St. Louis (Florissant), MO 
Sioux Passage - Original Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 520ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Tough, but an enjoyable course

1    7/10/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: bdjohns1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was in great condition. Fairways are being mowed, and it looks like they are addressing one of the complaints I had with the course in the not-too-distant future - they have samples of the new hole-map tee signs on #1 and #10 now. I'm pretty new to the game, and the distance here compared to my home course in WI was a little bit of a wakeup.

The course makes great use of the terrain, although in most cases, the way it's used tends to reward those with monster arms off the tee, especially on the valley holes on the front 9, and the last few holes on the back 9.

Favorite shots: Approaches on #3, 17, and 18. Tee shots on 7, 9, 13.
Cons: This was my first time on the course, and we had to walk a couple of the holes to establish where the baskets actually were at (#14, #17, #18 in particular). As a few other mentioned, the tees for #9 and #12 need to be signed a little bit more obviously from the previous baskets.

As the baskets were set last week, the course was playing north of 8000 feet. We can't all have bomber arms - I like when a course offers two tee options so that if you're in a group with folks who're still throwing 200-250, it's a fair fight.
Other Thoughts: A lot of the photos of this course are taken without foliage. The #9 tee is just mean when everything's grown in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass on Sioux Passage

1    4/20/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course in a very clean, well-maintained, county park. Hilly to say the least, Sioux Passage feels and plays like two separate 9-hole courses.

• Front is a nice, open, park-style course playing up and down across rolling hills. Elevation is significant on every hole, and figures more prominently on some pin placements than others. Opens design means you can take almost any route you want, but long and straight's all you need for most 'em. Just a smattering of trees to avoid on most holes - distance, elevation, and roll-a-ways are the greatest threats on the front. Trees are more significant on #8 and a force to contend with on 9. Many "fun for all" type of holes with low chance of disc loss

• Back-9 = front-9 on steroids: Bigger, bolder, badder, and better. Although it's still fairly open, I'd say holes 10 -18 shed that "nice, park-style" feel and the DG gets more serious, amping up the elevation and bringing trees and brush into play more prominently. Holes require more definitive lines than the front, over greater distances with more intimidating obstacles and OB, and can make you pay for missing your line. Long, humbling uphills and bag emptying downhills, rolling terrain, trees, and a couple of sweeping hyzers and annies… all combine to take things to another level. More fun and challenge for the intermediate and advanced player than the front.

• Equipment: Nice concrete tees, DGA baskets are all in great repair. Signs are basic but effective and graffiti free: hole #, distance to each pin placement, bolt shows current basket location. Signs don't show pin locations relative to tee, but most baskets are visible from the tee, so you don't need to walk too many fairways.
• Routing/Nav: Front flows very well. Back is harder to follow, but isn't really too bad, and the holes on the back are well worth the slightly choppy flow. The maps are pretty accurate. My only complaint is the schlep from front to back.
• Memorable holes: several...
#9 Rises sharply up from the tee pad with a tight line though a well-wooded alley to the open playing surface above - much more intimidating than the course had been to this point. It's a neat hole that hits you like a rude awakening after the previous eight.
#12 about 400' . . . u p h i l l
#13 Monster Ace Run back down the hill you just walked up. I don't care who ya' are, that's fun right there.
#16 Long, slightly downhill bomber with trees guarding the pin.
#18 Strong finishing hole, where a 2 stroke lead may not be safe.
• Aesthetics: Quite pleasant, but nothing out of the ordinary. Some tees attractively dressed up with nice stonework to fight erosion.
• Clean restrooms with running water near #3 basket, and across road from #'s1 & 9.
Cons: Not without faults, but there's nothing glaringly wrong.
• Could use more holes that dare you to hold a specific line (long sweeping hyzers or annies) and/or a few more technical holes for better overall balance.
• Nicely mowed when I played, but tall, prairie grass defining fairwaiys on the back can swallow discs… at least they ruled it OB, which means it truly impacts the game.
• ¼ mile between front & back nine - who wants to drive to the back 9?
Other Thoughts: If you like to bomb, then Sioux's for you. Favors distance over placement, especially the front, and even though I like short, technical courses, I can't list this as a con. Big arms should also do well on the back, but the back will make you pay for missing lines, whereas missing lines on the front can be painless. Wind can definitely be a factor here, especially given the distances and the amount of time it gets to work on your disc, so a wide range of stabilities can help.

One could make the argument Sioux Passage is really two different nine-hole courses: front and back are in completely different sections of the park (even have their own parking). They play quite differently and to different skill levels, with the front having little to no rough to avoid, and the back featuring some very significant rough, longer shots and more significant elevation. Nonetheless, it's listed as 18, and together, they provide a reasonably well balanced round.

