St. Louis (Florissant), MO
Sioux Passage Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 615ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 very challenging course

1    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Adgeri
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The play was very challenging. There is a lot of open space to throw on the front nine. The course is has pretty fair pars but is still a demanding course. The holes are lengthy without being obnoxious. There are a lot of both downhill and uphill shots.
Cons: After the first bunch of holes, there is no clear indicator of the next box in some areas. A couple of holes had pins that were very difficult to spot as well. I think it's crazy that you're expected to drive from hole 9 to hole 10.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

2-4    9/7/2010   5/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this course felt very much like playing disc golf on a ball golf course, with beautifully manicured and well-defined grassy fairways, and lots of great length. The park is gorgeous, and seemed pretty empty when I played, which I found surprising. The course plays up and down lots of hills, and through some beautiful mature trees.

The design of this course utilizes the park very well. There are all kinds of shots required here, from loooong open bombs to more technical tighter shots. There was a nice mix of wide open holes with some that had scattered trees to avoid, and even a few more wooded holes. Many holes play up or down large hills, and the elevation available was used perfectly. Though the course is pretty open, it still forces a decent mix of left and right turning shots to avoid the trees, and some low ceilings come into play to make you hit some tighter lines.

The tees were all nice large concrete pads, and all were in good shape. The tee signs were easy to see from a distance to find the next tee, and clearly indicated which pin position the basket was currently in. It's clear a lot of work goes into keeping this course in good shape, and this made it a very enjoyable disc golf experience.
Cons: I would have liked to see maps on many of the tee signs. There are a lot of holes where the pin is not obvious from the tee, and just the distance to the pin was not enough. A few holes had the pin position marked incorrectly the last time I played, though that wasn't an issue the first time through. It was a little frustrating on some blind holes where you think you know where you're throwing but the pin is in a totally different place.

It would have also been nice to have a course map available, either on scorecards or just at the beginning of the course. This would have helped with navigation in a few spots where multiple tees are visible, and made the split between the front and back nines much easier to figure out.
Other Thoughts: Be ready to throw lots of long drives on this course, there are a ton of holes with great length where you can really rip it. This course is beautiful and challenging, and makes for a great day of disc golfing. Beginners might find the course length daunting, though there are shorter courses around the area. More experienced players will be challenged, especially to place shots on the longer holes to set up the next throw, I love this kind of challenge on multi-shot holes.

After you play the front 9, follow the road you came into the park on, and look for a gravel parking lot, that's where the back 9 starts and ends.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well groomed county park with many facilities, ie running water, bathrooms, shelter with electric, several parking lots.

Great concrete tees, waste baskets on almost every hole. Multiple pin placements (3-4) per hole.

Front nine long and open, with four holes that play partially through the woods, for example 2 of the four the pins are usually tucked into the woods, one plays out from the woods into the open. Good use of elevation. Number 2 and 6 play over a huge ravine, number 4 plays up a long gradual uphill.

Back nine also long and open, but all the prairie grass is ob, prairie grass comes into play on 10 and 11(to a lesser extent), 12, 16, 17, and 18. Then the road is in play on 13 (a fun, huge, down hill shot with road on the left, tough to stay in-bounds, but be ready to throw extra discs) 15 and 18 also have road ob to a lesser extent.
Cons: Not a lot of cons here, just ones that get under my skin a bit

for example: you have to drive from the front nine to the back nine, you can walk but it's probably a quarter mile down a big hill to the parking lot for the back. Not a huge variety of holes, I would have liked to see some tight wooded holes as there are a lot of bottom areas and wooded areas.

The tee signs are cool, they have the different distances for each placement and then put by the current placement, however there is no hole map on the tee signs so I can imagine someone unfamiliar with the course saying 'okay it's 450 ft but in which direction?'

