Holland, MI 
Macatawa Greenspace Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 296ft.   3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Holland area course

5+    4/23/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Creepy Anhyzer
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice use of a old country club. Nice long fairways, well maintained and with cement tee pads. Very challenging with a mixed use of elevation, distance and hazards to add to the mix.
Cons: I really have no cons to list for this course what the did with this place is actually amazing. Some areas of the course can get a little wet so play well.
Other Thoughts: A great addition to the ever growing list of great West Michigan courses.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Phenomenal Course

1    7/13/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a spectacular round of disc golf. This course is a very accurate depiction of what would happen if disc golf and ball golf had a love child. It's a very professional feeling course, which is largely in part due to the fact that it's set on an old ball golf course. The course is well manicured, the fairways are very well defined, and the rough truly is rough. The rolling hills, mature trees, ponds, and creek make this a really gorgeous piece of land.

The design of this course is amazing. The course flows very, very well and there is never any doubt where the next hole is. The tee signs are fantastic, the tees are concrete, and the baskets catch well. Excellent equipment. The map at the beginning of the course is great, too!

What I love most about this course are the 3 water holes in a row, 8, 9, and 10. They are very memorable, fun, risky and challenging holes. However, there are also options to play it safe on all of them, which increased the fun factor. There's not much worse than losing a disc.

That being said though, every hole is a lot of fun. There are no "filler" holes, which is why I feel it justifies a 4.5. Literally every hole is unique and a blast to play. Every single hole has a unique obstacle that the player has to overcome. It's a fun round for sure.

I highly recommend checking out this course (potentially on the way to Flip City???). I loved it!!
Cons: There is a tremendous amount of land still left untouched. I think it could easily be turned into a 27 or 36 hole complex and become another major destination in Michigan. If this were the case, I feel that reviewers almost have to give this place a 5.0.

The biggest con is that the rough here is straight up terrible. You'll definitely need a spotter, especially since some holes are blind.

Small con. The bathrooms smell terrible, but not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed and very impressed by this course. I highly recommend it. The design is a blast, the land is wonderful for disc golf, and I would bet you'll have a wonderful time playing here! Check it out for sure!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ball Golf Style Disc Golf Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great long teepads.
-Great tee signs, showing the elevation, water and o.b.'s
-Variety . It has it all from water, to right and left shows, elevation.
-Nice new baskets.
-Benches at all holes.
-Great brdiges
- Seems to be cleaned up a lot(a lot of people talked about bad rough, there were like 3 spots where it seemed kind of bad, but still better then a lot of courses)
Cons: -No Trash cans out on the course.
-Two holes play by the parking lot (unless you have a horrible shot, the parking lot is hardly in play at all.)
-I think this course holds water from how it looked when I played it.
Other Thoughts: This is some of the best play of disc golf with water I have seen in the west Michigan Area (This was the 69th course played, with two more that day)

A great course defiantly worth checking out, and has another course 1.5 miles from (although not great) if you are looking to get more then one course out.

The back nine was a little repetitious, but this for sure a worth while course to play!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A very good course

1    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -
-Great tee pads
-Outstanding signs
-Lot's of variety
-Pet friendly
-Challenging for all skill levels
-Super variety. Moderate hills. Wide open. Trees. Great water holes!
-Benches at every hole.
-Scenic and atheistically pleading to the senses!
Cons: -
-First 9 holes are very very rough ugh
-Front nine offers a great chance to lose discs
-Snakes galore!! Saw at least 5 in the front nine. Most garter.
-Not many garbage cans on course
-Gigantic unidentified biting insects. Nuclear power plant close by has probably mutated these plants and animals.
-Front nine more secluded than back nine
Other Thoughts: -------
-Summer months long grass stay on fair way or you will be sorry.
-Play conservative front nine it will pay off in a better score
-Wind will always play a huge factor on this course. Understand your discs and if you bomb throw it like me there is a high chance of list discs if it goes in this rough.
-Rough is really rough. Ughhhhhhhh. Please cut the grass more. It would make it so much funner.
-Front nine was super challenging. Wind and rough played big factors. Back nine much funner and easier.
-Good navigation except hole 17 to 18 you need to cross street.
-Loved this course!! With some better upkeep I would rate it higher. I am looking forward to late fall abd early spring rounds here. My hunch is it will be an easier place to play and more enjoyable with less grass to deal with.
-I am rating this first time I played. I feel a 3.5 is fair. It is a very good course I plan on playing it much more! I do think the fun factor will be much greater at certain times of year.
-This course has a lot going for it! With time it will be better and I am sure with proper upkeep my rating will go up.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Links Course for DG

1    8/19/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic course sprawls across rolling terrain in a quiet nature preserve that's visually appealing despite the sometimes scrubby look of the fairways and rough. Bridges help you get from section to section and add to the course's overall appeal.

Shot variety: Nice balance of fairway shapes, and distances, elevation changes and general disc play. Mostly open, but makes great use of available trees to add challenge and make you think about your line.
Elevation: No mountains here but the rolling terrain is seemingly omnipresent. Splendidly employed to change effective hole length, increase interest, and provide rollaway potential to ramp up risk reward factor.