All in all, I had a blast playing here. Front eases you in and the rolling terrain keeps it from feeling boring. Holes 1-9 are fairly well suited for beginners to intermediates and have a decent fun factor. 18 holes of this would be good to very good. The back made me very glad I stopped here, with more variety, challenge, and a few holes to make you think. 18 holes like this could be phenomenal... that's how I arrived at my rating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2012   3/15/2013
Review By: 4thcoffey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful. Nice big evergreens offer great scenery. Some holes, like 1 and 4, a large tree is directly in front of the tee box about 30 feet or so, making it extra challenging and fun.

There are some good 'rip it' holes on the front 9 (my favorites are 2 and 6 because you drive over and down a sort of valley.) Other holes require more precision, like 9 where you are maybe 50 feet below the fairway trying to funnel your drive through the narrow opening in the trees above your head - good hole.
Cons: Not many cons from me. I did get a disc stuck far up a pine tree once. The large, sweeping full branches swallowed my Teebird. Failed attempts to get it out. A guy behind me caught up to me and had a 50 foot ladder in his truck. Thanks to whoever you are.

The trees aren't a real con but it makes me a lot more cautious when throwing near them.

Some trash left on the course.

Streets with traffic may come into play on some holes, especially the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Top course I've ever played so far. Will be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed emotions

5+    5/19/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage has four pin positions that make the course really easy or extremely difficult depending on the positions, most of the time they are mixed positions making the course really playable. The tee boxes are mostly open with fairly open fairways. The Park Dept. does a great job at cutting the fairways giving you a feeling of a top tier course. The front nine plays like a true park course, while the back nine play more like a links style course with a lot of OB in the wildflower areas and a lot of elevation change.
Cons: The back nine can wear you out really fast if you haven't had a good meal. Everything is up and down, every hole. If the pins are in the long positions it can make the back 9 a really frustrating round. If you play before or after a tourney expect the pins to be in the longest, hardest placements.

You have to drive from the front nine to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Best played in April-May!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent Monster of a Course

5+    3/6/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course literally has everything. Huge, wide open shots across valleys, up hills and down hills, tight wooded shots, everything. There are 700+ foot holes and some that are barely 100 feet, and they all flow very well together.
-The course is always well kept. Hardly any trash, very manicured fairways and greens. Amazing views from some of the tees, especially hole 13, a huge 600 foot downhill shot that you MUST empty your bag on. There are so many ways to play that hole you have to try every possibility.
-Even though the course is split up by about a 1/2 mile drive (which is a nice break from the super long front), each set of 9 feels like a different course, which is a very cool thing in my opinion.
-I have never once had a problem with the course being over played or too crowded. It is pretty far away from the actual city, but it is definitely worth the drive, and I have had the course to myself and my group multiple times.
Cons: -Very very long holes. This may not be a con, but it is very tiring having to throw 600+ feet 5 or 6 times a round.
-Extremely hilly. Be prepared to have a very exhausting round and be very tired at the tee of hole 18, which is intimidating enough as it is.
-If you shank a drive, you can lose your disc on some holes very easily if you take your eyes off of it. Watch all of your drives and shots to where they land, you can think your shot is going to end, only for it to roll 50+ more feet into tall grass and lose it forever.
Other Thoughts: If this course were actually in the city, it would be my favorite, no contest. But because I live 10 minutes from Jefferson Barracks as opposed to 45 minutes from Sioux, it will have to take second best to JB. But by no means is this any lesser of a course than JB. Fabulous views, very diverse holes, amazing opportunities to unleash monster drives and watch your disc fly FAR. A very fun round that you must venture out to when in St. Louis.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sioux Passage

1    10/13/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: j_wilcut
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: An amazing course that was extremely well maintained. This entire course is beautiful especially on a fall day. Hole 13 was awesome. There were trash bins at every hole I believe.
Cons: It was really wind. But thats just the nature of the game.
One true con would be that there weren't any benches at the tee pads. Its always nice to take a rest from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the STL area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A St. Louis must play course

1    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Level and long concrete tees! DGA Mach's in very good/new condition. Bathrooms and ample parking. Well manicured fairways. Good variety of shots a good use of the hills that adorn this beautiful well kept park. Good people ( thanks Mike and Phil).
Cons: Too much walking back up the hill for the next shot, esp. on the front nine. Hole #9 you have to walk down a steep hill just to throw back up the steep hill. Tee signs just gave the position of the pin and distances.
You have to drive to the back nine.
The out of bounds tall grass that adorns the back nine was mowed down as of this review so I never got to see it or utilize it's fairway shaping hazards.
No cards and the kiosk had no maps.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a great starting hole. It sets the tone for the first few holes. Wind can play a role on this course so watch out for the road.
Hole 7 is the best hole on the course as far as I am concerned. Very tough tight first shot or you might try a crazy hyzer way out to the right. The chances of hitting wood here are 60% or better.
The back nine starts out with a long uphill dogleg left that will really test the big arms. If you throw 275 like me the disc will only end up about 180 and halfway up the hill.
The tee on #12 is the final resting place on the back nine. I guess during the hot summer that tee gets backed up with golfers cooling off there. Of course #13 downhill is the funnest hole here, long downhill that will make us all look like Nate Doss.
18 is a great finishing hole and the winding road to the right makes for some Preparation -H- moments.
While in St. Louis stop by here and then go down the road a bit and check out White Birch , the oldest course in Mo.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nearly Championship

