Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Florissant), MO 
Sioux Passage - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Tough, but an enjoyable course

1    7/10/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: bdjohns1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was in great condition. Fairways are being mowed, and it looks like they are addressing one of the complaints I had with the course in the not-too-distant future - they have samples of the new hole-map tee signs on #1 and #10 now. I'm pretty new to the game, and the distance here compared to my home course in WI was a little bit of a wakeup.

The course makes great use of the terrain, although in most cases, the way it's used tends to reward those with monster arms off the tee, especially on the valley holes on the front 9, and the last few holes on the back 9.

Favorite shots: Approaches on #3, 17, and 18. Tee shots on 7, 9, 13.
Cons: This was my first time on the course, and we had to walk a couple of the holes to establish where the baskets actually were at (#14, #17, #18 in particular). As a few other mentioned, the tees for #9 and #12 need to be signed a little bit more obviously from the previous baskets.

As the baskets were set last week, the course was playing north of 8000 feet. We can't all have bomber arms - I like when a course offers two tee options so that if you're in a group with folks who're still throwing 200-250, it's a fair fight.
Other Thoughts: A lot of the photos of this course are taken without foliage. The #9 tee is just mean when everything's grown in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/23/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to play in this area when I'm in the mood for long shots, wide open fairways, and lots of hills.

Some of the holes are memorable, such as:

Holes 2 and 6 shoot over a grassy valley of sorts that requires a good 275 foot throw or you end up at the bottom of the valley. I've seen a lot of players taking second shots from the bottom of the valley, so it's a good feeling when you get in a shot that clears the whole thing and lands near the basket.

Hole 9 is unique from my experience since it is a narrow, very steep, uphill shot through trees. Many people seem to nail a tree or two on the way up.

Hole 13 is my favorite since the tee is at the top of a hill, under a nice shade tree, overlooking an expansive grassy area and a somewhat steep fairway of around 550 feet. There's something fun about throwing off a long hill. A really good shot can make this in two shots, but we usually get there in three to four.

Hole 15 is just plain evil as it curves right and climbs a long, steep hill, especially this last time since the pin was set at the 666 mark. Those of a fundamentalist world view might want to avoid this hell hole. ;-)

Hole 16 is another long shot from the top of a hill, but less steep it seems than 13. Still, I made it in three shots plus a putt since the elevation helps.

Hole 17 runs along some woods on the left so I tend to compensate and go too far right, right into the unmowed area.

Hole 18 is one where the fairway leads you left, but I find it more advantageous to throw slightly right, over the tall grass toward the park road. From there it's more of a straight shot to the basket. Plus, I can sometimes find a lost disc in the tall grass, assuming I don't lose my own in the process.

Nice concrete pads with distance signs, but no pictures on the posts so sometimes one has to guess where to throw or consult a map.

Friendly park manager is himself a DG player and he's open to suggestions for course improvement.

Spring is a beautiful time to play this course since it has several flowering trees next to tee boxes or along fairways.



Cons: Most holes are very long so it can be tiresome for beginners, particularly the long, steep, uphill fairways. While my family liked this course, they felt like it dragged on, especially the back nine that has repeated, long fairways in the 550 to 800 foot range. So it's better for stronger players.

During sunny, hot days this course can make one sweat a bit. I prefer to play it early morning or later in the day during the summer.
Other Thoughts: The second 18 holes are almost complete. Should be open in June. I walked through a couple of holes and they're much narrower and more technical with plenty of trees to avoid.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Passage of Time

