St. Louis (Florissant), MO 
Sioux Passage - Original Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 330ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee (plays straight from tee across moderate valley)



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/23/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to play in this area when I'm in the mood for long shots, wide open fairways, and lots of hills.

Some of the holes are memorable, such as:

Holes 2 and 6 shoot over a grassy valley of sorts that requires a good 275 foot throw or you end up at the bottom of the valley. I've seen a lot of players taking second shots from the bottom of the valley, so it's a good feeling when you get in a shot that clears the whole thing and lands near the basket.

Hole 9 is unique from my experience since it is a narrow, very steep, uphill shot through trees. Many people seem to nail a tree or two on the way up.

Hole 13 is my favorite since the tee is at the top of a hill, under a nice shade tree, overlooking an expansive grassy area and a somewhat steep fairway of around 550 feet. There's something fun about throwing off a long hill. A really good shot can make this in two shots, but we usually get there in three to four.

Hole 15 is just plain evil as it curves right and climbs a long, steep hill, especially this last time since the pin was set at the 666 mark. Those of a fundamentalist world view might want to avoid this hell hole. ;-)

Hole 16 is another long shot from the top of a hill, but less steep it seems than 13. Still, I made it in three shots plus a putt since the elevation helps.

Hole 17 runs along some woods on the left so I tend to compensate and go too far right, right into the unmowed area.

Hole 18 is one where the fairway leads you left, but I find it more advantageous to throw slightly right, over the tall grass toward the park road. From there it's more of a straight shot to the basket. Plus, I can sometimes find a lost disc in the tall grass, assuming I don't lose my own in the process.

Nice concrete pads with distance signs, but no pictures on the posts so sometimes one has to guess where to throw or consult a map.

Friendly park manager is himself a DG player and he's open to suggestions for course improvement.

Spring is a beautiful time to play this course since it has several flowering trees next to tee boxes or along fairways.



Cons: Most holes are very long so it can be tiresome for beginners, particularly the long, steep, uphill fairways. While my family liked this course, they felt like it dragged on, especially the back nine that has repeated, long fairways in the 550 to 800 foot range. So it's better for stronger players.

During sunny, hot days this course can make one sweat a bit. I prefer to play it early morning or later in the day during the summer.
Other Thoughts: The second 18 holes are almost complete. Should be open in June. I walked through a couple of holes and they're much narrower and more technical with plenty of trees to avoid.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

North County's Finest

5+    11/19/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage is truly a championship level course. It is full of beautiful vast rolling hills that feature very large old trees that create a gnarly course layout. Be prepared to throw big and accurate all day long here as it will be difficult to score without throwing big boy. Due to multiple pin locations, there are a few holes that may provide "easier" opportunities for birdies but for the most part.. you really have to earn your strokes. This course is made even better by the abundance of deer that call the property home.
Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Accurate Signage- Easy to Navigate
-Trash Cans
- Pavilions, River access, Camping, Tennis, Multiple Playgrounds
- Punishing OB
-Secluded, peaceful rounds
-COMING SOON-- an additional 18 hole course
Cons: -Have to drive to the back 9

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easily in my Top 5

5+    9/7/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Rolling Hills - Challenging - Well Maintained - Multiple Pin Placements - Concrete Tee Pads - Trash Cans - Restrooms

Sioux Passage has always been one of my favorites. The fairway grass is ALWAYS cut and the rest of the park is very well maintained. The huge rolling hills provide beautiful scenery and create huge opportunities to air out some crushing drives. The big elevation changes add a new level of difficulty to the round as well because you don't always feel the wind across the valley. That said, this isn't just a crush bomber course, you need distance as well as accuracy to score well. As you finish the front 9, you're throwing from the bottom of a hill almost straight up 75-100' just to get out of the woods. Once you're out, you have another 100-300' to the pin (depending on which position it is in).
The back 9 provides even more challenges as there is tall prairie grass on most holes creating devastating OB. This is some of the roughest OB I've been in as it can get nearly 6' tall in some areas. That said, the back 9 offers huge risk for huge reward. You'll almost always pick up a couple strokes on the competition if you can stay in bounds all day. Hole 13 is a signature hole of the course and probably St. Louis as it is a straight down hill with OB street on the left, OB parking lot on behind the pin and rough trees on the right. The fairway is wide open, but you have over a 100' drop in elevation, head wind and OB to contend with. You'll gladly empty your bag practicing this ultra-fun shot.
Concrete tee pads and large retaining walls give the course a finished, manicured look, even though they could do with some backfill now that the dirt is starting to wash away in some areas. Additionally, multiple pin placements make this course even harder because they can add up to 300' to a hole in some cases. Sioux Passage is a true Championship Course and it just gets better every time we play out there. There are also nice restroom facilities in the park and trash cans on almost every hole.
* Future note: They are in the process of installing another 18 holes at this course , which are all more wooded type holes. The combination of what is there and what they're designing could very well make Sioux Passage the best place to play 36 holes in the entire Mid-West.
Cons: Tee Signs - Water - Top & Bottom

