Manchester, CT 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #6
4 / 510ft.   4 / 510ft.   4 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring your best to CT's best.

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good condition. There are two pin positions on many holes. Tee pads are rubber, level and in great shape. Tee signs are present on every hole and not only show distance but also give the elevation change for each hole.

This is probably one of the most challenging courses I've ever played. Elevation is used on almost every hole. The fairways are very well defined. The grass is well cut and the rough is ROUGH. This course will test your distance and technical chops. There are a few huge bomb holes and a good mix of open vs. wooded holes, which is really nice to have in CT. The course is clean, there are benches at most holes. There is also a nice little optional 4-hole loop marked A-D that can extend your round to 22 holes.

Wickham Park is a beautiful park. Hole 7 is probably the best hole in the state: a 600 ft bomb going down hill with good breezes to carry your disc some extra distance while overlooking the Hartford Skyline. The course will require every disc in your bag (and you might wish you had more). According to the park's website, they do rent discs here, so even though the course is very challenging, it's a great place to bring newbies to. The park also has a number of other amenities (gardens, aviary, nature center, other sporting grounds and a bird sanctuary). Public restrooms are on site and there is a nice little concession stand where you can buy hot dogs, nachos, grilled cheese, drinks, ice cream and snacks. A great way to top off a very humbling round of disc golf.
Cons: THIS COURSE NEEDS NEXT TEE SIGNS. Navigation is difficult. The signage for the course upon entering the park was also slightly confusing. I ended up parking in the lot up by hole 12 thinking I was in the right spot. I ended up starting in the 4-hole A-D loop not realizing that I wasn't even at the beginning of the course until I finished. I recommend going with someone who has played the course before. Also, there were a few significant hikes between holes (e.g. between 11 and 12). You do have to pay to park here ($3 weekdays, $5 weekends) but it's worth every penny. I also would have liked to have had a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I've played many of the courses in CT now and knowing what I've seen and what I've heard about others, it can't get much better than this. The navigation was a little frustrating the first time around, but now that I know I don't foresee it being a problem next time. Come with a full bag, a fresh arm, cause you will leave exhausted.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lack of signs pointing to next hole

1    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: McGorry
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nicely spread out course. Skyline Vista of Hartford makes the course.
Cons: Between holes 12 and 13 there is no sign at all telling you where to go and there are about 5 different ways to go. Trying to track down the next tee totally ruined this experience for me. Although the signs at the beginning of each tee are full-colored only some of them tell you where the next tee is. Above all, this is the most important piece of information that you can post on a sign. Or, another thought is to put up a sign near the basket directing you to the next tee - AT LEAST for this transition between 12 and 13! Going from 12 to 13 wasn't too bad as you pass the refreshment stand and there are signs posted telling you where the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: A rating should be based on overall experience - I've played horrible courses that are well labeled and get you from basket to tee easily, and I think more people should take this into account for travelers who want to play courses that are highly ranked. I think that just for this reason this course should not get such a high rating. Why post great signs if it doesn't let you navigate the course well?

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Players in central Connecticut love Wickham Park and it's easy to see why. The course sits on a clean, very well maintained park. The course seems to be treated with the same care and attention that the rest of the park receives.

Great signage gives you all the information you need and then some in a nice, clean way.

Wickham is a very large park and the course uses the space well. It is spread out well to avoid interference between holes. The varied terrain provides for some open bomber holes as well as shorter technical wooded holes. All making use of varying degrees of elevation change.

Limited OB is used to add a little more intrigue to otherwise boring holes.

I played here during a pretty strong rainstorm and had no issues with water on the course.

Overall, the course plays fair with reasonable punishment for bad shots and nice reward for good ones.
Cons: Being a nicely spread out course makes navigation pretty tricky. A map or guide is a must for a first-timer on the course.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf is just one of the many attractions Wickham Park has to offer. So this is a great place to bring the family, have a picnic and really spend a full day at the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/24/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: ryan35
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challanging holes, big open fairways and also some in the woods. Not too much elevation in the woods until the back 9. Open field shots have some uphill and some downhill. I found driving in the woods wasnt too horrible either. not too many immediate trees to mess up drives. well maintained, people were doing upkeep while we were there so you know its gets attention
Cons: great course so its more populated than any I have been to yet, I understand some afternoons they have small tournaments so you may have to wait to play depending on when you get there. we went at noon on a weekday. Maybe weekends are busier. 4 bucks to park isnt that bad. Distance on some can be overwhelming for newer players but I still reccomend trying it at least once
Other Thoughts: Until I went here most of my golfing was in wooded areas. I need to work on my open field driving before I can really succeed here. went with 3 others and we all thought it was great. Kinda far from my home so cant go there as much as I would like to but since we were there we played 18 twice. I would reccomend it if you cant go there much like me. bring some drinks and snacks and play 18 again =)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: MikeAx
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, extremely well maintained and laid out. The multiple pin and tee placements offer variety to an already diverse course. There is a solid mix of distance and finesse shots, plus 4 bonus holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Franky4fangaz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: bring plenty of drivers this course offers sum of the longest drives ive ever seen..7th hole is by far the nicest view ive ever shot nice view of downtown hartford..signs were fantastic except for 8 it was hidden in sum trees..
Cons: this is a big big park lots of people everywhere we actually had to skip 3 because of a group of 6 and 3 little kids playing and they wouldnt let us play through(it was 2 of us)
Other Thoughts: can not wait to play again it was about a hr drive and worth it..my arm still hurting from all the bombs you get to throw...i highly recommend you play this course if you are any where near the area

