Holland, MI 
Paw Paw Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 531ft.   3 / 531ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Very fun, but stay out of the rough

1    7/13/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 73  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very pleasant park setting
- Great equipment: baskets, tee pads, signs, benches etc.
- Streams, ponds, and rolling hills make for great risk/reward play
- Decent hole length and shot variety
Cons: - Long grass will eat your discs if not careful
- Mostly open shots, few tight fairways to force lines
- Lackluster finish
Other Thoughts: Macatawa Greenspace is a delightful park that turned an old ball golf course into a very fun disc golf course. The rolling hills, sporadic trees, and prairie grasses provide enough shot shaping to make the round interesting, while still allowing you to play your game. The stars of the course though, are the ponds and creeks that run through the course providing a great level of risk/reward.

The water holes are designed such that you can choose exactly how much danger you are willing to put your disc into. All of the water carries have lines for you to bail out if you can't reach tho other shore, or just don't want to risk it, and you can always stay clear of the creeks.

The equipment is fantastic, with spacious tee pads, well catching baskets, nice benches, and informative tee signs. Some of the signs have started to fade already. Hopefully this is remedied because they are really quite nice.

The big con for this course is the long grass. It adds another risk/reward aspect to the course, but one most people find more irritating than adding of any real merit. It isn't overly hard to stay in the fairways most of the time, but if you mess up your shot, you could be looking for a long time. The rolling hills don't help this aspect since they can prevent you from seeing where your disc finishes. Mowing additional paths in the rough, widening the fairways, or just keeping it all mowed to a lower level, would really help keep frustration down.

The course ends with a handful of holes (15, 17, 18) that don't quite meet the same standard as the rest of the course, which is too bad. In general there is something interesting to think about for each hole.

This course makes for a very fun, pleasant, if not overly challenging round, and could be even better if the long grass is beaten down a bit more. Send spotters if you can, particularly if playing with less experience players to help avoid frustration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Ball Golf - Bad Disc Golf

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *Great Signage*
Very nice big sign at the parking lot showing full layout of pads and baskets, bike paths, walking paths, intersections, bridges, water, ect. As well as beautiful signs at each hole. Honestly some of the best signage I've come across.
Good mix of long and short hills, good use of elevation and water to mix things up. Very rough off from fairways punishing errant throws (more on that later)
*Well Groomed Fairways*
When I was there this weekend it looked as if it was just mowed. The fairways were very clean.
*Long Concrete Pads*
No worry about 4' shorts, these are nice full-length pads in good shape.
Beautiful course (obviously an old ball golf course) with plenty of woods, a couple nice streams, a good sized pond and well maintained benches and bridge
*Professional Feel*
Professional feeling ball golf course, but, I do not feel this lends well to discing...
Cons: *Overgrowth*
While a golf ball is intended to fly straight, a disc (as we know) must flex right to left/left to right to achieve max distance. This course is laid over an old ball golf course meaning that the fairways are usually 20-25' wide with 3' tall grass, thistle, thorns, burrs and rhubarb to hide your disc. I appreciate rough punishing errant throws, however, this is overboard creating a very unsatisfying round for players new to the course. Two accurate players that usually average 3-5 below par (everything as 3 pars) we still spent more time looking for discs than actually playing on the front 9.

This is in serious need of a brush-cut down from 36" to around 8-12" to allow for rate of play and less frustration.
*Errant Signs*
While the signs are plentiful and beautiful, a few show a recommended flight path or pin placement that do not reflect the hole (shows dogleg left on a straight hole)
*Lack of Trash Cans*
Leads to a lot of cans, wrappers and papers around the course, harming what is truly a beautiful sightseeing walk.
Other Thoughts: While I didn't lose any discs, it was very frustrating to have to play ULTRA conservatively or else search for discs that skipped off a fairway into very dense overgrowth. This lead me to rate what I feel could EASILY be a 4-4.5 star course as a 1.5. There is no excuse for grass that is past the knees, filled with thorns, burrs and large-leaf rhubarb to encourage losing discs.

