Madison, WI 
Capital Springs Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Practice Course

2-4    7/31/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: Bigsky406
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured course that's fun, but not terribly challenging. Nice views, no crowds, and great wildlife watching. It's not uncommon to have a pair of sandhill cranes cruise over the fairways during play, which adds a pretty cool 'intangible' element to Capital Springs.

The front nine is ho-hum with a few legit ace opportunities from the am tees and, if you have a big arm, from the blues. The back nine is more interesting and slightly more challenging, but if you're playing from the whites it's still pretty easy to par every hole.

This is a fun course for trying out discs, working on your finesse shots, and going for the chains off the tee. If you throw from the blues it's considerably longer and slightly more difficult.
Cons: Almost all the holes are hyzer shots and easily par-able from the white tees, even for intermediate players.

Many of the trees that were planted to create some obstacles on the course are dead or dying, which adds to the "ho hum" feeling on the first 8-10 holes.

There isn't a notable signature hole, though holes 12-14 are more challenging and more interesting.

It's $8 to play for the day, or $48 for a year-long Dane County Disc Golf permit, which is good for this course and Token Creek. I'm new to town and haven't played Token yet, but the pay-to-play feels very steep for this course. It if wasn't so well maintained/manicured, I wouldn't think of paying the fee. I'd go elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all this is a fun course that has actually improved my game by allowing me to huck my discs without fear of losing them. Having a course in my rotation that allows me to get acquainted with my discs feels like a luxury. I'd rather play a round than go to a football field and throw for the sake of throwing, so Capital Springs really fits the bill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Capital Springs

2-4    7/9/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Capital Springs is a very well maintained course. The grass is never too high, trash is picked up, etc...

+ The use of multiple tees and multiple pin placements adds replay-ability and variety to an otherwise bland course.

+ The course equipment is great. Tee signs, tees, and baskets are in top-notch shape.

+ There are several holes where players can throw wide open distance shots, but there are also wooded technical shots as well as precision shots (including #16 as an island green).

+ In general, the isolated prairie setting is quiet serene. It's calming and peaceful and allows the player to "escape" their normal lives for a while.

+ I'd say this course is great as an introduction for beginners and a pretty good practice course for advanced players. Some birdies are definitely easier than others.
Cons: - I played here during the Am Worlds week, so the courses were free, but I would never, ever pay $8 to play a round here. That's absurd. While it's nice to have benches behind every long tee or whatever, I don't think P2P is appropriately used here (in a public park).

- There aren't really any "oh wow!" holes. One could argue that #9 and and #18 are fun downhill holes, but they're not breath-taking by any means.

- The front 9 is pretty bland. While some of the tees/baskets were surrounded by boulders adding an aesthetic effect, the holes aren't difficult at all.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course to check off the list.

In summary:

Would I come back if it were free? Maybe.
Will I pay $8 to come back? No way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most amazing turf ever

5+    5/9/2015   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 66  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place has the best grass I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Maybe the best grass I have ever seen in any park. Really. Most amazing turf ever. Makes good use of elevation change. Makes good used of the wooded area on a few holes. Wide fairways. A few holes make you go right or left (on most you have the option of coming in from either direction). Easy layout to follow.
Cons: Some redundancy in hole design. Not many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners. Long enough to offer some challenge to more experience players as well. I don't know who does the turf maintenance here, but it is phenomenal. Fun course. For the simplicity of the layout I would typically rate a course like this no higher than 3.0, however.....with such immaculate course maintenance, this place definitely deserves a 3.5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.4

1    6/11/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 120  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Capital Springs is a scenic course that is mostly open with the exception of 4 holes in the middle of the round. Here is what I liked about the course:

*Options: Looking for a longer course to stretch out your arm? Look no further than the long pads here. Looking for a beginner friendly course? The shorts offer that. Both sets of pads are well marked and in great condition.

*Elevation: elevation comes into play on almost all of the open holes. Downhill drives are fun!

*Maintenance: The course is very well maintained, with benches, tee signs at both sets of pads, multiple pin placements, etc. There is an island hole with a concrete drop zone and sign that clearly outlines the rules for how to play the hole.

The best hole on the course from the longs is a 400 ft downhill dogleg right with a fairway lined with heavy woods on the right and some giant trees scattered on the left side. It's followed by the second best hole on the course, a 420 ft wooded shot with some serious "go for it" appeal.
Cons: Even from the longs, Capital Springs lacks variety. With the exception of 4 or 5 holes, all of the drives here are hyzer shots off the tee. There were times during my round where it felt like I was throwing down the hill, then up, then down again, then up again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Capital Springs was a nice course that I am looking forward to playing again. Nothing mind blowing here, just a nice round in a nice park.

(I have not seen the other course/courses that are in this Park system, so I really can't say whether the annual pass is worth its price or not).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good beginner course

1    4/23/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Benches and trash cans at every teepad. No graffiti or vandalism. Pay-to-play envelopes provided at kiosk. Scorecards and pencils also provided at kiosk.

Great use of available elevation. Coursing up, down and around the Native American Effigy Mounds. Mostly open prairie golf but with a couple nice wooded holes.

Pro and Am Tees.

Multiple basket positions.

Great beginner course, par is favorable and will keep beginners spirits up and keep them excited about playing.
Cons: $8 for a day pass, really Dane County? Madison courses, though I'm sure they get a lot more traffic, are only $5. This really wouldn't have bothered me as much if the course were more challenging for my skill set.
Other Thoughts: My friend and I really enjoyed our round out there. Very quiet and scenic setting. Hole #12 to me is the signature hole for the course and is just plain beautiful.