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played yet

5+    8/16/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: markfohara
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course layout, no two holes are alike. There are shots in the woods, shots in the open, and hills that make the course fun rather than frustrating
Cons: There aren't enough trash cans around. I always see beer cans and other garbage laying around. I don't mind picking it up if there's somewhere to put it.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to this course yet, go there. I've been from Ct to Ca, and there's nothing like this anywhere. My friend lived in Tx and said this course is better than anything out west.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice!

1    8/9/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: kskog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Clean. Beautiful course. Good diversity. A must play!
Cons: Hard to find any. Can get busy. Could use a good map or a sign or two from 11 to 12 and then to 13.
Other Thoughts: The nicest course I've played. Looking forward to playing it again! What is better than this, I can't wait to find out!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Feel free to let 'em rip

1    8/16/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained 18 hole course in a very nice private park. Lots of other family activities on sight. Clean bathrooms available at the Nature Center.

Like I said, well maintained. The open holes are freshly mowed and the wooded holes have almost no overgrowth or brush to lose discs in. Just a clean, country club feel to this course.

Almost an even mix of very open holes and wooded holes. If you like to throw drivers and watch them fly this is a good course for you. #1 starts you out with a 540' downhill bomb. And there are about 6 or 7 more open holes waiting for you to test your arm.

The remaining holes are wooded and fairly technical. While I wouldn't say you have to shape lines on this course, you do have to be able to hit a gap in the woods. With no accuracy the wooded holes could eat you up.

A very good use of elevation on this course. I was pleasantly surprised to find this in CT. There are some long open downhill shots and a couple steep wooded holes where the elevation is used well. Really a lot of fun.

Really no bad holes. There are some long holes and a few short ace runs in the woods. Nice mix to keep you from getting bored.
Cons: Rubber tee pads or natural pads. I slipped on a couple of the rubber pads. They are mostly in good shape, but this is an area where the course could get better.

You definitely need to bring a map if it's your first time. It's a long course with some long transitions. They are made even longer when you can't find the next tee. Some navigation signage would really help.

Almost all the long holes are wide open. Almost all the wooded holes are short. Maybe not a con, but a long wooded hole that requires some shot shaping and planning is always nice.
Other Thoughts: Just a very nice course that allows you to really let loose. On several of the open holes basket positions also add a little difficulty when you're lining up your approach shot.

Lots of big mature trees and freshly cut grass. Huge park and a long spread out course. Definitely put this on your wish list and get there if you are in CT.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park Course With Cool ACE Plaques On Tee Signs!

1    8/5/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's easy to see that Wickham Park and it's disc golf course both receive a tremendous amount of loving care and attention. This is one pretty park. There is a kiosk with a map and all kinds of pertinent information at the start. The teesigns are great, full color with distance, par, name of the hole, basket position, elevation loss/gain, sponsers and yjry are mounted on two sturdy poles. And I have never seen this before but on some of these poles they have these little plaques screwed to the pole with the names of players who have ACED this hole during tournies or league play. So # 5 which is a nice little 198' downhill ACE run, has 13 plaques honoring those players who have ACED it. Very cool indeed! And # 8 is a long 640' hole with three plaques for players who have eagled it. I would like to have seen those shots. The pads are rubber. They're OK, I prefer concrete. I would like to see brooms at each pad. That would be a nice touch here. There is a great mix of open bomber holes and tight, technical wooded holes.

I thought # 7 was an absolutely EPIC hole, 600' down a beautifully sloping fairway to a basket down at the bottom of the hill. Plus an amazing view in the distance. It's an empty your bag type of hole.
Cons: I would have liked have had some help with the navigation. Maybe some simple little arrows up in some trees or a how about hanging some small metal "next tee" signs from the bottom of the baskets? I wasn't real thrilled with a couple of the long throws across open fields. They seemed kind of boring and mundane and the grass was just long enough and damp enough that I wasn't having any luck rolling on them. Plus I'm the original weiney arm so 700' across an open field is not my thing.
Other Thoughts: I arrived at the park too early one morning and found the front gate closed with a sign saying it wasn't open until 9:30. What kind of park doesn't open until 9:30? So I parked across the street in the apartments and preceeded to walk the long walk attempting to find the disc golf course. After a seemingly mile walk up past the avairy, past hole #12 and beyond, I finally found the start. I was about tanked out by then but I guess the good news was, I did save the park entry fee.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.