Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Florissant), MO 
Sioux Passage - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 520ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee (low hanging foliage just off tee reduces options considerably; plays uphill with tough shule down entire left side of fairway)



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Exactly what a course should be!

2-4    3/17/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: stach23
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distance, open, elevation, scenic, shot variety, well-maintained.
Cons: Signage, elevation can wear you down quick.
Other Thoughts: Sioux Passage is almost the epitome of a perfect course. It has everything a course should: long holes, short holes, very long holes, very short holes, actual defined fairways, scenery, everything. The elevation changes can definitely wear you down, especially on the back, but it's well worth it. My only complaint is the signage. There's a sign telling you the distance and pin, but no map of telling you where each pin is, leaving you completely blind sometimes. Simply put, this course is phenomenal, and I'm playing it every time I'm near St. Louis, and you should, too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2012   3/15/2013
Review By: 4thcoffey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful. Nice big evergreens offer great scenery. Some holes, like 1 and 4, a large tree is directly in front of the tee box about 30 feet or so, making it extra challenging and fun.

There are some good 'rip it' holes on the front 9 (my favorites are 2 and 6 because you drive over and down a sort of valley.) Other holes require more precision, like 9 where you are maybe 50 feet below the fairway trying to funnel your drive through the narrow opening in the trees above your head - good hole.
Cons: Not many cons from me. I did get a disc stuck far up a pine tree once. The large, sweeping full branches swallowed my Teebird. Failed attempts to get it out. A guy behind me caught up to me and had a 50 foot ladder in his truck. Thanks to whoever you are.

The trees aren't a real con but it makes me a lot more cautious when throwing near them.

Some trash left on the course.

Streets with traffic may come into play on some holes, especially the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Top course I've ever played so far. Will be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed emotions

5+    5/19/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage has four pin positions that make the course really easy or extremely difficult depending on the positions, most of the time they are mixed positions making the course really playable. The tee boxes are mostly open with fairly open fairways. The Park Dept. does a great job at cutting the fairways giving you a feeling of a top tier course. The front nine plays like a true park course, while the back nine play more like a links style course with a lot of OB in the wildflower areas and a lot of elevation change.
Cons: The back nine can wear you out really fast if you haven't had a good meal. Everything is up and down, every hole. If the pins are in the long positions it can make the back 9 a really frustrating round. If you play before or after a tourney expect the pins to be in the longest, hardest placements.

You have to drive from the front nine to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Best played in April-May!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Longest Course Around

2-4    0/0/0000   4/20/2012
Review By: graydisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Long drivers dream! Tees are great. Very well maintained.course. Elevation changes are a interesting twist. 800ft holes....WHAT!
Cons: Wind will really effect your game. Maps of the hole would be great at each Tee. Course is mostly out in the open. 800ft holes....WHAT?
Other Thoughts: Park is big enough to have two 18 hole courses. Overall one of the best courses in the area!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent Monster of a Course

5+    3/6/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course literally has everything. Huge, wide open shots across valleys, up hills and down hills, tight wooded shots, everything. There are 700+ foot holes and some that are barely 100 feet, and they all flow very well together.
-The course is always well kept. Hardly any trash, very manicured fairways and greens. Amazing views from some of the tees, especially hole 13, a huge 600 foot downhill shot that you MUST empty your bag on. There are so many ways to play that hole you have to try every possibility.
-Even though the course is split up by about a 1/2 mile drive (which is a nice break from the super long front), each set of 9 feels like a different course, which is a very cool thing in my opinion.
-I have never once had a problem with the course being over played or too crowded. It is pretty far away from the actual city, but it is definitely worth the drive, and I have had the course to myself and my group multiple times.
Cons: -Very very long holes. This may not be a con, but it is very tiring having to throw 600+ feet 5 or 6 times a round.
-Extremely hilly. Be prepared to have a very exhausting round and be very tired at the tee of hole 18, which is intimidating enough as it is.
-If you shank a drive, you can lose your disc on some holes very easily if you take your eyes off of it. Watch all of your drives and shots to where they land, you can think your shot is going to end, only for it to roll 50+ more feet into tall grass and lose it forever.
Other Thoughts: If this course were actually in the city, it would be my favorite, no contest. But because I live 10 minutes from Jefferson Barracks as opposed to 45 minutes from Sioux, it will have to take second best to JB. But by no means is this any lesser of a course than JB. Fabulous views, very diverse holes, amazing opportunities to unleash monster drives and watch your disc fly FAR. A very fun round that you must venture out to when in St. Louis.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 top course in STL

1    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played.

Parking right by tee 1 and there is a huge board/ Kiosk right there that has information about events, and the course, along with a place for score cards. There was also a trashcan attached to every tee sign.

Tee pads are nice and long allowing for a good run up on the long holes, and are great for people like me with long strides.

Front nine plays through a mostly open area with scattered large old trees. Uses the hills and trees extremely well to make it a challenging course. I easily navigated the front 9, with only 1 or 2 holes where i had to walk to determine where the basket was before i threw.

The back nine is more open, but has natural prairie grass bordering most of the fairways it was fairly tall and dense. This added a challenge to the course which was nice since it was so open for the most part. The hills seem to be twice as tall than on the front, also adding more of a challenge.
Cons: Although there was a spot for score cards / maps there were none there so i was stuck with no map playing for the first time by myself.

