Madison, WI 
Capital Springs Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 292ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Practice Course

2-4    7/31/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: Bigsky406
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured course that's fun, but not terribly challenging. Nice views, no crowds, and great wildlife watching. It's not uncommon to have a pair of sandhill cranes cruise over the fairways during play, which adds a pretty cool 'intangible' element to Capital Springs.

The front nine is ho-hum with a few legit ace opportunities from the am tees and, if you have a big arm, from the blues. The back nine is more interesting and slightly more challenging, but if you're playing from the whites it's still pretty easy to par every hole.

This is a fun course for trying out discs, working on your finesse shots, and going for the chains off the tee. If you throw from the blues it's considerably longer and slightly more difficult.
Cons: Almost all the holes are hyzer shots and easily par-able from the white tees, even for intermediate players.

Many of the trees that were planted to create some obstacles on the course are dead or dying, which adds to the "ho hum" feeling on the first 8-10 holes.

There isn't a notable signature hole, though holes 12-14 are more challenging and more interesting.

It's $8 to play for the day, or $48 for a year-long Dane County Disc Golf permit, which is good for this course and Token Creek. I'm new to town and haven't played Token yet, but the pay-to-play feels very steep for this course. It if wasn't so well maintained/manicured, I wouldn't think of paying the fee. I'd go elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all this is a fun course that has actually improved my game by allowing me to huck my discs without fear of losing them. Having a course in my rotation that allows me to get acquainted with my discs feels like a luxury. I'd rather play a round than go to a football field and throw for the sake of throwing, so Capital Springs really fits the bill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Capital Springs

2-4    7/9/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 134  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Capital Springs is a very well maintained course. The grass is never too high, trash is picked up, etc...

+ The use of multiple tees and multiple pin placements adds replay-ability and variety to an otherwise bland course.

+ The course equipment is great. Tee signs, tees, and baskets are in top-notch shape.

+ There are several holes where players can throw wide open distance shots, but there are also wooded technical shots as well as precision shots (including #16 as an island green).

+ In general, the isolated prairie setting is quiet serene. It's calming and peaceful and allows the player to "escape" their normal lives for a while.

+ I'd say this course is great as an introduction for beginners and a pretty good practice course for advanced players. Some birdies are definitely easier than others.
Cons: - I played here during the Am Worlds week, so the courses were free, but I would never, ever pay $8 to play a round here. That's absurd. While it's nice to have benches behind every long tee or whatever, I don't think P2P is appropriately used here (in a public park).

- There aren't really any "oh wow!" holes. One could argue that #9 and and #18 are fun downhill holes, but they're not breath-taking by any means.

- The front 9 is pretty bland. While some of the tees/baskets were surrounded by boulders adding an aesthetic effect, the holes aren't difficult at all.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course to check off the list.

In summary:

Would I come back if it were free? Maybe.
Will I pay $8 to come back? No way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Most amazing turf ever

5+    5/9/2015   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 66  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place has the best grass I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Maybe the best grass I have ever seen in any park. Really. Most amazing turf ever. Makes good use of elevation change. Makes good used of the wooded area on a few holes. Wide fairways. A few holes make you go right or left (on most you have the option of coming in from either direction). Easy layout to follow.
Cons: Some redundancy in hole design. Not many obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners. Long enough to offer some challenge to more experience players as well. I don't know who does the turf maintenance here, but it is phenomenal. Fun course. For the simplicity of the layout I would typically rate a course like this no higher than 3.0, however.....with such immaculate course maintenance, this place definitely deserves a 3.5.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.4

1    6/11/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Capital Springs is a scenic course that is mostly open with the exception of 4 holes in the middle of the round. Here is what I liked about the course:

*Options: Looking for a longer course to stretch out your arm? Look no further than the long pads here. Looking for a beginner friendly course? The shorts offer that. Both sets of pads are well marked and in great condition.

*Elevation: elevation comes into play on almost all of the open holes. Downhill drives are fun!

*Maintenance: The course is very well maintained, with benches, tee signs at both sets of pads, multiple pin placements, etc. There is an island hole with a concrete drop zone and sign that clearly outlines the rules for how to play the hole.

The best hole on the course from the longs is a 400 ft downhill dogleg right with a fairway lined with heavy woods on the right and some giant trees scattered on the left side. It's followed by the second best hole on the course, a 420 ft wooded shot with some serious "go for it" appeal.
Cons: Even from the longs, Capital Springs lacks variety. With the exception of 4 or 5 holes, all of the drives here are hyzer shots off the tee. There were times during my round where it felt like I was throwing down the hill, then up, then down again, then up again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Capital Springs was a nice course that I am looking forward to playing again. Nothing mind blowing here, just a nice round in a nice park.

(I have not seen the other course/courses that are in this Park system, so I really can't say whether the annual pass is worth its price or not).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scenic Course

5+    10/19/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very hilly and that combined with the wind that seems constant out there, makes it more challenging than one might expect. It has a tendency to play like the wide open British courses in ball golf. The wind will also bother your putts. Many would under rate this course based on the short length alone, but those of us who play it once a week and know the wind can attest otherwise.