1    5/12/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept and taken care of park
-Good concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin-positions on each hole.
-This course had a lot of elevation change. Most the the holes had either downhill or up hill incorporated into them. There are even a couple of shots across a small valley which were a lot of fun (the valley shots were holes 2 and 6, and were two of my favorite on the course).
-The course has a good variety of distances on the course. There are some holes are 200 and 300 feet, and then a lot of holes that are quite a bit longer, in the 500 to 800 foot range. The back nine definitely longer than the front nine.
-The course didn't seem to interfere with other park areas or activities.
-Holes 18 was an awesome hole. It is about an 800 foot downhill shot, down a somewhat curvy fairway, with thick foliage down the side of the fairway. The hole finishes by going down into some trees and across a small stream. It was a lot of fun hole.
-The course made pretty good use of the trees it had. The thick foliage off to the side of some fairways helps to add some risk/reward and punishment for a bad shot.
-Quite a few fairways, especially on the back nine, had a fairways mowed into the taller grass, helping to add a little more challenge to some of the more open holes.
-My three favorite holes were holes 6 (one of the shots across the valley, hole 9 (a shot straight up a hill, through probably the tightest fairway on the course, to a more open basket), and the aforementioned hole 18. These holes were a lot of fun and the most memorable holes on the course.
-Gateway Titan baskets were in great shape and caught well.
Cons: -Tee-signs only have the distance and par on them. Since a lot of the baskets aren't visible from the tee-pad, it would be nice to have tee-signs showing a lay-out of the course to avoid walking up the fairway to get an idea of where the basket is located.
-Not a fan of having to drive or walk between the front and back nine, I prefer to be able to play my full 18 without having a break in between.
-The back nine was a little bit more wide open than the front nine and it was a little too wide open for my taste. Other than hole 18, it would be nice to see some more trees incorporated into the back nine.
-This course could use some more benches to rest on as there is a lot of walking involved in this course.
-A couple of navigation issues. It took me a while to find the tee for hole 12 as it was hidden just inside a grove of trees. Signs at each basket pointing toward the next tee-pad would be very useful.
Other Thoughts: This course was a lot of fun but it just didn't have the wow factor that I expect from a 4 disc or higher rated course. If I could I would give it a 3.75 rating as I feel it is a little higher than a 3.5 rating. It had some good fun holes but just didn't wow me like some other courses, and was a little too wide open compared to what I prefer. If you are in the area definitely give this course a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass on Sioux Passage

1    4/20/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course in a very clean, well-maintained, county park. Hilly to say the least, Sioux Passage feels and plays like two separate 9-hole courses.

• Front is a nice, open, park-style course playing up and down across rolling hills. Elevation is significant on every hole, and figures more prominently on some pin placements than others. Opens design means you can take almost any route you want, but long and straight's all you need for most 'em. Just a smattering of trees to avoid on most holes - distance, elevation, and roll-a-ways are the greatest threats on the front. Trees are more significant on #8 and a force to contend with on 9. Many "fun for all" type of holes with low chance of disc loss

• Back-9 = front-9 on steroids: Bigger, bolder, badder, and better. Although it's still fairly open, I'd say holes 10 -18 shed that "nice, park-style" feel and the DG gets more serious, amping up the elevation and bringing trees and brush into play more prominently. Holes require more definitive lines than the front, over greater distances with more intimidating obstacles and OB, and can make you pay for missing your line. Long, humbling uphills and bag emptying downhills, rolling terrain, trees, and a couple of sweeping hyzers and annies… all combine to take things to another level. More fun and challenge for the intermediate and advanced player than the front.

• Equipment: Nice concrete tees, DGA baskets are all in great repair. Signs are basic but effective and graffiti free: hole #, distance to each pin placement, bolt shows current basket location. Signs don't show pin locations relative to tee, but most baskets are visible from the tee, so you don't need to walk too many fairways.
• Routing/Nav: Front flows very well. Back is harder to follow, but isn't really too bad, and the holes on the back are well worth the slightly choppy flow. The maps are pretty accurate. My only complaint is the schlep from front to back.
• Memorable holes: several...
#9 Rises sharply up from the tee pad with a tight line though a well-wooded alley to the open playing surface above - much more intimidating than the course had been to this point. It's a neat hole that hits you like a rude awakening after the previous eight.
#12 about 400' . . . u p h i l l
#13 Monster Ace Run back down the hill you just walked up. I don't care who ya' are, that's fun right there.
#16 Long, slightly downhill bomber with trees guarding the pin.
#18 Strong finishing hole, where a 2 stroke lead may not be safe.
• Aesthetics: Quite pleasant, but nothing out of the ordinary. Some tees attractively dressed up with nice stonework to fight erosion.
• Clean restrooms with running water near #3 basket, and across road from #'s1 & 9.
Cons: Not without faults, but there's nothing glaringly wrong.
• Could use more holes that dare you to hold a specific line (long sweeping hyzers or annies) and/or a few more technical holes for better overall balance.
• Nicely mowed when I played, but tall, prairie grass defining fairwaiys on the back can swallow discs… at least they ruled it OB, which means it truly impacts the game.
• ¼ mile between front & back nine - who wants to drive to the back 9?
Other Thoughts: If you like to bomb, then Sioux's for you. Favors distance over placement, especially the front, and even though I like short, technical courses, I can't list this as a con. Big arms should also do well on the back, but the back will make you pay for missing lines, whereas missing lines on the front can be painless. Wind can definitely be a factor here, especially given the distances and the amount of time it gets to work on your disc, so a wide range of stabilities can help.

