St. Paul (New Brighton), MN 
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: mstephens627 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 209ft.   3 / 297ft.   3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    3/3/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: timj5304
Played: 108  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hansen is in a neighborhood area where i grew up in, a middle class community where many of the league regulars are guys who grew up in the area. One positive to me about Hansen is you get to play in a chill atmosphere with many guys who play for the same reason you do, to enjoy a round or two. While you won't see many guys throwing 500 ft out there you will see guys who can nail putts from 40ft regularly while the bombers struggle to par on the cones. The cones are one thing I HATED when I started playing in 2004 but in the last year I started to play the league regularly and doing as much as I can when time permits. The holes while not too flashy have many challenges such as trees, wet fairways at times, a nice creek in the park. Beautiful scenery and a overall good place to play!
Cons: There is a walk path you have to watch out for friendly locals. Many locals have no issue with players here which is much better than most leagues and courses! Honestly I hated this course 7 years ago but learned that it is a special place to play.
Other Thoughts: Hansen is a historic course, many were not fond of the cones in the beginning but when they learned to efficiently cone putt learned that putting on a chainstar was nothing. I honestly feel my putting is 5x better than it was last year. There are hot days and not so hot days on cones but the overall atmosphere here is a good one. The imperfections are what make this place perfect to me, kind of like a woman you fall in love with; the little imperfections grow on you with time. Overall if your chill, make sure to throw trash away and try to "police" the park you can play here any day!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Stop whining about cones.

5+    12/15/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: theh8ed
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Good use of the terrain. The cones and an extra degree of difficulty on an otherwise easy to moderate skill level park. Locals, locals, locals. The locals are amazing people that are extremely friendly, helpful and have done much to keep this park open and are always working to improve it.
Cons: The overall condition of the park is dilapidated. There is erosion in many areas. Baskets and cones are in need of repair. New tee-pads and proper signage would be money well spent.

However, I have noticed in a few reviews that concern the condition of the baskets, include the complaint that "discs fall out the bottom of the baskets". I trust most DGers know that if the disc falls out the BOTTOM of the basket, it still counts...

A group of dedicated individuals known as "Friends of Hansen" are doing yeoman's work in trying to revamp this park by way of charitable donations, donated time and labor (graffiti removal, basket repair, cleaning up after the teenagers and other degenerates that think it is acceptable to litter at the park, as well as other improvements)
Other Thoughts: I am so0oo0o tired of reading the reviews for this course that WHINE about the cones. Instead of viewing these targets as a negative, why would you not relish in the opportunity to fine-tune your putts on a smaller and more challenging target? You will find your overall putting accuracy will improve after a few rounds with the beloved cones. Stop whining and man-up and appreciate the cones and the added challenge they provide. They make you a better player. I hope the whole course is eventually cones. Plenty of courses have chains, it's nice to see a park with a slightly different flavor. As Craig mentioned in an earlier review, please don't litter and watch the LANGUAGE (remember, its only disc golf, not life and death!!)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated for advanced, great for beginners

5+    5/1/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many elevation changes. Wide variety of distances. Good mix of open and wooded. No one hole slightly resembles another hole. Great for beginners due to the many wide open holes. Grass is mowed on a very regular basis. Cleaner than most courses as far as litter goes.
Cons: A little on the busy side. Many baskets are in poor shape. The course when through a major remodel a few years ago, and a few of the old numbers are still around, which can confuse first-timers to the course.
Other Thoughts: The ancient green "top" baskets are not that bad. Yes they are in bad shape, but use some common sense. If your disc lands inside and it falls through the bottom because the wires are 11 inches apart, it counts as in. And as far as putting through the "mailbox slot" opening, it only makes you a better putter. Without the difficult putts, this course would be ten times easier, so the old baskets are just keeping the course at the proper difficulty level.

This is one of the only public courses where it IS legal to drink beer.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/7/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a good assortment of holes that have elevation change, wooded holes, and distance on this course. As an added plus, it has two different kinds of baskets, some regular baskets and the rest are cone shaped baskets. This adds difficulty as shooting at the cones provides a new set of challenges ie you can't focus on a chain to hit.
The layout is constructed well enough that even if you are new to the course, it is pretty simple to find your way through it.
A wide variety of shots are used on different holes, there are no two holes that are alike. The one hole that is short enough for anybody to get an ace is a blind tee shot, so you'd have to get pretty lucky.
Cons: The course was in pretty bad shape when I played it. The saucer type holes were missing wires on the bottom of them so they didn't really catch the disc, and some of them were tilted sideways by vandals of some sort. For this reason, I had to rate it 3.5 instead of a 4. If they did a little work on it, it would be a great course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.