to keep and upgrade the course as they go.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Potential

1    5/15/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was actually a pleasant surprise for me. Being near the beach I was not expecting much but there were definitely some nice holes. The course is set about 20 minutes from the coast and actually doesn't remind you too much of being at the beach.

There are two sets of concrete tees on each hole, both short and long to mix up the round.

The park is not particularly busy so you don't need to worry too much about non-golfer traffic.

There are multiple routes on each hole to reach the basket on both the wooded and open holes and you will use just about every disc in your bag. There is a lot of variability which makes for a more interesting round
Cons: There are no tee signs on the course and no markers to direct you to the next pad which can make it difficult at times transitioning between holes

While the course uses a decent amount of the land there are complete areas that are bare. A few adjustments could be made to really open up the course
Other Thoughts: As with most courses near the coast be prepared for windy rounds. When I played it was especially windy making a few of the holes much more difficult than they should have been.

Definitely worth the trip to play. Hopefully they're able to make some gradual improvements including tee signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's Getting There

1    4/16/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on a fantastic preserve that looks to be well kept and improving daily. Even though it is incomplete this course has the makings of a well planned layout for the setting. I am rating this course as though it were finished because it is easy to see it in its complete form. Each hole has two concrete pads and one basket location. The course was fairly easy to navigate without much signage and will br very easy when it is installed. The course is fairly easy with many ace opportunities and is set up for beginners and intermediate players. The Terrain is lightly wooded to open fairways. Most holes hover around short distances but the course has some longer holes and one bomber hole, so you will need all your discs. PLUS, one the holes has a hanging basket! Of the few tees that have distances and hole layouts, it is evident they will be top notch and helpful when all are finished. Overall, this course will soon be a lot of fun with some solid holes.
Cons: I put these only cuz I know they will be resolved. The biggest thing currently is signage overall. All tee signs need completing, tee number and basket numbers need to match, and guidance signs pointing to first tee and all next tees.

Others: will be very hot in summer, wind could play a big factor, and the course can get a bit water logged
Other Thoughts: Besides Blue Angel Park, this course will be the best one in the area without a doubt. I also played the orange beach course and it pales in comparison to Graham Creek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected 18

1    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Facilities on site
-concrete tees, pro and am
-no longer just 9 holes - my first time out was today and there were 18 holes - not sure when the expansion started but it must have been recently because some tees aren't complete yet.
Cons: The first 1-5 holes can be iffy depending on the crowd - a fair portion of the course lies away from the nonplaying public but those first holes are near parking/facilities/etc so caution is advised. Also, as of 3/22 some tees aren't completed, and the course is in terrible need of signage - I basically groped my way around- granted I could have caught the course in an "in-between" period.
Other Thoughts: From my experience today, the course is under a rejuvenation of sorts. There's a decent variety of shots here though - the first 4 or 5 holes are lightly wooded, requiring a decent amount of finesse at times. The rest seemed like a back and forth between tree-line huggers and fun "grip it and rip it" holes. Albeit, I couldn't navigate the whole course today.

Once all of the tees are finished and some decent signage is put up this course has great potential to be the best in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could be.....

1    10/10/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 88  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice park. Saw a patrol car come through while I was there which was good since I saw a shady character sitting in his car. This course is really out of the way, so it was not crowded at all. The course has great potential but needs a new layout using some areas not being utilized.
Cons: 9 holes with not much challenge at this time. Hard for me to find my way from one tee to the next.
Other Thoughts: Hope someone gives this one some help and it will be a great course down the road.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/15/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: Lanzer913
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners as it is a very open course. Never crowded. On site restrooms, water fountains, covered picnic tables. Nature walks.
Cons: There are always Large tractors in the fields.
Other Thoughts: This course is brand new and the city takes great care of it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.