It may also be hard to find your way between holes, I was lucky to play for the first time with some people that had played there before, so it was fairly straight forward.
Other Thoughts: This is a must-play course. It's fairly underused, as I understand, but the county still does a great job taking care of the course grounds, and no waiting. Go play sioux passage.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hike & Play

1    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice, well maintained park. Most people have already covered all of that anyway, but it is a great looking course. My big surprise was reading that this course doesn't get much play. If I lived here, I would play it much more often than JB or Endicott (the only other two courses I have played here). I''m not knocking either of those courses, as they are great for what they are, but Sioux Passage is just something special. There are Hyzer and Anhyzer shots, uphill (and I mean BIG uphill) and downhill, trails to walk around on if you wanna take a break, technical and wide open holes. That being said, most of the wide open holes are pretty long and some are long and uphill. Big fun, so long as you don't expect to 2 or 3 everything. I loved it. One of my favorite courses to date.
Cons: - I didn't really find the distance between the front and back a con, but only because a friend told me about it and advised that I drive down there. Very good advice, 'cause after that back nine, I was kinda wiped out. But, the weird thing is, there is no mention of it anywhere on the "Disc Golf Information" sign that's right by the 1st tee. I would bet that some folks think it's only a 9-holer.
- No course map or scorecards.
- WTF is it with St Louis courses and the lack of maps at the tees? You either walk the course twice (up to see the pin, back to tee off, then back again), or throw and pray. Both suck in my book.
- The tee box for 9 is in a ridiculous spot. Straight down a hill, only to walk straight back up it. Maybe 8 has a pin placement that puts you down there already, but if not, stoopid!

Note though that most of these will only effect the first-timer, although I only saw one pin position. I could be just as lost next time if they are in different locations. So, come on StL Disc Golf Club, make us some friggin signs already!
Other Thoughts: Even with all of my gripes about signage, I'll play this course every time I get a chance. Absolutely a must play if you're in the area.

A few nuggets:
- Hole 7 - very narrow tunnel shot that is also uphill to a blind basket. Wild!
- Hole 11 - big downhill annie shot with the basket tucked in right behind some trees.
- Hole 13 - my favorite on the course! It was in the 548' position and me and my weenie arm drove it about 480 - 490, which is about 180 longer than i can normally throw. Awesome view from the tee pad to a way downhill basket surrounded by pine trees. If I had a 4 wheeler to get back up there, I'd play that one several times!
- Hole 16 - 615', mostly downhill with what I guess was OB grass on each side. (it's a guess because of...NO SIGNS!). Cool hole though. Ends right by a basketball court.

Stop here. Bring your GPS, lots of water, and good shoes.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 LOOOOOOOOOONG!

5+    10/18/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design to the course, great integration into the terrain, and the course is relatively out-of-the-way so foot traffic is sparse at best.

The 4x4's at the holes marking which pin location is being used and how far it is is a great recent addition to the course.

Tees are always clear of debris and trash cans at most every hole keep litter to a minimum. Maintainance of the park otherwise is always top-notch.

Plenty of variety between pins and tees in and out of woods, uphill/downhill, and hyzer/ anhyzer shots. Big arms are favored here, but weenies such as myself have a legit shot through superior accuracy.

Probably the most picturesque course in St. Louis.
Cons: Signage between holes to point you in the direction of the next could be MUCH better (especially for hole 12 which is tucked back into the woods).

No indication in the park signage of where to park for the front nine, where the back nine is, or how to get there.

Holes 4 and 10 have benches to sit at, but otherwise, you're sitting on concrete ledges (not the most comfortable) or standing. Given the length of this course and the terrain, a few benches would be a cheap and welcome addition.

Another porta-john or two would be a good idea as well. There's a righteous bathroom at the Lenz shelter before the front nine, and a row of porta-johns before the back, but in between there's nothing. Given the length of the course, another facility or two would be welcome.

If you don't have a big arm, you'll get frustrated at this course, especially with the "C" and "D" pin locations.
Other Thoughts: Alcohol consumption at this park is by RESERVATION ONLY!!! (for private parties at the numerous pavillions).

Local wisdom (mine) says people watching the course for such violations are very few and far between. Local wisdom (others) says that if you do get caught, as long as you treat the park rangers with respect and don't have 47 beers with you, you'll be fine.