This has the potential to be phenomenal, but, due to the Raptor Grass it takes even very experience throwers to a level of annoyance that I do not enjoy.

I would never bring a newer player here and if I were to play again, I would not throw anything more than a midrange on the front 9.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Unique and Punishing...Huckers Beware!

1    4/15/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful landscaping throughout the entire course.
- Very different feel to it over your typical Michigan wooded course. Imagine playing through a marshy area with rolling hills.
- Really cool elements adorn the entire course like all the water hazards, the cool little itty bitty waterfall behind the #3 basket.
- The design is for the most part brilliant and will challenge players of every skill level. A number of design elements really stand out. #7 has a crazy fast green. #3 dares you to make an aggressive approach with a nasty little water hazard behind it. #9 is 420' where almost all of it is over water. YIKES! #12 is interesting because you toss into a circle of pine trees through a small gap.
- #8 to me has to be the signature hole at over 500' and a double dog-leg AND a water hazard. Just redonkulous.
- The tee signs are - for the most part - gorgeous and do a great job outlining the hole and illustrating hazards. I've never seen tee signs so nice.
- Not hucker friendly. (Yes this is a pro) If you're the type that carries warp speed drivers in dx plastic with your Red Bull and pack of smokes you're probably not going to have anything to throw after hole 6 other than your can of go go juice and cancer sticks. If this is you, just stick to Winstron Preserve.
- New baskets, great concrete tees and benches on some holes.
- Very little trash and some cans throughout the course.
- I'm not sure I've ever seen a course with this many scary water hazards.
- And if you haven't already guessed this course really rewards accuracy over distance with it's narrow fairways and abundant water hazards. You might be able to toss it 400' but if you can't do it accurately, the Greenspace is going to punch you square in the mouth and then as you're laying on the canvas there'll be some kicks to the ribs while you're down.
Cons: - The most glaring con is some design issues that IMHO probably out to be addressed. This is what in my standards holds this course back from what should be 4.5 to a 3.5:
1. The 6 basket is practically in the 7 fairway. While hitting players on the 6 green is unlikely because the 7 tee is so much higher this just shouldn't happen with all the space on this property. If I am teeing off on 7 and someone is on 6 green that's going to be distracting as all get out.
2. With the water on 9 players are going to be tempted to cheat to the right to avoid the water on the left side. This puts you right in the line of fire from the #2 tee.
3. I really did not care for the blind over the hill shot on #11 because you miss the fairway to the left a little and you are whizzing discs right over the #12 tee.
4. The course ends on what I feel is a rather odd pair of holes compared to the rest of the course. 17 is a wide open flat shot and then 18 has the basket between a shed and pole barn. Sort of weird and anticlimactic for a course like this.

Design issues aside...here are some more minor thingys:

- The fairways are lined with long grass. A.K.A. prairie disc golf HELL. When this stuff is in midsummer form and growing thickly bring spotters. Or figure on spending copious amounts of time searching for discs.
- While this course flows really nicely from hole to hole there are a few spots where a next tee sign would be nice. 7 to 8 is a great example. You have to go back over the bridge to get to the #8 tee.
- Some of the gorgeous tee signs are not weathering so well. I think it was either #7 or #6 where a lot of the graphics are wearing off. Hate to see that happen to the rest of them.
- This course is brutal for those learning the game. I think newbies are going to be frustrated with a course like this where the potential to loose expensive plastic is pretty high. To me, this course desperately needs some short tees.
Other Thoughts: So it seems I've beat this course up pretty good. Maybe it's just my reaction to being abused by the Greenspace so mercilessly. Regardless, the Greenspace did not find the kind of favor for me like it did the other reviewers here. It is a fantastic course no doubt but it does have it's issues. With the amount of space that is apparently available it could be better - much better. This should be a 4.5 course all day long and maybe a 5.0 in my book but alas I would not be able to sleep well at night giving it any better than a 3.5.