The only (minor) downfalls of this course are the tee signs. Once they have geographically specific tee signs, there really won't be any reason for uncertainty when you drive. Unfortunately, there aren't many drinking fountains and the sinks in the restrooms are the "green" ones that squirt soap, then water, then air for drying. The point is, bring a lot of your own water. The front 9 is in the top half of the course and you can either take a longish walk to get down to the back 9, or just drive. We drive almost every time, which isn't so bad. Lastly, this isn't a con, per se, but more of a warning. There isn't a ton of shade at Sioux, so be prepared for a hot day if you come in the middle of summer. Plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting St. Louis and looking for an epic disc golf experience, this is it. This course can beat you up, but you'll be glad it did because it is a great course in every sense of the meaning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Passage

1    7/22/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Big beautiful park that is well maintained.
-Has score cards with map on the back of it. Which made it easy to navigate.
-Pristine landscape
-Nice concrete tee off pads.
-Own parking lot for disc golf players with a kiosk to tell you whats going on the course and around stl.
-3 different pin locations for each hole.
-Very clean park, trash cans at every hole.
-Nice bathrooms.
-Great for grip it and rip it people. You can really bomb the disc on this course.
-Nice baskets with soft chains.
-Nice signage.
-Hardly anyone playing the course, pretty much had the whole thing to ourselves.
-Challenging course, esp back nine. Takes a lot of shots to play this course.
-Rolling hills and great elevation changes.
Cons: -Biggest con for me is the distance. This course is about 40 mins from where I live.
-Would not recommend this course to anyone that has problems getting around.. a lot of walking.
-Some of the holes are 800+ ft, which sometimes feels more like an edurance contest rather then golf.
-A few holes play really close to the roads.
-The back nine is 1/4 of a mile down the road from the front.
-Some holes it is easy to lose a disc or two, big wildflower plots on the back nine that grow pretty tall.
-Doesn't always have the greatest flow to the course, a few holes finish really far from the next.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really love this course. It is my second favorite course only behind JB. This is a must play and can't wait to play it again. There were score cards at the kiosk which really helped because of the map on the back. I would strongly suggest printing out your own map just incase they aren't there when you play. This course will be very hard to play without map.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Course

1    6/24/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: - beautiful, well-maintained park
- wide open and long course
- rolling hills make for good elevation change
- less technical, but makes up for it with tons of distance and OB
- multiple pin positions
- concrete pads
- huge downhill drive on hole 13
Cons: - back 9 are located in a separate area that isn't indicated without a map
- tee for 12 can also be hard to locate without a map
- tee signage doesn't include maps
- back 9 has some tall grass that can eat discs
Other Thoughts: as someone who likes to grip it and rip it, this is my new favorite course. it keeps from being boring by using elevation and tree lines as adequate obstacles. very pretty park makes the long course an enjoyable walk. i highly recommend giving this course a try.

Exactly what a course should be!

2-4    3/17/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: stach23
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distance, open, elevation, scenic, shot variety, well-maintained.
Cons: Signage, elevation can wear you down quick.
Other Thoughts: Sioux Passage is almost the epitome of a perfect course. It has everything a course should: long holes, short holes, very long holes, very short holes, actual defined fairways, scenery, everything. The elevation changes can definitely wear you down, especially on the back, but it's well worth it. My only complaint is the signage. There's a sign telling you the distance and pin, but no map of telling you where each pin is, leaving you completely blind sometimes. Simply put, this course is phenomenal, and I'm playing it every time I'm near St. Louis, and you should, too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 top course in STL

1    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played.

Parking right by tee 1 and there is a huge board/ Kiosk right there that has information about events, and the course, along with a place for score cards. There was also a trashcan attached to every tee sign.

Tee pads are nice and long allowing for a good run up on the long holes, and are great for people like me with long strides.

Front nine plays through a mostly open area with scattered large old trees. Uses the hills and trees extremely well to make it a challenging course. I easily navigated the front 9, with only 1 or 2 holes where i had to walk to determine where the basket was before i threw.

The back nine is more open, but has natural prairie grass bordering most of the fairways it was fairly tall and dense. This added a challenge to the course which was nice since it was so open for the most part. The hills seem to be twice as tall than on the front, also adding more of a challenge.
Cons: Although there was a spot for score cards / maps there were none there so i was stuck with no map playing for the first time by myself.

Some added benches would be nice with all the ups and downs it would be nice to have a spot to take a break.