Combine this with a pervasive wind that changes depending on what direction you're throwing and you have a course that encourages you to use most of the discs in your bag at one time or another during your round. Long tee shots and a decent breeze can really reward or punish your combination of disc choice, shot selection and execution.

Great water holes: 8, 9 and 10 were really fun and each presents a different challenge.
8: Depending on where your tee shot lands, deciding if you should try to carry the water or work around it may or may not be easy.
9: About a 350' water carry for big arms to run at for deuce opportunities. There's a landing zone that's easily reachable for people who only throw 200' or so for a good look at 3 if properly executed. For the truly distance challenged, there's an even shorter bail-out route that plays longer to the hole, but still forces you to throw over part of the pond, but no one who can throw 100ft should have to skip the hole and miss out on the thrill of a water carry.
10: Pin's on a peninsula that juts into the pond. Looks easy on paper, but that's not where we play. Neat hole and IMO, a little wind can turn this Ace Run into a tricky little sucker.

Versatile lay-out allows several ways play abbreviated rounds:
11 loops back to parking lot for an 11 hole round (1-11).
Easy to start at 12 to play a 7 hole loop (12 - 18).
Skip holes 4-7 for 14 holes (1-3 + 8-18)

Nicely illustrated tee signs help you find your way and show position of next tee.
Concrete tees were level and quite adequate and baskets were in great shape.
Numerous benches throughout the course.
Vault Toilets located near parking - (conveniently located after hole 11 as well).
Cons:
Rough: not particularly thorny, dangerous, or shot changing, but it can be damned unpleasant to search in, with high grass that hides discs until you step on them, thistley crap that scratches you up just enough to be annoying, and plenty of burrs and stuff that clings onto socks and shoelaces. Leave a microfiber towel hanging from your bag or belt and may the good lord have mercy on your soul. It's sure to get completely fouled with every clingy piece if crap it comes in contact with. Ain't nobody got time fo' dat!
Several holes penalize bad shots primarily in terms of enhancing the chance of disc loss without necessarily resulting in a nasty lie. Quite possible to throw a bad shot and still have a decent look at the pin, assuming you can find your disc.
Navigation: next tee signs would help. If it wasn't for the nature trail winding through the course, it wouldn't be too bad, but there are quite a few holes where the most obvious place to walk isn't the way to the next tee. Tee markers show where the next hole is, but it's easy to forget after spending several minutes searching for discs. Map was a huge help, but you don't always feel like pulling out the map, especially when there's an obvious path... to nowhere.
A few tee signs don't seem accurate. I suspect course layout, map, and signs were already done, but a few things were changed for whatever reason when the course was installed. Not really a big deal, and while most of them are fine, I think a few of the posted distances are off for that reason.
Other Thoughts: This really is a beautiful course with a high fun factor, and a refreshing departure from the typical woodsy feel of most Michigan courses. Nicely landscaped with wild flowers, spruces, willows, cedars, and a variety of hardwood trees. Long enough to reward those who can bomb, but only if they keep it on the fairway (lest they lose a favorite driver).


This course has a unique feel from anything I've played on either side of the state. For those familiar with the reference, the closest comparison I can draw is think Ponds at Lakeshore on rolling hills with more trees, landscaping and rough. Wonderful disc play and a great round overall, I just wish they'd mow the rough a bit - it does nothing to affect your shot, other than to obscure it.

Very glad I came, good chance I'll be back.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Lakeshore Disc Destination!

5+    8/15/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: benpierce
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a dream for anyone who really loves to open up and drive far (favors RHBH players with a handful of forehand dream holes). There are a lot of holes where you can explode on your opening drive and then still enjoy the finesse of having to navigate trees and water and other traps on your approach and putt to get your birdie or par.

The landscaping is beautiful, the layout is top notch and the course markings and navigation are excellent!

Let's all work to self-police this course and not let those who don't appreciate disc golf for what it truly is destroy this beautiful course!
Cons: Too much natural preserve that includes too much tall grass traps. The tall grass is more difficult to find your disc in than even water, and also is more noticeable when it gets trampled down (as opposed to swimming in a pond to find a lost disc). It's tough to not trample down the grass trying to find a disc, which then is looked at as irresponsible by disc players, as not protecting the natural preserve of the course. The course management should thin out some of the grass on some of the front holes to make it easier to find discs.
Other Thoughts: This could easily be expanded to 24 holes if the PDGA tour wanted to make a stop. It would be a 4.5/5 or 5/5 on my list if it were 24 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

macatawa wowie!