Worry not lovers of the Greenspace because I will say this: This to me is a must play course. If you are anywhere near here - play it. It's probably the most unique DG experience in this part of Michigan. I never thought such a lightly wooded course could be so good. But be careful, because if you aren't careful with your game here expect a kick right square in the family jewels.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Holland area course

5+    4/23/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Creepy Anhyzer
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice use of a old country club. Nice long fairways, well maintained and with cement tee pads. Very challenging with a mixed use of elevation, distance and hazards to add to the mix.
Cons: I really have no cons to list for this course what the did with this place is actually amazing. Some areas of the course can get a little wet so play well.
Other Thoughts: A great addition to the ever growing list of great West Michigan courses.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Phenomenal Course

1    7/13/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 126  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a spectacular round of disc golf. This course is a very accurate depiction of what would happen if disc golf and ball golf had a love child. It's a very professional feeling course, which is largely in part due to the fact that it's set on an old ball golf course. The course is well manicured, the fairways are very well defined, and the rough truly is rough. The rolling hills, mature trees, ponds, and creek make this a really gorgeous piece of land.

The design of this course is amazing. The course flows very, very well and there is never any doubt where the next hole is. The tee signs are fantastic, the tees are concrete, and the baskets catch well. Excellent equipment. The map at the beginning of the course is great, too!

What I love most about this course are the 3 water holes in a row, 8, 9, and 10. They are very memorable, fun, risky and challenging holes. However, there are also options to play it safe on all of them, which increased the fun factor. There's not much worse than losing a disc.

That being said though, every hole is a lot of fun. There are no "filler" holes, which is why I feel it justifies a 4.5. Literally every hole is unique and a blast to play. Every single hole has a unique obstacle that the player has to overcome. It's a fun round for sure.

I highly recommend checking out this course (potentially on the way to Flip City???). I loved it!!
Cons: There is a tremendous amount of land still left untouched. I think it could easily be turned into a 27 or 36 hole complex and become another major destination in Michigan. If this were the case, I feel that reviewers almost have to give this place a 5.0.

The biggest con is that the rough here is straight up terrible. You'll definitely need a spotter, especially since some holes are blind.

Small con. The bathrooms smell terrible, but not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed and very impressed by this course. I highly recommend it. The design is a blast, the land is wonderful for disc golf, and I would bet you'll have a wonderful time playing here! Check it out for sure!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ball Golf Style Disc Golf Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great long teepads.
-Great tee signs, showing the elevation, water and o.b.'s
-Variety . It has it all from water, to right and left shows, elevation.
-Nice new baskets.
-Benches at all holes.
-Great brdiges
- Seems to be cleaned up a lot(a lot of people talked about bad rough, there were like 3 spots where it seemed kind of bad, but still better then a lot of courses)
Cons: -No Trash cans out on the course.
-Two holes play by the parking lot (unless you have a horrible shot, the parking lot is hardly in play at all.)
-I think this course holds water from how it looked when I played it.
Other Thoughts: This is some of the best play of disc golf with water I have seen in the west Michigan Area (This was the 69th course played, with two more that day)

A great course defiantly worth checking out, and has another course 1.5 miles from (although not great) if you are looking to get more then one course out.

The back nine was a little repetitious, but this for sure a worth while course to play!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A very good course

1    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -
-Great tee pads
-Outstanding signs
-Lot's of variety
-Pet friendly
-Challenging for all skill levels
-Super variety. Moderate hills. Wide open. Trees. Great water holes!
-Benches at every hole.
-Scenic and atheistically pleading to the senses!
Cons: -
-First 9 holes are very very rough ugh
-Front nine offers a great chance to lose discs
-Snakes galore!! Saw at least 5 in the front nine. Most garter.
-Not many garbage cans on course
-Gigantic unidentified biting insects. Nuclear power plant close by has probably mutated these plants and animals.
-Front nine more secluded than back nine
Other Thoughts: -------
-Summer months long grass stay on fair way or you will be sorry.
-Play conservative front nine it will pay off in a better score
-Wind will always play a huge factor on this course. Understand your discs and if you bomb throw it like me there is a high chance of list discs if it goes in this rough.
-Rough is really rough. Ughhhhhhhh. Please cut the grass more. It would make it so much funner.
-Front nine was super challenging. Wind and rough played big factors. Back nine much funner and easier.
-Good navigation except hole 17 to 18 you need to cross street.
-Loved this course!! With some better upkeep I would rate it higher. I am looking forward to late fall abd early spring rounds here. My hunch is it will be an easier place to play and more enjoyable with less grass to deal with.
-I am rating this first time I played. I feel a 3.5 is fair. It is a very good course I plan on playing it much more! I do think the fun factor will be much greater at certain times of year.
-This course has a lot going for it! With time it will be better and I am sure with proper upkeep my rating will go up.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Links Course for DG