One could make the argument Sioux Passage is really two different nine-hole courses: front and back are in completely different sections of the park (even have their own parking). They play quite differently and to different skill levels, with the front having little to no rough to avoid, and the back featuring some very significant rough, longer shots and more significant elevation. Nonetheless, it's listed as 18, and together, they provide a reasonably well balanced round.

All in all, I had a blast playing here. Front eases you in and the rolling terrain keeps it from feeling boring. Holes 1-9 are fairly well suited for beginners to intermediates and have a decent fun factor. 18 holes of this would be good to very good. The back made me very glad I stopped here, with more variety, challenge, and a few holes to make you think. 18 holes like this could be phenomenal... that's how I arrived at my rating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

1    12/31/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: Vonbeezy1
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Good hole designs. Good mix of deucable and bogey holes. Risk/reward comes into play often.
Cons: This is the only time I've played, so if I'm wrong I apologize. There was no map of the course or scorecards to tell me where to throw. There was a distance sign but nothing telling me where to throw. Baskets not visible on lots of holes, wouldn't be a big deal if there were signs. Nothing telling you direction of next hole. And THE WORST THING OF ALL is driving to the back 9. I had to wait for someone to tell me where to drive. That is the silliest thing about this course.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

North County's Finest

5+    11/19/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage is truly a championship level course. It is full of beautiful vast rolling hills that feature very large old trees that create a gnarly course layout. Be prepared to throw big and accurate all day long here as it will be difficult to score without throwing big boy. Due to multiple pin locations, there are a few holes that may provide "easier" opportunities for birdies but for the most part.. you really have to earn your strokes. This course is made even better by the abundance of deer that call the property home.
Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Accurate Signage- Easy to Navigate
-Trash Cans
- Pavilions, River access, Camping, Tennis, Multiple Playgrounds
- Punishing OB
-Secluded, peaceful rounds
-COMING SOON-- an additional 18 hole course
Cons: -Have to drive to the back 9

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easily in my Top 5

5+    9/7/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Rolling Hills - Challenging - Well Maintained - Multiple Pin Placements - Concrete Tee Pads - Trash Cans - Restrooms

Sioux Passage has always been one of my favorites. The fairway grass is ALWAYS cut and the rest of the park is very well maintained. The huge rolling hills provide beautiful scenery and create huge opportunities to air out some crushing drives. The big elevation changes add a new level of difficulty to the round as well because you don't always feel the wind across the valley. That said, this isn't just a crush bomber course, you need distance as well as accuracy to score well. As you finish the front 9, you're throwing from the bottom of a hill almost straight up 75-100' just to get out of the woods. Once you're out, you have another 100-300' to the pin (depending on which position it is in).
The back 9 provides even more challenges as there is tall prairie grass on most holes creating devastating OB. This is some of the roughest OB I've been in as it can get nearly 6' tall in some areas. That said, the back 9 offers huge risk for huge reward. You'll almost always pick up a couple strokes on the competition if you can stay in bounds all day. Hole 13 is a signature hole of the course and probably St. Louis as it is a straight down hill with OB street on the left, OB parking lot on behind the pin and rough trees on the right. The fairway is wide open, but you have over a 100' drop in elevation, head wind and OB to contend with. You'll gladly empty your bag practicing this ultra-fun shot.
Concrete tee pads and large retaining walls give the course a finished, manicured look, even though they could do with some backfill now that the dirt is starting to wash away in some areas. Additionally, multiple pin placements make this course even harder because they can add up to 300' to a hole in some cases. Sioux Passage is a true Championship Course and it just gets better every time we play out there. There are also nice restroom facilities in the park and trash cans on almost every hole.
* Future note: They are in the process of installing another 18 holes at this course , which are all more wooded type holes. The combination of what is there and what they're designing could very well make Sioux Passage the best place to play 36 holes in the entire Mid-West.
Cons: Tee Signs - Water - Top & Bottom

