St. Louis (Florissant), MO
Sioux Passage Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 387ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket toTee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Longest Course Around

2-4    0/0/0000   4/20/2012
Review By: graydisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Long drivers dream! Tees are great. Very well maintained.course. Elevation changes are a interesting twist. 800ft holes....WHAT!
Cons: Wind will really effect your game. Maps of the hole would be great at each Tee. Course is mostly out in the open. 800ft holes....WHAT?
Other Thoughts: Park is big enough to have two 18 hole courses. Overall one of the best courses in the area!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Magnificent Monster of a Course

5+    3/6/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course literally has everything. Huge, wide open shots across valleys, up hills and down hills, tight wooded shots, everything. There are 700+ foot holes and some that are barely 100 feet, and they all flow very well together.
-The course is always well kept. Hardly any trash, very manicured fairways and greens. Amazing views from some of the tees, especially hole 13, a huge 600 foot downhill shot that you MUST empty your bag on. There are so many ways to play that hole you have to try every possibility.
-Even though the course is split up by about a 1/2 mile drive (which is a nice break from the super long front), each set of 9 feels like a different course, which is a very cool thing in my opinion.
-I have never once had a problem with the course being over played or too crowded. It is pretty far away from the actual city, but it is definitely worth the drive, and I have had the course to myself and my group multiple times.
Cons: -Very very long holes. This may not be a con, but it is very tiring having to throw 600+ feet 5 or 6 times a round.
-Extremely hilly. Be prepared to have a very exhausting round and be very tired at the tee of hole 18, which is intimidating enough as it is.
-If you shank a drive, you can lose your disc on some holes very easily if you take your eyes off of it. Watch all of your drives and shots to where they land, you can think your shot is going to end, only for it to roll 50+ more feet into tall grass and lose it forever.
Other Thoughts: If this course were actually in the city, it would be my favorite, no contest. But because I live 10 minutes from Jefferson Barracks as opposed to 45 minutes from Sioux, it will have to take second best to JB. But by no means is this any lesser of a course than JB. Fabulous views, very diverse holes, amazing opportunities to unleash monster drives and watch your disc fly FAR. A very fun round that you must venture out to when in St. Louis.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 top course in STL

1    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 48  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played.

Parking right by tee 1 and there is a huge board/ Kiosk right there that has information about events, and the course, along with a place for score cards. There was also a trashcan attached to every tee sign.

Tee pads are nice and long allowing for a good run up on the long holes, and are great for people like me with long strides.

Front nine plays through a mostly open area with scattered large old trees. Uses the hills and trees extremely well to make it a challenging course. I easily navigated the front 9, with only 1 or 2 holes where i had to walk to determine where the basket was before i threw.

The back nine is more open, but has natural prairie grass bordering most of the fairways it was fairly tall and dense. This added a challenge to the course which was nice since it was so open for the most part. The hills seem to be twice as tall than on the front, also adding more of a challenge.
Cons: Although there was a spot for score cards / maps there were none there so i was stuck with no map playing for the first time by myself.

Some added benches would be nice with all the ups and downs it would be nice to have a spot to take a break.

The tee signs are like other STL courses just the distance and a little bolt saying which position the basket is in. this makes it a little difficult to navigate, especially the back 9 where there are more blind shots and multiple baskets in view.

There is a walk or short drive between the front and back which is just a little bit of an annoyance.

Hole 9 also has a steep climb down to the tee box, that could use some steps or something
Other Thoughts: I have heard that the tee signs are going to be replaced in the near future, so that will improve it.

Top holes in my opinion:
Hole #9 is a fun hole where you have to throw up a big hill just to get to a spot where you can see the basket.
Hole #13 down hill shot 500' lots of fun


rumor has it more holes are gonna be added

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play Sioux in the Lou!

