Madison, WI 
Capital Springs Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Too Open, but Nice Course

2-4    8/15/2013   8/26/2015
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Overall, the course is in great condition and located in a nice, scenic area. The tee pads and baskets are top notch as the course is only a few years old. The fairways and greens are also groomed very well, the signage is nice, and trash cans on every hole. It's a great course if you're a beginner or if you're trying to work on your short game/mid-range shots.
Cons: The course is too open and too short, although this provides plenty of ace opportunities...on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I thought this course was boring since it is not very challenging, but if you're looking to improve your short game and approach shots, I would recommend going to this course. It also plays quite fast if you are running short on time, otherwise I would recommend going to Elver, Token, or Heistand if you're looking for more of a challenge.

Solid 18 Hole Course

5+    6/26/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: RJStrasser
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Each hole offers its own unique challenge with multiple tees and pin positions. There are four holes that utilize the surrounding woods, which add the the challenge and variety to the course. Garbage cans at every hole and benches every few holes. Plenty of space as there aren't any other park entities that interfere with the course. There's a large dog park next to the course, which is nice too.
Cons: There's a bird that lives in the tree near the basket on Hole 10. Someone needs to shoot this bird because it will dive bomb anyone that comes somewhat near the tree (which includes all hole locations for that hole).
The rough on Holes 12 and 13 can be pretty bad mid summer. Have a good eye for where your disc goes if you head into the rough.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    6/3/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice, clean, minimalist signs.

-A gorgeous course with two tees per hole and three pin positions.

-This course has a lot of elevation changes that are challenging but fun. It also has some wooded holes that are a bit more technical but fun and not punishing. Bonus: island hole!
Cons: -The day pass is pretty expensive, and if you're just passing through, I don't really think it's worth it. For people that live in the area, though, the season pass is definitely worthwhile. (You need only play five days of golf here or at Token Creek for the seasonal pass to be worth the investment.)

-The front half of the course gets a little repetitive. While the holes themselves are fun, many of them are similar. (Throw up and then back down a hill in several repetitions.)
Other Thoughts: I can't count this as a con because I haven't experienced it myself, but a friend told me that a few weeks into the season the course becomes unbearable for the bugs. If you're trying it out mid June or later, definitely bring bug spray.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

solid short course

2-4    8/22/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great addition to the other courses in the area, with the course being predominantly wide open and short, allowing for a solid shorter course for beginners and juniors to enjoy.

variety- This course although mainly open, uses the few trees found in the course to create a few different lines and make the course a little more interesting. The elevation found in this park is brought into use in some very well-thought out ways, and makes for some very fun and interesting uphill testers and downhill ace runs.

Navigation- The course is very easy to navigate, due to the close proximity of the baskets to the next tees, and the course itself is fairly easy to find.

Amenities- The course seems as if it is always well taken care of, and the grass is always cut. The tee signs on this course serve their purpose, providing accurate distances and maps of the holes and their respective pin placements. The tees are nice poured concrete, and provide a good teeing surface.
Cons: At the time that I played the course, towards the end of the summer, the mosquitos were very bad, and I would definitely recommend some type of bug spray.

The $8 fee to play the course, is quite steep, and I would not encourage such high fees, as the course fees may discourage the beginners that the course is intended for.

Other than the few wooded holes, most of the shots are fairly bland, and most holes can be birdied with a well executed hyzer shot.
Other Thoughts: Please note that even though I gave this course a 3, that is still considered good on this site, and I consider this a good course, but it is a little to open and short to be considered to be as good as its rating suggests.

The designer made good use of the land available, utilizing the land available to its fullest, and incorporating the woods in the best way possible. The property as a whole is fairly open, and the designer did the best they could, incorporating elements, suchas trees, landscaping, and elevation to add variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2-4    9/19/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 203  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set up in a nice park in an area that is dedicated to disc golf only. The baskets are all beautiful brand new Mach 5's. These catch great and are one of the best baskets out there. There are two sets of great concrete tees on every hole. These are all level and grip very nicely. The tee signs here are decent. They have the hole #, par, distances and the 3 pin locations marked. These serve their purpose just fine. These are the exact same type they have at Token creek, capital Springs sister course. There's a decent amount of elevation change here. That combined with the wind are going to be the main challenges here. The course is very well maintained. There are multiple benches and trash cans throughout the course. The navigation here is a breeze. The course flows awesome from hole to hole. There's a nice large kiosk at the parking lot with a nice map and other disc golf info posted on it. There's also a restroom here which is nice. The wooded holes on 12-14 and 15 slightly to an extent at the end are the best part of this course for sure. The "island" hole on 16 is very cool. They have one on just like this at Token Creek too. It helps make up for some of the lack of other obstacles.
Cons: the $8 a day to play this course is insane. If you couple it with Token creek it makes it a lot easier to stomach the cost. These two together at least make it worthwhile for the price. Almost every hole here feels the same as the last. The course is seasonal so it's not up during the winter. This is a con as this would actually be a really fun winter course. Not really a con as there's nothing anyone can do about it but the mosquitoes are insane on the few, actually fun wooded holes. We played in late September and there were literally clouds of them. I've only seen worse on a few courses ever. Seriously. It kind of stinks because it makes it hard to enjoy the few enjoyable holes here. The prairie rough can get pretty rough in the summer I'd imagine.
Other Thoughts: This course is just not very exciting. Period. 13 of the 18 have literally no trees in play. It's just wide open prairie holes. It's a great course for newbies. Many ace opportunities can be had here, but for even average players this will just be a bland course. Don't go out of your way to play here. If you're in the area Hiestand and Elver are way superior and are "only" $5 a day to play both. With that said this is still a fun course, just not very challenging to most experienced players. I'd bump this rating up quite a bit if it weren't for the price.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course for beginners

