Nampa, ID 
College of Western Idaho Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well Maintained College Beginner Course!

1    7/23/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
Pros: This little course is set up on a large expanse of lawn at the entrance to CWI. Someone has done a pretty nice job with the install here. The baskets are new Discatchers with the yellow band and a the hole number on the side. The concrete tee pads point towards the basket leaving little doubt where you're throwing. Navigation is mostly intuitive until you play # 5 then you play back on the same side of the canal.
The canal is wide enough, dank enough and close enough to #'s 6 and 7 that it will swallow a few discs.
Plenty of room for parking, big lot.
Cons: Beginner short distances, less than 200 ft.
Mostly flat with very scattered trees except for 8 & 9.
Some simple signs would be helpful.
The course flows doesn't quite work. # 9 finishes at the farthest place from # 1.
Concrete tee pads are a little on the small side but most players don't require much of a run up here.

Other Thoughts: Excellent little course for beginners and the college crowd looking for a good time. Lovely green lawn and very little chance of losing discs other than the big bad canal.

There's plenty of unused green lawn here. Course designers could have drawn up a much larger course but decided to keep the distances short. I'm OK with their decision here at CWI.


1    7/8/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #8 and #9 are interesting holes that take good advantage of a row of trees.
There are many trees on the course. Even though the holes lengths are short, you'll have to be accurate on your tee shots.
Nice grassy park setting.
Cons: Too many short holes (<200').
Scary big and fast flowing canal beside a few holes.
Start and finish are quite far apart.
Other Thoughts: This course won't challenge an experienced player except for holes 8 and 9. I was disappointed when I played it because I had just watched a TV news story about the Treasure Valley's new DG course. I was hoping that it would provide an alternative for the always over-crowded Ann Morrison Park. I don't think many players will spend much time here. However, it is a great place to take a beginner because of the many short holes. I did score a 9-hole personal best score of -7 here, but there should be an asterisk beside this one because of the short length.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

College of Western Idaho

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: BeastMode208
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner or short range improvement course.
-Concrete teepads
-Baskets with numbers
-Short range practice
-Every hole a putter can be thrown
-Decent variety of shots needed
-Quickly play a round (easy 40 minutes with two people)
-Easy location to find, close to freeway
-Fall/Winter canal is shallow and discs can be retrieved
Cons: -Signs would be a nice touch
-Course Design (I think the space could have been used a bit better. Some distances between teepads could have been reduced and created a longer hole)
-Start and Finish are opposite sides of the course
-Would be nicer to finish by the parking lot
-No distance holes
-During spring/summer the canal is over waist deep and discs can be lost
Other Thoughts: All in all a great beginner or midrange/putter course, but not much beyond that

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

If I had a backyard this big...

1    9/3/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply put, in my mind if I had a well maintained backyard with a few smaller young trees and I wanted to put in a disc golf course, I would put something like this in!
- Concrete tee pads that point directly to the basket that they are associated with.
- Baskets clearly marked with their hole number 1-9.
- Very good baskets, they didn't go cheap on them!
- Great beginner course, I've been looking for a short course nearby to take friends and family to that I can introduce them to disc golf.
Cons: - I personally don't care for courses that start and end on opposite corners of the play area. Hole 1 tee pad and hole 9 basket are as far from each other as they possibly could have made them.
- Holes 8 and 9 are on the other side of the canal, kind of separating themselves from the rest of the course.
- If it weren't for being on this site and finding this course there, I would have never thought to look at the front lawn of the CWI campus for a course.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the space they had in front of the campus building. Because there is a canal nearby, my Brother in law and I got eaten alive by mosquitoes, bring BUGSPRAY! ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/25/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: theabacus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, solid pins. Well marked. Excellent beginner course.
Cons: Holes and tee pads are very short. Advanced players will likely find the course boring. As a beginner course is excellent, except for the canal that runs along side several holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.