St. Louis (Florissant), MO
Sioux Passage Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 520ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
 Decent course

1    12/31/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: Vonbeezy1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Good hole designs. Good mix of deucable and bogey holes. Risk/reward comes into play often.
Cons: This is the only time I've played, so if I'm wrong I apologize. There was no map of the course or scorecards to tell me where to throw. There was a distance sign but nothing telling me where to throw. Baskets not visible on lots of holes, wouldn't be a big deal if there were signs. Nothing telling you direction of next hole. And THE WORST THING OF ALL is driving to the back 9. I had to wait for someone to tell me where to drive. That is the silliest thing about this course.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful grounds

2-4    10/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: maxburn
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent design
Rough areas/ OB is well placed and you pay if you stray!
requires strategic play
Holes are separated and you may not see others
Cons: Not being a real long thrower, it seems like you just keep throwing on a few holes.
In wet weather, the tall rough, all of 5' in summer will slice you up.
Lose discs in the large grasses
Other Thoughts: A real DG course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

North County's Finest

5+    11/19/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage is truly a championship level course. It is full of beautiful vast rolling hills that feature very large old trees that create a gnarly course layout. Be prepared to throw big and accurate all day long here as it will be difficult to score without throwing big boy. Due to multiple pin locations, there are a few holes that may provide "easier" opportunities for birdies but for the most part.. you really have to earn your strokes. This course is made even better by the abundance of deer that call the property home.
Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Accurate Signage- Easy to Navigate
-Trash Cans
- Pavilions, River access, Camping, Tennis, Multiple Playgrounds
- Punishing OB
-Secluded, peaceful rounds
-COMING SOON-- an additional 18 hole course
Cons: -Have to drive to the back 9

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easily in my Top 5

5+    9/7/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Rolling Hills - Challenging - Well Maintained - Multiple Pin Placements - Concrete Tee Pads - Trash Cans - Restrooms

Sioux Passage has always been one of my favorites. The fairway grass is ALWAYS cut and the rest of the park is very well maintained. The huge rolling hills provide beautiful scenery and create huge opportunities to air out some crushing drives. The big elevation changes add a new level of difficulty to the round as well because you don't always feel the wind across the valley. That said, this isn't just a crush bomber course, you need distance as well as accuracy to score well. As you finish the front 9, you're throwing from the bottom of a hill almost straight up 75-100' just to get out of the woods. Once you're out, you have another 100-300' to the pin (depending on which position it is in).
The back 9 provides even more challenges as there is tall prairie grass on most holes creating devastating OB. This is some of the roughest OB I've been in as it can get nearly 6' tall in some areas. That said, the back 9 offers huge risk for huge reward. You'll almost always pick up a couple strokes on the competition if you can stay in bounds all day. Hole 13 is a signature hole of the course and probably St. Louis as it is a straight down hill with OB street on the left, OB parking lot on behind the pin and rough trees on the right. The fairway is wide open, but you have over a 100' drop in elevation, head wind and OB to contend with. You'll gladly empty your bag practicing this ultra-fun shot.
Concrete tee pads and large retaining walls give the course a finished, manicured look, even though they could do with some backfill now that the dirt is starting to wash away in some areas. Additionally, multiple pin placements make this course even harder because they can add up to 300' to a hole in some cases. Sioux Passage is a true Championship Course and it just gets better every time we play out there. There are also nice restroom facilities in the park and trash cans on almost every hole.
* Future note: They are in the process of installing another 18 holes at this course , which are all more wooded type holes. The combination of what is there and what they're designing could very well make Sioux Passage the best place to play 36 holes in the entire Mid-West.
Cons: Tee Signs - Water - Top & Bottom

The only (minor) downfalls of this course are the tee signs. Once they have geographically specific tee signs, there really won't be any reason for uncertainty when you drive. Unfortunately, there aren't many drinking fountains and the sinks in the restrooms are the "green" ones that squirt soap, then water, then air for drying. The point is, bring a lot of your own water. The front 9 is in the top half of the course and you can either take a longish walk to get down to the back 9, or just drive. We drive almost every time, which isn't so bad. Lastly, this isn't a con, per se, but more of a warning. There isn't a ton of shade at Sioux, so be prepared for a hot day if you come in the middle of summer. Plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting St. Louis and looking for an epic disc golf experience, this is it. This course can beat you up, but you'll be glad it did because it is a great course in every sense of the meaning.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Passage

1    7/22/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Big beautiful park that is well maintained.
-Has score cards with map on the back of it. Which made it easy to navigate.
-Pristine landscape
-Nice concrete tee off pads.
-Own parking lot for disc golf players with a kiosk to tell you whats going on the course and around stl.
-3 different pin locations for each hole.
-Very clean park, trash cans at every hole.
-Nice bathrooms.
-Great for grip it and rip it people. You can really bomb the disc on this course.
-Nice baskets with soft chains.
-Nice signage.
-Hardly anyone playing the course, pretty much had the whole thing to ourselves.
-Challenging course, esp back nine. Takes a lot of shots to play this course.
-Rolling hills and great elevation changes.
Cons: -Biggest con for me is the distance. This course is about 40 mins from where I live.
-Would not recommend this course to anyone that has problems getting around.. a lot of walking.
-Some of the holes are 800+ ft, which sometimes feels more like an edurance contest rather then golf.
-A few holes play really close to the roads.
-The back nine is 1/4 of a mile down the road from the front.
-Some holes it is easy to lose a disc or two, big wildflower plots on the back nine that grow pretty tall.
-Doesn't always have the greatest flow to the course, a few holes finish really far from the next.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really love this course. It is my second favorite course only behind JB. This is a must play and can't wait to play it again. There were score cards at the kiosk which really helped because of the map on the back. I would strongly suggest printing out your own map just incase they aren't there when you play. This course will be very hard to play without map.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mountain of potential

