Holland, MI
Macatawa Greenspace Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #14 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 292ft.   3 / 292ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ball Golf Style Disc Golf Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great long teepads.
-Great tee signs, showing the elevation, water and o.b.'s
-Variety . It has it all from water, to right and left shows, elevation.
-Nice new baskets.
-Benches at all holes.
-Great brdiges
- Seems to be cleaned up a lot(a lot of people talked about bad rough, there were like 3 spots where it seemed kind of bad, but still better then a lot of courses)
Cons: -No Trash cans out on the course.
-Two holes play by the parking lot (unless you have a horrible shot, the parking lot is hardly in play at all.)
-I think this course holds water from how it looked when I played it.
Other Thoughts: This is some of the best play of disc golf with water I have seen in the west Michigan Area (This was the 69th course played, with two more that day)

A great course defiantly worth checking out, and has another course 1.5 miles from (although not great) if you are looking to get more then one course out.

The back nine was a little repetitious, but this for sure a worth while course to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Links Course for DG

1    8/19/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 155  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 9.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic course sprawls across rolling terrain in a quiet nature preserve that's visually appealing despite the sometimes scrubby look of the fairways and rough. Bridges help you get from section to section and add to the course's overall appeal.

Shot variety: Nice balance of fairway shapes, and distances, elevation changes and general disc play. Mostly open, but makes great use of available trees to add challenge and make you think about your line.
Elevation: No mountains here but the rolling terrain is seemingly omnipresent. Splendidly employed to change effective hole length, increase interest, and provide rollaway potential to ramp up risk reward factor.

Combine this with a pervasive wind that changes depending on what direction you're throwing and you have a course that encourages you to use most of the discs in your bag at one time or another during your round. Long tee shots and a decent breeze can really reward or punish your combination of disc choice, shot selection and execution.

Great water holes: 8, 9 and 10 were really fun and each presents a different challenge.
8: Depending on where your tee shot lands, deciding if you should try to carry the water or work around it may or may not be easy.
9: About a 350' water carry for big arms to run at for deuce opportunities. There's a landing zone that's easily reachable for people who only throw 200' or so for a good look at 3 if properly executed. For the truly distance challenged, there's an even shorter bail-out route that plays longer to the hole, but still forces you to throw over part of the pond, but no one who can throw 100ft should have to skip the hole and miss out on the thrill of a water carry.
10: Pin's on a peninsula that juts into the pond. Looks easy on paper, but that's not where we play. Neat hole and IMO, a little wind can turn this Ace Run into a tricky little sucker.

Versatile lay-out allows several ways play abbreviated rounds:
11 loops back to parking lot for an 11 hole round (1-11).
Easy to start at 12 to play a 7 hole loop (12 - 18).
Skip holes 4-7 for 14 holes (1-3 + 8-18)

Nicely illustrated tee signs help you find your way and show position of next tee.
Concrete tees were level and quite adequate and baskets were in great shape.
Numerous benches throughout the course.
Vault Toilets located near parking - (conveniently located after hole 11 as well).
Cons:
Rough: not particularly thorny, dangerous, or shot changing, but it can be damned unpleasant to search in, with high grass that hides discs until you step on them, thistley crap that scratches you up just enough to be annoying, and plenty of burrs and stuff that clings onto socks and shoelaces. Leave a microfiber towel hanging from your bag or belt and may the good lord have mercy on your soul. It's sure to get completely fouled with every clingy piece if crap it comes in contact with. Ain't nobody got time fo' dat!
Several holes penalize bad shots primarily in terms of enhancing the chance of disc loss without necessarily resulting in a nasty lie. Quite possible to throw a bad shot and still have a decent look at the pin, assuming you can find your disc.
Navigation: next tee signs would help. If it wasn't for the nature trail winding through the course, it wouldn't be too bad, but there are quite a few holes where the most obvious place to walk isn't the way to the next tee. Tee markers show where the next hole is, but it's easy to forget after spending several minutes searching for discs. Map was a huge help, but you don't always feel like pulling out the map, especially when there's an obvious path... to nowhere.
A few tee signs don't seem accurate. I suspect course layout, map, and signs were already done, but a few things were changed for whatever reason when the course was installed. Not really a big deal, and while most of them are fine, I think a few of the posted distances are off for that reason.
Other Thoughts: This really is a beautiful course with a high fun factor, and a refreshing departure from the typical woodsy feel of most Michigan courses. Nicely landscaped with wild flowers, spruces, willows, cedars, and a variety of hardwood trees. Long enough to reward those who can bomb, but only if they keep it on the fairway (lest they lose a favorite driver).


