Disc Golf Store
St. Paul (New Brighton), MN 
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Cooooooonnnnneeessss!

5+    9/23/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good use of the large hill in the center. Hole 4 and Hole 11 are particular favorites.

--Trees are well used, but don't make holes impossible.

--Nice dual teepads on most holes.

--The 4 regular baskets on the course are a good break from cone hell.

--There are some nice holes on this course, but it's too bad that the cones ruin them for me.
Cons: --There are not enough words to describe how much I despise the cones. Discs fall out the bottom, putts get rejected easy, and the basket portion are all bent and warped. By the end of the round, I became scared of longer putts, opting for layups instead. When poor course conditions make me drastically change my game, I don't appreciate it. Cones are on holes: 2,3,5-8 and 11

--The homemade basket on number one is not too bad, but it's not the way you want to start the course.

--My legs were on fire from the stinging nettles in the rough on hole 12. Beware the rough on that hole.

--The directions are confusing. Teepads are labeled wrong and it doesn't help that the first and twelfth hole are on the opposite side of the creek from the rest. Bring a map. My first time playing here, I got very lost at least twice.

--Course gets a lot of wear and erosion. It would be nice to see better grass and just nicer park conditions in general.
Other Thoughts: On the flip side of the cone baskets, when I made birdies on those holes, I was extra pumped. Felt good to conquer the cones on a couple holes.

Nice course, if they correct the signage and get modern baskets, my rating will go way up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: jajense
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of holes and shots needed to play this course
Cons: Really bad bugs, Flooded holes, standing water. Easy to lose a disc. Parking near soft ball fields, cars get hit with foul balls all the time. Near a high crime area in New Brighton, cars occasionally get broken in to.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for beginners. If you can stand all the bugs and crime, not a bad course, but I'd recommend passing on this one. Acorn park isn't too far away!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing but could be nice

1    10/25/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are a few holes that require a player to utilize a few different shots.
Cons: Mach targets on some holes, cones on others... Where is the consistency???

If you've never played here before, you may find your way on the first 2 holes, but after that, good luck! Tees are not marked well at all...
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be decent but unfortunately needs someone with experience on disc golf courses and what makes them challenginge to give it some TLC.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Revenge of the Hamburgler Baskets

2-4    5/23/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly Short to medium distance holes with some variety of obstacles and terrain thrown in makes this a great course for someone still working on distance, since accuracy is more important than pure D here.

Some creative and memorable holes, like the blind drive (more of a putt) over the crest of the hill. Only 150 ft, but trickier than distance makes it sound. Nice concrete tee pads. Weird baskets(see course walkthrough) will put your putting and approach game to the test.
Cons: Confusing markings, like wrong numbers sprayed on tee pads, and lack of hole signs, make it challenging to figure out the first time.

Also, the main challenge on this course is the baskets. The baskets are of mixed types. Some, on the first and last few, longer holes, are the typical Mach's we all know and love, but on the holes in the middle, there is a different animal entirely. Its an extra wide blue plastic top on a smooth metal upside down cone in place of the chains, with an extra wide basket very close under blue plastic. I call them the Hamburgler basket, because they look like something from an old McDonalds Playplace. Once you have played on them, you will appreciate chains sooooooo much more. An ultrasoft putter and good touch are vital to putting on these things. There is a veeeery narrow vertical slot to put the disc in (less space than the diameter of a disc), so aiming is crucial. Also, since the cone is wider at the top than the basket, it compounds the touch problem. This will NOT grab your disc, it will bounce off, and not into the basket. I found it nearly impossible to sink any putt outside of 10 ft on these things, so unless you have mad putting skills, just go for the layup.

Thus, though many holes are short, the goofy baskets (and variety of baskets) make them much more difficult, even frustrating at times.

Some baskets falling into disrepair, including one held together with wire and duct tape that looks to be from the early jurassic era. Baskets not consistently numbered, even for the ones that are, disregard the number, 50/50% its wrong.
Other Thoughts: Good place to take beginners if you want to work on accuracy over distance. Hamburgler Baskets pose unique challenge. Not a park I would jump at the chance to play again, though.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.