The tee signs are like other STL courses just the distance and a little bolt saying which position the basket is in. this makes it a little difficult to navigate, especially the back 9 where there are more blind shots and multiple baskets in view.

There is a walk or short drive between the front and back which is just a little bit of an annoyance.

Hole 9 also has a steep climb down to the tee box, that could use some steps or something
Other Thoughts: I have heard that the tee signs are going to be replaced in the near future, so that will improve it.

Top holes in my opinion:
Hole #9 is a fun hole where you have to throw up a big hill just to get to a spot where you can see the basket.
Hole #13 down hill shot 500' lots of fun


rumor has it more holes are gonna be added

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play Sioux in the Lou!

5+    12/10/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A beautiful layout through a pristine park. It feels like a complete privilege to have this course in my hometown. It is a course that continues to get me exited every single time I play it.
- Rolling hills, natural grassland areas, beautiful hardwood trees (the fall leaves are awesome), and plenty of wildlife to enjoy in between shots.
- Generally speaking, this is a low traffic course. You shouldn't have to worry about it being crowded…unless there is a tournament going on.
- With 3 or more basket positions per hole, there is a ton of variety. The course can vary from just plain challenging to downright difficult. Vary rarely should you expect the course to be laid out in its easiest setting, so getting a good score will always prove a challenge.
- Baskets are straight, true, and moved on a regular basis.
- Nicely textured concrete tee pads.
- Trash cans on every hole.
- Great kiosk that is full of information and scorecards.
- Bar none, the best bathroom facility that I have EVER seen in a county park! It has auto-flush, auto-wash, auto-dry everything, is open year round, and even smells good.
Cons: - Poor tee signage. They only offer the distances for the various basket positions and indicate which position is being used with a bolt. New signs are in the works as I write this, so this should only be an issue for a short while longer (before STLO '12?). In the meantime, print up a map or figure out the map that is printed on every scorecard.
- The separation of the front 9 and back 9. There is a 500 yard walk from basket 9 to hole 10, and a 500 yard walk back from basket 18 to the parking lot (up a hill). Or you can just get in your car after hole 9 and drive down to the parking lot at hole 10. I am lazy.
- Slight lack of benches. There are benches here and there, but, for the most part, you will want to bring something to sit on if you are playing in a larger group.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the crown jewel of the greater St. Louis area courses. Most locals agree that this course has something special about it that separates it from Jefferson Barracks, Endicott, and the other awesome courses in the area. As soon as you drive through the gates, it is immediately apparent that this park is maintained a grade above most others. The grass is never long, the fallen branches are mostly non-existent, and the leaves are always taken care of.

Around 2006, on the back 9, the parks decided to save some tax dollars and develop a few natural grassland areas. This has actually increased the appeal of the back 9. Just make sure to avoid the tall grass! The grass can get to above head high in certain zones. It will gobble up your piece of CE and spit out road-rashed DX. Just make sure you put your number on it before you throw it…the regulars here tend to be a little more seasoned and try to get things back.

As beautiful as the course is, it tends to get a lot less traffic than the other, more centrally located, courses in the area. Most times that you play the course, you will feel like you have it to yourself. Be sure to visit the www.stlouisdiscgolfclub.com discussion board to set up a group if it is your first time playing.

Occasionally, the local club sets up an additional 18 hole temp layout. This is usually for The Match Play Championships, The Club Championships, and maybe 1 more event per year. It is worth checking out as well.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven in the STL

5+    11/17/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage for individual holes (bring a map to find the 'next' hole), high quality baskets, fairly fresh teepads, amazing hilly/rolling land that the designers made great use of, an extremely diverse course in terms of shots needed to score well, beautiful well spaced trees, very little trash and many provided trash cans, really fun downhill bomb shots and big changes in elevation to aid distance.
Cons: Very few cons - but as with many courses it may be tough to find the next hole 'quickly' if you are a first timer here. Take a map. The course may be a bit hilly and physically challenging for those who have trouble with steep hills. A little bit of non DG traffic, but the park is big enough that it isn't really an issue.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. I think a DG noobie might find this a bit daunting - this course almost demands driving control and a distance of 250ft+. This is an excellent, fun, pro level course with some of the coolest hills and most prestine 'wooded' areas you'll ever find on a DG course. The signature hole is #13 (a massive 600ft downhill), but the shots across the natural valley on the front 9 are equally fun. Definitely a course worth driving out of your way for - and it's often a quiet, low-traffic course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

5+    10/16/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: always well maintained. throwing a 500'+ shot is possible for everyone here on 13. its a great place to let 'em rip.
Cons: other than there are no benches anywhere in this park its one of my favorites. it would be nice to sit down with all the hill climbing you do.
Other Thoughts: a must play in the STL metro area!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.