1    7/10/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: KoenigStern
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Massive fairways for grip it/rip it drives
- Gorgeous park
- Length of grass creates realistic fairway
- Decent selection of different shots, especially on back 9.
- No nearby parks, so no people or kids in the way, with the exception of hole 16 [basketball court]
Cons: - Tee signs are in front and in back of tee, first time playing, it was hard to determine which direction I was throwing. [threw to wrong basket on 11, threw to 16]
- Tee signs also don't have a map
- It doesn't have the greatest flow. You have to drive about a 1/4 mile to reach back 9.
- Tall grass on back 9, hard to find discs
- There are prickly weeds behind hole 14, my friends legs got mauled, and the thing is, pin C is back in the thicket.
- Lack of utilities [bathrooms, water fountains]
- The course is a bit out of the way from I-270.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course because of the open fairways. Holes 1, 2, 6, 13, 15 and 16 were very fun to drive on. I had my furthest throws on 6 and 13. I may have more cons than pros because it was my first time playing and I live an hour away. I wasn't pleased with the flow of the course, the non-informative tee signs, the tall grass and high incline uphill shots. I enjoyed the front 9 much more than the back 9 simply because the back 9 is hard to navigate. My friend and I drove off of 11 and shot on 16 [it was a fun hole, haha] and we couldn't find tee 12 until we decided to skip it and then found it once we stood on 13's tee. We threw a few times in the tall grass and spent an average of 10 minutes looking for a disc. With it all said and done, we played a 3 hour round of 18, which is way too long for 2 players. The park recreational department can do much more to make this course a pleasing experience. I can see this course being a great course if they would simply make better tee signs with maps, signs pointing to next tee, cut fields of tall grass [but long enough to be seen as "rough"] and better baskets [wasn't really an issue] I would love to replay the course with a more updated tee sign/map system, but until then, the hour drive is not worth it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Course

1    6/24/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: - beautiful, well-maintained park
- wide open and long course
- rolling hills make for good elevation change
- less technical, but makes up for it with tons of distance and OB
- multiple pin positions
- concrete pads
- huge downhill drive on hole 13
Cons: - back 9 are located in a separate area that isn't indicated without a map
- tee for 12 can also be hard to locate without a map
- tee signage doesn't include maps
- back 9 has some tall grass that can eat discs
Other Thoughts: as someone who likes to grip it and rip it, this is my new favorite course. it keeps from being boring by using elevation and tree lines as adequate obstacles. very pretty park makes the long course an enjoyable walk. i highly recommend giving this course a try.

Exactly what a course should be!

2-4    3/17/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: stach23
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distance, open, elevation, scenic, shot variety, well-maintained.
Cons: Signage, elevation can wear you down quick.
Other Thoughts: Sioux Passage is almost the epitome of a perfect course. It has everything a course should: long holes, short holes, very long holes, very short holes, actual defined fairways, scenery, everything. The elevation changes can definitely wear you down, especially on the back, but it's well worth it. My only complaint is the signage. There's a sign telling you the distance and pin, but no map of telling you where each pin is, leaving you completely blind sometimes. Simply put, this course is phenomenal, and I'm playing it every time I'm near St. Louis, and you should, too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2012   3/15/2013
Review By: 4thcoffey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful. Nice big evergreens offer great scenery. Some holes, like 1 and 4, a large tree is directly in front of the tee box about 30 feet or so, making it extra challenging and fun.

There are some good 'rip it' holes on the front 9 (my favorites are 2 and 6 because you drive over and down a sort of valley.) Other holes require more precision, like 9 where you are maybe 50 feet below the fairway trying to funnel your drive through the narrow opening in the trees above your head - good hole.
Cons: Not many cons from me. I did get a disc stuck far up a pine tree once. The large, sweeping full branches swallowed my Teebird. Failed attempts to get it out. A guy behind me caught up to me and had a 50 foot ladder in his truck. Thanks to whoever you are.

The trees aren't a real con but it makes me a lot more cautious when throwing near them.

Some trash left on the course.

Streets with traffic may come into play on some holes, especially the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Top course I've ever played so far. Will be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed emotions

5+    5/19/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage has four pin positions that make the course really easy or extremely difficult depending on the positions, most of the time they are mixed positions making the course really playable. The tee boxes are mostly open with fairly open fairways. The Park Dept. does a great job at cutting the fairways giving you a feeling of a top tier course. The front nine plays like a true park course, while the back nine play more like a links style course with a lot of OB in the wildflower areas and a lot of elevation change.
Cons: The back nine can wear you out really fast if you haven't had a good meal. Everything is up and down, every hole. If the pins are in the long positions it can make the back 9 a really frustrating round. If you play before or after a tourney expect the pins to be in the longest, hardest placements.

You have to drive from the front nine to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Best played in April-May!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.