Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Deerfield Park - Wildwood Share
Uploaded By: BogeyNoMore Hole #18 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lost disc

1    8/6/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: ronnyber
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun tight course
Cons: Not good for novice or beginner. My son lost a disc
Other Thoughts: Fun tight course. Lost a red innova driver disc in the left side of hole 13. Disc has name 'Malinda Hebert' on it. Please message me if found.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very impressive course

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: killmodell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Best tee pads I've played...long with an extra section in front with name of course is a great touch.
The holes are varied and quite challenging and play very differently depending on long or short tees.
Navigating from hole to hole was a piece of cake.
Cons: I suppose having to pay 6 bucks a car can't be considered a pro, but two out of three times no one was there to collect...
Other Thoughts: We have played here three times now, both courses, and have seen ZERO pieces of trash. Coming from mostly city parks, we can't begin to tell you how impressed we were. We will play here EVERY time we come up to our cottage forever :)
You all should be very proud of what you have created here... A fantastic 36 holes in a beautiful and friendly park.
PS. LOVED the pear tree !!!

Wild indeed

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-purpose park with a second 18 hole course which intertwines with this course at many times. Hiking trails and roadways intersect this course many times.

Teepads-- Beautiful honestly. they have the course name "wildwood" imprinted in the "follow through zone" so there should be no confusion where you are. Another cool thing is the foul line is recessed into the concrete so that the line isn't painted and won't become slick when wet.

Teesigns-- at least they are there. they are basic, listing the long tee (blue) and the short (white). no maps or description of the hole but maps are available at the onset. Distances seems mostly accurate.

Baskets--nice new discatchers. visible with orange necks in the woods...

Multiple tees-- each gives a fully unique view of the hole. #8 gives the most radically different view of the hole. the tees form a giant "t" in the woods.

Challenge/risk v reward-- there are several dangerous hyzers that are available but carry you over thick thick rough. The variety of challenges here range from water to thick rough to marshy areas.

Routing/nav-- use the map, it's not an issue. Next tee signs are (overly) abundant

#14--nice to stretch your arm out after so many short holes. great to be able to air one out finally!

#18-- one of the most awesome holes ever. it may be short but it has a bit of everything, elevated long tee, elevated pin, water, guarded pin... truly an awesome disc golf hole.
Cons:
Length-- seems kind of short BUT runs in line with the average length of the holes on the original course. I teed off with a midrange 75%+ of the time.

Pay to play--honestly, not a huge con because the upkeep is so awesome here but $6 might not fit into everyone's budget.

Rough--horrendous in places, but this will improve with use.
Other Thoughts:
Minor minor issues here, but this course will only get better with time.
Overall very impressed with this complex.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unadultered and in perfect condition. A new favorite.

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Above all other pros for this course, the most important is that Wildwood is in incredible condition for being so new - it already seems seasoned
+ Rough is not too harsh - really, I promise!
+ Only three holes where a spotter is a good idea
+ Immersive layout maximizing the benefits of the wooded environment and terrain changes
+ Appealing and almost perfectly balanced hole layouts with evolving changes in pin placement, distance, tree coverage, obstacles, risk vs reward, etc.
+ Almost perfect tee signage: different colors with hole #, par, and length
+ Dual concrete tees of appropriate size engraved with "Wildwood" at the ends (just long tees?)
+ Short tees sometimes change holes completely (ie. #8), rather than simply shortening the distance or providing a cleaner look
+ Fairly easy to navigate due to awesome Next Tee signs pointing in the right direction; walking paths have already taken shape (except for #1 pin to #2 tee)
+ We never got confused about Wildwood vs Deerfield
+ Signature hole: #18! Loved it!
+ Several other memorable holes
+ Appropriate par levels throughout
+ Combined with Deerfield… wow
+ Clean nature area with more going on, but the course area is devoted to disc golf (except Original hole #2's volleyball court that I've never seen in use)
+ Pay to play = clean, sustainability
Cons: - Only one Next Tee sign for each hole, but one for each tee (or additional blue/white arrows) would be perfect
- We missed one of the long tees due to the directional arrows, but the short tee had a huge rock behind it and the hole was a straight ace run, so we liked it
- The tee signs could be improved by diagramming pin position (use the map and look ahead)
Other Thoughts: I don't know why, but I have this strange feeling that Wildwood is in its perfect condition right now and will only get easier and less visibly stunning over time. I am so happy with how the course was designed and finished and I don't want to see it change.

Several times while playing Wildwood, I was reminded of the Toboggan course in all its disc crushing glory. The Toboggan course earned its reputation and maintains it in part because it's not permanent. Every year it's in pristine condition because it's not open long enough for it to get thrashed. Right now, that's how Wildwood feels. The fairways and walking paths are carved and crisp, the rough isn't overwhelming but it definitely increases risk vs reward, and the disc golf is really exciting. My advice is to play here as soon as possible. Do not wait until next season. If you're at all interested in that glorious pristine and unadultered experience of throwing through woods that haven't been changed by mother nature or destroyed by juvenile delinquent disc golfers, you HAVE TO come play Wildwood now.

That being said, Wildwood is simply an exciting and fun course. The only minor issue that could be altered to bring Wildwood up to 5/5 for me, is if they added layout diagrams to the tee signs and added separate directional signs for Blue vs White tees. I'll be a little bummed as the course begins to grow in popularity and Deerfield becomes a major Michigan hotspot for top notch disc golf with more crowds and whatnot, but I can't imagine there will ever be a course closer to me that I like more than Wildwood. If you've heard hype about Wildwood, believe it. If you haven't, start hyping it up!

