Manchester, CT 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #4 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The best course in CT

5+    10/25/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: chikago12
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful, well maintained course.

-Wickham Park has a ton of stuff to do even if you're not disc golfing, definitely fun to check out in between rounds when you need a breather.

-Actually a workout getting up and down the hills in this park. You will be legitimately tired after a round, which is great.

-Excellent hole layout. You'll need every shot in the bag to get through this monster of a course.

-Lots of very long holes, so if you have a big arm, you'll definitely have a chance to stretch it here.

-Lots of favorites on this course, but I personally just love 4. Straight shot, like 200 feet, with a gap cut through a downed log. Trees on the right and left prevent you from taking big hyzer or anhyzer lines, so it's pretty much a straight shot. Also, you can't talk about this course without mentioning 7, a 600 foot monster down a huge hill, with the skyline of Hartford looking down on you. Awesome hole.

-Every hole is very distinct, and very unlike the hole before or after it. They're all super memorable.
Cons: -Lots a lots of people. Especially during XC season, there are a lot of people out here, and you'll have to watch yourself or you might hit someone.

-Very long. Shorter arms (<300) will have a hard time keeping up on this course. I throw about 300 and most of the time I'm just trying to stick around for par

-You have to pay for parking, but there are other places you can park to play for free

-Course is only open a limited time, pins come out after October.
Other Thoughts: Professional level course, and one of the most fun and challenging courses out there. I play here once a week when it's open, and it's a blast.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wickham Park

5+    9/5/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: museparade
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice open course; good for beginners. Well-maintained. Nice long tee pads. Nice mixture of long and technical holes
Cons: If you want to park in the park, you have to pay (at least one weekends).
Other Thoughts: Avoid the parking fees by parking down the street and walking to the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your best to CT's best.

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good condition. There are two pin positions on many holes. Tee pads are rubber, level and in great shape. Tee signs are present on every hole and not only show distance but also give the elevation change for each hole.

This is probably one of the most challenging courses I've ever played. Elevation is used on almost every hole. The fairways are very well defined. The grass is well cut and the rough is ROUGH. This course will test your distance and technical chops. There are a few huge bomb holes and a good mix of open vs. wooded holes, which is really nice to have in CT. The course is clean, there are benches at most holes. There is also a nice little optional 4-hole loop marked A-D that can extend your round to 22 holes.

Wickham Park is a beautiful park. Hole 7 is probably the best hole in the state: a 600 ft bomb going down hill with good breezes to carry your disc some extra distance while overlooking the Hartford Skyline. The course will require every disc in your bag (and you might wish you had more). According to the park's website, they do rent discs here, so even though the course is very challenging, it's a great place to bring newbies to. The park also has a number of other amenities (gardens, aviary, nature center, other sporting grounds and a bird sanctuary). Public restrooms are on site and there is a nice little concession stand where you can buy hot dogs, nachos, grilled cheese, drinks, ice cream and snacks. A great way to top off a very humbling round of disc golf.
Cons: THIS COURSE NEEDS NEXT TEE SIGNS. Navigation is difficult. The signage for the course upon entering the park was also slightly confusing. I ended up parking in the lot up by hole 12 thinking I was in the right spot. I ended up starting in the 4-hole A-D loop not realizing that I wasn't even at the beginning of the course until I finished. I recommend going with someone who has played the course before. Also, there were a few significant hikes between holes (e.g. between 11 and 12). You do have to pay to park here ($3 weekdays, $5 weekends) but it's worth every penny. I also would have liked to have had a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I've played many of the courses in CT now and knowing what I've seen and what I've heard about others, it can't get much better than this. The navigation was a little frustrating the first time around, but now that I know I don't foresee it being a problem next time. Come with a full bag, a fresh arm, cause you will leave exhausted.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Players in central Connecticut love Wickham Park and it's easy to see why. The course sits on a clean, very well maintained park. The course seems to be treated with the same care and attention that the rest of the park receives.

Great signage gives you all the information you need and then some in a nice, clean way.

Wickham is a very large park and the course uses the space well. It is spread out well to avoid interference between holes. The varied terrain provides for some open bomber holes as well as shorter technical wooded holes. All making use of varying degrees of elevation change.

Limited OB is used to add a little more intrigue to otherwise boring holes.

I played here during a pretty strong rainstorm and had no issues with water on the course.