Some added benches would be nice with all the ups and downs it would be nice to have a spot to take a break.

The tee signs are like other STL courses just the distance and a little bolt saying which position the basket is in. this makes it a little difficult to navigate, especially the back 9 where there are more blind shots and multiple baskets in view.

There is a walk or short drive between the front and back which is just a little bit of an annoyance.

Hole 9 also has a steep climb down to the tee box, that could use some steps or something
Other Thoughts: I have heard that the tee signs are going to be replaced in the near future, so that will improve it.

Top holes in my opinion:
Hole #9 is a fun hole where you have to throw up a big hill just to get to a spot where you can see the basket.
Hole #13 down hill shot 500' lots of fun


rumor has it more holes are gonna be added

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play Sioux in the Lou!

5+    12/10/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A beautiful layout through a pristine park. It feels like a complete privilege to have this course in my hometown. It is a course that continues to get me exited every single time I play it.
- Rolling hills, natural grassland areas, beautiful hardwood trees (the fall leaves are awesome), and plenty of wildlife to enjoy in between shots.
- Generally speaking, this is a low traffic course. You shouldn't have to worry about it being crowded…unless there is a tournament going on.
- With 3 or more basket positions per hole, there is a ton of variety. The course can vary from just plain challenging to downright difficult. Vary rarely should you expect the course to be laid out in its easiest setting, so getting a good score will always prove a challenge.
- Baskets are straight, true, and moved on a regular basis.
- Nicely textured concrete tee pads.
- Trash cans on every hole.
- Great kiosk that is full of information and scorecards.
- Bar none, the best bathroom facility that I have EVER seen in a county park! It has auto-flush, auto-wash, auto-dry everything, is open year round, and even smells good.
Cons: - Poor tee signage. They only offer the distances for the various basket positions and indicate which position is being used with a bolt. New signs are in the works as I write this, so this should only be an issue for a short while longer (before STLO '12?). In the meantime, print up a map or figure out the map that is printed on every scorecard.
- The separation of the front 9 and back 9. There is a 500 yard walk from basket 9 to hole 10, and a 500 yard walk back from basket 18 to the parking lot (up a hill). Or you can just get in your car after hole 9 and drive down to the parking lot at hole 10. I am lazy.
- Slight lack of benches. There are benches here and there, but, for the most part, you will want to bring something to sit on if you are playing in a larger group.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the crown jewel of the greater St. Louis area courses. Most locals agree that this course has something special about it that separates it from Jefferson Barracks, Endicott, and the other awesome courses in the area. As soon as you drive through the gates, it is immediately apparent that this park is maintained a grade above most others. The grass is never long, the fallen branches are mostly non-existent, and the leaves are always taken care of.

Around 2006, on the back 9, the parks decided to save some tax dollars and develop a few natural grassland areas. This has actually increased the appeal of the back 9. Just make sure to avoid the tall grass! The grass can get to above head high in certain zones. It will gobble up your piece of CE and spit out road-rashed DX. Just make sure you put your number on it before you throw it…the regulars here tend to be a little more seasoned and try to get things back.

As beautiful as the course is, it tends to get a lot less traffic than the other, more centrally located, courses in the area. Most times that you play the course, you will feel like you have it to yourself. Be sure to visit the www.stlouisdiscgolfclub.com discussion board to set up a group if it is your first time playing.

Occasionally, the local club sets up an additional 18 hole temp layout. This is usually for The Match Play Championships, The Club Championships, and maybe 1 more event per year. It is worth checking out as well.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven in the STL

5+    11/17/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage for individual holes (bring a map to find the 'next' hole), high quality baskets, fairly fresh teepads, amazing hilly/rolling land that the designers made great use of, an extremely diverse course in terms of shots needed to score well, beautiful well spaced trees, very little trash and many provided trash cans, really fun downhill bomb shots and big changes in elevation to aid distance.
Cons: Very few cons - but as with many courses it may be tough to find the next hole 'quickly' if you are a first timer here. Take a map. The course may be a bit hilly and physically challenging for those who have trouble with steep hills. A little bit of non DG traffic, but the park is big enough that it isn't really an issue.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. I think a DG noobie might find this a bit daunting - this course almost demands driving control and a distance of 250ft+. This is an excellent, fun, pro level course with some of the coolest hills and most prestine 'wooded' areas you'll ever find on a DG course. The signature hole is #13 (a massive 600ft downhill), but the shots across the natural valley on the front 9 are equally fun. Definitely a course worth driving out of your way for - and it's often a quiet, low-traffic course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

5+    10/16/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: always well maintained. throwing a 500'+ shot is possible for everyone here on 13. its a great place to let 'em rip.
Cons: other than there are no benches anywhere in this park its one of my favorites. it would be nice to sit down with all the hill climbing you do.
Other Thoughts: a must play in the STL metro area!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sioux Passage

1    10/13/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: j_wilcut
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: An amazing course that was extremely well maintained. This entire course is beautiful especially on a fall day. Hole 13 was awesome. There were trash bins at every hole I believe.
Cons: It was really wind. But thats just the nature of the game.
One true con would be that there weren't any benches at the tee pads. Its always nice to take a rest from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the STL area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.