1    8/19/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 186  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic course sprawls across rolling terrain in a quiet nature preserve that's visually appealing despite the sometimes scrubby look of the fairways and rough. Bridges help you get from section to section and add to the course's overall appeal.

Shot variety: Nice balance of fairway shapes, and distances, elevation changes and general disc play. Mostly open, but makes great use of available trees to add challenge and make you think about your line.
Elevation: No mountains here but the rolling terrain is seemingly omnipresent. Splendidly employed to change effective hole length, increase interest, and provide rollaway potential to ramp up risk reward factor.

Combine this with a pervasive wind that changes depending on what direction you're throwing and you have a course that encourages you to use most of the discs in your bag at one time or another during your round. Long tee shots and a decent breeze can really reward or punish your combination of disc choice, shot selection and execution.

Great water holes: 8, 9 and 10 were really fun and each presents a different challenge.
8: Depending on where your tee shot lands, deciding if you should try to carry the water or work around it may or may not be easy.
9: About a 350' water carry for big arms to run at for deuce opportunities. There's a landing zone that's easily reachable for people who only throw 200' or so for a good look at 3 if properly executed. For the truly distance challenged, there's an even shorter bail-out route that plays longer to the hole, but still forces you to throw over part of the pond, but no one who can throw 100ft should have to skip the hole and miss out on the thrill of a water carry.
10: Pin's on a peninsula that juts into the pond. Looks easy on paper, but that's not where we play. Neat hole and IMO, a little wind can turn this Ace Run into a tricky little sucker.

Versatile lay-out allows several ways play abbreviated rounds:
11 loops back to parking lot for an 11 hole round (1-11).
Easy to start at 12 to play a 7 hole loop (12 - 18).
Skip holes 4-7 for 14 holes (1-3 + 8-18)

Nicely illustrated tee signs help you find your way and show position of next tee.
Concrete tees were level and quite adequate and baskets were in great shape.
Numerous benches throughout the course.
Vault Toilets located near parking - (conveniently located after hole 11 as well).
Rough: not particularly thorny, dangerous, or shot changing, but it can be damned unpleasant to search in, with high grass that hides discs until you step on them, thistley crap that scratches you up just enough to be annoying, and plenty of burrs and stuff that clings onto socks and shoelaces. Leave a microfiber towel hanging from your bag or belt and may the good lord have mercy on your soul. It's sure to get completely fouled with every clingy piece if crap it comes in contact with. Ain't nobody got time fo' dat!
Several holes penalize bad shots primarily in terms of enhancing the chance of disc loss without necessarily resulting in a nasty lie. Quite possible to throw a bad shot and still have a decent look at the pin, assuming you can find your disc.
Navigation: next tee signs would help. If it wasn't for the nature trail winding through the course, it wouldn't be too bad, but there are quite a few holes where the most obvious place to walk isn't the way to the next tee. Tee markers show where the next hole is, but it's easy to forget after spending several minutes searching for discs. Map was a huge help, but you don't always feel like pulling out the map, especially when there's an obvious path... to nowhere.
A few tee signs don't seem accurate. I suspect course layout, map, and signs were already done, but a few things were changed for whatever reason when the course was installed. Not really a big deal, and while most of them are fine, I think a few of the posted distances are off for that reason.
Other Thoughts: This really is a beautiful course with a high fun factor, and a refreshing departure from the typical woodsy feel of most Michigan courses. Nicely landscaped with wild flowers, spruces, willows, cedars, and a variety of hardwood trees. Long enough to reward those who can bomb, but only if they keep it on the fairway (lest they lose a favorite driver).