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is spread out extremely well in a large park, to the point where driving to the back nine is a good idea. A little hassle for a great return, the course is enormous. Definitely a long course regardless of the pin positions, and the pro pars carry their weight.
- Excellent use of the hilly terrain to provide extreme elevation changes on many holes. The gargantuan downhill shot on #13 is truly a sight to behold. It is complemented by many steep uphill shots that play well over the stated distance. Holes with average slopes (for this course at least) are still very much affected, to the point where the flatter holes become new and exciting.
- Diverse mix of dense forest, small tree groves, and large matures trees where appropriate. Holes with clear fairways have ample forested hazards, usually on both sides, that are very dense and very punishing. Medium rough is also present on holes, which plays O.B. in some situations. Hole #18 even has a drop zone, which basically amounts to a mando fairway. Many other holes use the large and low trees to force very accurate shots off the tee and throughout long fairways.
- Great tee pads and baskets.
Cons: - Overall, the course is pretty open. There aren't many well defined routes to the basket, mostly just avoiding trees while staying in the wide fairways. Some holes feel more like a driving range with obstacles, as opposed to having critical landing spots for the next shot. That is nitpicking, of course.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
- Some holes play by the entrance road and the parking lot, but they can be avoided for the most part.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a lesson in elevation, as almost every hole has a long slope, hill, or valley to contend with. Most of the shorter holes make great use of hazards or elevation to provide extra challenge, and there is a great mix of open and hazardous bomber holes as well. The only thing that really keeps this course from being championship level is the lack of multi-shot holes with mandatory pathways/obvious landing zones, and tight fairways to force very specific lines.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Go the distance

5+    5/27/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park feels like it was designed to contain a disk golf course. Sioux is a long and mostly open course, in a beautiful and well manicured landscape. The scattered trees will play defense, but elevation is the real challenge here. You need distance, and accuracy to negotiate this course. Despite the challenge this is a very fair course.

The front nine plays over rolling hills and through well placed trees. #2 and #6 play across a deep valley and favor distance. #5 and #8 have the baskets tucked into the woods, and make you think before you throw. #7 and #9 are unique for this course. #7 is through a stand a tight trees. #9's tee shot is a 100' hallway up a hill to reach the fairway.

You have to drive to the back nine, it's a short drive / long walk.

The back nine starts out up hill, then down hill, and then up hill again. #13 makes all that hill climbing worth while. It's 100' down and 600' of driving fun. You will want to empty your bag. #15 is payback, it plays back up the 100'. The 666' distance says it all. There are wild grass areas that are out of bounds and come into play on at least 4 holes. #18 can be a beast when it's at 800'.

This is a championship course all the way. Every hole offers a fun challenge. There are concrete pads with 3-4 pin placements. Good bathrooms and drinking fountain across the street from the first tee. Port a Potty at 10th tee. Playground for the kids.
Cons: This course is hard to navigate. The signs need maps, the distance to the pin is not good enough on this course. Even after 20+ rounds I would still like a map at the tee. I would really like to give this course a 4 1/2 but it needs better signs.

If it's your first time and you don't have a map....
On the park road stay left, first tee at second parking on left, across from bathroom / playground. You'll see baskets on your left.
#8 to #9 follow one of the paths in the woods down hill.
#9 to #10 drive farther down the road you came in on to the next parking.
#10 to #11 follow the gravel road to the right, or take a path through the wild grass area. Respect the course, take the road.
#11 to #12 turn around and look for the orange flags in the woods. The tee is in those woods.

The mosquitoes can be intense. Don't throw into the long grass, it's long.
Other Thoughts: The disk golf gods must mow the grass. Its always short, but I've never seen anyone cutting it.

You can see the Missouri river if you want. Stay right on your way out after the back nine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/27/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: joesiya
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful, long course with a variety of shots. Long fairways for the big armed player. Variety of pin positions that are frequently alternated. Low volume course. Worth the drive, on of the bests in the St. Louis area.
Cons: Hole #9 is treacherous when wet and some of the tees/holes on the back nine are hard to find for the first timer with no map.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.