St. Louis (Florissant), MO
Sioux Passage Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 548ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A St. Louis must play course

1    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Level and long concrete tees! DGA Mach's in very good/new condition. Bathrooms and ample parking. Well manicured fairways. Good variety of shots a good use of the hills that adorn this beautiful well kept park. Good people ( thanks Mike and Phil).
Cons: Too much walking back up the hill for the next shot, esp. on the front nine. Hole #9 you have to walk down a steep hill just to throw back up the steep hill. Tee signs just gave the position of the pin and distances.
You have to drive to the back nine.
The out of bounds tall grass that adorns the back nine was mowed down as of this review so I never got to see it or utilize it's fairway shaping hazards.
No cards and the kiosk had no maps.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a great starting hole. It sets the tone for the first few holes. Wind can play a role on this course so watch out for the road.
Hole 7 is the best hole on the course as far as I am concerned. Very tough tight first shot or you might try a crazy hyzer way out to the right. The chances of hitting wood here are 60% or better.
The back nine starts out with a long uphill dogleg left that will really test the big arms. If you throw 275 like me the disc will only end up about 180 and halfway up the hill.
The tee on #12 is the final resting place on the back nine. I guess during the hot summer that tee gets backed up with golfers cooling off there. Of course #13 downhill is the funnest hole here, long downhill that will make us all look like Nate Doss.
18 is a great finishing hole and the winding road to the right makes for some Preparation -H- moments.
While in St. Louis stop by here and then go down the road a bit and check out White Birch , the oldest course in Mo.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Long and Open

5+    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: Semlly
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great, long course that helps work on drives. It's very good to build up endurance for big tournaments. Grass is cut 95% of the time. Fun course.
Cons: Some holes are easy to lose a disc if you mess up. Hole indicator at tee pad isn't always right. Back nine is a little bit of a walk from the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Lengthy, but the top course in St. Louis area for me. Definitely a prime spot for a tournament and good fun.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/17/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a lot of great things about this course; distance, hills, scenery, multiple pins and excellent maintinence. Almost every hole had 3+ pin placements that were playable for any skill level. Tee pads were solid and generally level (not level to the ground but level where a ball wouldn't roll.) Baskets were in good condition and the grass was even mowed. Trash was at a minimal and there were plenty of restooms. There was a park set on the front and a large set of portable restrooms in the parking lot for the back 9 (I assume this is only during cross country season).
Cons: Going from the front nine to the back nine was a short car ride or long walk. When I played it we couldn't locate basket 17 but it was also getting dark. There were a few instances where you were throwing extremely close to a parking lot which could cause you to hit a car. The signage became a little frustrating as you never really knew where the basket was, just how far you needed to throw it (this was common at the STL parks I played). In a lot of cases it just fels really open, high grass was used in some areas to narrow a fairway though.
Other Thoughts: #9 had an amazing tee that really made the hole tough and exciting. The back nine incorporated a lot more in terms of elevation change. If you are on the last few holes and you end up in the wild grass keep a good eye on it, I found it very easy to lose two discs in there. Be prepared to walk quite a bit and tackle a few hills. Distances are accurate but because of some of the extreme elevation changes be prepared to adjust to playable distance. despite being a long course on paper, a lot of the downhill holes made it play much shorter.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nearly Championship

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is spread out extremely well in a large park, to the point where driving to the back nine is a good idea. A little hassle for a great return, the course is enormous. Definitely a long course regardless of the pin positions, and the pro pars carry their weight.
- Excellent use of the hilly terrain to provide extreme elevation changes on many holes. The gargantuan downhill shot on #13 is truly a sight to behold. It is complemented by many steep uphill shots that play well over the stated distance. Holes with average slopes (for this course at least) are still very much affected, to the point where the flatter holes become new and exciting.
- Diverse mix of dense forest, small tree groves, and large matures trees where appropriate. Holes with clear fairways have ample forested hazards, usually on both sides, that are very dense and very punishing. Medium rough is also present on holes, which plays O.B. in some situations. Hole #18 even has a drop zone, which basically amounts to a mando fairway. Many other holes use the large and low trees to force very accurate shots off the tee and throughout long fairways.
- Great tee pads and baskets.
Cons: - Overall, the course is pretty open. There aren't many well defined routes to the basket, mostly just avoiding trees while staying in the wide fairways. Some holes feel more like a driving range with obstacles, as opposed to having critical landing spots for the next shot. That is nitpicking, of course.
- Tee signs are very basic - a list of the different positions and distances, with a bolt to signify the current placement. Bolts were sometimes in the wrong hole, which could be frustrating the first time through. Course can be tricky to navigate the first time, make sure to get a scorecard or study the map.
- Some holes play by the entrance road and the parking lot, but they can be avoided for the most part.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a lesson in elevation, as almost every hole has a long slope, hill, or valley to contend with. Most of the shorter holes make great use of hazards or elevation to provide extra challenge, and there is a great mix of open and hazardous bomber holes as well. The only thing that really keeps this course from being championship level is the lack of multi-shot holes with mandatory pathways/obvious landing zones, and tight fairways to force very specific lines.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Go the distance

5+    5/27/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park feels like it was designed to contain a disk golf course. Sioux is a long and mostly open course, in a beautiful and well manicured landscape. The scattered trees will play defense, but elevation is the real challenge here. You need distance, and accuracy to negotiate this course. Despite the challenge this is a very fair course.