This course has a unique feel from anything I've played on either side of the state. For those familiar with the reference, the closest comparison I can draw is think Ponds at Lakeshore on rolling hills with more trees, landscaping and rough. Wonderful disc play and a great round overall, I just wish they'd mow the rough a bit - it does nothing to affect your shot, other than to obscure it.

Very glad I came, good chance I'll be back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Lakeshore Disc Destination!

5+    8/15/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: benpierce
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a dream for anyone who really loves to open up and drive far (favors RHBH players with a handful of forehand dream holes). There are a lot of holes where you can explode on your opening drive and then still enjoy the finesse of having to navigate trees and water and other traps on your approach and putt to get your birdie or par.

The landscaping is beautiful, the layout is top notch and the course markings and navigation are excellent!

Let's all work to self-police this course and not let those who don't appreciate disc golf for what it truly is destroy this beautiful course!
Cons: Too much natural preserve that includes too much tall grass traps. The tall grass is more difficult to find your disc in than even water, and also is more noticeable when it gets trampled down (as opposed to swimming in a pond to find a lost disc). It's tough to not trample down the grass trying to find a disc, which then is looked at as irresponsible by disc players, as not protecting the natural preserve of the course. The course management should thin out some of the grass on some of the front holes to make it easier to find discs.
Other Thoughts: This could easily be expanded to 24 holes if the PDGA tour wanted to make a stop. It would be a 4.5/5 or 5/5 on my list if it were 24 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

macatawa wowie!

1    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the park first of all. upon arriving at the park you see a large beautiful sign for the park. Everything is new including parking lot, paths and very clean nice restrooms.
-all holes have really nice new concrete tee pads.
-there are wonderful paths, bridges and several trails/ routes you could take to get wherever you wanted along the course.
-there is a large, very well marked and informed course map at the entrance to the park aswell as at the first hole.
-every hole has its own beautiful tee sign with distance, obstacles and such.
-the course is new and very well maintained, I was pretty blown away by the beauty of the surroundings while I was playing.
-this course has an excellent use of terrain, it has you throwing up hill, downhill, around bends and turns, offers a lot of variety and fun shots.
-most holes have a high risk reward aspect, "should I go for it or play safely?"
-There are several water holes in play, I personally love courses with water in play. hole 9 here is awesome, you either have to throw 350ish over the pond or lay up along the side. I took many pictures
-the flow of the course is good, I had a few moments of figuring out where to go but quickly figured it out, it was my first time playing and I had no navigation issues at all.
-every hole has new benches to break at.
Cons: -I saw very few trash cans, maybe one at the beginning and one at the end of the course, I do realize they probly are intending for this to be a pack in pack it out course, meaning carry all your trash till the end. more trash cans means more work emptying them.
-one hole has you walking up the middle of the next holes fairway to get to the teepad, it is possibly confusing or dangerous if it was busy but is a minor issue to me, I was surprised with how well the course is designed that they would make you have to backtrack down a fairway when they could have created a nice path to the pad like every other hole there. just an odd design flaw, but again no biggy.
-the roughs are very rough, this isn't necessarily a con but I did notice many people looking for discs just off the fairways while I was playing. I personally spent probly a good hour of my round looking for discs I threw, I ended up losing one just several feet off the fairway. I gave up looking after about 5 minutes or I probly would have found it, I was just tired of looking in the weeds for discs at that point so I was willing to sacrifice it.
-the back nine is not as amazing or challenging as the front 9. a few of the holes on the back 9 are just kind of average basic holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course and I was very impressed. I have no issues giving this a 4 disc rating. I could see this even being 4.5 discs in the future. There is tons of property here to expand this course as large as they could possibly want to expand it in the future too so there is tons of future potential here. I tip my hat to the course designer Travis prueter, he also designed shore acres disc golf course which is also an amazing course I highly recommend playing if your in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Like nothing else in West Michigan

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 205  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays across an old golf course intertwined with walking trails. Property is gorgeous, has a creek and small ponds.

Routing/nav-- very easy, even has maps at mid-points. Can't say enough about how easy the routing was.

Teesigns-- Some of the nicest in the area. shows distinct landing zones and topography as well as adjacent fairways and poptential lines.

