Carthage, MO 
Kellogg Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rob Martin Hole #8 (Taken 10/2013)
-- / --   3 / 450ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
water holes

2-4    4/12/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played a C tier tournament where 6 extra holes were added.

Fairly decent use of the land available. Most holes have some kind of OB element to them, which helps take away from the wide open feel the course first gives off when you pull up.

Brand new monkey trap baskets and brand new tee signs means everything is in great shape.

Concrete tees are plenty big and in great shape.

the use of water, roads and telepone poles makes for an interesting course. there are 3 baskets that play almost right up to the water, giving a nice risk reward feel to the holes, but they are not forced water carries allowing them to be played safe by lesser skilled players.
Cons: Lacks some of the frilly stuff a lot of us look for. No trash cans, no benches etc.

The roads come into play quite a bit which could cause some jam ups if the park is busy.

A couple holes play near the lake which could cause conflict with families and fishermen.

A handful of the holes are just wide open bombers which i find kinda boring.

I played before all the vegetation greened up, but I can imagine it gets really thick and nasty during the summer which would get annoying if you end up in it all the time.

Also the runoff/ slough/ ponds whatever you want to call them look kind of gross and as others have said the might smell in the summer heat.
Other Thoughts: there is a lake and a creek/ river running through the park so if you or your family need something else to do before during or after you play there are options.

Really close to the town of Carthage.

There are talks of adding the other 6 holes to make it a full 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

1    10/4/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 106  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Monkey Trap baskets. First time I've used these and I like them quite a bit.
Good signage. - New
Neet 'extras' - Route 66 history.
Mowed well
Cons: Some holes are too straight forward (2, 3).
The rough around the water for Holes 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12 is really thick.
Other Thoughts: My review is more to add to the Rating number then to be an essay.
At first I didn't like the light poles and guide wires in use on Hole 9 for instance. But if you consider tight wooded courses, these type of man-made obstacles add to the difficulty of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs some improvements

1    8/22/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.5 Years
Pros: Nice concrete pads to tee from, natural barriers with how the baskets wrap around the water areas.
Cons: When we played this course, there were no tee signs which made for a difficult time determining which hole was #1 and what par was. The water, which is present in much of the area, was pretty stagnant and smelled awful.
Other Thoughts: Once signs are up on each hole, some of the frustration will dissipate, but unless you have good control, I imagine discs will be lost in the woods by the water area, or in the water areas themselves. Good start to a course, but definitely needs upgrades.

Kellogg Lake DGC

5+    7/11/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on Kellogg Lake Park and is situated around the lake and the slough near the lake. The park is pretty well established with the fishermen and some other activities, but the course plays out of the way from those activities. The course has a good mix of shots. About half are more geared to lefties and the other half is more righty friendly. The fairways on this course are just beautiful. The grass is well cut and the trees are very well trimmed. Water comes into play on 5 holes which is very unique for our area. Hole 10 has an excellent risk/reward aspect to its tee shot. The course flows great with the exception of maybe two holes. Tees are easily spotted from the previous basket and I had no problems with navigation my first time through. Concrete tee pads are a good size and are textured very nicely. Baskets are Monkey Traps which are a high quality basket and can be found in a lot of courses in the area.
Cons: The rough can be quite thick in places. I've lost one disc so far, but I've heard of people losing 3+ in one round. Keep out of it at all costs. The non disc golfers are generally out of the way, but as with any course there are times a group may be in a fairway. There are two places where it may be a bit confusing as to where to go next. There's no water or bathrooms that I know of, so that could become a problem in the summer. There aren't any tee signs currently.
Other Thoughts: 6 new holes are planned for the near future as well as tee signs. It's great to have another course in the four states area and I would definitely give this a try if you're in the area. Overall, you can have a lot of fun at this course. As long as you keep out of the rough!

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.