The few wooded holes are of exceptional quality, though the obstacles begin with #11 and end at #15.

Cons: It's not very challenging to a skilled player, even from the pro tees, though it would be a great introduction to the game for younger players.

It's not a great course, but it is worth the time to play once if you are passing through the area and have time to hit up every course in the area.
Other Thoughts: It is perhaps the most secluded and scenic of the courses in Madison. Whereas one can see the urban landscape easily from all the other courses, and in the case of Token Creek, hear the freeway noise for at least the first 10 holes, there is only one place where you can see anything of the urban landscape. It's very quiet, it's near a watershed restoration, there is a creek running along the bike path, and hawks and sandhill cranes are plentiful (it also borders a dog park if you want to add that to your excursion).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Open, but Nice Course

2-4    8/15/2013   8/26/2015
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall, the course is in great condition and located in a nice, scenic area. The tee pads and baskets are top notch as the course is only a few years old. The fairways and greens are also groomed very well, the signage is nice, and trash cans on every hole. It's a great course if you're a beginner or if you're trying to work on your short game/mid-range shots.
Cons: The course is too open and too short, although this provides plenty of ace opportunities...on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I thought this course was boring since it is not very challenging, but if you're looking to improve your short game and approach shots, I would recommend going to this course. It also plays quite fast if you are running short on time, otherwise I would recommend going to Elver, Token, or Heistand if you're looking for more of a challenge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners

5+    9/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: thePatient
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course maintenance is exceptional. It's always in great condition, and as a pay-to-play course, it's great to see the money being put to use rather than sit in someone's pocket.
-As someone who's new to disc golf, I appreciate the shorter length of the course. It's nice to realistically shoot close to par and have a birdie chance here and there.
-Beautiful location. The prairie scenery in the Capital Springs area is great, and the course does an excellent job at utilizing it.
-Even though there's many other activities offered nearby, the course itself is for disc golf only. The dog park and bike paths are adjacent, but completely out of play. There aren't any non-disc golfers wandering the course.
-The back 9 offers a nice variety of holes, and the "Island Green" on 16 provides the challenge of hitting an island green without worrying about actually losing a disc.
-Practice basket near the 1st tee is always a nice touch.
-Hole #9 finishes near the parking lot, which is nice if you only have time for a quick 9, or you can also easily start on #10 to play the back 9 first.
Cons: -Not much variety on the front 9. These holes are all straight and open. The only real difference between one and another is that some go uphill and some go downhill. There's 3 different basket locations, but in all honesty, they don't change much.
-Mosquitoes are thick in the woods, which comprises holes 12-14. It's to be expected in this part of the country in the summer, and it's only a few holes, but still worth noting.
-The rough is a little on the severe side. I've never felt like I was going to lose a disc in the prairie, but if you miss the fairway you may be looking for a while. In all honesty, though, it's not really any worse than most of the other courses in the area in the summer.
-This isn't a factor for me, but the pro tees don't add much to the course. On most holes, they do nothing more than add distance, and it's usually not a significant amount.
-There are indicators to show which basket is in place, but they don't always seem to match the one that is in. Not too big of an issue since you can see the basket from the tee on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a solid, simple course. It can be handled by a novice, but it's maintained like a championship course. I imagine more experienced players wouldn't find Capital Springs much of a challenge apart from working on their approach shots and putting. This is my "home course," so I've played it probably more than I would if I lived on the other side of town. Unless you do live close, I wouldn't get the $48 pass strictly for Capital Springs. However, it's a nice bonus to Vallarta-Ast, which I'm sure is the main draw for the pass. For those coming from outside the Madison area, I'd plan on playing Vallarta the same day and use Capital Springs as a warmup to make the $8/day worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rewards precision

2-4    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: zdwyatt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like its sister course, Vallarta-Ast, this course is incredibly well maintained. It has nice signs, concrete tees boxes, benches, and trash cans at nearly every hole. The fairways are well-marked by mowing. The relatively short holes also makes this a great option for quick rounds.
Cons: There is a definite lack of variety, as most holes are wide open. A few of the holes will get more difficult as trees along the fairways mature.
Other Thoughts: This course fills a good niche in the area. As others have noted, the holes run short; nearly all are ace candidates. But I don't think this makes the course easy or boring. I see it as an exercise in precision and control. It's very easy to overshoot baskets and end up in deep rough. What this course lacks in shaped shots it makes up for in demanding accuracy.

As the course matures, it might rank as "excellent." For now, I will call it "good," with an added bonus for being so immaculate.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tokken with elevation

5+    7/29/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 148  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very open with a lot of elevation. There are two tees and three pin positions on every hole except the island hole. From the short tees, everything is reachable and you may not need a distance driver. From the long tees, you will need to take out your drivers and let'em fly. The front 9 are all open, but then it starts to get interesting after that. You will find some fun holes from 11-16. After that, it becomes open again. The fairways are really well mowed.
Cons: The rough is too thick and tall. It is very easy to lose a disc or take a long time to find a disc. There are too many open holes with no obstacles other than elevation and wind.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this is a great addition to the county system. They have Vallarta-Ast which is flat and then if you want elevation, you go to Capital Springs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.