Teepads--kind of odd. the teepads here are insanely long and remind me of a sidewalk as they have "lines" like a side walk (made of three blocks of concrete)

Baskets--new mach5's (?) these may be home made as there are no tags to denote what these baskets are.

risk v reward-- risk v reward comes not only in the way of tall weeds and thistle but water with a creek and a small pond

Hole 9/10-- very unique in that there is no way to avoid the water. there is no way to not throw over the water. hole 9 has a distinct landing zone about 250 out on the right. This is a definite disc eater. Hole 10 plays over the same pond but with a much easier approach but with a drop off to water behind.

Ammenities-- benches at every hole, bridges are top notch and upkeep is phenomenal.

Cons:
Rough-- extremely rough with tall grass, weeds, thistle.

back 9-- a bit vanilla compared to the front 9. hole 16 is probably the nicest on the back 9. Overall a very strong course but the back 9 may knock it down a bit.

Other Thoughts: This course really is something special. nothing like this exists in west michigan and this course should be listed with the other great courses on the west coast of michigan...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

great layout

2-4    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of the space.
The ob can be a challenge on a couple of holes so watch out.
The water holes will eat your disc so watch out.
Cons: Best to decide how you want to play the ob two people in my group took 10 min debating if a disc was in play or not. Maps show ob with a little bit of ruff along them. I think it was hole ten that was a short shot. with a pond on the left side could use a mando to make it play longer.
Other Thoughts: This place has everything you are looking for. At 6500 feet or so you better bring your a game. Anyone just starting out would prob wantr to avoid playing here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Holland Course

2-4    7/14/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: Trespayne
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new course in Holland built on an old golf course so naturally it is a beautiful course

-Nice and long teepads to shoot from

-Great signage with distance, pars (three par 4's), and pictures of water hazards and large trees as well as showing elevation

-Excellent variety of shots for all throws. Long shots (500+ on a few), shorts shots (a few under 300), right fading shots and left fading shots with a good variety of hazards/trees to play around and some open. Also some elevation on a number of holes but not huge elevation.

-Well kept course-Basket 3 was stolen about a week after the course was put in (really!?) but a new one was back about a week later.

-Good location-just off the main road leaving or coming to Holland.

-Good people-Have only had positive interactions with people playing the course. Including one time losing a disc in the water hazard when some kids that were in there looking for discs found mine and gave it to me.
Cons: -A few holes that have potential for losing a disc-Some bad rough in parts and a couple blind holes with rough outside the fairway. I've had a spotter each time so I've never had a problem but if you were here by yourself, that could be a problem, be careful and spot! Of course the huge water hazard shot always has potential for losing a disc as well

-Parking lot could come into play I believe on #12 and #18. However, unless it's a terrible shot it shouldn't be an issue. I think it's far enough away not to matter, but it's worth mentioning.

-Someone stole basket 3 already, but it's been replaced.
Other Thoughts: New course to the Holland area. Was hoping Holland would get another course soon being so big and such a popular tourist spot with already high traffic. Pleased to say the course is a great one to play. Very beautiful course with some elevation and great variety. You will not be disappointed with this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Bring a spotter

1    6/29/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: jaimem26
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very challenging and many tight fairways
- Good mix of dogleg left, dogleg right, and straight holes
- Good mix of long and short holes
- Excellent course signage
- Great long concrete tee pads
- Great elevation changes throughout course
Cons: - Few holes like 16 and 18 could benefit from mandatories
- Location of 16th fairway is low lying and probably has a tendency to flood.
- Lack of color on baskets can make it difficult to spot from the tee, even on some of the shorter holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course. It is a very challenging course and is very fun to play. Don't be afraid to ask for a spotter because the rough and OB areas are very tall and discs can easily be lost.

Great addition to the area especially after the Winstrom Preserve course was gutted of most of the trees which made that course interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Addition to Holland/Zeeland

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: twessel5
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety in the course from water holes, to weeds, to trees
- Great use of the area with elevation changes, placement of tees and pads
- Course is designed well and easy to navigate while playing
- Somewhat challenging due to some fairways not being very wide
Cons: - There are a couple holes where you have to walk back down the fairway after making the basket, so be aware of others driving at that point
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and is very close to my home. I will be visiting this course frequently.
It is somewhat challenging, I would not go to this course as a beginner because there are many opportunities to throw your disc in the water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.