5+    9/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: thePatient
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance is exceptional. It's always in great condition, and as a pay-to-play course, it's great to see the money being put to use rather than sit in someone's pocket.
-As someone who's new to disc golf, I appreciate the shorter length of the course. It's nice to realistically shoot close to par and have a birdie chance here and there.
-Beautiful location. The prairie scenery in the Capital Springs area is great, and the course does an excellent job at utilizing it.
-Even though there's many other activities offered nearby, the course itself is for disc golf only. The dog park and bike paths are adjacent, but completely out of play. There aren't any non-disc golfers wandering the course.
-The back 9 offers a nice variety of holes, and the "Island Green" on 16 provides the challenge of hitting an island green without worrying about actually losing a disc.
-Practice basket near the 1st tee is always a nice touch.
-Hole #9 finishes near the parking lot, which is nice if you only have time for a quick 9, or you can also easily start on #10 to play the back 9 first.
Cons: -Not much variety on the front 9. These holes are all straight and open. The only real difference between one and another is that some go uphill and some go downhill. There's 3 different basket locations, but in all honesty, they don't change much.
-Mosquitoes are thick in the woods, which comprises holes 12-14. It's to be expected in this part of the country in the summer, and it's only a few holes, but still worth noting.
-The rough is a little on the severe side. I've never felt like I was going to lose a disc in the prairie, but if you miss the fairway you may be looking for a while. In all honesty, though, it's not really any worse than most of the other courses in the area in the summer.
-This isn't a factor for me, but the pro tees don't add much to the course. On most holes, they do nothing more than add distance, and it's usually not a significant amount.
-There are indicators to show which basket is in place, but they don't always seem to match the one that is in. Not too big of an issue since you can see the basket from the tee on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a solid, simple course. It can be handled by a novice, but it's maintained like a championship course. I imagine more experienced players wouldn't find Capital Springs much of a challenge apart from working on their approach shots and putting. This is my "home course," so I've played it probably more than I would if I lived on the other side of town. Unless you do live close, I wouldn't get the $48 pass strictly for Capital Springs. However, it's a nice bonus to Vallarta-Ast, which I'm sure is the main draw for the pass. For those coming from outside the Madison area, I'd plan on playing Vallarta the same day and use Capital Springs as a warmup to make the $8/day worth it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good starter course, needs to grow

1    7/1/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: bdjohns1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Like its sister Dane County course Vallarta-Ast, it's immaculately maintained, with good tee signage showing the hole.

The layout does make good use of the hillside it's built on and around.

It's short. If you've got good accuracy off the tee, this is the place to go if you want to farm some aces. If you're new to the game, you don't need a monster arm to make par.
Cons: It's short, even from the long tees. I don't think there's a single hole that a pro couldn't do in 2 throws.

You're not too far from Madison's wastewater plant, so it can smell a little funky as you're on the north side of the course in the woods (12-14)

The mosquitos on 12-14 can be crazy. I played the day after some rain, and I had to basically run 12-14 to avoid leaving a pint low on blood.

I don't think it's worth the $8 day rate by itself yet. I live a few minutes from Vallarta, so having a 2nd course on my annual pass is just a bonus.
Other Thoughts: With trees growing in to add challenge to a few more holes on the front 9, I could bump this up to a 3.5 rating. Without retooling, I don't think you could really make it long enough to be a pro-caliber course.

Rewards precision

2-4    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: zdwyatt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like its sister course, Vallarta-Ast, this course is incredibly well maintained. It has nice signs, concrete tees boxes, benches, and trash cans at nearly every hole. The fairways are well-marked by mowing. The relatively short holes also makes this a great option for quick rounds.
Cons: There is a definite lack of variety, as most holes are wide open. A few of the holes will get more difficult as trees along the fairways mature.
Other Thoughts: This course fills a good niche in the area. As others have noted, the holes run short; nearly all are ace candidates. But I don't think this makes the course easy or boring. I see it as an exercise in precision and control. It's very easy to overshoot baskets and end up in deep rough. What this course lacks in shaped shots it makes up for in demanding accuracy.

As the course matures, it might rank as "excellent." For now, I will call it "good," with an added bonus for being so immaculate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 friendly open course

2-4    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: PVAPE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open course with pro and normal tees. Great signage. Able to drink on the course. Well worth the fee to play. Spent the day there so much fun.
Cons: My newbie drives found the rough a few times. Dense rough that would be expected.
Other Thoughts: Few trees in the course compared to what I was expecting. Pleasant to see the local critters running around in the woods.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: ZombieAssaultTeam
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained. Benches and trash cans at every hole, concrete tee pads. Short course if your looking to get in a quick 18 before or after work.
Cons: Not very challenging. Every tee is ace'able from the pro tees. Every hole should be a par 2, but some are rated as par 4s which is way to giving. Ive only been playing little over a year and I found no challenge in this course. If your looking for your first ace, come here, I'm sure you will get it!
Other Thoughts: As others stated, its a very well maintained course worthy of Token Creek, but the holes are very short, its basically up and down the same hill on almost every shot. Great course in a compact area, so no complaints if this is the only course within your area, but if your making the drive, go play Token Creek with your same season pass.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center