Thank you for reading!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rough around the edges, but tons of potential

1    0/0/0000   7/7/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots from the long tees, with risk/reward choices to be made an many tee shots.

Short tees appear to offer a completely different course.

Water pump available to refill bottles about halfway through the course.

Nice long tees, stamped with "Wildwood". This is especially helpful since Wildwood is entertwined with the original Deerfield course.

Plenty of changing elevation adds an element of interest.

One shot that has to carry water, so Wildwood hits that checkbox.
Cons: The rough is BRUTAL! This is probably only a temporary con, but if I hadn't been playing with a large group of guys we would have lost discs for sure. Keep multiple sets of eyes on every shot for safety's sake.

Navigation can be a little difficult at times. Eventually a path will wear in, but for now follow the flags on the ground.

Course is intertwined with the original Deerfield course, which could lead to navigational confusion, as well as danger from errant throws.

Some clearing of scrub brush needs to be done in order to provide legitimate lines on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Wildwood is a fantastic addition to the Deerfield complex. Wildwood seems to be intended as a slightly shorter, and tighter complement to the original course. Having two courses with somewhat different character allows for a more complete experience if you play both. Additionally, it allows for a more balanced competition.

Wildwood still has some work to do, but it has a world of potential, and will be a top notch course once it's done.

I didn't have to pay, as my brother has a season pass, but even at $6 this would seem reasonable to me as long as I had time to play both courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wild and Woodsy

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality course in a nice, well maintained park. Most of the area the course occupies is pretty much dedicated to disc golf, and while there are a few places where you might run across other park patrons, they're not likely to be a factor on this course.
• Nice sized dual concrete tees provide significantly different looks rather than just longer/shorter versions of the same hole.
• Nice new Chainstars (see other thoughts).
• Good shot variety with a nice mix of fairway shapes and distances with some pretty unique holes, and plenty of risk/reward opportunities. Some will say it's too LHBH/ RHFH friendly, but I think most courses are too RHBH friendly, and that this is well balanced.
• Elevation: well utilized and pretty much omnipresent in some manner. No huge changes, but quite significant and impossible to ignore.
• Quite the technical course (moreso than the Original) - definitely favors placement over distance. Has a few more complex and interesting fairways than the original as well. Several holes make you think about what type of line you want to take to the basket or landing zone.
• Good signage (actually being installed as I was playing): color coded for longs and shorts, and plenty of next tee signs to move you in the right direction.
• Nice use of timbers , rocks and other materials to intelligently combat soil erosion to keep course looking/playing better for longer.
• Has a natural, non-intrusive feel, as if it belongs there.
• Sections of the course provide nice stretches of shade on hot summer days.
• Hand operated water pump located after hole 15 - clean and cold. (I think there were restrooms there as well, but I only needed the water).
• Finishes strong with a beautiful hole.
• How can you not love another quality course on site?
Cons:
• Shares much of the same land as the Original course, with several tees for both courses located near each other. Bound to be confusing for visitors, but a lot of thought went into avoiding what could have been a complete navigation nightmare. See other thoughts for more on this.
• Two courses sharing same parcel in a fairly compact layout. Not a factor during my rounds, but it's not hard to imagine off the mark shots presenting a hazard to unsuspecting players on the tee/fairway of the other course.
• Course is brand spankin' new, and the rough is still very nasty (downright brutal in spots). Missing the fairway or long bounces can be difficult to recover from and could mean lost discs. This should certainly ease up with time and traffic, but I have no doubt that but certain areas will still penalize harshly for errant shots years from now.
• In it's present (rough) state, Wildwood isn't accommodating enough for beginners - but that, too, should change over time.
• Watch for Hawthorns (emphasis on thorns) and Poison Ivy.
• Could use a few open long, open holes (but fairly unique holes help avoid it from feeling completely repetitive).
• The rough is rough, LOOK DISCS DOWN - 'nuff said. Spotters recommended on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Much of Wildwood weaves in and around holes from the original course. Creates the potential to be a navigational nightmare, however, they've done quite a lot to help make the best of this situation:
• Map (available when you pay to enter the park) clearly shows both sets of holes: green for Original, brown for Wildwood), so you can see the relative positions of each set of tees at the same time.
• "Wildwood" etched at the front of each tee is more than just a nice touch -indicates which course the tee is intended for.
• Different color tee markers for the two courses.
• Different basket types (Chainstar/Innova) help establish you're playing the hole as intended.
This was the land the park said could be used for disc golf. They didn't want to put a course on a completely different parcel of land. I think they did the best they could with the situation they were given.

That being said, Wildwood actually flows pretty well from hole to hole - you just have to pay close attention to the signs and map.

Several blind holes will have newcomers walking up and down fairways to figure things out - I didn't list this as a con because I think they make things more interesting than 18 holes where you can see every basket from the tee. But for a while, this will be a tough place for a solo round if you're unfamiliar. Was glad I got to play with a local who was involved with the course's install.


$6 a day /car is a bit steep for a single person playing one round, but pretty reasonable for two 18 hole courses. It's a downright bargain if you have some people in the car with you - Several parks I've visited charge more.

All in all, I really enjoyed Wildwood. This is a beautiful place to play and has a peaceful and serene feel to it. I hemmed and hawed about the rating, and despite Wildwood's technical nature, I just couldn't quite give it 4 because of the lack of open holes makes it feel a bit imbalanced (even a few can make a big difference in how a course feels). But there's no denying Wildwood is a very good, solidly designed course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.