Holland, MI 
Macatawa Greenspace Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #4 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
  

2-4    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: DR. DEF
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: amazing use of the surrounding landscape trees elevation water hazards etc. footbridge tee signs and benches all look amazing!! totally legitimizes the course its not just thrown together. This course is a great addition to the southwest michigan area and sets a standard in quality as far as layout and accommodations.
Cons: hole 18 seems like an afterthought way to close to the parking area and park boundary line.
Other Thoughts: I would probably rate this between a 4.5 and 5 I give it a 5 because any pitfalls in this course will be addressed and adjusted once the course has had a chance to mature.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great West Michigan Course

1    7/27/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely well maintained, the layout of the hole course and the signage make it extremely easy to follow (except hole 18, you need to cut across the main drive, tee pad by entrance). Benches at every teepad, nice bridges to cross the babbling creek and low lying areas. I can't explain how aesthetically nice this course is.

The holes tend to be fairly long, nothing outrageous but nothing short and easily ace-able. Perfect for opening up with some big drives!

The tee pads are looong but are concrete and in perfect condition. The chains are great quality but I couldn't tell you the type.

There isn't a ton of trees but it is on an old golf course so expect that sort of amount of trees, which is still enough to put them in play on several holes. A decent bit of elevation changes take play on some holes but many of them are relatively flat.

I think hole 9 is a great signature hole for this course, if you have big cahones you could go for the deep ball over the entire pond or just go for the layup on the tiny patch of fairway. Just awesome.
Cons: The back 9 are not as great as the front but really are still quite good.

I also would have liked to seen a few more garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: This course Should be rated as one of the best in west Michigan, and I can't wait for more people to play it, seeing as its a new course. I would consider it a tournament caliber course if they made a couple slight improvements.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like nothing else in West Michigan

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 258  Reviewed: 253  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays across an old golf course intertwined with walking trails. Property is gorgeous, has a creek and small ponds.

Routing/nav-- very easy, even has maps at mid-points. Can't say enough about how easy the routing was.

Teesigns-- Some of the nicest in the area. shows distinct landing zones and topography as well as adjacent fairways and poptential lines.

Teepads--kind of odd. the teepads here are insanely long and remind me of a sidewalk as they have "lines" like a side walk (made of three blocks of concrete)

Baskets--new mach5's (?) these may be home made as there are no tags to denote what these baskets are.

risk v reward-- risk v reward comes not only in the way of tall weeds and thistle but water with a creek and a small pond

Hole 9/10-- very unique in that there is no way to avoid the water. there is no way to not throw over the water. hole 9 has a distinct landing zone about 250 out on the right. This is a definite disc eater. Hole 10 plays over the same pond but with a much easier approach but with a drop off to water behind.

Ammenities-- benches at every hole, bridges are top notch and upkeep is phenomenal.

Cons:
Rough-- extremely rough with tall grass, weeds, thistle.

back 9-- a bit vanilla compared to the front 9. hole 16 is probably the nicest on the back 9. Overall a very strong course but the back 9 may knock it down a bit.

Other Thoughts: This course really is something special. nothing like this exists in west michigan and this course should be listed with the other great courses on the west coast of michigan...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great layout

2-4    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 48  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of the space.
The ob can be a challenge on a couple of holes so watch out.
The water holes will eat your disc so watch out.
Cons: Best to decide how you want to play the ob two people in my group took 10 min debating if a disc was in play or not. Maps show ob with a little bit of ruff along them. I think it was hole ten that was a short shot. with a pond on the left side could use a mando to make it play longer.
Other Thoughts: This place has everything you are looking for. At 6500 feet or so you better bring your a game. Anyone just starting out would prob wantr to avoid playing here.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Holland Course

2-4    7/14/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: Trespayne
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new course in Holland built on an old golf course so naturally it is a beautiful course

-Nice and long teepads to shoot from

-Great signage with distance, pars (three par 4's), and pictures of water hazards and large trees as well as showing elevation

-Excellent variety of shots for all throws. Long shots (500+ on a few), shorts shots (a few under 300), right fading shots and left fading shots with a good variety of hazards/trees to play around and some open. Also some elevation on a number of holes but not huge elevation.

-Well kept course-Basket 3 was stolen about a week after the course was put in (really!?) but a new one was back about a week later.

-Good location-just off the main road leaving or coming to Holland.

-Good people-Have only had positive interactions with people playing the course. Including one time losing a disc in the water hazard when some kids that were in there looking for discs found mine and gave it to me.
Cons: -A few holes that have potential for losing a disc-Some bad rough in parts and a couple blind holes with rough outside the fairway. I've had a spotter each time so I've never had a problem but if you were here by yourself, that could be a problem, be careful and spot! Of course the huge water hazard shot always has potential for losing a disc as well

-Parking lot could come into play I believe on #12 and #18. However, unless it's a terrible shot it shouldn't be an issue. I think it's far enough away not to matter, but it's worth mentioning.

-Someone stole basket 3 already, but it's been replaced.
Other Thoughts: New course to the Holland area. Was hoping Holland would get another course soon being so big and such a popular tourist spot with already high traffic. Pleased to say the course is a great one to play. Very beautiful course with some elevation and great variety. You will not be disappointed with this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Bring a spotter

1    6/29/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: jaimem26
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very challenging and many tight fairways
- Good mix of dogleg left, dogleg right, and straight holes
- Good mix of long and short holes
- Excellent course signage
- Great long concrete tee pads
- Great elevation changes throughout course
Cons: - Few holes like 16 and 18 could benefit from mandatories
- Location of 16th fairway is low lying and probably has a tendency to flood.
- Lack of color on baskets can make it difficult to spot from the tee, even on some of the shorter holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course. It is a very challenging course and is very fun to play. Don't be afraid to ask for a spotter because the rough and OB areas are very tall and discs can easily be lost.

Great addition to the area especially after the Winstrom Preserve course was gutted of most of the trees which made that course interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course But Some Bad Design

1    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: steelniel
Played: 68  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging hole layouts
Scenic property
Great Baskets
Excellent Signage
Cons: Bad design choices on some holes.
2 holes are designed to throw directly towards the parking lot, 12 & 18 (gonna be trouble)
Hole 16 has you throwing over 15's teepad and over 14's basket at the same time(needs a mando maybe)
Hole 18 (bring a ladder) basket is way to close to private building. Lots of people are gonna be in the parking lot or on the roof of that building.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Addition to Holland/Zeeland

5+    6/2/2015   6/29/2013
Review By: twessel5
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety in the course from water holes, to weeds, to trees
- Great use of the area with elevation changes, placement of tees and pads
- Course is designed well and easy to navigate while playing
- Somewhat challenging due to some fairways not being very wide
Cons: - There are a couple holes where you have to walk back down the fairway after making the basket, so be aware of others driving at that point
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and is very close to my home. I will be visiting this course frequently.
It is somewhat challenging, I would not go to this course as a beginner because there are many opportunities to throw your disc in the water.

UPDATE 6/3/15 - This course is brutal and unforgiving, especially on the front 9. The rough is ridiculous and should at least be somewhat maintained. My rating has dropped because of this. On every hole where I threw my disc and it ended up in the weeds, it took between 5-10 minutes just to find it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.