The front nine plays over rolling hills and through well placed trees. #2 and #6 play across a deep valley and favor distance. #5 and #8 have the baskets tucked into the woods, and make you think before you throw. #7 and #9 are unique for this course. #7 is through a stand a tight trees. #9's tee shot is a 100' hallway up a hill to reach the fairway.

You have to drive to the back nine, it's a short drive / long walk.

The back nine starts out up hill, then down hill, and then up hill again. #13 makes all that hill climbing worth while. It's 100' down and 600' of driving fun. You will want to empty your bag. #15 is payback, it plays back up the 100'. The 666' distance says it all. There are wild grass areas that are out of bounds and come into play on at least 4 holes. #18 can be a beast when it's at 800'.

This is a championship course all the way. Every hole offers a fun challenge. There are concrete pads with 3-4 pin placements. Good bathrooms and drinking fountain across the street from the first tee. Port a Potty at 10th tee. Playground for the kids.
Cons: This course is hard to navigate. The signs need maps, the distance to the pin is not good enough on this course. Even after 20+ rounds I would still like a map at the tee. I would really like to give this course a 4 1/2 but it needs better signs.

If it's your first time and you don't have a map....
On the park road stay left, first tee at second parking on left, across from bathroom / playground. You'll see baskets on your left.
#8 to #9 follow one of the paths in the woods down hill.
#9 to #10 drive farther down the road you came in on to the next parking.
#10 to #11 follow the gravel road to the right, or take a path through the wild grass area. Respect the course, take the road.
#11 to #12 turn around and look for the orange flags in the woods. The tee is in those woods.

The mosquitoes can be intense. Don't throw into the long grass, it's long.
Other Thoughts: The disk golf gods must mow the grass. Its always short, but I've never seen anyone cutting it.

You can see the Missouri river if you want. Stay right on your way out after the back nine.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/27/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: joesiya
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful, long course with a variety of shots. Long fairways for the big armed player. Variety of pin positions that are frequently alternated. Low volume course. Worth the drive, on of the bests in the St. Louis area.
Cons: Hole #9 is treacherous when wet and some of the tees/holes on the back nine are hard to find for the first timer with no map.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    12/15/2009   1/30/2010
Review By: japetus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What can I say that already hasn't been said....One of the greatest DG courses around for a long relaxing day. Playing even the front 9 is a rewarding experience in itself. Just great shots. You can be rewarded with power and you can be greatly rewarded with accuracy. Great pads, place is always immaculately maintained. If you are of age, a few beers is always a good thing as long as you keep it under wraps. Lots of friendly folks.
Cons: I really can't say what cons there are, if any. I don't know if there can be the PERFECT course.
Other Thoughts: if you are in the NoCo STL area and you have the time, at least play the front 9.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Top Course in St. Louis

5+    6/17/2008   1/4/2010
Review By: Jorge
Played: 59  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2010
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is the best course in St. Louis. I have a short arm, but the beauty of the course and it's layout make you want to come back again and again.

This course reminded me of a real golf course the first time I played it. Many long holes, but also par 4's and one par 5.

Concrete tee pads and multiple pin placements.

This course will make you a better player.

Many out-of-bounds makes for great risk/reward holes.
Cons: You have to drive from the front 9 to the back 9.

The walk from hole 15 to 16 is long and straight uphill.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course, standing ontop of the tee pad of hole 13, about 100' above the basket that sits 600' away, watching my drive sail for tens of seconds and then seeing an 8 point buck chasing 2 doe's across the fairway. One of the most beautiful sights ever.

If you are in St. Louis, you have to play this course. Comparable to Waterworks in KC.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

1    9/2/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I read reviews online here before going out yesterday and I was even more surprised when I got there, great use of the landscape given, plenty of reachable holes, like 2,3,6,11,14 yet also has a good mix of more difficult hyzers at 5, 8 specially. 4 and 9, especially 9 is so unusual I had so much fun..great course.not too difficult if you can throw a basic hyzer and annie. Get ready for sweating the hills can be more demanding on your legs than expected.
Cons: It was my first time playing, i knew i had to drive over to te other side, dosent mean that I liked it. Also finding pins on 5 8 etc...was cumbersome.
Other Thoughts: A must play for St. Louis. Donttake Howdershell/Shakleford all the way up...way too slow

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Let it Fly

5+    8/29/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to reach back and let it fly. One of the most fun "open" courses I hve played. There are plenty of well placed tree clusters and tons of changes in elevation. These along with quite a bit of rough on the back nine make for a very challenging course. The park is beautiful and well maintained, with fairly minimal foot traffic. Hole #9 is absolutely ridiculous...whoever put it together.
Cons: I have very few...I really love this course. The signage could be a lot better. Especially on the back nine, there are some spots that are very easy to get turned around trying to find the next tee. Wear long pants, because wandering around in the tall grass looking for a disk is very likely.
Other Thoughts: One of my two favorite St. Louis courses...if you are coming to the area make sure you check it out...you won't be disappointed.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.