St. Paul (New Brighton), MN 
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fair

5+    7/15/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Riley M
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has garbage cans. Without (and some times even with) garbage cans people are littering and giving us Disc Golfers bad names. They even have a few recyling bins. also has a Porta John on like hole 6 or something. Open and closed shots. (trees) There a uphill hole and on the other side theres a long down hill drive that i just love. I usually throw all my drivers if its not busy. In other words in you live near it or even are just passing trew town you should play at it.
Cons: The cones. But i guess thats the fun about Disc golf. if u can putt on the cones you can make the same putt with any basket.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My third Cone Hole course

1    6/18/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Asphalt tees are better than the bare turf that would be there.

2) 2 porto pottys visible . . . one by the bridge between 1,12 and the rest of the course and another in the middle of the courses so if you are having an attack of "el Chorro" when you play here you will have easy access to the bathroom 4 times during your round.

3) Nice big park with multiple parking areas, multiple play areas, lots of walking paths, a stream, sports fields, etc etc etc.

4) Baskets are both a positive and a negative because 7 of the holes have the cone style basket, 1 looks to be a homemade mock up of a Mach basket but, and the rest are DGA Mach baskets.

5) Nice elevation comes into play on quite a few holes, some uphill, and some downhill, and some risk reward basket locations because of rollaways.

6) Nice wooded holes in the middle of the course Holes #3, and #6-#10.

7) Nice variety of shots required and a nice variety of foliage density as well as distance variation. This variety on the course is what is keeping its rating where it is.

8) Dual teepads always fun to test your distance shots as well as challenge yourself differently from each tee.

9) A few garbage cans available.
Cons: 1) Asphalt tees are more slick than concrete normally, especially when wet.

2) Compacted and bare soils visible around most baskets. This is a huge eyesore to those who do not play the game and also draws attention to the environmentalists out there looking to shut our sport down. Mulch will not only look better but it will also cushion the compaction.

3) #1 basket is homemade and has really heavy chain and a different configuration of chains and basket, plus it is installed higher than all the other baskets. Cone baskets are also a detracter, but some disc golf is better than none I guess . . . still worth mentioned.

4) #13 basket was missing completely when I played.

5) Old signs attached to a couple of teepads will confuse many people as the holes are numbered differently. REMOVE THEM PLEASE!

6) No signs or directionals always a negative to the travelling disc golfer.

7) A few fairways crossings that would be an issue in times of a lot of play.

8) A fair amount of garbage in areas on the course.
Other Thoughts: It looks like they were looking to put a new hole in off the the right of #11, not sure if they plan to make more holes or simply move on of those two holes. It looks like a great moderately wooded downhill hole and would be another asset to the course.

All in all not a bad course. Design and challenge is key to keeping this course rated what it is, because maintenance seems to be lacking and it just looks like an old abused course. The baskets detract from my fun level but maybe I am just a debbie downer. I do suppose those baskets are better than no baskets as it offers another way to approach putting.

I can understand how the old basket are nostalgic for those who have played this sport a long time, but for me a relative newbie, they are just annoying. It presents a different challenge and I will not skip a course because it has those baskets but I doubt it would bring me back over and over unless it was a top notch course other than the baskets.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cones?????

5+    11/7/2010   4/7/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 12 good holes, good mix of length and technical. Good use of elevation.
Cons: Kind of a weird layout, you play hole 1 then walk across hole 12 to get to 2-11, then come back and play 12. If you didn't know what you were doing it would be really easy to think it was just 2 holes.

Cones. Nuff said. These things suck, and Hansen has like 6 of them. Some of the locals really love them. I hate them with a firey passion.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played. It's pretty good for a learning course, putting on the cones is an exercise in frustration. Worth playing as the hole diversity is pretty good, but not suitable for a real test as the cones are far too fickle to putt on often without trying to slit your wrists with a sharp edged driver.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Yes, we all know about the baskets ...

2-4    11/12/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation. Fun downhill holes (Nos. 5 and, to a lesser extent, 11) and somewhat challenging uphill holes (Nos. 4 and 10).

- The open and wooded areas compliment each other well. Like Acorn, every hole has a different look and feel than its predecessor.

- The magic cone baskets that were damaged are now repaired.

- Concrete tee-pads.
Cons: - With the exception of No. 3 (a 180 ft. left hook through a small patch of trees) and a blind-shot hole (No. 7), all of your drives are straight and open.

- Even with wooded areas, the scattered trees aren't much of a hazard. Hanson is a pretty course, but shot-makers won't be too impressed.

- Three different types of pins (chainstars, old knockoff chainstars, and the solid cones).
Other Thoughts: - Two holes were removed about a year ago, maybe longer. I don't know if it was because of residents' complaints, but it wouldn't surprise me. Either way, the City of New Brighton has butted heads with the course regulars over this and other issues.

- Hanson proper may be well-groomed, but areas of the course seemed neglected through out most of the year. Problems with damaged baskets were rampant this summer. Again, however, all equipment (no matter how mismatched or antiquated) is repaired.

- As for the infamous cone baskets, I'm ambivalent. I agree that the smaller entry-zone is a nice putting challenge. But I also think they're cheap pieces of crap that take away from the course's consistency.

- Hanson is worth checking out for its uniqueness, but there's still miles to improve upon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/15/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of shots required to complete the course. Accuracy is required as is are putting skills. 4 of the holes are fairly open so most players can bomb without overthrowing. You will drive with putters and/or midranges several times. Aces are possilbe without being easy. A pretty fun course for a smaller park. The mixture of homeade, cones and Mach baskets make it feel like a walk through course history. Probably would be a good superclass course.
Cons: Many holes are pretty short with a pitch and putt feel to them. The last hole has a heavy weedbed near the cup. Avoid it or wear long pants. After finishing Hole 1 you walk across the fairway for the last hole, there is a long teebox for the last hole in the woods so be careful when walking across. The grass can get mushy if there was recent rain, many parts are in low areas. Signage is minimal at best and some baskets are in ill repair.
Other Thoughts: The northside parking lot is nearest hole 1. Most holes have 2 teeboxes. The locals that play the course are helpful if you are having trouble finding tees. Has an established league.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.