St. Paul (New Brighton), MN 
Hansen Park Share
Uploaded By: timj5304 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Found disc

1    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: cbonander
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sorry folks not a course review really but found a disc today may 14th so if you lost one email at cbonander@gmail.com if you want it back. Of course no charge or anything.


The course was nice
Cons: It's a decent course but I think back at 4 5 6 they're too close together so heads up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course for all levels with a nice variety of shots

5+    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great community of local players that area always improving and maintaining the coarse.
-Can be played in the winter
-Clean course
-Teepads are in great condition
-Dual teepads - Longs and Shorts
-Nice variety of shots and distances
-Very safe course - not going to lose a disc.
-Mature and well maintained trees.
-Lots of places to put trash and use a bathroom.
-Elevation changes are fun
-Places to sit / set your bag.
Cons:
-Cones take some getting used to.
-Teepads could be marked, and the baskets could be marked better
-Can be difficult to follow as there aren't a lot of markings and the ones that are there are a little beat up / missing paint.
-Lots of people seem to "wander" the course looking for places to just sit around and smoke and / or are lost.
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice mix of shots, long bombers up a hill to short tunnels. The multiple teepads make it nice to play at any level. Over all the course is pretty clean. League nights can get this course very busy.
Everyone hates the cones and has had a shot they missed because of them. But I kind of like them in the way they are something different and they will certainly make you appreciate the chains when you have them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

VIVA LA CONE

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: THUGNIFICENT763
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a must-play for MN throwers for the cones alone. Many people list these as a con, but I embrace the challenge. The cones are responsible for upping my putting game, if you can make putts on these, you can make em anywhere. This course has a great variety of holes, ranging from wide open bomb oppurtunities to anger-inducing tunnels. Also, the Friends Of Hansen are a riotous bunch.
Cons: I guess you could say the cones are a con too, since they add about 4 strokes to my round when I miss what would be an easy-in on a chain basket. Also, the consistency of the cones vary. Some of them are like "trying to putt into a mailbox slot", direct quote from one of the Friends Of Hansen. Also, this course was a lot better when old holes 1-3 still existed.
Other Thoughts: Tip: bring a soft putter to conquer the cones. If this course had real baskets, it would be ridiculously busy I bet. For that reason alone, VIVA LA COOOOOOOOONE!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cones = Good

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Cones! They are so unique that I must consider them a pro. They are not ideal for putting on but this course isn't a tournament course so does it really need all Mach baskets? The cones add to the atmosphere and add challenge to some short holes.
+Ace runs. There are some shorter holes here and some of the cone holes are among the shorter ones. I would love to have a cone ace.
+Elevation. Most holes here have some ups and downs.
+Multiple concrete pads on all holes.
+Some open and some wooded. Only one hole that was really tight.
Cons: -The flow is pretty bad here. Hole 1 and 2 are disconnected for the rest of the park. There are crossing fairways and some tees that are in the path of other fairways. It was busy when I played so this added to the danger and confusion of the course.
-Some may say that cones are a negative.
-This course gets pretty busy. This leads to large groups, trash, erosion, mud.
-Not the best crowd here. They didn't bother me but I would rather not have to see 40 year old men stoned and drunk lounging around the woods.
-The course is shorter overall and doesn't have much for distance variation. Lots of shorter tweener holes.
-Not really any amenities here at all.
-The extra concrete tees were often not much different than one of the other tees on the hole. They could have done a better job at creating different looks off the tee.
Other Thoughts: +I would stop and play here to experience the cones. Moir might be a more authentic cone experience but it is pretty good here.
+Saturdays look pretty busy. Play during the week if you can.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 cone!!!!!!!!!

1    6/22/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - good variety of shots
- definitely not too easy
- some holes had baskets
- lots of uphill and downhill shots.
- mix of tight wooded areas and wide open shots
- nice new teepads
- has long distance drive opportunity on the final hole.
- nearly impossible to lose a disc
- not too short
- port a potties
Cons: - cones
- difficult to navigate
- teepads aren't marked
- hole 3 seemed more luck then skill
- cones
Other Thoughts: This was truly a very well rounded descent length course, definitely one of the best free ones in the twin cities. It requires a different shot for almost every hole. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the cones, luckily they weren't on all the holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Postmaster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a multitude of shots for every player. From long uphill, to short shots, it can suit any type of player from beginner to advanced. The cones are the best to putt on!
Cons: Not Enough Cones
Other Thoughts: VIVA LA CONE!!!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: timj5304
Played: 134  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hansen is in a neighborhood area where i grew up in, a middle class community where many of the league regulars are guys who grew up in the area. One positive to me about Hansen is you get to play in a chill atmosphere with many guys who play for the same reason you do, to enjoy a round or two. While you won't see many guys throwing 500 ft out there you will see guys who can nail putts from 40ft regularly while the bombers struggle to par on the cones. The cones are one thing I HATED when I started playing in 2004 but in the last year I started to play the league regularly and doing as much as I can when time permits. The holes while not too flashy have many challenges such as trees, wet fairways at times, a nice creek in the park. Beautiful scenery and a overall good place to play!
Cons: There is a walk path you have to watch out for friendly locals. Many locals have no issue with players here which is much better than most leagues and courses! Honestly I hated this course 7 years ago but learned that it is a special place to play.
Other Thoughts: Hansen is a historic course, many were not fond of the cones in the beginning but when they learned to efficiently cone putt learned that putting on a chainstar was nothing. I honestly feel my putting is 5x better than it was last year. There are hot days and not so hot days on cones but the overall atmosphere here is a good one. The imperfections are what make this place perfect to me, kind of like a woman you fall in love with; the little imperfections grow on you with time. Overall if your chill, make sure to throw trash away and try to "police" the park you can play here any day!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fair

5+    7/15/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: Riley M
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has garbage cans. Without (and some times even with) garbage cans people are littering and giving us Disc Golfers bad names. They even have a few recyling bins. also has a Porta John on like hole 6 or something. Open and closed shots. (trees) There a uphill hole and on the other side theres a long down hill drive that i just love. I usually throw all my drivers if its not busy. In other words in you live near it or even are just passing trew town you should play at it.
Cons: The cones. But i guess thats the fun about Disc golf. if u can putt on the cones you can make the same putt with any basket.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    7/20/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: J Syrup
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the cones, variety is the spice of life and if you can putt on a cone you make putt on any chains. the course has a really good use of elevation and also has a variety of open shots and wooded shots. it also has a good combination of short technical and a couple long bombs that you will definately need a driver on.
Cons: Some times puddles occur after a large rainfall, not to hard to avoid them though
Other Thoughts: great use of the amount of land they had available to them

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: Wexican
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the few courses in the state of Minnesota with cones. Though others may not enjoy the difficulty of putting towards cones, I find it adds a dynamic this game truly needs. There are better courses out there but Hansen has a feel all its own.
Cons: The course needs more cones...
Other Thoughts: The "Friends of Hansen park" have done a great job improving the course and should be recognized for their charitable efforts.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.