This course has a unique feel from anything I've played on either side of the state. For those familiar with the reference, the closest comparison I can draw is think Ponds at Lakeshore on rolling hills with more trees, landscaping and rough. Wonderful disc play and a great round overall, I just wish they'd mow the rough a bit - it does nothing to affect your shot, other than to obscure it.

Very glad I came, good chance I'll be back.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  A Lakeshore Disc Destination!

5+    8/15/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: benpierce
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a dream for anyone who really loves to open up and drive far (favors RHBH players with a handful of forehand dream holes). There are a lot of holes where you can explode on your opening drive and then still enjoy the finesse of having to navigate trees and water and other traps on your approach and putt to get your birdie or par.

The landscaping is beautiful, the layout is top notch and the course markings and navigation are excellent!

Let's all work to self-police this course and not let those who don't appreciate disc golf for what it truly is destroy this beautiful course!
Cons: Too much natural preserve that includes too much tall grass traps. The tall grass is more difficult to find your disc in than even water, and also is more noticeable when it gets trampled down (as opposed to swimming in a pond to find a lost disc). It's tough to not trample down the grass trying to find a disc, which then is looked at as irresponsible by disc players, as not protecting the natural preserve of the course. The course management should thin out some of the grass on some of the front holes to make it easier to find discs.
Other Thoughts: This could easily be expanded to 24 holes if the PDGA tour wanted to make a stop. It would be a 4.5/5 or 5/5 on my list if it were 24 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 macatawa wowie!

1    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 18.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the park first of all. upon arriving at the park you see a large beautiful sign for the park. Everything is new including parking lot, paths and very clean nice restrooms.
-all holes have really nice new concrete tee pads.
-there are wonderful paths, bridges and several trails/ routes you could take to get wherever you wanted along the course.
-there is a large, very well marked and informed course map at the entrance to the park aswell as at the first hole.
-every hole has its own beautiful tee sign with distance, obstacles and such.
-the course is new and very well maintained, I was pretty blown away by the beauty of the surroundings while I was playing.
-this course has an excellent use of terrain, it has you throwing up hill, downhill, around bends and turns, offers a lot of variety and fun shots.
-most holes have a high risk reward aspect, "should I go for it or play safely?"
-There are several water holes in play, I personally love courses with water in play. hole 9 here is awesome, you either have to throw 350ish over the pond or lay up along the side. I took many pictures
-the flow of the course is good, I had a few moments of figuring out where to go but quickly figured it out, it was my first time playing and I had no navigation issues at all.
-every hole has new benches to break at.
Cons: -I saw very few trash cans, maybe one at the beginning and one at the end of the course, I do realize they probly are intending for this to be a pack in pack it out course, meaning carry all your trash till the end. more trash cans means more work emptying them.
-one hole has you walking up the middle of the next holes fairway to get to the teepad, it is possibly confusing or dangerous if it was busy but is a minor issue to me, I was surprised with how well the course is designed that they would make you have to backtrack down a fairway when they could have created a nice path to the pad like every other hole there. just an odd design flaw, but again no biggy.
-the roughs are very rough, this isn't necessarily a con but I did notice many people looking for discs just off the fairways while I was playing. I personally spent probly a good hour of my round looking for discs I threw, I ended up losing one just several feet off the fairway. I gave up looking after about 5 minutes or I probly would have found it, I was just tired of looking in the weeds for discs at that point so I was willing to sacrifice it.
-the back nine is not as amazing or challenging as the front 9. a few of the holes on the back 9 are just kind of average basic holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course and I was very impressed. I have no issues giving this a 4 disc rating. I could see this even being 4.5 discs in the future. There is tons of property here to expand this course as large as they could possibly want to expand it in the future too so there is tons of future potential here. I tip my hat to the course designer Travis prueter, he also designed shore acres disc golf course which is also an amazing course I highly recommend playing if your in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.