St. Paul (New Brighton), MN
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #5 (Taken 1/2009)
4 / 344ft.   3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
cone!!!!!!!!!

1    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - good variety of shots
- definitely not too easy
- some holes had baskets
- lots of uphill and downhill shots.
- mix of tight wooded areas and wide open shots
- nice new teepads
- has long distance drive opportunity on the final hole.
- nearly impossible to lose a disc
- not too short
- port a potties
Cons: - cones
- difficult to navigate
- teepads aren't marked
- hole 3 seemed more luck then skill
- cones
Other Thoughts: This was truly a very well rounded descent length course, definitely one of the best free ones in the twin cities. It requires a different shot for almost every hole. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the cones, luckily they weren't on all the holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Postmaster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a multitude of shots for every player. From long uphill, to short shots, it can suit any type of player from beginner to advanced. The cones are the best to putt on!
Cons: Not Enough Cones
Other Thoughts: VIVA LA CONE!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/3/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: timj5304
Played: 96  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hansen is in a neighborhood area where i grew up in, a middle class community where many of the league regulars are guys who grew up in the area. One positive to me about Hansen is you get to play in a chill atmosphere with many guys who play for the same reason you do, to enjoy a round or two. While you won't see many guys throwing 500 ft out there you will see guys who can nail putts from 40ft regularly while the bombers struggle to par on the cones. The cones are one thing I HATED when I started playing in 2004 but in the last year I started to play the league regularly and doing as much as I can when time permits. The holes while not too flashy have many challenges such as trees, wet fairways at times, a nice creek in the park. Beautiful scenery and a overall good place to play!
Cons: There is a walk path you have to watch out for friendly locals. Many locals have no issue with players here which is much better than most leagues and courses! Honestly I hated this course 7 years ago but learned that it is a special place to play.
Other Thoughts: Hansen is a historic course, many were not fond of the cones in the beginning but when they learned to efficiently cone putt learned that putting on a chainstar was nothing. I honestly feel my putting is 5x better than it was last year. There are hot days and not so hot days on cones but the overall atmosphere here is a good one. The imperfections are what make this place perfect to me, kind of like a woman you fall in love with; the little imperfections grow on you with time. Overall if your chill, make sure to throw trash away and try to "police" the park you can play here any day!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fair

5+    7/15/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Riley M
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has garbage cans. Without (and some times even with) garbage cans people are littering and giving us Disc Golfers bad names. They even have a few recyling bins. also has a Porta John on like hole 6 or something. Open and closed shots. (trees) There a uphill hole and on the other side theres a long down hill drive that i just love. I usually throw all my drivers if its not busy. In other words in you live near it or even are just passing trew town you should play at it.
Cons: The cones. But i guess thats the fun about Disc golf. if u can putt on the cones you can make the same putt with any basket.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid

5+    7/20/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: J Syrup
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the cones, variety is the spice of life and if you can putt on a cone you make putt on any chains. the course has a really good use of elevation and also has a variety of open shots and wooded shots. it also has a good combination of short technical and a couple long bombs that you will definately need a driver on.
Cons: Some times puddles occur after a large rainfall, not to hard to avoid them though
Other Thoughts: great use of the amount of land they had available to them

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: Wexican
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the few courses in the state of Minnesota with cones. Though others may not enjoy the difficulty of putting towards cones, I find it adds a dynamic this game truly needs. There are better courses out there but Hansen has a feel all its own.
Cons: The course needs more cones...
Other Thoughts: The "Friends of Hansen park" have done a great job improving the course and should be recognized for their charitable efforts.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Stop whining about cones.

5+    12/15/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: theh8ed
Played: 72  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Good use of the terrain. The cones and an extra degree of difficulty on an otherwise easy to moderate skill level park. Locals, locals, locals. The locals are amazing people that are extremely friendly, helpful and have done much to keep this park open and are always working to improve it.
Cons: The overall condition of the park is dilapidated. There is erosion in many areas. Baskets and cones are in need of repair. New tee-pads and proper signage would be money well spent.

However, I have noticed in a few reviews that concern the condition of the baskets, include the complaint that "discs fall out the bottom of the baskets". I trust most DGers know that if the disc falls out the BOTTOM of the basket, it still counts...

A group of dedicated individuals known as "Friends of Hansen" are doing yeoman's work in trying to revamp this park by way of charitable donations, donated time and labor (graffiti removal, basket repair, cleaning up after the teenagers and other degenerates that think it is acceptable to litter at the park, as well as other improvements)
Other Thoughts: I am so0oo0o tired of reading the reviews for this course that WHINE about the cones. Instead of viewing these targets as a negative, why would you not relish in the opportunity to fine-tune your putts on a smaller and more challenging target? You will find your overall putting accuracy will improve after a few rounds with the beloved cones. Stop whining and man-up and appreciate the cones and the added challenge they provide. They make you a better player. I hope the whole course is eventually cones. Plenty of courses have chains, it's nice to see a park with a slightly different flavor. As Craig mentioned in an earlier review, please don't litter and watch the LANGUAGE (remember, its only disc golf, not life and death!!)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course with a history lesson

5+    9/15/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This fun 12 hole course is one of the oldest courses in Minnesota and will provide most players with a varying degree of difficulty, shot selection, baskets and atmosphere. This course has come close to being shut down multiple times because the locals did not like it very much when this sport became more popular. The layout had a major revision done to appease the locals.