1    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the park first of all. upon arriving at the park you see a large beautiful sign for the park. Everything is new including parking lot, paths and very clean nice restrooms.
-all holes have really nice new concrete tee pads.
-there are wonderful paths, bridges and several trails/ routes you could take to get wherever you wanted along the course.
-there is a large, very well marked and informed course map at the entrance to the park aswell as at the first hole.
-every hole has its own beautiful tee sign with distance, obstacles and such.
-the course is new and very well maintained, I was pretty blown away by the beauty of the surroundings while I was playing.
-this course has an excellent use of terrain, it has you throwing up hill, downhill, around bends and turns, offers a lot of variety and fun shots.
-most holes have a high risk reward aspect, "should I go for it or play safely?"
-There are several water holes in play, I personally love courses with water in play. hole 9 here is awesome, you either have to throw 350ish over the pond or lay up along the side. I took many pictures
-the flow of the course is good, I had a few moments of figuring out where to go but quickly figured it out, it was my first time playing and I had no navigation issues at all.
-every hole has new benches to break at.
Cons: -I saw very few trash cans, maybe one at the beginning and one at the end of the course, I do realize they probly are intending for this to be a pack in pack it out course, meaning carry all your trash till the end. more trash cans means more work emptying them.
-one hole has you walking up the middle of the next holes fairway to get to the teepad, it is possibly confusing or dangerous if it was busy but is a minor issue to me, I was surprised with how well the course is designed that they would make you have to backtrack down a fairway when they could have created a nice path to the pad like every other hole there. just an odd design flaw, but again no biggy.
-the roughs are very rough, this isn't necessarily a con but I did notice many people looking for discs just off the fairways while I was playing. I personally spent probly a good hour of my round looking for discs I threw, I ended up losing one just several feet off the fairway. I gave up looking after about 5 minutes or I probly would have found it, I was just tired of looking in the weeds for discs at that point so I was willing to sacrifice it.
-the back nine is not as amazing or challenging as the front 9. a few of the holes on the back 9 are just kind of average basic holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course and I was very impressed. I have no issues giving this a 4 disc rating. I could see this even being 4.5 discs in the future. There is tons of property here to expand this course as large as they could possibly want to expand it in the future too so there is tons of future potential here. I tip my hat to the course designer Travis prueter, he also designed shore acres disc golf course which is also an amazing course I highly recommend playing if your in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: DR. DEF
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: amazing use of the surrounding landscape trees elevation water hazards etc. footbridge tee signs and benches all look amazing!! totally legitimizes the course its not just thrown together. This course is a great addition to the southwest michigan area and sets a standard in quality as far as layout and accommodations.
Cons: hole 18 seems like an afterthought way to close to the parking area and park boundary line.
Other Thoughts: I would probably rate this between a 4.5 and 5 I give it a 5 because any pitfalls in this course will be addressed and adjusted once the course has had a chance to mature.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great West Michigan Course

1    7/27/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely well maintained, the layout of the hole course and the signage make it extremely easy to follow (except hole 18, you need to cut across the main drive, tee pad by entrance). Benches at every teepad, nice bridges to cross the babbling creek and low lying areas. I can't explain how aesthetically nice this course is.

The holes tend to be fairly long, nothing outrageous but nothing short and easily ace-able. Perfect for opening up with some big drives!

The tee pads are looong but are concrete and in perfect condition. The chains are great quality but I couldn't tell you the type.

There isn't a ton of trees but it is on an old golf course so expect that sort of amount of trees, which is still enough to put them in play on several holes. A decent bit of elevation changes take play on some holes but many of them are relatively flat.

I think hole 9 is a great signature hole for this course, if you have big cahones you could go for the deep ball over the entire pond or just go for the layup on the tiny patch of fairway. Just awesome.
Cons: The back 9 are not as great as the front but really are still quite good.

I also would have liked to seen a few more garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: This course Should be rated as one of the best in west Michigan, and I can't wait for more people to play it, seeing as its a new course. I would consider it a tournament caliber course if they made a couple slight improvements.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Like nothing else in West Michigan

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays across an old golf course intertwined with walking trails. Property is gorgeous, has a creek and small ponds.

Routing/nav-- very easy, even has maps at mid-points. Can't say enough about how easy the routing was.

Teesigns-- Some of the nicest in the area. shows distinct landing zones and topography as well as adjacent fairways and poptential lines.

Teepads--kind of odd. the teepads here are insanely long and remind me of a sidewalk as they have "lines" like a side walk (made of three blocks of concrete)

Baskets--new mach5's (?) these may be home made as there are no tags to denote what these baskets are.

risk v reward-- risk v reward comes not only in the way of tall weeds and thistle but water with a creek and a small pond

Hole 9/10-- very unique in that there is no way to avoid the water. there is no way to not throw over the water. hole 9 has a distinct landing zone about 250 out on the right. This is a definite disc eater. Hole 10 plays over the same pond but with a much easier approach but with a drop off to water behind.

Ammenities-- benches at every hole, bridges are top notch and upkeep is phenomenal.

Cons:
Rough-- extremely rough with tall grass, weeds, thistle.

back 9-- a bit vanilla compared to the front 9. hole 16 is probably the nicest on the back 9. Overall a very strong course but the back 9 may knock it down a bit.

Other Thoughts: This course really is something special. nothing like this exists in west michigan and this course should be listed with the other great courses on the west coast of michigan...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.