If you're looking for a scorecard but can't find them (as another reviewer stated above), check the BACK of the info kiosk at the first tee. An odd place to put them for sure, but I imagine they're there (and not in front) to keep vandals from grabbing the whole stack and tossing 'em around like confetti. The aforementioned scorecards DO have rudmentary maps on them that are accurate enough to get you pointed in the right direction, but they, along with the rest of the (lack of) park signage, don't tell you how to get to the back 9.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Course in St. Louis

5+    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: milythael
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of hills and elevation change. On the front nine there are several opportunities to just let her rip. The whole course is beautiful.
Cons: Some of the holes are very long for the casual player. It can sometimes be hard to figure out where the next tee is, like on nine where the tee is buried 80 feet into the woods and down a hill.
Other Thoughts: Bring water with you, especially on the back nine. You climb the same huge hill three times on the back nine. The last 3 holes are pretty technical so if your stamina isn't up to snuff, you might consider playing the back nine first.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The prettiest I've played.

1    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everyone seems impressed with how well this course is maintained.......and I can see why. The grass, the trees, and the overall spaciousness of this course make it a "have-to-play". We played it on a Saturday and there was only one other group out there. It's just a really nice course set in a scenic location. Overall, it's mostly open but there are just enough trees to combine with the rolling terrain to keep it interesting.
Cons: It's long. If you don't have a big arm, you'll probably get a little frustrated. I played it with my wife and daughter and they were ready to leave after the front 9.

You have to drive to the back 9 and I found that a little odd. The back 9 also had a guy practicing archery right beside one of the baskets. (definitely not a good idea) And it also had a group of 20-25 people sliding down a hill on a block of ice. Some of the holes are hard to find unless you've played here before.

It's quite a ways out to this course. If we hadn't brought the Garmin, I'm not sure we would've found it.
Other Thoughts: If you're in St. Louis, you'll definitely want to play this one.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sioux Passage is the most well maintained and manicured course on the St. Louis circuit. There are a multitude of bomber holes, and a few that require a good touch as well.
- Tee pads are excellent
- Great variety of left/right holes
- Some excellent elevation changes
- You get the feel you're playing at a country club
- Fairly easy to navigate
- Well designed 2 shot holes
- A lot of places to pick up strokes with long drives and accurate approaches
Other Thoughts: - The separation between the front and back nines is odd, and can be frustrating if you're not aware of it
- I found the wide open fairways to be mostly pleasant, but some holes lacked a challenge
- There are few longer walks, and no benches to sit on. A stool/chair is recommended

If you like stretching your arm out on wide open fairways with well manicured grass, Sioux Passage will not disappoint you.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

6/28/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: An-Hyzer Bushes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Always a different challenge with multiple pin placements, and new concrete tees with distances clearly marked for current pins. Open course with plenty of trees well placed to discourage the most accurate shooters. Some challenging up-hill climbs mixed with amazing lofty elevated tees make this a dream for big arms like me. Always kept up and clean. Seams like every time I go there the grass is freshly cut which is a plus for these types of long courses. This course has it's uniqueness in that you pretty much have to drive to the back nine, which some consider a "CON" but I think it adds to the character of the course.
Cons: Signage should include maps especially for those longer holes where you can't see the pin from the tee. First time players have nothing to shoot at but hopes and dreams of getting closer to the pin. Somewhat hard to find, and easy to miss when driving down the two lane street to find it.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a course to air it out, this is it! Don't expect too many birdies unless you have a huge arm, or a surgical putt. If Sioux Passage is too long for your arm, try the "Yin" to this course's "Yang" located a few miles down the street, heading west, at White Birch Park. (see my review on this short, yet fun course)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Premier STL DG Course

6/1/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: CaptainKickAss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is simply spectacular. The course includes great elevation changes and a great amount of variety. The course is well designed, and requires a perfect combination of power and control. The park itself is extremely well maintained, and the land has really been used to its utmost potential. No two holes are really the same, and by the time you are done with 18 holes you will have really tapped into every skill that you have. The course flows very well, and, with a few exceptions on the back 9, it is pretty easy to find your way from hole to hole.
Cons: The separation between the front and back 9 is a bit odd. Truthfully though, either side of the course could stand on its own merits. There are one or two spots on the back 9 where the course is not marked as well as it probably could be.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is the jewel of st. louis disc golf, it sees very limited traffic due to its location. If you go mid-week, don't be surprised if you are the only one on the course. While it is not very wooded, there are plenty of obstacles to work with. That said, this course is a must visit. If you do make the trip, make sure you come ready to hike, as some of the hills provide quite the work out.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.