5+    12/10/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A beautiful layout through a pristine park. It feels like a complete privilege to have this course in my hometown. It is a course that continues to get me exited every single time I play it.
- Rolling hills, natural grassland areas, beautiful hardwood trees (the fall leaves are awesome), and plenty of wildlife to enjoy in between shots.
- Generally speaking, this is a low traffic course. You shouldn't have to worry about it being crowded…unless there is a tournament going on.
- With 3 or more basket positions per hole, there is a ton of variety. The course can vary from just plain challenging to downright difficult. Vary rarely should you expect the course to be laid out in its easiest setting, so getting a good score will always prove a challenge.
- Baskets are straight, true, and moved on a regular basis.
- Nicely textured concrete tee pads.
- Trash cans on every hole.
- Great kiosk that is full of information and scorecards.
- Bar none, the best bathroom facility that I have EVER seen in a county park! It has auto-flush, auto-wash, auto-dry everything, is open year round, and even smells good.
Cons: - Poor tee signage. They only offer the distances for the various basket positions and indicate which position is being used with a bolt. New signs are in the works as I write this, so this should only be an issue for a short while longer (before STLO '12?). In the meantime, print up a map or figure out the map that is printed on every scorecard.
- The separation of the front 9 and back 9. There is a 500 yard walk from basket 9 to hole 10, and a 500 yard walk back from basket 18 to the parking lot (up a hill). Or you can just get in your car after hole 9 and drive down to the parking lot at hole 10. I am lazy.
- Slight lack of benches. There are benches here and there, but, for the most part, you will want to bring something to sit on if you are playing in a larger group.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the crown jewel of the greater St. Louis area courses. Most locals agree that this course has something special about it that separates it from Jefferson Barracks, Endicott, and the other awesome courses in the area. As soon as you drive through the gates, it is immediately apparent that this park is maintained a grade above most others. The grass is never long, the fallen branches are mostly non-existent, and the leaves are always taken care of.

Around 2006, on the back 9, the parks decided to save some tax dollars and develop a few natural grassland areas. This has actually increased the appeal of the back 9. Just make sure to avoid the tall grass! The grass can get to above head high in certain zones. It will gobble up your piece of CE and spit out road-rashed DX. Just make sure you put your number on it before you throw it…the regulars here tend to be a little more seasoned and try to get things back.

As beautiful as the course is, it tends to get a lot less traffic than the other, more centrally located, courses in the area. Most times that you play the course, you will feel like you have it to yourself. Be sure to visit the www.stlouisdiscgolfclub.com discussion board to set up a group if it is your first time playing.

Occasionally, the local club sets up an additional 18 hole temp layout. This is usually for The Match Play Championships, The Club Championships, and maybe 1 more event per year. It is worth checking out as well.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven in the STL

5+    11/17/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage for individual holes (bring a map to find the 'next' hole), high quality baskets, fairly fresh teepads, amazing hilly/rolling land that the designers made great use of, an extremely diverse course in terms of shots needed to score well, beautiful well spaced trees, very little trash and many provided trash cans, really fun downhill bomb shots and big changes in elevation to aid distance.
Cons: Very few cons - but as with many courses it may be tough to find the next hole 'quickly' if you are a first timer here. Take a map. The course may be a bit hilly and physically challenging for those who have trouble with steep hills. A little bit of non DG traffic, but the park is big enough that it isn't really an issue.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. I think a DG noobie might find this a bit daunting - this course almost demands driving control and a distance of 250ft+. This is an excellent, fun, pro level course with some of the coolest hills and most prestine 'wooded' areas you'll ever find on a DG course. The signature hole is #13 (a massive 600ft downhill), but the shots across the natural valley on the front 9 are equally fun. Definitely a course worth driving out of your way for - and it's often a quiet, low-traffic course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

5+    10/16/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: always well maintained. throwing a 500'+ shot is possible for everyone here on 13. its a great place to let 'em rip.
Cons: other than there are no benches anywhere in this park its one of my favorites. it would be nice to sit down with all the hill climbing you do.
Other Thoughts: a must play in the STL metro area!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sioux Passage

1    10/13/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: j_wilcut
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: An amazing course that was extremely well maintained. This entire course is beautiful especially on a fall day. Hole 13 was awesome. There were trash bins at every hole I believe.
Cons: It was really wind. But thats just the nature of the game.
One true con would be that there weren't any benches at the tee pads. Its always nice to take a rest from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the STL area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dreams of an ancient memory

1    3/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1131  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A mostly open city park with good use of elevation and some technical lines. An enjoyable disc golf experience, especially if you like big open bombs with a few tighter holes.