Overall, the course plays fair with reasonable punishment for bad shots and nice reward for good ones.
Cons: Being a nicely spread out course makes navigation pretty tricky. A map or guide is a must for a first-timer on the course.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf is just one of the many attractions Wickham Park has to offer. So this is a great place to bring the family, have a picnic and really spend a full day at the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: MikeAx
Played: 72  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, extremely well maintained and laid out. The multiple pin and tee placements offer variety to an already diverse course. There is a solid mix of distance and finesse shots, plus 4 bonus holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Franky4fangaz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: bring plenty of drivers this course offers sum of the longest drives ive ever seen..7th hole is by far the nicest view ive ever shot nice view of downtown hartford..signs were fantastic except for 8 it was hidden in sum trees..
Cons: this is a big big park lots of people everywhere we actually had to skip 3 because of a group of 6 and 3 little kids playing and they wouldnt let us play through(it was 2 of us)
Other Thoughts: can not wait to play again it was about a hr drive and worth it..my arm still hurting from all the bombs you get to throw...i highly recommend you play this course if you are any where near the area

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice!

1    8/9/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: kskog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Clean. Beautiful course. Good diversity. A must play!
Cons: Hard to find any. Can get busy. Could use a good map or a sign or two from 11 to 12 and then to 13.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I've played. Looking forward to playing it again! What is better than this, I can't wait to find out!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some of the best signage I've seen - full color with easily identifiable landmarks. Great variety in the course design with short technical holes, and wide open max-d fields. This course is located on a beautiful property that has flower gardens and places to picnic. The well manicured lawns make finding discs quick and stress-free.
Cons: I held off on five stars, because 3 or 4 of the 18 holes are just wide open bombs that don't force any specific shot. One hole like that is a beautiful thing, but the others could benefit from a giant tree or some sort of mando.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. This is a great, well-rounded course that I wish was closer to me. One of the nicest that I have played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the area.

2-4    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: JB Brownstone
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: Most tees have rubber matting and a map to show where the hole is anf how far from each tee. Also some holes are very scenic and are nice to be able to just sit, take a break, and enjoy the view. Some holes don't have both pro and amatuer tees; some are just one tee for all. Great course for all styles of play. some holes in open fields, in heavy/light wooded areas, some big hills, and some half and half.
Cons: There was no maps/scorecards for players to take with them to navigate and such, though they are'nt really needed. Also, when i played, there was a wedding taking place so we had to skip a hole and go back to it after. Also, the amatuer tees are not rubber matted, they are just marked by bricks in the ground.
Other Thoughts: Great and relaxing all around course and park. In between holes 11 and 12 there is a bird zoo area, restrooms, vending machines,water fountains, and playground.

 Exellent Variety

5+    9/17/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Great use of elevation changes, great mix of hole styles and lengths. Wickham has exactly what I'm looking for in a well-designed course. First, there are many difficult holes that make you work for pars (while not being so difficult that a par is impossible), combined with many holes that present very reasonable birdie opportunities (while not being 'gimmes'). This makes for a challenging, yet rewarding round of golf. And second, the approximately 50/50 mix of wooded/open holes is excellent, and most of them utilize the constant elevation changes in the park to create even more diversity of holes.
Shorter Rec tees are available on some of the longer holes, which is always nice to promote amateur play. These appear on holes 1, 3, 6, 8 and 11 (but not 7, to my wife's dismay)
Baskets and tee pads are excellent, with tee signs at every hole, offering all the juicy info you need (preferred route, distance, elevation change, par, etc).
Cons: Not too many, and they're mostly picking nits. If the grass hasn't been mowed on hole 1, there is potential to lose a disc, but you can always play the rec tee to avoid that hazard. On busy days (weekends, holidays), it can be a little tricky playing the course with all the pedestrians/sunbathers/picnickers using the park. If you haven't played the course before and aren't carrying a map with you, finding some of the next tees could be very challenging, particularly 12, 13 & 17. Bring a course map with you! And of course, the biggest con is that the course closes down and they pull the baskets in the winter (November through March).
Other Thoughts: There are permanent alternate baskets on holes 2, 7 & 9, with an alternate tee for 8. There are also an additional 4 holes (A,B,C & D) sandwiched between holes 5 & 6. After finishing hole 5, take a left and walk up 6's fairway. The tee for hole A will be in the woods on the right.
The park itself is very nice, with many other attractions, including numerous gardens, children's playgrounds, athletic fields, and a cool little aviary between holes 11 & 12. Great views of the Hartford skyline from hole 7's fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center