St. Louis (Florissant), MO
Sioux Passage Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #9 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 460ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 

1    12/5/2012   3/15/2013
Review By: 4thcoffey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful. Nice big evergreens offer great scenery. Some holes, like 1 and 4, a large tree is directly in front of the tee box about 30 feet or so, making it extra challenging and fun.

There are some good 'rip it' holes on the front 9 (my favorites are 2 and 6 because you drive over and down a sort of valley.) Other holes require more precision, like 9 where you are maybe 50 feet below the fairway trying to funnel your drive through the narrow opening in the trees above your head - good hole.
Cons: Not many cons from me. I did get a disc stuck far up a pine tree once. The large, sweeping full branches swallowed my Teebird. Failed attempts to get it out. A guy behind me caught up to me and had a 50 foot ladder in his truck. Thanks to whoever you are.

The trees aren't a real con but it makes me a lot more cautious when throwing near them.

Some trash left on the course.

Streets with traffic may come into play on some holes, especially the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Top course I've ever played so far. Will be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed emotions

5+    5/19/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage has four pin positions that make the course really easy or extremely difficult depending on the positions, most of the time they are mixed positions making the course really playable. The tee boxes are mostly open with fairly open fairways. The Park Dept. does a great job at cutting the fairways giving you a feeling of a top tier course. The front nine plays like a true park course, while the back nine play more like a links style course with a lot of OB in the wildflower areas and a lot of elevation change.
Cons: The back nine can wear you out really fast if you haven't had a good meal. Everything is up and down, every hole. If the pins are in the long positions it can make the back 9 a really frustrating round. If you play before or after a tourney expect the pins to be in the longest, hardest placements.

You have to drive from the front nine to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Best played in April-May!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent Monster of a Course

5+    3/6/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course literally has everything. Huge, wide open shots across valleys, up hills and down hills, tight wooded shots, everything. There are 700+ foot holes and some that are barely 100 feet, and they all flow very well together.
-The course is always well kept. Hardly any trash, very manicured fairways and greens. Amazing views from some of the tees, especially hole 13, a huge 600 foot downhill shot that you MUST empty your bag on. There are so many ways to play that hole you have to try every possibility.
-Even though the course is split up by about a 1/2 mile drive (which is a nice break from the super long front), each set of 9 feels like a different course, which is a very cool thing in my opinion.
-I have never once had a problem with the course being over played or too crowded. It is pretty far away from the actual city, but it is definitely worth the drive, and I have had the course to myself and my group multiple times.
Cons: -Very very long holes. This may not be a con, but it is very tiring having to throw 600+ feet 5 or 6 times a round.
-Extremely hilly. Be prepared to have a very exhausting round and be very tired at the tee of hole 18, which is intimidating enough as it is.
-If you shank a drive, you can lose your disc on some holes very easily if you take your eyes off of it. Watch all of your drives and shots to where they land, you can think your shot is going to end, only for it to roll 50+ more feet into tall grass and lose it forever.
Other Thoughts: If this course were actually in the city, it would be my favorite, no contest. But because I live 10 minutes from Jefferson Barracks as opposed to 45 minutes from Sioux, it will have to take second best to JB. But by no means is this any lesser of a course than JB. Fabulous views, very diverse holes, amazing opportunities to unleash monster drives and watch your disc fly FAR. A very fun round that you must venture out to when in St. Louis.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sioux Passage

1    10/13/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: j_wilcut
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: An amazing course that was extremely well maintained. This entire course is beautiful especially on a fall day. Hole 13 was awesome. There were trash bins at every hole I believe.
Cons: It was really wind. But thats just the nature of the game.
One true con would be that there weren't any benches at the tee pads. Its always nice to take a rest from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the STL area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A St. Louis must play course

1    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Level and long concrete tees! DGA Mach's in very good/new condition. Bathrooms and ample parking. Well manicured fairways. Good variety of shots a good use of the hills that adorn this beautiful well kept park. Good people ( thanks Mike and Phil).
Cons: Too much walking back up the hill for the next shot, esp. on the front nine. Hole #9 you have to walk down a steep hill just to throw back up the steep hill. Tee signs just gave the position of the pin and distances.
You have to drive to the back nine.
The out of bounds tall grass that adorns the back nine was mowed down as of this review so I never got to see it or utilize it's fairway shaping hazards.
No cards and the kiosk had no maps.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a great starting hole. It sets the tone for the first few holes. Wind can play a role on this course so watch out for the road.
Hole 7 is the best hole on the course as far as I am concerned. Very tough tight first shot or you might try a crazy hyzer way out to the right. The chances of hitting wood here are 60% or better.
The back nine starts out with a long uphill dogleg left that will really test the big arms. If you throw 275 like me the disc will only end up about 180 and halfway up the hill.
The tee on #12 is the final resting place on the back nine. I guess during the hot summer that tee gets backed up with golfers cooling off there. Of course #13 downhill is the funnest hole here, long downhill that will make us all look like Nate Doss.
18 is a great finishing hole and the winding road to the right makes for some Preparation -H- moments.
While in St. Louis stop by here and then go down the road a bit and check out White Birch , the oldest course in Mo.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nearly Championship