My friend has only been playing disc golf for about 2 months now but is noticeably better than when he started. He enjoyed the course immensely and was happy to see that he could make it from his house to the course using the trail system that runs adjacent to the park.

We kept score with the available scorecards as well as our Udisc apps. We chose to score everything as par 3 on Udisc and compared our scores to the course card. I shot +1 on Udisc, -9 on the scorecard. Buddy shot +15 on Udisc, +6 on the scorecard.

This is a great course if you are just starting out and don't have a ton of power yet. Even if you're a seasoned player looking to get better while playing in some wind, you can really see how it can affect your discs differently uphill, downhill, tailwind, headwind and across the fairways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Scenic Course

5+    10/19/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 83  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very hilly and that combined with the wind that seems constant out there, makes it more challenging than one might expect. It has a tendency to play like the wide open British courses in ball golf. The wind will also bother your putts. Many would under rate this course based on the short length alone, but those of us who play it once a week and know the wind can attest otherwise.

The few wooded holes are of exceptional quality, though the obstacles begin with #11 and end at #15.

Cons: It's not very challenging to a skilled player, even from the pro tees, though it would be a great introduction to the game for younger players.

It's not a great course, but it is worth the time to play once if you are passing through the area and have time to hit up every course in the area.
Other Thoughts: It is perhaps the most secluded and scenic of the courses in Madison. Whereas one can see the urban landscape easily from all the other courses, and in the case of Token Creek, hear the freeway noise for at least the first 10 holes, there is only one place where you can see anything of the urban landscape. It's very quiet, it's near a watershed restoration, there is a creek running along the bike path, and hawks and sandhill cranes are plentiful (it also borders a dog park if you want to add that to your excursion).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sorta blah, but sorta fun...

1    10/28/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 243  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a park in Madison, WI. Also has a dog park next to it.

Really nice concrete tee pads. Long, wide, brushed...everything you could need. Two tee pads per hole. They are also set level, so longer run ups will be ok.

DGA baskets, all in good repair, and mounted well. Three pin positions on most holes. No issues here.

Great signage, as with most courses in the Madison area. Distances, pin locations, topography. It would be cool if there was an indicator of which pin was in, but it was easy to deduce on most holes.

Decent use of the elevation available. This is the biggest factor in shot selection here.

Nice (albeit small) section of wooded holes. If only the whole course was these...

Nice array of distances, for the most part. There's no 600' crushers here, but there's plenty of distance for most people.
Cons: Cap is mostly wide open, with the hill providing the main obstacle. From holes 11-15, there are some nice wooded shots, though.

During summer, the rough here is going to be ROUGH. This is disc eating, hiding, badass rough. Even in the relatively small patches, when this stuff is tall and full, you're going to have a heck of a time finding discs. In fall, not so bad.

P2P, which isn't always bad, but kinda is here. $8/day isn't too bad if you pair this with Token Creek....but by itself, it's pretty ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: When the rough is down, this is a fun, easy going course. When the rough is tall, I imagine this place can piss you off, especially if the wind is blowing (which I imagine it almost always is, as it's very open). A great place to work on elevation-based shots, for sure.

In the pantheon of Madison area courses, this one doesn't rate too highly, but that doesn't mean it's not a halfway fun round. I'd suggest hitting this an Token Creek to get your full $8/day pass worth of fun, though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too Open, but Nice Course

2-4    8/15/2013   8/26/2015
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall, the course is in great condition and located in a nice, scenic area. The tee pads and baskets are top notch as the course is only a few years old. The fairways and greens are also groomed very well, the signage is nice, and trash cans on every hole. It's a great course if you're a beginner or if you're trying to work on your short game/mid-range shots.
Cons: The course is too open and too short, although this provides plenty of ace opportunities...on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I thought this course was boring since it is not very challenging, but if you're looking to improve your short game and approach shots, I would recommend going to this course. It also plays quite fast if you are running short on time, otherwise I would recommend going to Elver, Token, or Heistand if you're looking for more of a challenge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid 18 Hole Course

5+    6/26/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: RJStrasser
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Each hole offers its own unique challenge with multiple tees and pin positions. There are four holes that utilize the surrounding woods, which add the the challenge and variety to the course. Garbage cans at every hole and benches every few holes. Plenty of space as there aren't any other park entities that interfere with the course. There's a large dog park next to the course, which is nice too.
Cons: There's a bird that lives in the tree near the basket on Hole 10. Someone needs to shoot this bird because it will dive bomb anyone that comes somewhat near the tree (which includes all hole locations for that hole).
The rough on Holes 12 and 13 can be pretty bad mid summer. Have a good eye for where your disc goes if you head into the rough.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/3/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice, clean, minimalist signs.

-A gorgeous course with two tees per hole and three pin positions.

-This course has a lot of elevation changes that are challenging but fun. It also has some wooded holes that are a bit more technical but fun and not punishing. Bonus: island hole!
Cons: -The day pass is pretty expensive, and if you're just passing through, I don't really think it's worth it. For people that live in the area, though, the season pass is definitely worthwhile. (You need only play five days of golf here or at Token Creek for the seasonal pass to be worth the investment.)

-The front half of the course gets a little repetitive. While the holes themselves are fun, many of them are similar. (Throw up and then back down a hill in several repetitions.)
Other Thoughts: I can't count this as a con because I haven't experienced it myself, but a friend told me that a few weeks into the season the course becomes unbearable for the bugs. If you're trying it out mid June or later, definitely bring bug spray.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.