There is a group of dedicated locals which play random doubles Wednesday nights and has always provided me with a great time. They are known as the Friends of Hansen and have down a wonderful job with upkeep and improving the course. Without them this course wouldn't be here.

My original review was when this course had asphalt and natural tees. All the tees have been upgraded to concrete, with very nice benches being added to many of the holes.

Half the holes are out in the open while others are in the woods and require you to hit a variety of lines. Good use of elevation and most of the park space.

A lot of people do not like the cone baskets, however there is a positive way of looking at them. On some of the easier holes they provide an extra challenge as your putting range will go down due to the smaller sweet spot. This forces you to make better shots off the tee, which I and many other people enjoy.
Cons: The biggest con on this park is the cone shaped basket. Not because of the increased challenge, but because the quality is significantly lower than most chain baskets and require maintenance more often, especially due to the vandalism of oppressed white suburban kids who inhabit the park.

These cone shaped baskets were bought because they were cheaper and a local course who tried to put in home made chain baskets at another course was sued for patent infringement. So places like Moir and Hansen went for these green monsters.

The next biggest con is the major revision which was done to this park in the early 2000's, due to the rising popularity of disc golf. Holes 1, 2 and 3 used to be up near the cul-de-sac, at the top of the hill. The locals almost shut the course down, but instead a giant sign was erected telling disc golfers to now park on the other side of the creek, where you do now. However, most people ignored it because they didn't want to walk a 1/4 of a mile to the first tee.

The "compromise" was taking out holes 1, 2 and 3 and putting in the new holes 1, 3 and 12 while modifying a few others. Holes 4 - 10 remained the same layout.

If people are wondering why the few signs still left in the course are wrong it is because of this major revision. Every hole had a wooden post with a green sign indicating the hole, distance and par. When they changed the layout they haphazardly pounded the old signs into seemingly random tees.

Holes 1 and 12 can be quite wet at times. They were only ever put in to appease the locals who complained about increased traffic to the park.
Other Thoughts: If it weren't for a group of dedicated locals, known as "Friends of Hansen" those "lovable" green cone baskets wouldn't be here today, but then again neither would the chain baskets because the course would be gone and have faded into the night.

If you absolutely hate the cone baskets you can play at nearby Silverview Park, which isn't a bad course, but if you only birdie 7 of 9 there you are having a bad round.

This course would be improved slightly with chain baskets. I wouldn't wait for New Brighton to spend any taxpayers dollars to do so. If you want to see this course improve I'd consider going to the Wednesday night random doubles and ask about donating to the "friends of Hansen" group.

The biggest improvement to this course would be bringing the original holes 1, 2 and 3 back, making this a 15 hole course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cooooooonnnnneeessss!

5+    9/23/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good use of the large hill in the center. Hole 4 and Hole 11 are particular favorites.

--Trees are well used, but don't make holes impossible.

--Nice dual teepads on most holes.

--The 4 regular baskets on the course are a good break from cone hell.

--There are some nice holes on this course, but it's too bad that the cones ruin them for me.
Cons: --There are not enough words to describe how much I despise the cones. Discs fall out the bottom, putts get rejected easy, and the basket portion are all bent and warped. By the end of the round, I became scared of longer putts, opting for layups instead. When poor course conditions make me drastically change my game, I don't appreciate it. Cones are on holes: 2,3,5-8 and 11

--The homemade basket on number one is not too bad, but it's not the way you want to start the course.

--My legs were on fire from the stinging nettles in the rough on hole 12. Beware the rough on that hole.

--The directions are confusing. Teepads are labeled wrong and it doesn't help that the first and twelfth hole are on the opposite side of the creek from the rest. Bring a map. My first time playing here, I got very lost at least twice.

--Course gets a lot of wear and erosion. It would be nice to see better grass and just nicer park conditions in general.
Other Thoughts: On the flip side of the cone baskets, when I made birdies on those holes, I was extra pumped. Felt good to conquer the cones on a couple holes.

Nice course, if they correct the signage and get modern baskets, my rating will go way up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than before.

2-4    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 186  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Hole 4 is long, up multiple hills (think staircase), and wide open, great hole to open up on.

2) Almost all holes have some sort of elevation change, that combined with mature trees in the middle and thick woods on either side of the fairway add up for a fun, sometimes frustrating challenge.

3) Holes 7 and 8 are tucked away in the back of the woods and are short and sweet, good little Ace runs.

Cons: 1) Signs are confusing, non-existent, wrong, or some combination thereof. this course was re-designed not to long ago so i understand this fault, but still don't like it.

2) Odd setup, 1 and 12 are across the creek from 2-11, if they were going to do that why didn't they just go for the complete 18? there's plenty of room to expand around the ballfields.

3) Baskets are in rough shape. About half of them are the old cones(shudder) and the other half are old chainstars that are falling apart and let discs fall out.
Other Thoughts: This course has been vastly improved over the last couple years, but there's still a way to go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.