The only (minor) downfalls of this course are the tee signs. Once they have geographically specific tee signs, there really won't be any reason for uncertainty when you drive. Unfortunately, there aren't many drinking fountains and the sinks in the restrooms are the "green" ones that squirt soap, then water, then air for drying. The point is, bring a lot of your own water. The front 9 is in the top half of the course and you can either take a longish walk to get down to the back 9, or just drive. We drive almost every time, which isn't so bad. Lastly, this isn't a con, per se, but more of a warning. There isn't a ton of shade at Sioux, so be prepared for a hot day if you come in the middle of summer. Plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting St. Louis and looking for an epic disc golf experience, this is it. This course can beat you up, but you'll be glad it did because it is a great course in every sense of the meaning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Passage

1    7/22/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Big beautiful park that is well maintained.
-Has score cards with map on the back of it. Which made it easy to navigate.
-Pristine landscape
-Nice concrete tee off pads.
-Own parking lot for disc golf players with a kiosk to tell you whats going on the course and around stl.
-3 different pin locations for each hole.
-Very clean park, trash cans at every hole.
-Nice bathrooms.
-Great for grip it and rip it people. You can really bomb the disc on this course.
-Nice baskets with soft chains.
-Nice signage.
-Hardly anyone playing the course, pretty much had the whole thing to ourselves.
-Challenging course, esp back nine. Takes a lot of shots to play this course.
-Rolling hills and great elevation changes.
Cons: -Biggest con for me is the distance. This course is about 40 mins from where I live.
-Would not recommend this course to anyone that has problems getting around.. a lot of walking.
-Some of the holes are 800+ ft, which sometimes feels more like an edurance contest rather then golf.
-A few holes play really close to the roads.
-The back nine is 1/4 of a mile down the road from the front.
-Some holes it is easy to lose a disc or two, big wildflower plots on the back nine that grow pretty tall.
-Doesn't always have the greatest flow to the course, a few holes finish really far from the next.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really love this course. It is my second favorite course only behind JB. This is a must play and can't wait to play it again. There were score cards at the kiosk which really helped because of the map on the back. I would strongly suggest printing out your own map just incase they aren't there when you play. This course will be very hard to play without map.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mountain of potential

1    7/10/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: KoenigStern
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Massive fairways for grip it/rip it drives
- Gorgeous park
- Length of grass creates realistic fairway
- Decent selection of different shots, especially on back 9.
- No nearby parks, so no people or kids in the way, with the exception of hole 16 [basketball court]
Cons: - Tee signs are in front and in back of tee, first time playing, it was hard to determine which direction I was throwing. [threw to wrong basket on 11, threw to 16]
- Tee signs also don't have a map
- It doesn't have the greatest flow. You have to drive about a 1/4 mile to reach back 9.
- Tall grass on back 9, hard to find discs
- There are prickly weeds behind hole 14, my friends legs got mauled, and the thing is, pin C is back in the thicket.
- Lack of utilities [bathrooms, water fountains]
- The course is a bit out of the way from I-270.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course because of the open fairways. Holes 1, 2, 6, 13, 15 and 16 were very fun to drive on. I had my furthest throws on 6 and 13. I may have more cons than pros because it was my first time playing and I live an hour away. I wasn't pleased with the flow of the course, the non-informative tee signs, the tall grass and high incline uphill shots. I enjoyed the front 9 much more than the back 9 simply because the back 9 is hard to navigate. My friend and I drove off of 11 and shot on 16 [it was a fun hole, haha] and we couldn't find tee 12 until we decided to skip it and then found it once we stood on 13's tee. We threw a few times in the tall grass and spent an average of 10 minutes looking for a disc. With it all said and done, we played a 3 hour round of 18, which is way too long for 2 players. The park recreational department can do much more to make this course a pleasing experience. I can see this course being a great course if they would simply make better tee signs with maps, signs pointing to next tee, cut fields of tall grass [but long enough to be seen as "rough"] and better baskets [wasn't really an issue] I would love to replay the course with a more updated tee sign/map system, but until then, the hour drive is not worth it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Course

1    6/24/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: - beautiful, well-maintained park
- wide open and long course
- rolling hills make for good elevation change
- less technical, but makes up for it with tons of distance and OB
- multiple pin positions
- concrete pads
- huge downhill drive on hole 13
Cons: - back 9 are located in a separate area that isn't indicated without a map
- tee for 12 can also be hard to locate without a map
- tee signage doesn't include maps
- back 9 has some tall grass that can eat discs
Other Thoughts: as someone who likes to grip it and rip it, this is my new favorite course. it keeps from being boring by using elevation and tree lines as adequate obstacles. very pretty park makes the long course an enjoyable walk. i highly recommend giving this course a try.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.