Amenities. Shelter, playground, bathrooms, and plenty of parking (the upper lot was small, with plenty of parking down below).

Overall Variety. The front 9 has a good variety of open shots and tight technical shots. The back 9 has many mature clumps of trees that force more open lines. Elevation comes into play on many of the holes very well, with several big bombs off the top of a hill. Overall the holes compliment each other quite well, but it feels mostly like a big arm course.

Well kept. Littering seems to have been a problem here in the past as there's signs posted that tell disc golfers to please not litter. Garbage cans are provided and the park staff are constantly present, the course is very well manicured and kept looking nice.

Local Scene. Local leagues and tournaments are a regular occurrence here, the locals I encountered were all friendly and helpful.

Access. In the city, not far off the freeway it's easy to get to.

Other users. This area seems to be primarily a disc golf course, though the parking lot and road come into play.

Tees. Single set of level concrete tee pads are in good shape.

Signage. Decent signs read the hole number, and distance for the different pin positions.

Scorecards. I'll leave this in the pro section as there was a box provided for scorecards, though I don't know how well it is stocked as it was empty while I was there.
Cons: Navigation. It wasn't always easy to know where the basket was or which basket to throw at. Hole 11 I ended up throwing at the wrong basket (the correct basket was to the right and shorter). Some areas a next tee sign would be helpful, or having a map posted at the start would be useful (maybe the scorecards have maps if they're available?)

I had no prior knowledge of this course and I was lost after the front 9. There was no indication after the front 9 where the back 9 was located, I ended up having to ask a local (obviously if you've read any reviews or the course info page you know by now how to get there and it won't be a problem).

Alternate pin locations. There was a list posted at the start to indicate which pin placement was in, unless you have a great memory or a camera, this information is hardly helpful.

Other Thoughts: A very pleasant disc golf experience in St. Louis, if you like mostly open lines and watching the disc fly on big lines, this is a fun, challenging course worth the stop if you're in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 St. Louis's Best

1    2/13/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This park is immaculate. There is not one blemish to be seen in regards to litter or dead foliage. The course plays through a nice combination of mature trees, woods, and fields, providing plenty of variety. The tees and and pins are in great shape, and the kiosk at hole 1 had scorecards that were up to date with the pin placements, which I thought was amazing. Each hole requires something different of you, whether it's a hyzer, anhyzer, downhill, tomahawk (hole 9), or a downright bomb. This course is challenging, and will test you in every way a course can. I definitely learned what I needed to work on this Spring while playing this course. Parking was great, and is right next to both sections of the course. There was not many places at all where mud was a problem, and there doesn't seem to be many areas where it would be after rain.
Cons: I don't really have one con for this course. The distance between the two sets of 9 holes is only a minute, and is not an issue at all. This course used the park perfectly.
Other Thoughts: I feel that this course is the definition of what a course should be, and I would say that this is the best designed course I have played to date. It uses the land it's on perfectly, and tests your ability to adjust to any type of throw. I played on a day when the wind was terrible and still had a fantastic time. This may not be a perfect course for a lot of people, but I feel that this is the best in St. Louis, and is up there with the best. The combination of field shots, wooded holes, and fairways with mature trees is great, and the pin placements will provide a different experience every time.

On a side note, there were postings at various tees that this park and others in St. Louis will be getting more advanced signs, showing distances, pin placements, and a map showing each location. This will be a much appreciated and needed addition to the St. Louis disc golf scene, especially for newcomers to the area.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Watch Them Soar

2-4    1/4/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: chains314
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The terrain and elevation changes of the park make for plenty of different types of holes. You will use all techniques in your arsenal on this one. Get your work out in for the day while playing trekking up and down hills. Very low probability of losing discs as most holes are on the edge of the woods instead of in them. Very well maintained. Not a downed branch, unmowed field or even dirty tee pad in sight.
Cons: Signage (as with all St. Louis courses) is poor. You will rarely find a trash can by the tees, but litter doesn't seem to be a problem. Having the back nine down the road is irritating but only a 1 minute drive.
Other Thoughts: I don't get out to play this course near enough but I really hope you find time to do it at least once.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.