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is spread out extremely well in a large park, to the point where driving to the back nine is a good idea. A little hassle for a great return, the course is enormous. Definitely a long course regardless of the pin positions, and the pro pars carry their weight.
- Excellent use of the hilly terrain to provide extreme elevation changes on many holes. The gargantuan downhill shot on #13 is truly a sight to behold. It is complemented by many steep uphill shots that play well over the stated distance. Holes with average slopes (for this course at least) are still very much affected, to the point where the flatter holes become new and exciting.
- Diverse mix of dense forest, small tree groves, and large matures trees where appropriate. Holes with clear fairways have ample forested hazards, usually on both sides, that are very dense and very punishing. Medium rough is also present on holes, which plays O.B. in some situations. Hole #18 even has a drop zone, which basically amounts to a mando fairway. Many other holes use the large and low trees to force very accurate shots off the tee and throughout long fairways.
- Great tee pads and baskets.
Cons: - Overall, the course is pretty open. There aren't many well defined routes to the basket, mostly just avoiding trees while staying in the wide fairways. Some holes feel more like a driving range with obstacles, as opposed to having critical landing spots for the next shot. That is nitpicking, of course.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
- Some holes play by the entrance road and the parking lot, but they can be avoided for the most part.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a lesson in elevation, as almost every hole has a long slope, hill, or valley to contend with. Most of the shorter holes make great use of hazards or elevation to provide extra challenge, and there is a great mix of open and hazardous bomber holes as well. The only thing that really keeps this course from being championship level is the lack of multi-shot holes with mandatory pathways/obvious landing zones, and tight fairways to force very specific lines.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Go the distance

5+    5/27/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park feels like it was designed to contain a disk golf course. Sioux is a long and mostly open course, in a beautiful and well manicured landscape. The scattered trees will play defense, but elevation is the real challenge here. You need distance, and accuracy to negotiate this course. Despite the challenge this is a very fair course.

The front nine plays over rolling hills and through well placed trees. #2 and #6 play across a deep valley and favor distance. #5 and #8 have the baskets tucked into the woods, and make you think before you throw. #7 and #9 are unique for this course. #7 is through a stand a tight trees. #9's tee shot is a 100' hallway up a hill to reach the fairway.

You have to drive to the back nine, it's a short drive / long walk.

The back nine starts out up hill, then down hill, and then up hill again. #13 makes all that hill climbing worth while. It's 100' down and 600' of driving fun. You will want to empty your bag. #15 is payback, it plays back up the 100'. The 666' distance says it all. There are wild grass areas that are out of bounds and come into play on at least 4 holes. #18 can be a beast when it's at 800'.

This is a championship course all the way. Every hole offers a fun challenge. There are concrete pads with 3-4 pin placements. Good bathrooms and drinking fountain across the street from the first tee. Port a Potty at 10th tee. Playground for the kids.
Cons: This course is hard to navigate. The signs need maps, the distance to the pin is not good enough on this course. Even after 20+ rounds I would still like a map at the tee. I would really like to give this course a 4 1/2 but it needs better signs.

If it's your first time and you don't have a map....
On the park road stay left, first tee at second parking on left, across from bathroom / playground. You'll see baskets on your left.
#8 to #9 follow one of the paths in the woods down hill.
#9 to #10 drive farther down the road you came in on to the next parking.
#10 to #11 follow the gravel road to the right, or take a path through the wild grass area. Respect the course, take the road.
#11 to #12 turn around and look for the orange flags in the woods. The tee is in those woods.

The mosquitoes can be intense. Don't throw into the long grass, it's long.
Other Thoughts: The disk golf gods must mow the grass. Its always short, but I've never seen anyone cutting it.

You can see the Missouri river if you want. Stay right on your way out after the back nine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/27/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: joesiya
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful, long course with a variety of shots. Long fairways for the big armed player. Variety of pin positions that are frequently alternated. Low volume course. Worth the drive, on of the bests in the St. Louis area.
Cons: Hole #9 is treacherous when wet and some of the tees/holes on the back nine are hard to find for the first timer with no map.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

1    9/2/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I read reviews online here before going out yesterday and I was even more surprised when I got there, great use of the landscape given, plenty of reachable holes, like 2,3,6,11,14 yet also has a good mix of more difficult hyzers at 5, 8 specially. 4 and 9, especially 9 is so unusual I had so much fun..great course.not too difficult if you can throw a basic hyzer and annie. Get ready for sweating the hills can be more demanding on your legs than expected.
Cons: It was my first time playing, i knew i had to drive over to te other side, dosent mean that I liked it. Also finding pins on 5 8 etc...was cumbersome.
Other Thoughts: A must play for St. Louis. Donttake Howdershell/Shakleford all the way up...way too slow

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Let it Fly

5+    8/29/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to reach back and let it fly. One of the most fun "open" courses I hve played. There are plenty of well placed tree clusters and tons of changes in elevation. These along with quite a bit of rough on the back nine make for a very challenging course. The park is beautiful and well maintained, with fairly minimal foot traffic. Hole #9 is absolutely ridiculous...whoever put it together.
Cons: I have very few...I really love this course. The signage could be a lot better. Especially on the back nine, there are some spots that are very easy to get turned around trying to find the next tee. Wear long pants, because wandering around in the tall grass looking for a disk is very likely.
Other Thoughts: One of my two favorite St. Louis courses...if you are coming to the area make sure you check it out...you won't be disappointed.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.